Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

2.0 stars

31 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

2.0 stars

31 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

35%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
21
1-20 of 31 total reviews
35%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Sorry to say....but GARBAGE...nothing but GARBAGE
7/10/2011

Customer review by bstout

1.0 stars 7/10/2011 by bstout
by bstout

Plastic, original bulb did not work. Thankfully my home store replaced the bulb. I put the new bulb in....does not work. Wiring has been checked at the socket is getting power. I should have purchased the metal light at Lowes. This poor piece of Brinks product is being jerked down, boxed and returned.

Was this review helpful? (47) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bstout
Martinsville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Works great so far
10/21/2011

Customer review by perkins48

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by perkins48
by perkins48

I took down a motion detector that I had for 3 days that quit working,decided by all reviews on there,they are troublesome,so I went with a dust to dawn one,this was so easy to install and it comes on and goes off on time and it is plenty of light,my bulb works.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
perkins48
Ellerslie,Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/6/2011

Customer review by SMainer

4.0 stars 11/6/2011 by SMainer
by SMainer

Installed easy,Inexpensive,Very good light output.Comparable to 175 watt light we replaced for less than one fourth the operating costs.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMainer
Southern Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Was easy to install.
11/3/2011

Customer review by 2Help

4.0 stars 11/3/2011 by 2Help
by 2Help

Easy to install. I tried to darken the photo cell to get the light to turn on in daylight with no luck. At night it worked fine. The light output was great. I will probably buy several more and replace some of our other field lights.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2Help
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
JUNK!!!! Waste of Money!
4/8/2012

Customer review by Coalbucket

1.0 stars 4/8/2012 by Coalbucket
by Coalbucket

The first light bulb that came with the light was blown. I had to make another trip to the store to get a replacement. Its been up for about 3wks and now the sensor went in it. I wouldnt recommend anyone to buy this. Should have spent the money on one from Lowes but Looked at name Brand and thought it would be a good one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coalbucket
Meadville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
JUNK
4/30/2012

Customer review by jerryman77

1.0 stars 4/30/2012 by jerryman77
by jerryman77

worked for about a week will not reset unless I climb up ladder and take bulb out no site to troubleshoot DON"T BUY this!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jerryman77
07823
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Absolute Trash
12/7/2012

Customer review by DooDog

1.0 stars 12/7/2012 by DooDog
by DooDog

I installed the first one on Saturday afternoon. I had to replace that one on Tuesday. That one failed Wednesday night. I replaced that one on Thursday morning. Well, here we are on Friday morning a 4:45 a.m. and there's NO LIGHT ON IN MY YARD ! ! Guess what I'll be doing at dawn this morning. Yep... climbing that ladder one last time. What's different about Friday morning? WalMart will have one more piece of junk in their return bin and I will have my money refunded to my billfold. I really am disappointed because the name on the box was "BRINKS" That's American!!!!!! The label under the box, which I did not see, said "MADE IN CHINA" If you decide to buy one, figure a minimum of 12 hours working time. Up and down that ladder, back and forth to Walmart. Have a full tank of gas in your vehicle. Good Luck

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DooDog
Crosby, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
product is junk
12/18/2011

Customer review by thoswell

1.0 stars 12/18/2011 by thoswell
by thoswell

worked for one month

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thoswell
petoskey mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Junk!!!!!!!!!!!!!
12/11/2011

Customer review by Clarky79

1.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Clarky79
by Clarky79

Worked well for around 6 months to a year then the bulb (supposed to be long life) blew or something its junk!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Clarky79
Waverly, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/10/2012

Customer review by rew2012

1.0 stars 12/10/2012 by rew2012
by rew2012

absolute junk. i bought two of these and they didnt last a total of 3 days. dont waste your money, pay a little more and get something that will last.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rew2012
ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not worth the trouble.
6/7/2013

Customer review by PendletonGirl

1.0 stars 6/7/2013 by PendletonGirl
by PendletonGirl

I purchased this light because it used less electricity than my old one. After I put it up, it worked fine for a while. It gives good light for less cost. About 2 months after install, it quit working. I replaced the bulb, but it didn't help. I called the company and complained. They sent a new light. I put it up also which wasn't easy 18 feet off the ground on a ladder. The hanging bracket is not easily tightened around the plastic pipe that holds the light. Again this light worked well. We had a storm and the light was blown off. I purchased another and put it up. After about 6 weeks it quit working. I will have been up a ladder 5 times for these lights. The savings on electricity and purchase price doesn't look as good now. I'm glad I didn't have to have an electrician come and install. The internal wiring seems to be inferior. I don't recommend this light.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PendletonGirl
Pendleton County, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
7/15/2014

Customer review by denosbaby

1.0 stars 7/15/2014 by denosbaby
by denosbaby

I have bought 5 of these in the past 1 1/2 years plus 3 extra bulbs. Had I read the reviews I would have never bought the 1st 1. I figured that it would be a good light since it's made by Brinks. Guess I was wrong. Wish I hadn't thrown all the others away. I would send them all to Brinks and tell them that they are all JUNK.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
denosbaby
Would recommend to a friend? No
cheap plastic
6/30/2015

Customer review by bigjohn

1.0 stars 6/30/2015 by bigjohn
by bigjohn

listing makes me think its aluminum,but it`s cheap thin plastic.they should say it`s plastic.i still like it for the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigjohn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT OUTDOOR LIGHT!!!!
2/26/2013

Customer review by 7Julie7

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by 7Julie7
by 7Julie7

We bought this light so we could light up our fenced in yard and see our dogs when we let them out at night. It has been wonderful. It lights up the yard and now I wonder how we ever got along without it. I think it is a great light for security purposes too. My husband installed it and he said it was very easy to install, in fact he is on his way to get another one because this one is no longer working...we are lost without it. This will be the third one we have purchased, but for $25 we definately get our money out of them...they last around 2-3 years with bulb replacement usually once or twice during that time. Purchase it!! You will be pleasantly surprised!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
7Julie7
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bad Bad Bad
10/31/2012

Customer review by ArkieS

1.0 stars 10/31/2012 by ArkieS
by ArkieS

I have bought 4 of these because of the price (2 replacements). They worked fine for a few months but when something goes wrong either the bulb or the electric eye then it shorts everything out.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArkieS
Leachville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/14/2013

Customer review by hogfan007

1.0 stars 9/14/2013 by hogfan007
by hogfan007

i have bought two and they only work for about three months. wasted my money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hogfan007
crossett ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Would not recomend to any one!
11/4/2013

Customer review by CAB1977

1.0 stars 11/4/2013 by CAB1977
by CAB1977

Great price, to bad it ends there. Replace bulbs every 6 months & the light yearly! Save your money & buy a better one!! Once again would not recomend to any one!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CAB1977
Wells River, VT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Junk
9/27/2014

Customer review by Handyman979

1.0 stars 9/27/2014 by Handyman979
by Handyman979

If you don't mind replacing this light every 2 weeks it may work for you. Seriously DO NOT BUY this light not worth the time putting it up!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Handyman979
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't buy this buy the Metal Halide
4/27/2013

Customer review by Notmyrealnamethen

1.0 stars 4/27/2013 by Notmyrealnamethen
by Notmyrealnamethen

Worked for less then 2 months I had read reviews and stil bought so my fault. Don't buy this... I bought a Metall Halide 100 watts at the same time(for front yard and still works# it's 4 times the lighting power and theres only about a 5$ a year difference in electricty cost # I have my Metal Halide light on a timer cause the the photo sensor gets blocked by my trees#. I also wired in a Flowtron Bug 40watt zapper that hangs right below the light #from Amazon)(avoid stinger they clog) because of the bugs will swarm this light and it stays busy zaping away. Cost is $59 for the metal halide that I have had past luck with and will last. or $25 for something that may or may not last the fluorescent one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Notmyrealnamethen
Azle TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Junk
4/10/2013

Customer review by Rockhound2

1.0 stars 4/10/2013 by Rockhound2
by Rockhound2

Worked for 1 day.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rockhound2
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews