Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.4out of 5 stars
3.4 out of 5 | 62 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
21
Sort by: 
1-20 of 61 reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Second MAXX Battery I have purchased
12/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the second MAXX battery I have purchased and like the first, I am nothing short of extremely pleased. This one went into a 99 Grand Am restoration/modification project and it consistently has performed even though it only gets charged by running the vehicle occasionally.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2yr battery
5/25/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been through a bunch of these. They last 2 years and thats it. Last time I argued and they gave me a credit because it died so quickly. 2yrs later died again. I'm done.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Mixed feelings... Recommendation: Don't buy
9/21/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have two of these batteries. One is in my 98 Honda Accord and the second is in my 96 Buick Lesabre. The Accord battery is doing just find. I've had it over three years now and have no complaints. I have replaced the Buick's battery twice (I'm on my third one of these batteries). Everyone one of these batteries in the Buick has gone bad before the warranty ended so I've gotten two free batteries. I have had to replace them all at about a year and the third one it right at the year mark and dead as well. For the longest time I thought someone was wrong with my car. Then after having an honest mechanic with over 25 years of experience look at the car was told by him it may just be that these are cheap batteries. I have been thinking he was wrong until I read a lot of the other reviews. But now I'm sure its the batteries. I say DON'T get this battery. It's a gamble whether it will work or not after a years time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (110)No (44)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dead in Less Than 2 Months
7/27/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this battery in late May 2017. By mid July, the battery wouldn't hold a charge for 2 days. Now, at the end of July, the battery will not hold a charge overnight. I would not recommend this battery, if you depend on your car starting.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
it
5/28/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Got this battery 3/17 was dead by 4/17 don't do it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Horrible life
2/4/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this battery as it fit into my 1995 Buick Park Avenue base model. Well I live in a cold climate and I am sure to start my car everyday to get some charge in it, make sure the gas isn't freezing. I bought this battery in December of 12, and it was manufactured November of 12. Within a couple of weeks it started to freeze. When I took the battery out to bring it inside it sounded slushy on the inside. I start and drive my car EVERY DAY! It should not be freezing. After i thawed it out, it cranked the car up just fine with no issues. Today, poof, nothing its dead. I was just in it last night, to a 30 minute road trip. The battery isn't frozen, plenty of fluid, its just magically dead. Nothing such as a power drain caused it as all of my lights, heating/cooling system, and interior lights, and even my radio are turned off before i leave my car. Disappointed. I will unfortunately have to use the warranty until I can't anymore. I wish it was just more reliable. I may have gotten a faulty battery... that happens. But in my opinion there should not be this many faulty batteries... who does quality control?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (61)No (33)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Battery
9/15/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Consumer Reports rate this battery tops and there's a reason why. It's a good quality, dependable battery. I've bought these before and always had the best of luck. The trick is to look at the date stamped on the the battery before you buy. The month of manufacture is determined by the alphabet. A is January etc. and the year follows. You may have to dig back in the pack to get a fresh one, (less than 6 months old) but that said, You should be pleased with your purchse. Bechap
Was this review helpful?
Yes (274)No (62)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just don't last
1/19/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
These look great at the store. Labeled with the 8 year life span. Biggest problem is the warrantee is a flat 3 years. Beyond 3 years and you are on your own. These batteries simply do not last. The one presently in my car is 25 months old and will only hold a 50% charge at 75 degrees. Let the car sit outside on a cold day (20 - 25 degrees) and the charge degrades to 30%. This will not start a car. This is the 4th one of these I have had to replace. Two of them cracked at the side terminal entries and leaked acid in the battery compartment and down over the engine compartment and garage floor and two dropped voltage to useless levels. Now, here we go again and the ogre in the auto parts area says NO to honoring the 3 year warrantee because the battery shows 50% charge at room temperature. Doesn't matter if it won't start my car. "Your only option is buy a new one" Well, I will buy a new one but not at Walmart !!! Seriously, these batteries appear to be engineered to fail very close to 3 years but the design is faulty and they wont last that long. The 8 year label is complete nonsense. If you only need a 2 year battery this will probably be OK but is way overpriced for a 2 year battery. Look at any other brand if you want a regular battery that will last a typical 4 - 5 year life.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (60)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
FIRST THING!!!!! CHECK THE WATER LEVEL
10/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this battery yesterday on the basis of the Consumer Reports rating. It had a sticker on the top with a date of 10/12 and so was less than 6 months old as CR had recommended it be. I installed the battery myself and, thank goodness I checked the water level before installing. All six cells were low and it took a little over 2 cups of water total to fill all six to near the top. Maybe this is how they are shipped and, if walmart had installed this for me, they would do this routinely. Otherwise, once installed, my 2001 S-10 pickup cranked strong and started up in 1-2 seconds. I'll update this review if any problems arise.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (105)No (32)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Item Excellent BUT
2/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is an excellent item but service was lacking while attempting to submit core for refund. Actually had to go back another day for return as no one new the process.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lasted 7 years in my GMC Pickup
10/28/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The bad thing about automotive batteries these days is that they have a cell open and leave you stuck. This EverStart battery started cranking slow; it was time to replace it. Trying to get a few extra months out of a battery is poor economy; all you'll end up doing is burning up your alternator while it tries to keep the worn out battery charged. Auto____ wanted $120 for their 3 year warranty battery. (I had to pass them on the way home.) We've got one of these in my wife's six passenger Buick too... but only for the past two years. All 7 of our vehicles are kept on battery maintainers. The 6 volt (1 year full replacement) tractor battery has lasted 5 years on a maintainer, on average; over 45 years it adds up. I'm pretty sure the older batteries used to last longer... like the EverStart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
everstart battery
1/26/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought my battery in May 2013 and in December 2013, and January 2014 had to have my car jumped 5 times. Bought a charger to charge the battery and got a warning on the charger. Got the car started just to get it to a dealer and they said there was nothing draining my battery but the battery had been frozen. They checked my complete car just to make sure that I did not have an electrical problem that was draining the battery. NO I WOULD NOT BUY ANOTHER BATTERY OR TELL MY FRIENDS. It was a good thing I was always at home when it would not start.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/25/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
1st battery failed in warranty period. Replacement lasted less than 2 years (21months) this was a 3year warranty battery. It was not replaced under the warranty because it was a replacement for a previous defective battery. This battery was used in a personal vehicle in a normal manner. There was no abuse. I could never recommend this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (81)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
i'm on my 5th battery in under 2 years
1/16/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
you might think there is another issue like the alternator or the starter maybe a bad ground or a short? the truth is that this product is horrible, for todays vehicles that require a good power supply this is not it. Other than the name everstart, that is infact it's best quality is the name the product is unreliable at best
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
You will never have to buy another
8/26/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For the most part these batteries are junk. They usually don't last 3 full years and if they do they always die right after the warranty expires. I buy them exclusively for the 3 year free exchange warranty. I own 5 in various vehicles and ALWAYS return them after no later than 2 years and 11 months (if they make it that far) for a new one. Bottom line is this is the last battery you'll ever have to buy and can get a replacement all over the USA.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great battery!
11/11/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for my 03 grand am and for my 99 Grand Prix. Both cars have after market systems in them. One has 3 amps paying over 4,000 watts. This battery holds up great! I've had the ever start max in many vehicles including an old blazer. It always starts and lasts a very long time. The only time the battery "bogs" iSight I have the stereo bumping at full volume and have the lights and heat and rear defroster on..... which is typical because the rear defroster draws a lot of power. I will continue to use these batteries and recommend them OVER the base line optima. I've had Hughes stereos in my cars since I've been driving and the maxx is BY FAR THE BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
On the fence!
2/1/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I bought one of these many years ago and had it for 8yrs until I sold my truck. I just had to replace the original battery out of my car. I put the maxx 75 in and had a complete failure before the first month. They swapped the battery out. The failed battery was produced less than a week before I bought it according to the sticker on the battery. I hope the replacement lasts as long as the on I had in my truck! I still believe they make decent batteries because I have the same one in my girlfriends car for a little over 6yrs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A $100 piece of Junk
3/28/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This battery is just a $100 piece of junk! It lasted only about one year, then I had to wait around for an hour to an hour and a half just to get Walmart to test it. Time to switch batteries and suppliers I think.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do not purchase this battery,
12/27/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have purchased three of these batteries in the last six months. I live in North Dakota and rely on batteries to make sure my vehicle starts in cold weather, and basically to keep me from being stranded and keep me alive. All three of my vehicles batteries failed the same day when it was only 20 below zero. I will never purchase these again!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3 batteries in 4 years
12/19/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The vehicle we have is a 2005 Toyota sienna , we have been through 3 batteries in four years , the first exchange was with in the first year , and every year after that . they tried to test it at the customer service counter and said it needs to be charged , I knew it was on a reliable charger for three hours before I returned to Walmart. I now drove the extra miles to a Kmart for a Diehard Battery I will repost an up date if I have any problems with it , if I do its possible that my vehicle is in need of inspection. I have no service engine lights on or any problems driving . ( I have an electronic degree )
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640676, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-