Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

59 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

59 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
18
1-20 of 58 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
Second MAXX Battery I have purchased
12/1/2016

Customer review by Bobcat86

5.0 stars 12/1/2016 by Bobcat86
by Bobcat86

This is the second MAXX battery I have purchased and like the first, I am nothing short of extremely pleased. This one went into a 99 Grand Am restoration/modification project and it consistently has performed even though it only gets charged by running the vehicle occasionally.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobcat86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mixed feelings... Recommendation: Don't buy
9/21/2013

Customer review by Sam40204

1.0 stars 9/21/2013 by Sam40204
by Sam40204

I have two of these batteries. One is in my 98 Honda Accord and the second is in my 96 Buick Lesabre. The Accord battery is doing just find. I've had it over three years now and have no complaints. I have replaced the Buick's battery twice (I'm on my third one of these batteries). Everyone one of these batteries in the Buick has gone bad before the warranty ended so I've gotten two free batteries. I have had to replace them all at about a year and the third one it right at the year mark and dead as well. For the longest time I thought someone was wrong with my car. Then after having an honest mechanic with over 25 years of experience look at the car was told by him it may just be that these are cheap batteries. I have been thinking he was wrong until I read a lot of the other reviews. But now I'm sure its the batteries. I say DON'T get this battery. It's a gamble whether it will work or not after a years time.

Was this review helpful? (101) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sam40204
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Horrible life
2/4/2013

Customer review by JordanHB

1.0 stars 2/4/2013 by JordanHB
by JordanHB

I got this battery as it fit into my 1995 Buick Park Avenue base model. Well I live in a cold climate and I am sure to start my car everyday to get some charge in it, make sure the gas isn't freezing. I bought this battery in December of 12, and it was manufactured November of 12. Within a couple of weeks it started to freeze. When I took the battery out to bring it inside it sounded slushy on the inside. I start and drive my car EVERY DAY! It should not be freezing. After i thawed it out, it cranked the car up just fine with no issues. Today, poof, nothing its dead. I was just in it last night, to a 30 minute road trip. The battery isn't frozen, plenty of fluid, its just magically dead. Nothing such as a power drain caused it as all of my lights, heating/cooling system, and interior lights, and even my radio are turned off before i leave my car. Disappointed. I will unfortunately have to use the warranty until I can't anymore. I wish it was just more reliable. I may have gotten a faulty battery... that happens. But in my opinion there should not be this many faulty batteries... who does quality control?

Was this review helpful? (51) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JordanHB
Alamosa, Co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
i'm on my 5th battery in under 2 years
1/16/2017

Customer review by buckhunter

1.0 stars 1/16/2017 by buckhunter
by buckhunter

you might think there is another issue like the alternator or the starter maybe a bad ground or a short? the truth is that this product is horrible, for todays vehicles that require a good power supply this is not it. Other than the name everstart, that is infact it's best quality is the name the product is unreliable at best

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buckhunter
Would recommend to a friend? No
Item Excellent BUT
2/8/2017

Customer review by Robert

5.0 stars 2/8/2017 by Robert
by Robert
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an excellent item but service was lacking while attempting to submit core for refund. Actually had to go back another day for return as no one new the process.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
so far so good and great price!
3/21/2017

Customer review by Erin

4.0 stars 3/21/2017 by Erin
by Erin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It works. It's good for the price. The only thing I seem to notice is my headlights are very dim. I can't say 100% it's from the battery. I feel it might be because they weren't that dim before but the car sat for 8 months and the seal around the headlights was removed on both by some backyard mechanic who said he could changed my headlights. Once he ripped off the rubber seal maybe the headlights are exposed to the elements that's why now they are so dim. I don't know but seems more like that would be from the battery. It works perfect so far so good and great price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Erin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Battery
9/15/2011

Customer review by bechap

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by bechap
by bechap

Consumer Reports rate this battery tops and there's a reason why. It's a good quality, dependable battery. I've bought these before and always had the best of luck. The trick is to look at the date stamped on the the battery before you buy. The month of manufacture is determined by the alphabet. A is January etc. and the year follows. You may have to dig back in the pack to get a fresh one, (less than 6 months old) but that said, You should be pleased with your purchse. Bechap

Was this review helpful? (267) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bechap
Logan, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Great battery!
11/11/2016

Customer review by TommyV

5.0 stars 11/11/2016 by TommyV
by TommyV

I bought this for my 03 grand am and for my 99 Grand Prix. Both cars have after market systems in them. One has 3 amps paying over 4,000 watts. This battery holds up great! I've had the ever start max in many vehicles including an old blazer. It always starts and lasts a very long time. The only time the battery "bogs" iSight I have the stereo bumping at full volume and have the lights and heat and rear defroster on..... which is typical because the rear defroster draws a lot of power. I will continue to use these batteries and recommend them OVER the base line optima. I've had Hughes stereos in my cars since I've been driving and the maxx is BY FAR THE BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TommyV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
FIRST THING!!!!! CHECK THE WATER LEVEL
10/30/2012

Customer review by TennisguyMike55

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by TennisguyMike55
by TennisguyMike55

I bought this battery yesterday on the basis of the Consumer Reports rating. It had a sticker on the top with a date of 10/12 and so was less than 6 months old as CR had recommended it be. I installed the battery myself and, thank goodness I checked the water level before installing. All six cells were low and it took a little over 2 cups of water total to fill all six to near the top. Maybe this is how they are shipped and, if walmart had installed this for me, they would do this routinely. Otherwise, once installed, my 2001 S-10 pickup cranked strong and started up in 1-2 seconds. I'll update this review if any problems arise.

Was this review helpful? (98) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TennisguyMike55
Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Better than the average Bear
3/5/2017

Customer review by Pudthedogisourpal

5.0 stars 3/5/2017 by Pudthedogisourpal
by Pudthedogisourpal

Like Yogi Bear, I have found the EverStart MAXX to be a better then the average battery. I have one in a 2002 Ford Explorer placed in 2011 still going strong. I had to replace the stock battery in my wife's car (2011 Buick Regal) last year. No problems so far with the new battery. There is always the possibility that a lead acid battery can go bad premature, but for the price you pay for this....I find the gamble is well worth it. For the extra ten or twenty bucks....definitely go the the MAXX (still made by Johnson Controls at this time). I have no opinion on the Value battery. Probably OK if you plan to sell the car soon. Oh, and pay attention to the month/year the battery was made. The battery we just purchased last night for my son's car that was in the street not starting was made last month. Walmart puts a sticker with this info on top of the battery. Never buy a battery over 6 months old that just been sitting around not being used. And if your not driving the car daily or just short distances it might be a good idea to use a trickle charger to keep it fully charged. Last thing, my son's car started first crank (the no good battery in the car was placed in November 2014 at a local gas station that I'm sure the previous owner paid way too much for).

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pudthedogisourpal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Battery
3/15/2017

Customer review by Sandi

5.0 stars 3/15/2017 by Sandi
by Sandi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just don't last
1/19/2013

Customer review by Tim911

2.0 stars 1/19/2013 by Tim911
by Tim911

These look great at the store. Labeled with the 8 year life span. Biggest problem is the warrantee is a flat 3 years. Beyond 3 years and you are on your own. These batteries simply do not last. The one presently in my car is 25 months old and will only hold a 50% charge at 75 degrees. Let the car sit outside on a cold day (20 - 25 degrees) and the charge degrades to 30%. This will not start a car. This is the 4th one of these I have had to replace. Two of them cracked at the side terminal entries and leaked acid in the battery compartment and down over the engine compartment and garage floor and two dropped voltage to useless levels. Now, here we go again and the ogre in the auto parts area says NO to honoring the 3 year warrantee because the battery shows 50% charge at room temperature. Doesn't matter if it won't start my car. "Your only option is buy a new one" Well, I will buy a new one but not at Walmart !!! Seriously, these batteries appear to be engineered to fail very close to 3 years but the design is faulty and they wont last that long. The 8 year label is complete nonsense. If you only need a 2 year battery this will probably be OK but is way overpriced for a 2 year battery. Look at any other brand if you want a regular battery that will last a typical 4 - 5 year life.

Was this review helpful? (54) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tim911
Southwest OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Lasted 7 years in my GMC Pickup
10/28/2016

Customer review by Jesse

5.0 stars 10/28/2016 by Jesse
by Jesse

The bad thing about automotive batteries these days is that they have a cell open and leave you stuck. This EverStart battery started cranking slow; it was time to replace it. Trying to get a few extra months out of a battery is poor economy; all you'll end up doing is burning up your alternator while it tries to keep the worn out battery charged. Auto____ wanted $120 for their 3 year warranty battery. (I had to pass them on the way home.) We've got one of these in my wife's six passenger Buick too... but only for the past two years. All 7 of our vehicles are kept on battery maintainers. The 6 volt (1 year full replacement) tractor battery has lasted 5 years on a maintainer, on average; over 45 years it adds up. I'm pretty sure the older batteries used to last longer... like the EverStart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jesse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Battery!
2/26/2017

Customer review by Shadow

5.0 stars 2/26/2017 by Shadow
by Shadow

After 8 years i finally have to replace this darn battery, won't hold a charge anymore. Best dang battery I ever had!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shadow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/25/2012

Customer review by StillPOed

1.0 stars 11/25/2012 by StillPOed
by StillPOed

1st battery failed in warranty period. Replacement lasted less than 2 years (21months) this was a 3year warranty battery. It was not replaced under the warranty because it was a replacement for a previous defective battery. This battery was used in a personal vehicle in a normal manner. There was no abuse. I could never recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (77) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StillPOed
Beavercreek,Oh.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
3 batteries in 4 years
12/19/2016

Customer review by Martin

1.0 stars 12/19/2016 by Martin
by Martin

The vehicle we have is a 2005 Toyota sienna , we have been through 3 batteries in four years , the first exchange was with in the first year , and every year after that . they tried to test it at the customer service counter and said it needs to be charged , I knew it was on a reliable charger for three hours before I returned to Walmart. I now drove the extra miles to a Kmart for a Diehard Battery I will repost an up date if I have any problems with it , if I do its possible that my vehicle is in need of inspection. I have no service engine lights on or any problems driving . ( I have an electronic degree )

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Martin
Would recommend to a friend? No
bad product
2/6/2017

Customer review by butch

1.0 stars 2/6/2017 by butch
by butch

I went to auto zone and check my battery and it was bad so i came to Walmart to change it out no matter if you put a charge then load test does not mean it will keep a charge over night. so yall will not take them back be the last time I get a battery from yall

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
butch
Would recommend to a friend? No
everstart battery
1/26/2014

Customer review by Stara1129

1.0 stars 1/26/2014 by Stara1129
by Stara1129

I bought my battery in May 2013 and in December 2013, and January 2014 had to have my car jumped 5 times. Bought a charger to charge the battery and got a warning on the charger. Got the car started just to get it to a dealer and they said there was nothing draining my battery but the battery had been frozen. They checked my complete car just to make sure that I did not have an electrical problem that was draining the battery. NO I WOULD NOT BUY ANOTHER BATTERY OR TELL MY FRIENDS. It was a good thing I was always at home when it would not start.

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stara1129
Bridgton Me
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Dies with no warning
12/8/2016

Customer review by mart

1.0 stars 12/8/2016 by mart
by mart

I see this one now has a 3 year, 2 year prorate warranty, but the one I replaced over 3 years ago just had the 3 year warranty. Of course, it died 4 months out of warranty and couldn't jump it. Had to tow my vehicle and now the cheaper Walmart battery cost me more. It didn't give no warning signs of its failure, couldn't jump it. Just boom, its dead. It cost me more in the end as I had to tow my vehicle and a garage to diagnose it a dead battery, and replace it. A job I could of done myself.

Was this review helpful? (10) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mart
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good battery.
10/5/2016

Customer review by Drummer67

5.0 stars 10/5/2016 by Drummer67
by Drummer67
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Battery is great but was given a huge run around trying to turn my old battery in for the core fee. They charged 12 bucks and then nobody knew how to refund me the core for my old battery. They kept asking me if my new battery wasnt working and had to explain to them i only wanted to turn in my old battery to get my core charge back. I am disabled and have trouble standing for long periods of time. Finally after approx 30 minutes they figured it out.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drummer67
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews