Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

29 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

29 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 29 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Good backbone for fighting big fish.
1/8/2016

Customer review by JimmyV

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by JimmyV
by JimmyV
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I've hade this rod for a couple of years. I have it paired with a Penn GT2 345. My nephew caught a heavy 54" King Mackerel on it out of Corpus Christi, Texas. It was about a 10 minute fight with the rod practically doubled. No problem.

JimmyV
Boyd, Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Excellent for the price!
1/8/2016

Customer review by Bucktailbill

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Bucktailbill
by Bucktailbill
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Really good rod. Bought this one to replace my old rod. This one is super light and strong wasn't expecting it to be this great!

Bucktailbill
Montauk, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Overall Review and Performance
10/26/2015

Customer review by Chuck Taylor

5.0 stars 10/26/2015 by Chuck Taylor
by Chuck Taylor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this rod a month or so ago and I like everything about it except the abnormally larger first eyelet but its a big water rod so there's nothing one can do about it.They have great back bone and if you get a really big fish on lets say a 30lb'er it will hold up and that thicker handle and start of the rod allows you to handle the fish and pretty much man handle it if you wanted to. I've used Ugly Stik rods for 10 years and to be honest they're the the only rods I use for a number of reasons 1. they're very durable and don't break easily, 2. you can use one of their 6ft 6'' rods and catch a 10lb fish (I've personally done this) with no trouble because the rods hold up to the challenge. I don't big water fish by the standard definition but I do get a hold of some pretty big fish and I like poles that I know can get the job done like this one.

Chuck Taylor
Lansing, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Bang for the bucks!
8/24/2013

Customer review by hlor

5.0 stars 8/24/2013 by hlor
by hlor

Best rod ever made! Most reliable and sturdy you'll ever find. I recommend to everyone!! I used my 11ft to pull a 78inches stugeon and big bat rays all day in california... if you looking to fish for big fish! this rod will get the job done... just make sure you pair it up with a good reel and you'll be good!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hlor
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great value!
4/12/2013

Customer review by RuBRNded

5.0 stars 4/12/2013 by RuBRNded
by RuBRNded

I have been using Ugly Stik rods for several years sturgeon fishing from the banks of the Columbia river. Casting 8oz bank sinkers with 0 issues. Bought this as a gift for my niece.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RuBRNded
Onalaska, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
This Stik is not Ugly
12/6/2013

Customer review by Shoes

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Shoes
by Shoes

Bought this rod for salmon fishing, I was most impressed with combination of tip sensitivity, overall rod flex, yet solid spine to handle these 20+lb fish.. I also bought a Daiwa DXS 9.6ft salmon rod,, line/load capabilities are similar, that is all. The Daiwa is very stiff,, the Ugly Stik is much more flexible. The Daiwa is on the bench.. The Ugly Stik goes on the field.. Only reason I gave this rod 4 stars is the cork handle was not seated properly during construction, minor cosmetic flaw.. rather than send it back (which I could have done) fixed it myself. I have found dealing with Shakespeare customer service a positive experience.. Any company with any common sense will do what it takes to make the customer happy. Shakespeare does that very well. Based on my experiences, I highly recommend Shakespeare,, also take a look at their 10wt 9 ft flyrods,, those are beautiful!!.. There's nothing Ugly about this Stiks!!

Shoes
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
ugly stik fishing rod
9/28/2015

Customer review by Mickey the fisherman

5.0 stars 9/28/2015 by Mickey the fisherman
by Mickey the fisherman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I made a mistake and ordered the wrong size fishing rod. I was intending to order a 11 foot two piece rod but your website had limited amount of information about the product so I took a chance and ordered rod unfortunately it's a mistake I'm going to have to accept. Most likely I won't use this fishing rod because I have 3 of the same rods already so I won't be able to write about it. Overall it is a very good fishing rod just wish your website was more detailed with information about your products. I will search the Web for the rod I want but if I can't find it I'll go to a local fishing store. Thanks

Mickey the fisherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth every penny.
3/24/2014

Customer review by CoachOso

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by CoachOso
by CoachOso
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the rod to have for bringing in the big fish. I bought a 12 footer for 15 bucks cheaper than another store. For a heavy action rod, it is still sensitive enough to feel the bites of the small bait thieves. Great for the surf or the pier. One of the best purchases I've made in quite some time.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoachOso
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Shakespeare - Ugly Stik® Bigwater Spinning Rod
9/8/2015

Customer review by Mojo1

5.0 stars 9/8/2015 by Mojo1
by Mojo1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This medium action rod has plenty of backbone and is forgiving as well. The perfect near shore rod for south Florida angling!

Mojo1
Siesta Key, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ugly Stik OG
7/27/2015

Customer review by MR Natales favorite son

5.0 stars 7/27/2015 by MR Natales favorite son
by MR Natales favorite son
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought my first Stik in 1986, I believe it was the original Tiger. It never failed and neither had the 4 others that I wore out over the course of 29 years of fishing from coast to coast. As I type, I have 3 Stiks in the garage set up for all around Florida fishing. My latest addition, a 6" Big Water, has proven once again to be the perfect fishing companion. In the flats or on the ICW........fish fear Big Joe's Big Ugly.

MR Natales favorite son
NE Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great rod
7/10/2015

Customer review by Tody

5.0 stars 7/10/2015 by Tody
by Tody
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fishing the rough surf you can feel the lightest bite. Teamed up with Shimano's 6000D cast this 15' rod 100 yards with no problem with 1oz lead. Can fish with this rod all day with no problem.

Tody
Anastasia state park Saint Augustine, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Price and Durability.
5/7/2015

Customer review by Vu Long

5.0 stars 5/7/2015 by Vu Long
by Vu Long

I have been using the 10', two piece, Medium Heavy rod for over two years now. I have used it for fresh and saltwater. Perfect for large Striper bass and surf/jetty fishing. The most recent fish I have caught is a 35" Redfish off Port Aransas Jetty. I would Recommend Ugly Stick to anyone. I have 3 rods. The only bad thing about it is it is heavier than most rods. I have a Daiwa Emblem and a Sea Striker and both broke during a cast. Ugly Stick haven't failed me yet.

Vu Long
Garland, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great fishing pole
5/16/2015

Customer review by Fisher

5.0 stars 5/16/2015 by Fisher
by Fisher

Very good fishing pole. Great for sturgeon.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fisher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for catfishing
1/25/2015

Customer review by mhmoore

5.0 stars 1/25/2015 by mhmoore
by mhmoore

I bought this rod around september for catfishing and so far I love it. I bought it for mainly smaller 1-10lb blues and channels but I have caught some big fish on it so far (the biggest being a 50lb flathead) the tip is great for circle hooks and it works for all the techniques I use (finesse fishing, drift fishing, splat fishing, anchored, ect.) Very happy with this rod and will definately be buying more in the future

mhmoore
Lafayette, LA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Super Service
8/24/2014

Customer review by Bluecat1

5.0 stars 8/24/2014 by Bluecat1
by Bluecat1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I Bought 2 BWB 1120 * ft. rods. The service was excellent1 I am gonna inform everyone, these were NOT what I thought they were. I wanted an 8 foot 1 piece rod, that is what I got,,, but,, these rods are stiff as a 2x4! Very strong tip. I was hoping for a bit more action. Its the websites fault. If I could, I would rate the website a 1 star, but, I got my rods very quickly, came undamaged, so I got to give a 5 star. If you want a super heavy action rod, very strong back bone. These are the rods for you!

Bluecat1
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy rods for river fishing
12/18/2013

Customer review by samubus

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by samubus
by samubus

I own the BWS 110066 and 110070 and love both of them. I use them for Ohio River catfishing and occasional saltwater vacation fishing. I love the handles because they are the perfect size for fighting large fish. These also have good backbone but are not like pool sticks either. This 39" Flathead was caught on the BWS110066 paired with an Okuma Coronado baitfeeder and Power Pro 30lb. braid. I would recommend a Shimano Baitrunner over the Okuma. I own both but the Baitrunner is more maintenance friendly.

samubus
Steubenville, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great expectations
12/16/2014

Customer review by Phred

5.0 stars 12/16/2014 by Phred
by Phred
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Based on other ugly sticks I've used, 5 stars all the way. This rod is intended for an upcoming gulf vacation. It will be paired with a Penn Sportfisher and like the tiger lite jigging rod, Wil be pulling in black/yellowfin tuna, snapper and grouper.

Phred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/3/2014

Customer review by jeff57

2.0 stars 8/3/2014 by jeff57
by jeff57
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bought 2 ugly sticks / big water . Loved how they fished but the reel attachment on one rod came loose and freely rotated around the rod blank. Found it easier to fix it than go thru the hastle of returning it. Must have not had much glue applied or some similar issue.

jeff57
Washington, United States
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tough Stuff
5/18/2014

Customer review by Burgerboy

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Burgerboy
by Burgerboy

I bought this for my most recent trip to Port Aransas, Tx. and it worked well off the pier. I then took it to Galveston 2 weeks ago and had success at the pier and in the surf.   This rod is tough as heck, and gets the job done while still having a fast action tip, to be sensitive.  Great Value !!!

Burgerboy
Aubrey, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great rod
7/21/2014

Customer review by mcon

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by mcon
by mcon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have the 7ft MH spinning rod set up as a bunker snagger and popper flipper and it has great feel for both. The rod has a hard enough action to set the hook for the bunker snagging and gives good action to a plug. Great utility rod.

mcon
CT, United States
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews