Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 32 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 32 reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Works Great but....
2/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The product works perfect and matches the old lamp it replaced that was not dusk to dawn and must have been 30 years old. The problem with this item is two fold. One the directions are awful. Two if the product is defective no matter what you do it won't work. When you first open the box the red wire from the light sensor must be attached directly to the thick black wire that leads to the lamp itself with a blue screw on cap holding them together or else the product is probably defective and won't work. The directions never mention the red wire once and that is a problem especially if the red wires is not connected to the thick black wire when you open the box. The rest is easy, all white wires connect to the white wire coming out of the wall, the remaining single black wire connects to the black wire coming out of the wall...and of course the red wire must be attached to the thick black wire that leads to the lamp itself. If you do this it will work guaranteed unless you have a defective product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I WANT TO GIVE THIS ZERO STARS
9/3/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You won't be able to verify my purchase because I have always bought this crummy lamp off the shelf at the local WalMart. I own residential rental properties, and I decided a few years ago to upgrade some of my outdoor lighting to dusk to dawn types. This one looked like a good relatively cheap way to do so. I soon found out I was wrong. Honestly, I have purchased about 15 of these things. The sensor location is ridiculous; it should be in the front, not on top. I had the same "on-off, on-off" reflection problem as many other reviewers. There are basically three scenarios with this product: (1) it works, but stops working after a few months for no apparent reason, (2) it won't work at all right out of the package, or (3) it works and keeps on working (again, for no apparent reason). To the best of my recollection, only four of the 15 I bought are still working. I even installed 2 of them at my home. Just like clockwork (refer to scenario #2), not working after about 7 months. According to my batting average with this junky product, there is a 74% chance it will be a short-lived investment for you, too. Good luck if you buy it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Light works good
8/20/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The instructions for wiring were kind of vague. No mention of the black and red wire that are connected together with a blue wire nut and it turns out those wires only connect to each other to power the sensor is my best guess. The rest of the wiring is standard black to black ,white to white and ground to ground. So other than the instructions being kind of poor unless you are an electrician or have wired this type of light before you could be in trouble since the instructions don't give you all the information that you need to wire the light properly. Brinks needs to realize they would have less trouble if they put in better instructions.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does what it's suppose to do!
12/16/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
Unbelievable low price and works like the more expensive lights. Works just like the description states. Easy to install....matter of minutes. Only problem was it did flicker the first night. The reason is - because the sensor in on top of the light. The light bounces off the white siding and the white soffit and the sensor reads the the reflection as daylight so it shuts off. Then after it goes off - it's dark and the light comes back on. Solved by putting a black shield above the light to stop the deflection. It works me me at under $14!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works 'as advertised' and then some
5/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm not sure why the mfg and other reviews are so cryptic about what bulb to use in this fixture. I put a standard Phillips LED 60 Watt equivalent yellow bug lite with the standard A19 base and it fits and works just fine. I had reservations about the plastic housing, but when I mounted the fixture, it was very solid. I'm still a little skeptical since the photocell is mounted facing the sky. Not sure what will happen when it snows, but that is another story. There are not many dusk to dawn lights that will take standard LED light bulbs, but this one will. It may take a larger LED bulb since the watts used are below the rated maximum 60 electrical watts allowed. It will work if the bulb will fit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EXCELLENT!
10/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
No Problem at all. Purchasing more.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Great!!
1/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I did a lot of research and this is around the same price you would pay for just a bulb with a sensor. Installed it today and it came on 10 minutes after sunset and I couldn't ask for more.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It did just what it was supposed to do. I haven't had any issues with it. I'm looking to purchase more.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Brinks should stop making bad lights
5/9/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this light, it is not worth it. It stays off like it is suppose too. It comes on, perfect: than starts flicking on and off. First I thought it was a reflection, so I blocked the sensor. It is a worthless sensor. Do not waste your money on a Brinks light product....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/27/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The sensor in the light didn't work. The light will blink once you turned it on. I had to rewire it so it would work
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy installation
3/6/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very easy to install. It helped reading previous reviews about the wiring.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SECURITY LIGHT
11/12/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I HAVE USED THIS LIGHT OVER THE YEARS AND AM WELL SATISFIED WITH IT. IT IS FAST AND EASY TO INSTALL ALSO.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Brilliant and wonderful idea!
11/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I hooked my light right on up with out no problem. I love it! Really I do! It's bright and it looks really cool on my back deck. I'm glad I got it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Brinks Jelly Jar Light
12/3/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
Reading other reviews and questions I would first recommend that if you do not understand basic electricity and photocell switches. Do not install it yourself. You might electrocute yourself, destroy the photocell, burn down your house or all three. The photocell must not see direct sunlight down into it. The sun will burn out the photocell. I relocated the photocell on one of my lights to the shady side of the fixture. Plugged the hole in the top with a stainless steel bolt sealing the head of the bolt down with silicone sealant. Replacement photocells are available from Walmart online and probably at the store should one of them fail to function. This is a very good product for the price. It should function and last a reasonable time with bulbs that are readily available. This fixture uses a standard household medium base screw in light bulb. It can be a CFL, standard bulb or LED. Be certain that the CFL and LED bulbs are suitable for use in enclosed fixtures and are rated for cold temperatures for your area or they will not last very long. LED bulbs of this type are not suitable for colder temperatures in much of the country. This information is printed on the bulb packaging and sometimes on the bulb base. I use the yellow CFL Bug Lite bulbs that are rated for minus twenty degrees. I am in Minnesota and it gets a little colder than that. This fixture has a shallow jar. The overall length of the bulb must be not greater than four and one quarter inches. This includes the bulb screw in base. The 60 watt maximum bulb rating on this fixture refers to a standard bulb. A 100 watt equivalent CFL would normally be rated at not more than 26 watts and an LED would be even less.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It works. Housing is flimsy.
4/25/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Got this fixture yesterday. Installed it in 30 mins or so because I'm careful about such things. It works as advertised. 3 stars instead if 5 because the plastic housing is very flimsy. Most especially, the socket is attached via a single small plastic tab that flexes alarmingly and seems rather fragile. If it were to break the socket would hang from its wires, making it impossible or at least very difficult to change bulbs. I tested this with a CFL and there is an LED in it now. Both worked with no problem. With a heavier gauge of plastic and reinforced socket mounting this would be a 5 star product
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don's Review
4/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The light is an excellent deal it works.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good light
8/14/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a pretty good light considering how cheap it is. It is made of plastic so not sure how long it will last or how well it will weather. But- on the plus side it does use a regular base light bulb which is fantastic! Did have to partially cover the eye so it would stop going off and on. So far that has helped.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No problems
9/12/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The light was installed on a porch so i was concerned about the sensor working properly. No problem whatsoever! My one and only problem with this product is that the globe was not tightened properly and it fell off and broke. Now, I'm having problems finding a replacement globe. Any ideas???
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Great
11/16/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Read all of the reviews as they are very useful, as instructions are not the best . Work as expected, will buy again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Working Great
3/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy to install if you aren't dumb. The colored wires just connect to the same color wires coming from your box. Don't forget to ground it! Took me about 15 mins to get the old light fixture off and put the new one on. The only issue I don't like is the light sensor. It made the light flicker every 10 seconds. I can only guess that the light was bouncing off my white siding and making the sensor think it was daylight. I don't like that feature anyway so colored over the light sensor with a black sharpie. Easy peasy...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641744, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-