Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 13 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

13 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

13 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

46%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-12 of 12 total reviews
46%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Expectations shattered...
12/14/2011

Customer review by rsjsouza

1.0 stars 12/14/2011 by rsjsouza
by rsjsouza

This review focuses on build quality, as the unit did not work. My wife had high expectations for this compass, as it has good looks and the features are just right for her. When the product arrived, we were a bit disappointed by the cheap build and materials used - the chrome details had ondulations and the fitting between them and the black parts had some gaps. Even still we gave it a shot. Opening the battery compartment to remove the plastic tab was easy, however the poor fitting of the parts made it really difficult to put the cover back. With everything put together, the LCD did not show anything although the light was working (a beautiful blue backlight). A few more attempts and the LCD finally showed something, but we could tell it was inoperative and after some 30 seconds it disappeared again (backlight still working). Even the battery was replaced, to no avail. We then decided it was not worth pursuing a replacement due to the low build quality. I am glad we purchased this at Walmart, as the returning process was a breeze. We repackaged everything and brought to the nearest Walmart store.

Was this review helpful? (86) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rsjsouza
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
12/11/2012

Customer review by Gustaphus

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by Gustaphus
by Gustaphus

SKEPTICAL as I was as to whether it would work, especially after reading the other review; I bought it. I followed the instructions, calibrated it, and it works. I took it on a trip with me and it never appeared to be erratic. The calibration is like other digital compasses, you punch the CAL button, you drive in a 1 1/2 circle. It was that simple. So far I am happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gustaphus
Houston Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Could be more useful
12/26/2012

Customer review by 2brewer

3.0 stars 12/26/2012 by 2brewer
by 2brewer

The compass itself works well, calibration was pretty simple. The hard part was getting it to stick to the dash. Using an alcohol patch to clean off any residue such as Armor-All worked the best. The issue is driving at night. You have to reach over and squeeze a button to illuminate the display, and it only stays on for a few seconds. I understand this is to save the battery, but an optional external power supply would be nice so it could stay on all the time.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2brewer
Warrenville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad design
5/26/2013

Customer review by DickWestPalmBeach

1.0 stars 5/26/2013 by DickWestPalmBeach
by DickWestPalmBeach

I could not get this calibrated for my car. Even if I could I would not have kept it. 1. The display is not readable in sunlight. 2. It has a battery light for night. But, you have to press a button to light it and then it only stays on for 4 seconds. 3. It only gives the 12 cardinal compass points, not degrees.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DickWestPalmBeach
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bell Digital Compass
6/4/2014

Customer review by CountryGirl64

5.0 stars 6/4/2014 by CountryGirl64
by CountryGirl64

I have only had this in my car a few days, but so far its great! It was very easy to set up and calibrate! and so far seems to be very accurate. I do like the feature that you turn it on when you need it and it will shut off automatically after 10 minutes if it senses no directional change, which saves the battery life!Then just turn back on when needed again.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CountryGirl64
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice item
8/12/2013

Customer review by GodknowsBest

4.0 stars 8/12/2013 by GodknowsBest
by GodknowsBest

As contrary to others that said it looked cheap, it looks very good for the price and works very good. It actual looks better than it's cost. The mounting could be better, but you can improvise with other tape. For the price there isn't much better, it's plain & simple.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GodknowsBest
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Defective
7/13/2014

Customer review by 1AverageConsumer1

1.0 stars 7/13/2014 by 1AverageConsumer1
by 1AverageConsumer1

The overall look and feel of the compass was nice. However, it only would turn on if you took the back off and applied pressure to the battery. Not very functional.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1AverageConsumer1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good size for the car, not too large.
10/19/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/19/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Instructions were easy. Just the right size for the dash board of the car.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible product
7/11/2014

Customer review by DABX1

1.0 stars 7/11/2014 by DABX1
by DABX1

It never functioned from the moment i received it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DABX1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wont stay on windshield. don't buy.
5/25/2014

Customer review by carefulll

1.0 stars 5/25/2014 by carefulll
by carefulll

Cleaned windshield with alcohol . Attached velcrow by itself, not the weight of the compass for 24 hours. Added compass, and the tape let go within a few hours. May return if I cant find better tape.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carefulll
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This item is too complicated to set-up.
9/15/2014

Customer review by cspries

1.0 stars 9/15/2014 by cspries
by cspries

I would advise anyone ordering this to think how they handle very technical things. The requirement to use the car for set-up is too much!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cspries
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bell digital compass
6/7/2015

Customer review by couldbemuchhappier

2.0 stars 6/7/2015 by couldbemuchhappier
by couldbemuchhappier

Worked OK but the battery went down in a week time. Not what one expects in an automobile compass

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
couldbemuchhappier
Would recommend to a friend? No