Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

25 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

25 reviews | 3 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
10
1-20 of 21 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
DOES NOT PICK UP CABLE SIGNAL
12/4/2011

Customer review by dc72

1.0 stars 12/4/2011 by dc72
by dc72

Bought this product without the DVD Player combo when it was on holiday special for $89. No wonder it was cheap...IT DID NOT WORK. After two different TVs and half a tank of gas we called the Emerson help line and the guy said we needed to buy a cable boost since the TV was too weak to pick up our AT&T U-verse signal. ARE YOU SERIOUS? As the phrase goes "The cheap always comes out expensive." For the price of the boost we decided to go with a different brand and upgrade the size. NOT WORTH THE AGGRAVATION!!!

Was this review helpful? (87) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dc72
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Junk
12/18/2011

Customer review by kcmyar

1.0 stars 12/18/2011 by kcmyar
by kcmyar

I bought this tv for my daughter less than a year ago. It stopped working with cable, and now it wont even work with her dvd player. It just stopped working all together. I guess i got what i paid for. I will be replacing with a different brand. Do not waste your time or money on this piece of junk tv.

Was this review helpful? (50) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kcmyar
portland, or
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/17/2012

Customer review by kandhmom1

1.0 stars 3/17/2012 by kandhmom1
by kandhmom1

we purchased this TV, with out the DVD player, about 6 months ago, like the picture, but whenever it is turned off and plugged in there is a horrible high pitched hum coming from the back of the TV.. We have to keep it unplugged until we want to use it; this is annoying.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kandhmom1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I can' believe what im reading.
6/7/2012

Customer review by Oakhart

4.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Oakhart
by Oakhart

Last year (2011) i have bought the Emerson 19'' tv for my game room, i have had NO ISSUES or problems with this tv. I have my HD hooked up to the tv and they picture and sounds is great, Just yesterday 6-6-2012 i bought the Emerson DVD tv for my camper and seen 2 movies and i thought the quality is just as good. As always you need to set up the tv pic, color, brightness, to the way you like, but otherwise both tv's are working awsome. I will post later to inform everyone how the DVD tv is holding up but as for as my first tv...I LOVE IT..

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oakhart
Portage, Wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
TV Died after 18 Months
3/8/2012

Customer review by jdsomaha

1.0 stars 3/8/2012 by jdsomaha
by jdsomaha

Watching TV tonight this TV just died. Looks like it's the power supply. Just has a high pitched hum coming from the TV when it's plugged in. Worked great for 18 months and I loved the TV, unfortunately I don't think it going out in 18 Months is something that should happen.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdsomaha
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Purchase
8/23/2012

Customer review by TEMPTATIONMAN38

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by TEMPTATIONMAN38
by TEMPTATIONMAN38

I bought this TV many years ago.I had no issues with it.It had a great reception,fantastic audio and superb features like the 2 HMDI input.I have used this in my bedroom and would recommmend it to anyone who is on a budget.This could be a used as a PC monitor as well.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TEMPTATIONMAN38
San Francisco,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent for the price
8/31/2012

Customer review by styxx374

4.0 stars 8/31/2012 by styxx374
by styxx374

I've had this tv for about a year, paired with a roku box and a set of speakers/subwoofer from my old HP computer. I wanted an inexpensive flatscreen/DVD combo. (I don't have cable, so I didn't want to spend a lot of money.) It DOES seem to make a humming noise sometimes when it's off, as mentioned in other reviews, but I think it has more to do with my external speakers, so I just turn them off when not in use. (It reminds me of the sound you used to get through speakers on the old stereos where you'd plug in components to an auxiliary port.) For a cheap tv, this fulfills my needs well. The color and sound are decent (the hum does NOT come through while in use), and it has plenty of ports for all your additional components. I'd recommend this tv to any of my friends - I'm even considering purchasing a second for the bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
styxx374
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Only Lasted 7 months
4/5/2012

Customer review by pnkpxe

1.0 stars 4/5/2012 by pnkpxe
by pnkpxe

This unit w/ the dvd combo was given to my son for his birthday less than 8 months ago and the dvd player stopped working it won't load in or eject dvd's at all now. I am grateful i didn't actually buy this thing and also grateful that the person that did, bought the protection plan which is now replacing this tv with another brand. This is a bad tv unit. You get what you pay for here, just buy a better tv and a cheap dvd player. This tv is also very bulky, and takes up a lot of space.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pnkpxe
Coralville, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this TV & DVD
6/25/2012

Customer review by sdnotto2009

4.0 stars 6/25/2012 by sdnotto2009
by sdnotto2009

I'm surprised others have had a bad experience. If you purchased the unit without the DVD, then you didn't buy this particular product ... just saying. We bought this 18 months ago for our daughter's room and have had no issues. It receives daily use and the DVD player is probably used 2 or 3 times over the weekend. Only came back to buy another unit as a gift and saw the reviews. We are buying again and would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sdnotto2009
Hamburg, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/4/2013

Customer review by John412

5.0 stars 8/4/2013 by John412
by John412

I purchased this product as a replacement. I had an identical one that I purchased in 2005. The other one just stopped working one day (no picture, but I had sound). Although I was disappointed it stopped working, I received great use out of it. It was on just about daily for over 4 hours; this is the reason I decided to purchase the same model (19" HDTV/DVD combo). The set-up menu is greatly improved and allows you to change features easier. It was also quite easy to hook up to my cable box.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John412
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Television
9/1/2012

Customer review by SteveGuy

5.0 stars 9/1/2012 by SteveGuy
by SteveGuy

This television is awesome. We purchased this television about 1-2 years ago and it hasn't messed up. This television works awesome. Great TV and dvd feature is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteveGuy
Nonya, Business
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great tv
8/30/2013

Customer review by rooster55

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by rooster55
by rooster55

the tv work's great.my friend i gave the tv to had it working and watching a movie a few minutes after she got the tv home.everything works great.the dvd built in makes it great

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rooster55
sonora,calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible!
5/7/2013

Customer review by Emmie98

1.0 stars 5/7/2013 by Emmie98
by Emmie98

This TV worked great for about a week, then this little pink line kept showing up on the right side of the screen. This only happened when i would watch it a a lot. It stopped after a while then it showed up again. I'm 14, so i watch TV constantly; if you watch TV a lot, i strongly recommend that you do not buy this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Emmie98
Rome, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good while it Lasted
9/7/2013

Customer review by TechRhino

1.0 stars 9/7/2013 by TechRhino
by TechRhino

This was my third unit, so I guess shame on me. The first unit died at 12 months and won't even turn on, the second unit stopped playing the DVD at 8 months (the unit stopped working all together at 14 months, and the unit I just got 4 months ago is dead already. I have limited space and need a combo, but I won't be buying Emerson (parent company FUNAI) anymore.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechRhino
Spring Hill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great TV with DVR.
7/28/2013

Customer review by Gammylicious

4.0 stars 7/28/2013 by Gammylicious
by Gammylicious

Great for my daughter's room where she can watch one of her DVDs. Good picture and size.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gammylicious
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's Still Working!
10/14/2013

Customer review by RaggyLug

4.0 stars 10/14/2013 by RaggyLug
by RaggyLug

I'm tough on little TV's. A little over a year ago, I bought this TV late one night when I couldn't get my cable provider's box to work on my brother's hand-me-down CRT TV. My better Emerson, which I'd sort of babied, had died although when I read about that model, I realized it was a post-production-discovered flaw and the warranty was out. No matter... I bought this one because it was cheap and small. I didn't notice the DVD player until later but have used it often and like it. This TV has stayed on 24/7 for over a year. It sits on the floor, propped by the wall...I never even put the base on it. Cats sleep in front of it often. They walk over it. They knock it over. They've piled stuff up against it making little treasure troves and beds. Still, the TV keeps right on playing. It's sort of their TV although they let me watch it. The sound could be better but I could also add speakers to it and haven't. It picked up my cable channels immediately. There's always a bit of a learning curve (usually based on language/translation issues) with the manual but I figured it out quickly. I've not added it to the computer yet but it looks simple enough. It might die tomorrow...but so far, it's still working!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RaggyLug
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not recommended.
5/20/2013

Customer review by Veggiepup

1.0 stars 5/20/2013 by Veggiepup
by Veggiepup

Mine didn't last a week.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Veggiepup
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money on this TV or Emerson brand
7/19/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/19/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After having this for 18 months it suddenly started putting itself into standby mode whenever it wanted to. I kept having to turn it back on. Did this for about 6 months and then today it won't come out of stand by mode...has power but won't power up. I purchased this in store without reading the reviews...what a mistake. After reading multiple reviews it seems like Emerson brand is well known for this. Very disgusted.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Salisbury, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sound is scratchy, absolutely terrible; Pic is ok
9/30/2012

Customer review by DadofMNTwins

3.0 stars 9/30/2012 by DadofMNTwins
by DadofMNTwins

Just installed - if I wouldn't have bought it for the low price and having it be used in a bedroom, it would be returned. Sound is horrendous ! So I hooked up external speakers. Pic is simply ok. Much better than the 13" round screen TV it replaced. Haven't tried the DVD yet and am hoping it isn't too darn loud....

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DadofMNTwins
Brooklyn Center, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/4/2013

Customer review by Rosy2013

5.0 stars 7/4/2013 by Rosy2013
by Rosy2013

It is a good television, it was so easy to set up and turn on and set all the channels; just one, two, three and done. Amazing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rosy2013
Pasadena, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews