Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
8
1-20 of 40 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
Can't beat the warranty
4/14/2012

Customer review by AEK1

5.0 stars 4/14/2012 by AEK1
by AEK1

I have purchased Wal Mart Batteries for years with great success and never had a problem. The warranty is great. If it ever it should go out, there are Wal Mart stores everywhere to get an exchange AND they are open on weekends should you be on a trip somewhere and need a replacement. I would like to add a little helpful tip I have learned over the years to all those who might be putting in a new battery. Always make sure that your contacts on your battery cables are clean and free of corrosion before installing the new battery. If you don't install it yourself make sure the attendant checks to make sure they are clean!!!!!! Dirty contacts will reduce the performance of your battery AND shorten it's life. Once the contacts are clean, coat the positive side with a small amount of Vaseline or dielectric grease to prevent corrosion from forming. Follow these tips and your battery should last you a long time.

Was this review helpful? (166) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AEK1
Converse, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
BEST PRICE and LASTED LONG
3/1/2015

Customer review by MasterMaster

5.0 stars 3/1/2015 by MasterMaster
by MasterMaster

Just finished extensive pricing online. Looks like getting another one of these from Walmart. Have one of these in our big Buick Park Avenue, and it just died 4 years and 6 months after putting it in. Probably would have lasted longer if would have run car more often. Car sat about a month in record lowest temperatures of any February in our local history, and went to move car and wouldn't start. Jumped it and took for long drive, but wouldn't start the next time went to use it. Next closest price for a 36 month battery is $125 but none of that price range in stock at "any" of the other places that sells car batteries. I checked them all!!! Plus the CCA and Reserve is lower. You are forced to step up to at least the $150 battery at these places, and get the same 36 mo. warranty, and amps and reserve rating actually still a little lower than this EverStart. I sure can't complain about 4 and a half years and a 50 dollar savings

Was this review helpful? (39) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MasterMaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I put it in and my car started!
2/6/2016

Customer review by BK4293

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by BK4293
by BK4293

After having my 2003 Cadillac CTS sit for a little over a month it seems the AC Delco battery I had went south on me. Being a Friday night / Saturday morning I was definately having trouble finding a group size 101 battery for my car and couldn't believe the battery was going to cost me $200.00! While googling to find information and prices at various car parts stores I came across a post on Cadillac Forums recommending this battery. It's a tad bit bigger then the group size 101 but does have more cold cranking amps than the recommended battery (Yes, a little important when you live in Chicago) and was readily available at multiple Walmarts in the area. Purchased the battery online, picked it up in the store in Addison, IL. (Which was honestly a very pleasant experience), installed the battery and all of my problems disappeared. Batteries been in for about three weeks and still going strong.

Was this review helpful? (44) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BK4293
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Warranty
3/28/2017

Customer review by DuginMT

3.0 stars 3/28/2017 by DuginMT
by DuginMT

I have been through 4 or 5 of these batteries in my '97 Chevy truck. I have left the dome light on many times, and the battery goes dead and I have to charge it. This happened again yesterday, but the battery wouldn'the take a charge, so I got a free replacement since it was only 2 years, 10 months old. About average, in my experience, for this battery in my truck. Yes, low lifespan (the original battery in my '08 Charger still works great), but my local Walmart has been standing behind the warranty, even without the original receipt. At least none of these batteries have ever left me stranded out on the road, and my investment has been minimal.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DuginMT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't believe how long it has lasted
12/3/2016

Customer review by JJLjr

5.0 stars 12/3/2016 by JJLjr
by JJLjr

In live in RI and with the winter coming I thought it might be time to buy a new battery for our 2002 Saturn. I checked my repair file and found the receipt for the 78N battery I bought from Walmart. I couldn't believe that the purchase date was 10/26/08. That's right, the battery is 8 years and 1 month old. I'll probably buy another this weekend because I'm probably pushing the limits at this point and I don't want to get stuck once the really cold weather arrives. I'm going straight to Walmart. It's $20 more than 2008 but what hasn't gone up in the last 8 years. And if I get 8 years out of this battery, it's well worth an additional $2.50/yr.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JJLjr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Battery
3/2/2012

Customer review by donfranko

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by donfranko
by donfranko

I bought a MAXX-78N battery in Feb. 2007 for my 2000 Chevy Silverado P.U. truck. The battery is now five years old, and I noticed that it is just now starting to turn the engine over a little more slowly. Still turns it over and starts it though. For a battery with 36 month warranty, five years is pretty darn good. I'm going to keep using it till it goes bad completely before I replace it, and I figure that won't be till this coming fall (Oct 2012). Very please with this battery, and I will replace it with an identical one from WalMart.

Was this review helpful? (142) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donfranko
Tiffin, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
BEST BATTERY EVER
4/10/2014

Customer review by QueenCarmelita

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by QueenCarmelita
by QueenCarmelita

I bought this battery in April 2006 after looking two other places for a battery to fit my truck with no luck. It went dead today, 8 YEARS LATER. Actually, short of 8 years by about 2 weeks. Absolutely no complaints, the AAA guy that jumped me said he had never seen a battery that lasted that long. So, needless to say as soon as it was jumped I headed straight to Walmart for another one.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QueenCarmelita
Sacramento, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Warranty has been great.
2/5/2014

Customer review by lalfie

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by lalfie
by lalfie

Replaced this battery twice. Once in early 2012, and today. I cannot tell you that this is the greatest battery, when it works it is great.... but when it goes bad. It is as dead, no charge. Walmart employees have been really easy to work with on replacing the batteries. No receipt needed, they look it up in their system and honor the warranty once the deep battery test result in replacement of battery.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lalfie
plainfield, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
EverStart Battery is AAA's best friend.
3/19/2015

Customer review by Fanci

1.0 stars 3/19/2015 by Fanci
by Fanci

I bought this battery. It failed me and went dead. Charging wouldn't help. Took it back as it was under warranty and the battery was replaced with a newer version of this same battery. The second battery lasted a total of 3 weeks. It too died. I got the second one to charge but my mechanic said it is junk. After a charge the cold cranking amps .. which are supposed to be 800.. when in actuality registered at 200. I am very disappointed with this product.

Was this review helpful? (30) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fanci
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Battery Value Out There
5/20/2012

Customer review by A440Tuner

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by A440Tuner
by A440Tuner

My MAXX 78 battery on my 2002 GMC Sierra has died. I looked at the sticker. It reads 9/05. Well, it is now 5/12. I got more than 6 dependable years out of my MAXX battery. Walmart is open 24/7 in most places, and there's a Walmart close to me somewhere. I'll be trading it for another MAXX 78 today.

Was this review helpful? (91) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
A440Tuner
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
If you don't value your sanity - then buy this!
2/26/2014

Customer review by SooooIrish

1.0 stars 2/26/2014 by SooooIrish
by SooooIrish

Live in SE Kansas. I replaced this MAXX-78N battery in APR 2009, then JUL 2010, then JUN 2012 and now on FEB 26, 2014, it won't start my car. Last two starts in the last week, I noticed that old familiar little hesitation but was warm enough, with good engine tune, it has started. Now, just a few days later, when temp is at 36º, it won't turn the engine over. I have it in the house on my 6 amp charger and will put it back in and hope it will go a little bit longer for warmer weather so I can more easily take this one back as well. Before last replacement, it stranded me all over town. I'm really afraid to drive it now.

Was this review helpful? (21) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SooooIrish
Parsons, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
9/7/2012

Customer review by 88yoda

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by 88yoda
by 88yoda

Purchased this battery in 12/2005. It has been extreme heat in the deserty and cold of the mountains with no problems. Now 09/2012 battery is now just a little tried and probably time to replace. I feel I got my money out of this battery. Almost seven years of extreme use not bad.

Was this review helpful? (41) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
88yoda
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Don't believe the "FREE" replacement warranty
9/24/2012

Customer review by Oldsalt52

3.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Oldsalt52
by Oldsalt52

The warranty says "Free" replacement for 3 years. My latest battery lasted 2 years and 8 months. The replacement was not quite free. They only gave credit for the original cost of the battery. Over the nearly 3 years the price of the battery has risen $11. I had to pay the difference. It isn't that much over 3 years but that is not my definition of FREE. Otherwise the battery is about as good as most other brands available.

Was this review helpful? (80) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldsalt52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor
1/23/2013

Customer review by sobb

1.0 stars 1/23/2013 by sobb
by sobb

Bought an EverStart Maxx battery at Walmart in 2008. Replaced in bad winter weather 2010. Now, in 2013, again the thing needs replacement. Their Champion line of batteries is supposedly made better and I talked with Johnson Controls who makes their batteries for the data. Still, had enough with free replacement batteries from Walmart or Sam's Club. I just want one to last 8 years with no issue. Getting Ford Motorcraft battery, now. I see that AC Delco are very good as well. I had a Ford Motorcraft years ago in another car and that lasted forever no problem. Had a Duralast from Autozone in yet another car and that was alright as well. I highly recomend the Ford Motorcraft, though. They make them for cars of all makes, not just Fords.

Was this review helpful? (42) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sobb
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
TIME FLYS 7 years and 2 months, not bad
1/13/2016

Customer review by westy23

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by westy23
by westy23

Today I left my 4 way flashers on for about 2 hours after I plowed, ( I LIVE IN MAINE ). When I tried to start it nothing. While I was connecting my battery charger I looked to see when I had purchased my MAXX 78N. I thought it might be under warranty. HUH . It was marked oct. 08. "WOW" TIME FLYS. So I am going to Walmart tonight to purchase another MAXX 78N. Hopefully it will last another 7 years. Thank you WALLYWORLD

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
westy23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Maxx 78N failed after 13 months
12/18/2014

Customer review by mc4ester

1.0 stars 12/18/2014 by mc4ester
by mc4ester

Battery failed after 13 months. Exchanged under warranty at no cost. Hope next one lasts longer. Wife does not handle being stuck very well.

Was this review helpful? (28) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mc4ester
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good warranty - Terrible battery
1/11/2017

Customer review by Courtney

3.0 stars 1/11/2017 by Courtney
by Courtney

Bought this battery in 2015 towards the end of the year. It was dated March 2015, it was the newest battery I could find on Walmart's dusty shelves. The 3 year warranty for Maxx's starts with the manufacture date of the battery if you don't bring your original receipt in for a replacement. So that was already a couple months off the warranty but no big deal, I didn't expect to have to use the warranty with all the good reviews. Fast forward to a couple days ago, went to start my car after it sitting for a couple days and the battery is dead. No warning whatsoever, it was cranking up just fine and I've let my car sit for WEEKS before and it starts up just fine. So I try jump starting, it doesn't start after 5 minutes. Not after 10. Gave up after letting it charge for 15 minutes. Brought it to Walmart and they tested and yup, dead battery. I'd used it for less than 1 and a half years. I never left my lights on and always drove enough to keep the battery fully charged. Pitiful life span for a $100 battery. Good news is I had no issues getting a free replacement because it was dead as a doornail. Just a forewarning, Walmart's battery tester can give the battery a surface charge that will read a false positive and they'll deny you a replacement. So make sure the battery is DEAD, as in not only will your car not start, but the lights and radio won't turn on either. This battery has a 5 year warranty - 3 years of that is a free replacement. After that's up, the other 2 years is a prorated replacement. The employee I spoke to said I only had to pay $20 for a replacement battery, even a day before the warranty expires. Not a bad plan, so long as I don't have troubles getting a replacement in the future, and I imagine this replacement battery won't last very long either. This battery was used in a 2001 Chevy Lumina.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Courtney
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for my 2003 Cadillac CTS 3.2
12/18/2015

Customer review by 5chazz

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by 5chazz
by 5chazz

I've had the Maxx 78N installed since Nov 2011, so I'm now at 49 months with never a problem. We live in Milwaukee Wisconsin and 2 years ago had -30 temps. 800 cca's are what you need. The price is a steal at $107! Highly recommend. If you have a CTS don't believe the recommendation that you get nothing but a 101! I'll wait until this one dies (don't know when...) then will by another Max 78. Outstanding battery by Johnson Controls.

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5chazz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Battery Life Span
10/10/2016

Customer review by copper2037

5.0 stars 10/10/2016 by copper2037
by copper2037

I purchased my battery in July 2011. 5 years later without any problems and now it's getting tired. I've had to jump it twice in the last two months so it's time to replace it before winter comes. This MAXX 78N has worked extremely well in my 1994 Chevy Silverado 4x4 V-8 and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Price is right around $100.00 and it comes with a 3 year Free Replacement as well.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
copper2037
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1 month after warranty expires it failed
2/9/2014

Customer review by valueshopper0000

1.0 stars 2/9/2014 by valueshopper0000
by valueshopper0000

I had problems with this when it got down to single digits, would not turn vehicle over. I assumed it was a relay causing the problem. The 2nd time it wouldn't start in the cold weather I had the battery checked but unfortunately it was 30 days past the 3 year mark. I noticed another review where this battery had failed within the 3 year period. These should be lasting significantly longer longer than 3 years in my climate area. While Wal-Mart still has "SOME" pro-rating for 2 years after the warranty it looks like the manufacture/seller are shooting for a 3 year average. The pro-rated discount wasn't very much for 30 days past the warranty but does allow them to give an impression that this battery will last. Maybe there was a bad batch made 3 years ago.

Was this review helpful? (10) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
valueshopper0000
rogers,ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:Longer than one year
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews