Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 36 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
Great for the price
5/20/2016

Customer review by MGMorden

4.0 stars 5/20/2016 by MGMorden
by MGMorden

I've got better rods, but honestly if I ever need a quick rod to throw an extra reel on these are my go-to purchases. Realistically, if I had to make one complaint its that it is a two piece, but that's just the design. Other than that though I've NEVER seen one of these things break with a fish on. Naturally if you close a door on it or step on it it might break, but if you don't abuse it like that these things will do fine. Honestly I truly believe that you should purchase a quality reel, but for rods - these $10 rods do everything that the more expensive ones do.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MGMorden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Light Cheap Rod - BIG PERFORMANCE!
5/16/2016

Customer review by ToledoBend

5.0 stars 5/16/2016 by ToledoBend
by ToledoBend

Don't let the low price fool you. These are spectacular rods for performance! Earlier this year I caught a 42 pound Blue Catfish on one and yesterday a 24 pound Flathead Catfish. These rods will literally bend double - like an upside down U. I couldn't believe the abuse these big fish put these light rods to and the way they stood up to it. You don't need to pay a lot for a rod that will really work for you.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToledoBend
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good rod for casual fisherman
4/15/2014

Customer review by Lstresort

4.0 stars 4/15/2014 by Lstresort
by Lstresort

I have three of these rods. All for spincasting. Really like the action with light to medium weight lures. Have caught fish over 10 lbs. with no problem. Agree with one of the other reviews that states that the piece that screws down to hold the reel is not reinforced and could be a weak spot. Just don't screw it down too hard. Holds fine. I personally like the balanced feel of the 5'6" rod better than the 6' rod.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lstresort
Grand Island, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Lot's of bang for the buck
1/20/2014

Customer review by uncajurl

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by uncajurl
by uncajurl

Ordered two of these rods from Walmart for store pickup.I wasn't expecting much for the price but I was pleasantly surprised when they arrived. They look good, have a nice action and appear to be well made. For the guy who called them junk, I've had two Shakespeare rods for several years with the same reel retaining mechanism and have never experienced a failure. They arrived several days ahead of schedule. If you haven't tried Walmart's in store pickup, you should. Great service.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
uncajurl
Sparks, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great ultralight rod for the price
7/11/2012

Customer review by lowewv

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by lowewv
by lowewv

I bought one for trout fishing. I had been using medium weight rods. The action is so much better with this rod. I believe the limber rod helps prevent line breakage when you reel in a nice fish against the current. I liked it so much, I bought another one about a month later.

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lowewv
Hampton, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great small rod!
1/7/2014

Customer review by Limprod

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by Limprod
by Limprod
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great rod with a lot of action! What a great price! Perfect for pan fish! Get yours today!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Limprod
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not bad
4/16/2016

Customer review by buddy

4.0 stars 4/16/2016 by buddy
by buddy

Its a very inexpensive rod, I have two of them. I fought a 4 pound largemouth on one and it handled it just fine. The very short butt section doesn't give a lot of leverage. Look theses rods over carefully when you buy it, one of mine the eyelets don't line up straight....

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does a great job
11/6/2012

Customer review by Justnoldsalt

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by Justnoldsalt
by Justnoldsalt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does a great job for which it was intended, and does the same job that the most expensive rod you can purchase will do. Trust me, a fish will never know the difference.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Justnoldsalt
Milton, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
bassing around
1/28/2015

Customer review by rgexpress

5.0 stars 1/28/2015 by rgexpress
by rgexpress

I currently own two Durango rods, they are an exceptionally good rod for the price. My biggest smallmouth last year was caught using one, it weighed approx 5lbs, I've used the rods fishing crank-baits, spinner-baits, and top water plus soft plastics they seem to handle everything very good. I'm sure they will handle much larger than the bass mentioned above. A real bargain on a great rod.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rgexpress
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hold up to any game fish out there!!!!
1/9/2016

Customer review by Jethro

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Jethro
by Jethro

Got a Durango 6' medium spinning rod and put on sigma 200 reel on it. All is by Shakespeare products, you can throw a lure size 1/8 -1/2 Oz and maybe even 3/8 Oz with it. The rod is great for crappie fishing. Sigma 200 is a small reel say it holds only 2-6 bl test line but I put 10 bl test line because rod say 6-10 bl test line and the line I use is Berkeley smooth casting line

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jethro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
For $10 how can u go wrong
3/31/2014

Customer review by TheeYankee

5.0 stars 3/31/2014 by TheeYankee
by TheeYankee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had a blast well worth what they cost got 3 of them.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheeYankee
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great rod !
5/28/2015

Customer review by Greg

5.0 stars 5/28/2015 by Greg
by Greg

This is a great rod at a great price. I have no complaints about this rod. It's sensitive yet with enough backbone to haul in the big ones.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks good
3/6/2014

Customer review by vhsman11

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by vhsman11
by vhsman11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got my rods today. The rods look like quality units. I won't know until the end of April when trout season opens. You can't go wrong for the price even if they only last one season.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vhsman11
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5',6" Durango rod
8/4/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is the rod that most cheap Shakespeare combos come with.I am not saying it is bad it lasted me 2 1/2 years and I went surf casting with it and it holds up.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Sunnyside,Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
nice fishing pole for the money
10/21/2013

Customer review by TheKingIcanDoAnything

4.0 stars 10/21/2013 by TheKingIcanDoAnything
by TheKingIcanDoAnything
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great fishing pole. Will use it for trout fishing.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheKingIcanDoAnything
Bayonne, Nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dang good Rod for the price
7/7/2015

Customer review by rickyrockfish

4.0 stars 7/7/2015 by rickyrockfish
by rickyrockfish

Pleasantly surprised. Nice look and feel, you can feel the fight pretty nice with this pole.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rickyrockfish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT PRODUCT FOR YOUNG AND OLD ALIKE
3/23/2014

Customer review by MRBASSKING1940

5.0 stars 3/23/2014 by MRBASSKING1940
by MRBASSKING1940
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have bought the Durango Rod before, and have had excellent service out of it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MRBASSKING1940
HAVELOCK,IOWA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent rod for beginners.
5/19/2014

Customer review by kenoby

4.0 stars 5/19/2014 by kenoby
by kenoby
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent rod for beginners....

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kenoby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Shakespeare Rod
4/2/2016

Customer review by Happydad

5.0 stars 4/2/2016 by Happydad
by Happydad

For the price, you can't beat the offer. Wanted something for my son that if he was rough on it and something happened it wasn't a big deal. Kids make mistakes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happydad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very light, flexible
7/8/2014

Customer review by 123tx

5.0 stars 7/8/2014 by 123tx
by 123tx
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i use this rod is for spin casting in streams and rivers. it is light weight and flexible, easy to cast upstream with. the only problem that I can see is the adjustment nut that holds the reel on. i just don't care for the plastic/nylon twist lock design. it comes down from the top and if it breaks the reel is going straight into the water. I'll keep a couple nylon ties handy for back up, but so far it is holding up ok.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
123tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews