Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

21 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

21 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-20 of 20 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Battery
3/2/2012

Customer review by donfranko

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by donfranko
by donfranko

I bought a MAXX-78N battery in Feb. 2007 for my 2000 Chevy Silverado P.U. truck. The battery is now five years old, and I noticed that it is just now starting to turn the engine over a little more slowly. Still turns it over and starts it though. For a battery with 36 month warranty, five years is pretty darn good. I'm going to keep using it till it goes bad completely before I replace it, and I figure that won't be till this coming fall (Oct 2012). Very please with this battery, and I will replace it with an identical one from WalMart.

Was this review helpful? (102) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
donfranko
Tiffin, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't beat the warranty
4/14/2012

Customer review by AEK1

5.0 stars 4/14/2012 by AEK1
by AEK1

I have purchased Wal Mart Batteries for years with great success and never had a problem. The warranty is great. If it ever it should go out, there are Wal Mart stores everywhere to get an exchange AND they are open on weekends should you be on a trip somewhere and need a replacement. I would like to add a little helpful tip I have learned over the years to all those who might be putting in a new battery. Always make sure that your contacts on your battery cables are clean and free of corrosion before installing the new battery. If you don't install it yourself make sure the attendant checks to make sure they are clean!!!!!! Dirty contacts will reduce the performance of your battery AND shorten it's life. Once the contacts are clean, coat the positive side with a small amount of Vaseline or dielectric grease to prevent corrosion from forming. Follow these tips and your battery should last you a long time.

Was this review helpful? (79) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AEK1
Converse, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Battery Value Out There
5/20/2012

Customer review by A440Tuner

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by A440Tuner
by A440Tuner

My MAXX 78 battery on my 2002 GMC Sierra has died. I looked at the sticker. It reads 9/05. Well, it is now 5/12. I got more than 6 dependable years out of my MAXX battery. Walmart is open 24/7 in most places, and there's a Walmart close to me somewhere. I'll be trading it for another MAXX 78 today.

Was this review helpful? (62) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
A440Tuner
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/7/2012

Customer review by 88yoda

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by 88yoda
by 88yoda

Purchased this battery in 12/2005. It has been extreme heat in the deserty and cold of the mountains with no problems. Now 09/2012 battery is now just a little tried and probably time to replace. I feel I got my money out of this battery. Almost seven years of extreme use not bad.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
88yoda
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't believe the "FREE" replacement warranty
9/24/2012

Customer review by Oldsalt52

3.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Oldsalt52
by Oldsalt52

The warranty says "Free" replacement for 3 years. My latest battery lasted 2 years and 8 months. The replacement was not quite free. They only gave credit for the original cost of the battery. Over the nearly 3 years the price of the battery has risen $11. I had to pay the difference. It isn't that much over 3 years but that is not my definition of FREE. Otherwise the battery is about as good as most other brands available.

Was this review helpful? (58) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oldsalt52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST BATTERY EVER
4/10/2014

Customer review by QueenCarmelita

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by QueenCarmelita
by QueenCarmelita

I bought this battery in April 2006 after looking two other places for a battery to fit my truck with no luck. It went dead today, 8 YEARS LATER. Actually, short of 8 years by about 2 weeks. Absolutely no complaints, the AAA guy that jumped me said he had never seen a battery that lasted that long. So, needless to say as soon as it was jumped I headed straight to Walmart for another one.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QueenCarmelita
Sacramento, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/26/2012

Customer review by 7115y

1.0 stars 3/26/2012 by 7115y
by 7115y

I'm on my 3rd Maxx 78 battery. After about 8 months they won't hold a charge more than 8 or 9 months even when they are disconnected. My current one is 8 months old and comes with a free replacement but I'm buying another brand.

Was this review helpful? (39) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
7115y
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Poor
1/23/2013

Customer review by sobb

1.0 stars 1/23/2013 by sobb
by sobb

Bought an EverStart Maxx battery at Walmart in 2008. Replaced in bad winter weather 2010. Now, in 2013, again the thing needs replacement. Their Champion line of batteries is supposedly made better and I talked with Johnson Controls who makes their batteries for the data. Still, had enough with free replacement batteries from Walmart or Sam's Club. I just want one to last 8 years with no issue. Getting Ford Motorcraft battery, now. I see that AC Delco are very good as well. I had a Ford Motorcraft years ago in another car and that lasted forever no problem. Had a Duralast from Autozone in yet another car and that was alright as well. I highly recomend the Ford Motorcraft, though. They make them for cars of all makes, not just Fords.

Was this review helpful? (22) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sobb
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
EverStart Maxx 78N awsome warranty
2/2/2014

Customer review by sparky152

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by sparky152
by sparky152

Had this battery 2 years 10 months and it started losing cca power 12-21-2013,( tested @450cca rated:800). Today I took it back, walmart tested it and was found to be bad. I got a new battery at no charge. I was very happy they honored the warranty. Only bad part is the new one has no warranty because the warranty from the old one was applied to the new one and it only had 2 months left but who cares I got nothing to worry about for at least 2 yrs 10 months ha ha KNOCK ON LOTS OF WOOD RIGHT!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sparky152
Sheboygan, wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Maxx 78N failed after 13 months
12/18/2014

Customer review by mc4ester

1.0 stars 12/18/2014 by mc4ester
by mc4ester

Battery failed after 13 months. Exchanged under warranty at no cost. Hope next one lasts longer. Wife does not handle being stuck very well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mc4ester
Would recommend to a friend? No
If you don't value your sanity - then buy this!
2/26/2014

Customer review by SooooIrish

1.0 stars 2/26/2014 by SooooIrish
by SooooIrish

Live in SE Kansas. I replaced this MAXX-78N battery in APR 2009, then JUL 2010, then JUN 2012 and now on FEB 26, 2014, it won't start my car. Last two starts in the last week, I noticed that old familiar little hesitation but was warm enough, with good engine tune, it has started. Now, just a few days later, when temp is at 36º, it won't turn the engine over. I have it in the house on my 6 amp charger and will put it back in and hope it will go a little bit longer for warmer weather so I can more easily take this one back as well. Before last replacement, it stranded me all over town. I'm really afraid to drive it now.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SooooIrish
Parsons, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Warranty has been great.
2/5/2014

Customer review by lalfie

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by lalfie
by lalfie

Replaced this battery twice. Once in early 2012, and today. I cannot tell you that this is the greatest battery, when it works it is great.... but when it goes bad. It is as dead, no charge. Walmart employees have been really easy to work with on replacing the batteries. No receipt needed, they look it up in their system and honor the warranty once the deep battery test result in replacement of battery.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lalfie
plainfield, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Battery
9/10/2012

Customer review by trustworthy10

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by trustworthy10
by trustworthy10

Just replaced a 78N I bought 12/5. Never had any problems with this battery and on top of it for some reason I received a pro-rated price on the old battery of $26. About two months ago I noticed it wasn't turning over as good and the last two days I needed a jump battery to start my 03 chevy avlanche I bought new in Oct 02.. I replaced the original delco battery that only got three years and a couple of months with this walmart 78n battery 12/05..

Was this review helpful? (15) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trustworthy10
ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Repeat customer for MAXX
8/24/2013

Customer review by KEWjr

5.0 stars 8/24/2013 by KEWjr
by KEWjr

I bought my second Everlast MAXX 78S today, after 8 flawless years from its predecessor. The 'S' version is for usage in the southern heat. For a battery to hold up eight years in a truck, in Texas, is pretty darn impressive. Walmart indeed has a great battery! Nothing but MAXX batteries for my car and truck.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KEWjr
Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1 month after warranty expires it failed
2/9/2014

Customer review by valueshopper0000

1.0 stars 2/9/2014 by valueshopper0000
by valueshopper0000

I had problems with this when it got down to single digits, would not turn vehicle over. I assumed it was a relay causing the problem. The 2nd time it wouldn't start in the cold weather I had the battery checked but unfortunately it was 30 days past the 3 year mark. I noticed another review where this battery had failed within the 3 year period. These should be lasting significantly longer longer than 3 years in my climate area. While Wal-Mart still has "SOME" pro-rating for 2 years after the warranty it looks like the manufacture/seller are shooting for a 3 year average. The pro-rated discount wasn't very much for 30 days past the warranty but does allow them to give an impression that this battery will last. Maybe there was a bad batch made 3 years ago.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
valueshopper0000
rogers,ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
EverStart Battery is AAA's best friend.
3/19/2015

Customer review by Fanci

1.0 stars 3/19/2015 by Fanci
by Fanci

I bought this battery. It failed me and went dead. Charging wouldn't help. Took it back as it was under warranty and the battery was replaced with a newer version of this same battery. The second battery lasted a total of 3 weeks. It too died. I got the second one to charge but my mechanic said it is junk. After a charge the cold cranking amps .. which are supposed to be 800.. when in actuality registered at 200. I am very disappointed with this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fanci
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works
5/21/2015

Customer review by notmyrealname

5.0 stars 5/21/2015 by notmyrealname
by notmyrealname

Works fine so far. As another reviewer stated, make sure you check the water level if you are installing it yourself. I had to add water to all the cells to bring it up to where it should be. And only use distilled water.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from EverstartExpert - 6/8/2015

We do not recommend that you add any fluid to the battery. This will compromise the warranty and will also impact the fluid level in the battery resulting in possible overflow.

notmyrealname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST PRICE and LASTED LONG
3/1/2015

Customer review by MasterMaster

5.0 stars 3/1/2015 by MasterMaster
by MasterMaster

Just finished extensive pricing online. Looks like getting another one of these from Walmart. Have one of these in our big Buick Park Avenue, and it just died 4 years and 6 months after putting it in. Probably would have lasted longer if would have run car more often. Car sat about a month in record lowest temperatures of any February in our local history, and went to move car and wouldn't start. Jumped it and took for long drive, but wouldn't start the next time went to use it. Next closest price for a 36 month battery is $125 but none of that price range in stock at "any" of the other places that sells car batteries. I checked them all!!! Plus the CCA and Reserve is lower. You are forced to step up to at least the $150 battery at these places, and get the same 36 mo. warranty, and amps and reserve rating actually still a little lower than this EverStart. I sure can't complain about 4 and a half years and a 50 dollar savings

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MasterMaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Battery
7/8/2015

Customer review by Q312233

5.0 stars 7/8/2015 by Q312233
by Q312233

Purchased 2 for a diesel. So far they perform good. Had 2 months. Best warranty on the market beat napa batteries, interstate batteries and others that i researched. For the longer warranty and lower price than all others its a no brainer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Q312233
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good
7/11/2015

Customer review by Candyman

5.0 stars 7/11/2015 by Candyman
by Candyman

So far so good, Started the car right away. Will know if it can hold the charge in a month or two.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Candyman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes