Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

29 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

29 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 29 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Works Great but....
2/26/2012

Customer review by HNJH

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by HNJH
by HNJH

The product works perfect and matches the old lamp it replaced that was not dusk to dawn and must have been 30 years old. The problem with this item is two fold. One the directions are awful. Two if the product is defective no matter what you do it won't work. When you first open the box the red wire from the light sensor must be attached directly to the thick black wire that leads to the lamp itself with a blue screw on cap holding them together or else the product is probably defective and won't work. The directions never mention the red wire once and that is a problem especially if the red wires is not connected to the thick black wire when you open the box. The rest is easy, all white wires connect to the white wire coming out of the wall, the remaining single black wire connects to the black wire coming out of the wall...and of course the red wire must be attached to the thick black wire that leads to the lamp itself. If you do this it will work guaranteed unless you have a defective product.

Was this review helpful? (45) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HNJH
Virginia, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great!!
1/31/2017

Customer review by Chad

5.0 stars 1/31/2017 by Chad
by Chad

I did a lot of research and this is around the same price you would pay for just a bulb with a sensor. Installed it today and it came on 10 minutes after sunset and I couldn't ask for more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/15/2017

Chad, Thank you for taking the time to review our Brinks Jelly Jar Dusk To Dawn Activated Security Light, model 7510-693-2. We are very pleased to know that it is working well for you.

Chad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Light works good
8/20/2012

Customer review by hotord61

4.0 stars 8/20/2012 by hotord61
by hotord61

The instructions for wiring were kind of vague. No mention of the black and red wire that are connected together with a blue wire nut and it turns out those wires only connect to each other to power the sensor is my best guess. The rest of the wiring is standard black to black ,white to white and ground to ground. So other than the instructions being kind of poor unless you are an electrician or have wired this type of light before you could be in trouble since the instructions don't give you all the information that you need to wire the light properly. Brinks needs to realize they would have less trouble if they put in better instructions.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hotord61
North East South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what it's suppose to do!
12/16/2015

Customer review by Penjack

5.0 stars 12/16/2015 by Penjack
by Penjack
Top 1000 contributor

Unbelievable low price and works like the more expensive lights. Works just like the description states. Easy to install....matter of minutes. Only problem was it did flicker the first night. The reason is - because the sensor in on top of the light. The light bounces off the white siding and the white soffit and the sensor reads the the reflection as daylight so it shuts off. Then after it goes off - it's dark and the light comes back on. Solved by putting a black shield above the light to stop the deflection. It works me me at under $14!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Penjack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
EXCELLENT!
10/22/2013

Customer review by j4u2

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by j4u2
by j4u2

No Problem at all. Purchasing more.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
j4u2
Mph., Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It works. Housing is flimsy.
4/25/2016

Customer review by justaguy32773

3.0 stars 4/25/2016 by justaguy32773
by justaguy32773

Got this fixture yesterday. Installed it in 30 mins or so because I'm careful about such things. It works as advertised. 3 stars instead if 5 because the plastic housing is very flimsy. Most especially, the socket is attached via a single small plastic tab that flexes alarmingly and seems rather fragile. If it were to break the socket would hang from its wires, making it impossible or at least very difficult to change bulbs. I tested this with a CFL and there is an LED in it now. Both worked with no problem. With a heavier gauge of plastic and reinforced socket mounting this would be a 5 star product

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justaguy32773
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brinks Jelly Jar Light
12/3/2016

Customer review by gentech

5.0 stars 12/3/2016 by gentech
by gentech
Top 1000 contributor

Reading other reviews and questions I would first recommend that if you do not understand basic electricity and photocell switches. Do not install it yourself. You might electrocute yourself, destroy the photocell, burn down your house or all three. The photocell must not see direct sunlight down into it. The sun will burn out the photocell. I relocated the photocell on one of my lights to the shady side of the fixture. Plugged the hole in the top with a stainless steel bolt sealing the head of the bolt down with silicone sealant. Replacement photocells are available from Walmart online and probably at the store should one of them fail to function. This is a very good product for the price. It should function and last a reasonable time with bulbs that are readily available. This fixture uses a standard household medium base screw in light bulb. It can be a CFL, standard bulb or LED. Be certain that the CFL and LED bulbs are suitable for use in enclosed fixtures and are rated for cold temperatures for your area or they will not last very long. LED bulbs of this type are not suitable for colder temperatures in much of the country. This information is printed on the bulb packaging and sometimes on the bulb base. I use the yellow CFL Bug Lite bulbs that are rated for minus twenty degrees. I am in Minnesota and it gets a little colder than that. This fixture has a shallow jar. The overall length of the bulb must be not greater than four and one quarter inches. This includes the bulb screw in base. The 60 watt maximum bulb rating on this fixture refers to a standard bulb. A 100 watt equivalent CFL would normally be rated at not more than 26 watts and an LED would be even less.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gentech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
10/27/2011

Customer review by Cop1234

1.0 stars 10/27/2011 by Cop1234
by Cop1234

The sensor in the light didn't work. The light will blink once you turned it on. I had to rewire it so it would work

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cop1234
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Brinks should stop making bad lights
5/9/2012

Customer review by sandiego66

1.0 stars 5/9/2012 by sandiego66
by sandiego66

I bought this light, it is not worth it. It stays off like it is suppose too. It comes on, perfect: than starts flicking on and off. First I thought it was a reflection, so I blocked the sensor. It is a worthless sensor. Do not waste your money on a Brinks light product....

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sandiego66
Good light
8/14/2016

Customer review by soakingupthesunshine

4.0 stars 8/14/2016 by soakingupthesunshine
by soakingupthesunshine
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a pretty good light considering how cheap it is. It is made of plastic so not sure how long it will last or how well it will weather. But- on the plus side it does use a regular base light bulb which is fantastic! Did have to partially cover the eye so it would stop going off and on. So far that has helped.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soakingupthesunshine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great
11/16/2016

Customer review by TJohnson

5.0 stars 11/16/2016 by TJohnson
by TJohnson

Read all of the reviews as they are very useful, as instructions are not the best . Work as expected, will buy again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TJohnson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/17/2012

Customer review by IKeepItSimple

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by IKeepItSimple
by IKeepItSimple

It did just what it was supposed to do. I haven't had any issues with it. I'm looking to purchase more.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IKeepItSimple
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy installation
3/6/2016

Customer review by Jessica

5.0 stars 3/6/2016 by Jessica
by Jessica

Very easy to install. It helped reading previous reviews about the wiring.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jessica
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap plastic
10/31/2016

Customer review by Russ

2.0 stars 10/31/2016 by Russ
by Russ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cheap plastic. We'll see how long it holds up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Russ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SECURITY LIGHT
11/12/2015

Customer review by CAMAROMAN

5.0 stars 11/12/2015 by CAMAROMAN
by CAMAROMAN

I HAVE USED THIS LIGHT OVER THE YEARS AND AM WELL SATISFIED WITH IT. IT IS FAST AND EASY TO INSTALL ALSO.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAMAROMAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No problems
9/12/2012

Customer review by Abby6490

4.0 stars 9/12/2012 by Abby6490
by Abby6490

The light was installed on a porch so i was concerned about the sensor working properly. No problem whatsoever! My one and only problem with this product is that the globe was not tightened properly and it fell off and broke. Now, I'm having problems finding a replacement globe. Any ideas???

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Abby6490
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Light
10/17/2016

Customer review by jhward90

5.0 stars 10/17/2016 by jhward90
by jhward90
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great light, great price, works fantastic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jhward90
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Brilliant and wonderful idea!
11/22/2013

Customer review by spacedream21

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by spacedream21
by spacedream21

I hooked my light right on up with out no problem. I love it! Really I do! It's bright and it looks really cool on my back deck. I'm glad I got it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spacedream21
Jefferson City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It works!
9/28/2016

Customer review by DOSA

5.0 stars 9/28/2016 by DOSA
by DOSA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to install. Works at expected.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DOSA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Working Great
3/21/2016

Customer review by stephie

5.0 stars 3/21/2016 by stephie
by stephie

Easy to install if you aren't dumb. The colored wires just connect to the same color wires coming from your box. Don't forget to ground it! Took me about 15 mins to get the old light fixture off and put the new one on. The only issue I don't like is the light sensor. It made the light flicker every 10 seconds. I can only guess that the light was bouncing off my white siding and making the sensor think it was daylight. I don't like that feature anyway so colored over the light sensor with a black sharpie. Easy peasy...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stephie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews