Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
14
1-20 of 38 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Mixed feelings... Recommendation: Don't buy
9/21/2013

Customer review by Sam40204

1.0 stars 9/21/2013 by Sam40204
by Sam40204

I have two of these batteries. One is in my 98 Honda Accord and the second is in my 96 Buick Lesabre. The Accord battery is doing just find. I've had it over three years now and have no complaints. I have replaced the Buick's battery twice (I'm on my third one of these batteries). Everyone one of these batteries in the Buick has gone bad before the warranty ended so I've gotten two free batteries. I have had to replace them all at about a year and the third one it right at the year mark and dead as well. For the longest time I thought someone was wrong with my car. Then after having an honest mechanic with over 25 years of experience look at the car was told by him it may just be that these are cheap batteries. I have been thinking he was wrong until I read a lot of the other reviews. But now I'm sure its the batteries. I say DON'T get this battery. It's a gamble whether it will work or not after a years time.

Was this review helpful? (83) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sam40204
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Well Built and Poweful Battery
6/11/2016

Customer review by StanV

5.0 stars 6/11/2016 by StanV
by StanV
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When my old battery decided to give up on me, I decided to find a battery with top notch cold cranking amps and an overall well built battery. Our tough winter climate can kill wimpy batteries in less than a heartbeat. Plus the summers and all the activities can chew a battery up and spit it out if it is not up to the challenges. So far this battery has been up to the challenge.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StanV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ever ready MAXX 75N
5/15/2016

Customer review by bubba

1.0 stars 5/15/2016 by bubba
by bubba

I had the exact same experience as many of these reviews. The battery lasted about 6 months and I had to return it. Unfortunately, I went and replaced the alternator first not ever thinking that it could be my new battery was the problem...

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bubba
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible life
2/4/2013

Customer review by JordanHB

1.0 stars 2/4/2013 by JordanHB
by JordanHB

I got this battery as it fit into my 1995 Buick Park Avenue base model. Well I live in a cold climate and I am sure to start my car everyday to get some charge in it, make sure the gas isn't freezing. I bought this battery in December of 12, and it was manufactured November of 12. Within a couple of weeks it started to freeze. When I took the battery out to bring it inside it sounded slushy on the inside. I start and drive my car EVERY DAY! It should not be freezing. After i thawed it out, it cranked the car up just fine with no issues. Today, poof, nothing its dead. I was just in it last night, to a 30 minute road trip. The battery isn't frozen, plenty of fluid, its just magically dead. Nothing such as a power drain caused it as all of my lights, heating/cooling system, and interior lights, and even my radio are turned off before i leave my car. Disappointed. I will unfortunately have to use the warranty until I can't anymore. I wish it was just more reliable. I may have gotten a faulty battery... that happens. But in my opinion there should not be this many faulty batteries... who does quality control?

Was this review helpful? (40) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JordanHB
Alamosa, Co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Battery
9/15/2011

Customer review by bechap

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by bechap
by bechap

Consumer Reports rate this battery tops and there's a reason why. It's a good quality, dependable battery. I've bought these before and always had the best of luck. The trick is to look at the date stamped on the the battery before you buy. The month of manufacture is determined by the alphabet. A is January etc. and the year follows. You may have to dig back in the pack to get a fresh one, (less than 6 months old) but that said, You should be pleased with your purchse. Bechap

Was this review helpful? (255) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bechap
Logan, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
FIRST THING!!!!! CHECK THE WATER LEVEL
10/30/2012

Customer review by TennisguyMike55

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by TennisguyMike55
by TennisguyMike55

I bought this battery yesterday on the basis of the Consumer Reports rating. It had a sticker on the top with a date of 10/12 and so was less than 6 months old as CR had recommended it be. I installed the battery myself and, thank goodness I checked the water level before installing. All six cells were low and it took a little over 2 cups of water total to fill all six to near the top. Maybe this is how they are shipped and, if walmart had installed this for me, they would do this routinely. Otherwise, once installed, my 2001 S-10 pickup cranked strong and started up in 1-2 seconds. I'll update this review if any problems arise.

Was this review helpful? (94) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TennisguyMike55
Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just don't last
1/19/2013

Customer review by Tim911

2.0 stars 1/19/2013 by Tim911
by Tim911

These look great at the store. Labeled with the 8 year life span. Biggest problem is the warrantee is a flat 3 years. Beyond 3 years and you are on your own. These batteries simply do not last. The one presently in my car is 25 months old and will only hold a 50% charge at 75 degrees. Let the car sit outside on a cold day (20 - 25 degrees) and the charge degrades to 30%. This will not start a car. This is the 4th one of these I have had to replace. Two of them cracked at the side terminal entries and leaked acid in the battery compartment and down over the engine compartment and garage floor and two dropped voltage to useless levels. Now, here we go again and the ogre in the auto parts area says NO to honoring the 3 year warrantee because the battery shows 50% charge at room temperature. Doesn't matter if it won't start my car. "Your only option is buy a new one" Well, I will buy a new one but not at Walmart !!! Seriously, these batteries appear to be engineered to fail very close to 3 years but the design is faulty and they wont last that long. The 8 year label is complete nonsense. If you only need a 2 year battery this will probably be OK but is way overpriced for a 2 year battery. Look at any other brand if you want a regular battery that will last a typical 4 - 5 year life.

Was this review helpful? (44) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tim911
Southwest OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/25/2012

Customer review by StillPOed

1.0 stars 11/25/2012 by StillPOed
by StillPOed

1st battery failed in warranty period. Replacement lasted less than 2 years (21months) this was a 3year warranty battery. It was not replaced under the warranty because it was a replacement for a previous defective battery. This battery was used in a personal vehicle in a normal manner. There was no abuse. I could never recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (69) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StillPOed
Beavercreek,Oh.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
everstart battery
1/26/2014

Customer review by Stara1129

1.0 stars 1/26/2014 by Stara1129
by Stara1129

I bought my battery in May 2013 and in December 2013, and January 2014 had to have my car jumped 5 times. Bought a charger to charge the battery and got a warning on the charger. Got the car started just to get it to a dealer and they said there was nothing draining my battery but the battery had been frozen. They checked my complete car just to make sure that I did not have an electrical problem that was draining the battery. NO I WOULD NOT BUY ANOTHER BATTERY OR TELL MY FRIENDS. It was a good thing I was always at home when it would not start.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stara1129
Bridgton Me
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You will never have to buy another
8/26/2012

Customer review by Burr58

3.0 stars 8/26/2012 by Burr58
by Burr58

For the most part these batteries are junk. They usually don't last 3 full years and if they do they always die right after the warranty expires. I buy them exclusively for the 3 year free exchange warranty. I own 5 in various vehicles and ALWAYS return them after no later than 2 years and 11 months (if they make it that far) for a new one. Bottom line is this is the last battery you'll ever have to buy and can get a replacement all over the USA.

Was this review helpful? (39) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Burr58
South Central Camargo, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
On the fence!
2/1/2013

Customer review by Technut80

4.0 stars 2/1/2013 by Technut80
by Technut80
Walmart associate

I bought one of these many years ago and had it for 8yrs until I sold my truck. I just had to replace the original battery out of my car. I put the maxx 75 in and had a complete failure before the first month. They swapped the battery out. The failed battery was produced less than a week before I bought it according to the sticker on the battery. I hope the replacement lasts as long as the on I had in my truck! I still believe they make decent batteries because I have the same one in my girlfriends car for a little over 6yrs.

Was this review helpful? (28) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Technut80
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
A $100 piece of Junk
3/28/2013

Customer review by Time2GetGoing

1.0 stars 3/28/2013 by Time2GetGoing
by Time2GetGoing

This battery is just a $100 piece of junk! It lasted only about one year, then I had to wait around for an hour to an hour and a half just to get Walmart to test it. Time to switch batteries and suppliers I think.

Was this review helpful? (34) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Time2GetGoing
Poplar Bluff, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Battery, Best Value
10/3/2015

Customer review by WiiGuy101

5.0 stars 10/3/2015 by WiiGuy101
by WiiGuy101
Walmart associate

I have purchased this battery for a long time. I have had to replace my old battery which was from Auto Zone and it was junk which on the sticker it was 12/04 and it was just a 2 year battery in which the battery became dead after 2 years. I went to walmart to purchase this battery and it lasted for 3 months and then went dead. I exchanged it and almost went dead. It turned out it was the ignition cyclinder that needed replacement which caused the battery to die. The security light on the dashboard did not indicate anything until I purchased a new cyclinder and changed it out and the car started right up and lasted for another 5 years. I have one now that needs to be replaced which is almost going to expire and it is only a 2 year batter which I have purchased in 2010.. This batttery lasted for more than a 2 year battery life. I recommend this battery to anyone.. If you purchse this and the battery goes dead quick.. I suggest you get your electrical checked especially if you have any grand am cars. The ignition switch typically makes the battery go down.. This is NOT caused by the battery being bad.. You will always want to check to see if there is any electrical issues before you blame it on this brand.. I purchased this brand because it is the best and the cheapest and last more than any other major brands like at other retailers.. You will never find anything for more than a 2 year life that will last longer than this brand...

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WiiGuy101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
excellent battery
7/30/2015

Customer review by happyCustomer

5.0 stars 7/30/2015 by happyCustomer
by happyCustomer

I just happened to notice that this Maxx 41 battery is 4 years old and is still going strong! No problems in all those years. I have a 6 cylinder Chevy Malibu and when the original one died I bought this Walmart battery, and I'm glad I made the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happyCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product!!
3/3/2016

Customer review by James

5.0 stars 3/3/2016 by James
by James

It has more CCA's then other batteries at this price. Great value price!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
James
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do not purchase this battery,
12/27/2013

Customer review by Bohnski

1.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Bohnski
by Bohnski

I have purchased three of these batteries in the last six months. I live in North Dakota and rely on batteries to make sure my vehicle starts in cold weather, and basically to keep me from being stranded and keep me alive. All three of my vehicles batteries failed the same day when it was only 20 below zero. I will never purchase these again!

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bohnski
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/13/2012

Customer review by dago70

1.0 stars 1/13/2012 by dago70
by dago70

had exactly one year had to be replaced

Was this review helpful? (49) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dago70
alliance,oh.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Battery does not last.
12/7/2013

Customer review by SKYSPLASH

1.0 stars 12/7/2013 by SKYSPLASH
by SKYSPLASH

Im on my 4th Replacement in 4 or 5 years. The battery holds a charge if you use the car daily. Leave your car sit for a few days and the battery goes dead. The alternator is fine was tested . Its as though these are recycled dead or defective batteries. In the cold weather the battery goes dead quickly . I have replaced each battery within a year of the next and they dont even last that long .

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SKYSPLASH
Vineland Nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Great car batteries at low price
12/27/2015

Customer review by Manny

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Manny
by Manny

Been buying Walmart battery for few years and never had a problem with them, also their prices are better compared to other stores and auto stores

Was this review helpful? (12) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great battery and good price
10/30/2015

Customer review by Gebostone

5.0 stars 10/30/2015 by Gebostone
by Gebostone

Installed this battery in my VW Trike. No more problems with slow cranking power.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gebostone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews