Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 24 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
For casual use, not for emergency lighting
9/26/2012

Customer review by icheckemout

2.0 stars 9/26/2012 by icheckemout
by icheckemout

I can't really complain a whole lot considering it's a $7 lamp. It's OK for decorative & casual use, but if you want something that will give you decent light in an emergency power outage, get something better. This lamp is very cheaply made and does not give off much light, barely as much as one candle, if that. Using good quality odorless, smokeless oil, and with a properly trimmed wick, if you turn it up at all, it burns brighter for a few seconds, then quickly decreases in brightness as the oil in the wick burns out quickly. Then the wick itself starts to burn. Better off not turning it up. Who knows, maybe with a better quality replacement wick it would function better. I wouldn't get another one.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
icheckemout
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
These have lasted for eight years, no problems
11/27/2015

Customer review by gramps411

5.0 stars 11/27/2015 by gramps411
by gramps411

Granted, not the best quality, but for the price, a great deal. I have used these through the winter months for my light and supplemental heat ( yes they do supply a good amount of heat too)!! I rarely turn on a light bulb through the winter ( except for Christmas lights). Pretty cozy!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gramps411
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible product, terrible brand! Do NOT buy this!
7/22/2011

Customer review by TXRunningirl

1.0 stars 7/22/2011 by TXRunningirl
by TXRunningirl

I bought this lamp along with the Farmer's Lantern that is made by the same company. Both of them had faulty wick lowering and raising mechanism. I took the mechanism apart (as you would have to do to change the wick) and the metal was so cheap it bent and I could not ever get it back together correctly again. Even before that, the glass top wobbled on the base and did not securely attach without the cardboard that it is packed with (can't be used while burning, but could be used if only a decorative item). This item was very cheaply made and I would NOT recommend buying this product even at half-price! It is junk!!

Was this review helpful? (65) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TXRunningirl
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SUPER BRIGHT!
11/17/2014

Customer review by RANDQUEZ

5.0 stars 11/17/2014 by RANDQUEZ
by RANDQUEZ

A few days ago we had a power outage that lasted a long time which compelled me to buy this lamp along with a bottle of the oil. Everything was ready to go and very easy to set up. Once I got my new kit home, I unscrewed the brass burner from the glass base and filled the base to just over half way with the oil. I screwed the burner back on and waited a few minutes to allow the wick to soak up the oil. The burner has a dial on the side to adjust the wick level. At first lighting I had too much wick exposed and there was black smoke but I was able to dial it down to just the right level and I got a smooth consistently burning flame that was pure and clean. To my amazement this lamp was super bright and it completely lit up the room! As I sat there watching the lamp I became humbled by its beauty and simplicity and I realized that people actually used these over a hundred years ago before there were electric light bulbs. In short I am very pleased with this purchase. I am going to but one for every room of my home so that I am prepared for the next power outage. Thank you Walmart, Randy in Aurora, CO

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RANDQUEZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bought in store, it's 7$ folks works pretty good!
10/8/2015

Customer review by snohfall

5.0 stars 10/8/2015 by snohfall
by snohfall

I bought this and it's fine. I didn't have anything fall off or not work. I'm actually online trying to find more wicks. Using this instead of electricity in the home. I know. Pretty funny, but hey! trying to save here and there right? Works fine in bathroom while showering at night. It let off enough light for me. I'm a female. Still able to shave by feel! ha! But seriously, this is a great lamp. Easy to use, easy to put together. It's glass, so it can fall and break for those who have small children like me. But that will not happen in my home. Best of luck with everyone!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snohfall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hurricane Season is upon us...
9/2/2012

Customer review by Mordichy

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by Mordichy
by Mordichy

I purchased 5 of these lamps. I have had no problems with any of them. Came in real handy when RI was hit with that hurricane in 2011. Changing the wicks has not been a problem. You do need to be gentle with the glass chimney it is made of very thin glass. Great product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mordichy
Westerly, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Prefect Oil Lamp
2/2/2012

Customer review by XplatinumXpixeyX

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by XplatinumXpixeyX
by XplatinumXpixeyX

My Mom got these for her Wedding Table Centerpieces. I got to take one of them home. This thing has come in handy for my family so many time in the summer months when our power goes out the most. I have had this lamp 9+ years and haven't had a single issue with it. Want to get 2 more to spread around the house for power outages.

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XplatinumXpixeyX
Tunkhannock, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
good lamp for the price.
5/4/2015

Customer review by RancherfromNevada

4.0 stars 5/4/2015 by RancherfromNevada
by RancherfromNevada

I have purchased approx. 20 of these lamps. As other reviewer have written, the globes were loose, wick mechanism not working, fell apart. I have been able to fix all the malfunctions with a small pair of needle nose and some common sense. I make wood wall hanging mounts for these and no one and I mean no one has had one complaint about the lamp or holders. Yes they are cheaply made, yes they have some problems but anyone with a little common sense can overcome these problems. Don't be put off by the people that have no ability to fix simple problems.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RancherfromNevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THIS IS NOT A GOOD LAMP
10/20/2011

Customer review by Newby46

1.0 stars 10/20/2011 by Newby46
by Newby46

Absolutely inferior quality in every way. Opened up the top to fill and all the metal parts fell off. Very cheap.

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Newby46
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good lamp!
8/14/2014

Customer review by cndllghtnkrsn

5.0 stars 8/14/2014 by cndllghtnkrsn
by cndllghtnkrsn

This is a very nice oil lamp for the price! The font and chimney are well made, but the burner is the weak point. Swap it out with a replacement threaded collar burner, usually sold right next to the lamp. Unscrew the collar from the burner, fit the collar to the font, add a wick and screw the burner back into the collar. If you keep your wick trimmed and your font 85% full, it'll burn like a $50 lamp. Enjoy the light.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cndllghtnkrsn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
2/7/2012

Customer review by viperbabe35

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by viperbabe35
by viperbabe35

The other people that left bad feedback clearly dont know how to use the oil lamp its a great product and i will love it for years

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
viperbabe35
Winchester, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great product for the price
7/25/2012

Customer review by SoFlo1320

4.0 stars 7/25/2012 by SoFlo1320
by SoFlo1320

I love this lamp. The only problem I had is with the glass chimney. The chimney did not fit tight in the lamp collar and one day it fell and broke. I am now on the hunt for a new chimney. Other than that I had no problems. I enjoy the lamp so much I will replace the chimney or purchase a new lamp.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoFlo1320
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
sad
10/12/2015

Customer review by bigDon

1.0 stars 10/12/2015 by bigDon
by bigDon

I bought this to give to my daughter as emergency lighting for the up coming winter when i took it out of the box it feel apart the burner feel apart in my hand had never been assembled correctly and i was not able to fix it im on my way to return it i just stopped at another store and picked up a better one. Disappointed

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigDon
Would recommend to a friend? No
No a good option
11/9/2012

Customer review by ctlscollins

2.0 stars 11/9/2012 by ctlscollins
by ctlscollins
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Globes and the wicks was not straight. I was able fix the wick but the glass was slanted to the side so it turned black after several minutes of burning.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ctlscollins
Milford, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
FloraSense Glass Oil Lamp, Clear
12/18/2012

Customer review by smmmadden

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by smmmadden
by smmmadden
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Availability was great. The same store we go to did not have it on the shelves yet, but after placing the order the back room where they keep the products had some on hand. So it was available almost instantly which was impressive. It is beautiful and works perfectly. I also recommend buying some extra wicks for it so you have them on hand when needed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smmmadden
Lenoir, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/12/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/12/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought two lamps in March of 2013, with the intentions of using it during the blackouts, and cold winter nights. I was able to use them during the blackouts, and It was AMAZING! I absolutely loved them! These are the best oil lamps I have ever purchased. They met my expectations. I love them, I plan on using them during the winter (If you have birds though, don't have them around the birds) I will usually have them near a window and he window be cracked open, because I do have a lovebird. Any who, I recommend these to anybody who needs them for emergencies, or decorations, or if you simply are like me, and you don't want to use light bulbs at night.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tucson Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
1/24/2015

Customer review by ElectricPrepper

5.0 stars 1/24/2015 by ElectricPrepper
by ElectricPrepper

Fit and finish were surprisingly good for the exceptionally low cost. Filled with oil, trimmed a few stray threads on the 2 cm wide, red stripe, wick - the flame was very symmetrical. Was able to raise/lower wick easily with little effort on the stem. Plenty of light at the kitchen table if the power was out and fills the family room with enough light to avoid crashing into furniture.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElectricPrepper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I was pleased with my purchase
12/18/2012

Customer review by gud4u33

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by gud4u33
by gud4u33
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I felt that my purchase of lamps was priced reasonably. The shape of the oil holder was easy enough for a delicate woman's hands to hold, and still strong structure to keep oil protected. I felt that the tunnel was perhaps too wide at the base, yet it was not enough so to worry me. I appreciated the speed in which I was able to receive it and felt happy with the service I received at the mullan rd Walmart store. They gave me superb service and I was in and out in less than ten minutes.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gud4u33
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Handy Hurricane Lamps
7/27/2013

Customer review by SouthernLadyShops

5.0 stars 7/27/2013 by SouthernLadyShops
by SouthernLadyShops
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These nicely priced oil lamps are great to have on hand for Hurricanes & just about any power outage event. The oil lasts and they give off a nice light. Beats buying batteries over & over. A great cost saving item. Happy Customer!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SouthernLadyShops
DeepSouth, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome lights
5/12/2014

Customer review by TJMfoundation

5.0 stars 5/12/2014 by TJMfoundation
by TJMfoundation
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the oil lamps for light when the power goes out . Filled them and gurner them on. WoW what great light with little oil use. A great deal for two and oil.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TJMfoundation
Hemet,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews