Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 129 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

129 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

129 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 101 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Worth the $$
8/16/2011

Customer review by keelsmommy

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by keelsmommy
by keelsmommy

I love it so does my daughter. Since you mostly want to know the flaws here are my opinions: -the plastic used to make it seems too cheap -the games, apps, and etc. are going to cost you. -not for parents who know nothing about computers since the set up takes a while -cant upload your own videos, or photos. But its a good product maybe a few updates and Id change my rating. Deff BUY if your kid is obsessed with your phone, ipod, ipad!

Was this review helpful? (169) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keelsmommy
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/24/2011

Customer review by AngelaG62

4.0 stars 8/24/2011 by AngelaG62
by AngelaG62

We brought home the Leappad last night and it was great, until we realized that it is not made for left hand kids. The string gets in the way when she tries to write on it. She has to use the extra string not attached so now we have to keep up with the extra pencil. I know that there are not as many left handed children out there as right, but maybe this is something to look into - being able to attach the string with the pencil on either side.

Was this review helpful? (274) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AngelaG62
Sumter SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWSOME BUY FOR LITTLE CREATORS
8/25/2011

Customer review by momnumber01

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by momnumber01
by momnumber01

This is a great option for children plastic is not cheap and is actually quite durable and meant to take a good beating from your little one. Apps are not free however some of them are customizable. Leapfrog is just touching the surface of this technology. It forces your child to be creative by taking their own picture and creating their own story they have to draw, take pic and talk into the device to finish the process. My daughter has worked on her story for 2 days in a row now every time she gets a moment she is writing, drawing, speaking, photographing in a word CREATING.

Was this review helpful? (95) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momnumber01
Effort, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LeapPad Explorer Compared To Leapster Explorer
10/6/2011

Customer review by KarenOf3G2S

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by KarenOf3G2S
by KarenOf3G2S

The LeapPad Explorer is similar to the Leapster Explorer in many ways, but with a few differences . . . 1) The LeapPad Explorer has 2GB of memory verses the Leapster Explorer’s 512MB. 2) The LeapPad Explorer’s 5” screen is larger, but also brighter and sharper than the Leapster Explorer’s 3.2” screen. 3) The LeapPad Explorer has motion-based play and the Leapster Explorer does not. (One of our preschoolers’ favorite games to play is Roly Poly Picnic, in which they need to tilt the LeapPad to get a ball to roll over the desired object.) The technology is surprisingly accurate as far as how it responds to the user’s motion. 4) The LeapPad Explorer comes with a built-in digital camera/video recorder and microphone, while the Leapster Explorer’s digital camera/video recorder is an accessory that can be purchased separately. (As a parent, I think having less detachable pieces to lose is preferred.) I also want to say that the image quality is better. Although lots of light is still required with the LeapPad Explorer to capture a good image or video, the combination of the better screen and a higher resolution, allows the LeapPad Explorer’s camera to produce a better image. 5) The LeapPad Explorer comes with an extra stylus, where the Leapster Explorer does not. (Somehow our children managed to pull the stylus off the string on our Leapster Explorer. We still haven’t located it and are lucky that the unit also works with the touch of a finger.) 6) The Leapster Explorer has a charging dock that is available to be purchased separately, but the LeapPad Explorer unfortunately does not have one currently available. (I highly recommend using rechargeable batteries in the LeapPad Explorer, especially if you have more than one child using it frequently.) 7) The LeapPad Explorer retails for $99.99, while the Leapster Explorer retails for $69.99 plus $24.99 for the camera/video recorder attachment. Three features by which my family was highly impressed in the LeapPad Explorer are . . . 1. The included Art Studio App is pretty powerful for a toy’s image editor. One can take a photo captured by the LeapPad Explorer and make it black and white, tint it, decorate it with stamps, draw on it, and more. The results turn out great. 2. As I had previously mentioned, the motion detector technology is surprisingly accurate. It is a key feature that our children enjoy very much and, if it had failed to be accurate, our children would likely have been very frustrated. LeapFrog really did well with this feature. 3. Like with the Leapster Explorer, the LeapPad Explorer adjusts to your child’s skill levels. (We have twins and it’s great that they can both play the same game under different usernames even though they learn at different speeds.) How could the LeapPad Explorer be improved? 1. One of my main complaints about the Leapster Explorer was that it was a little on the heavy side for a child to hold with one hand for an extended period of time. The LeapPad Explorer is just as heavy. 2. As previously mentioned, it would be ideal to have a charging dock (or another type of charger) for the LeapPad Explorer. I hope this accessory will be available in the future. 3. Although, the 400Mhz processor is not overly slow, it would have been nice to have a slightly faster processor in the LeapPad Explorer than in the Leapster Explorer. As difficult as it is for children to wait for something to download, it is probably more difficult for adults who are accustomed to using adult tablets and e-readers. 4. Although the LeapFrog Explorer games can be used in both the LeapPad Explorer and the Leapster Explorer, not all the apps are interchangeable. So, if we have one app the children particularly loved on their LeapPad, we may not necessarily be able to get it for the Leapster Explorer and vice versa. NOTE: Although I received a complimentary sample unit for my family to use and provide feedback, all thoughts expressed in this review are my own.

Was this review helpful? (75) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KarenOf3G2S
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product!
8/23/2011

Customer review by Satisfiedmomma

4.0 stars 8/23/2011 by Satisfiedmomma
by Satisfiedmomma

We have the Leapster Explorer but this blows it away!! My daughter hasn't put it down since she got it. I wish the aps were cheaper, but this is still worth every penny. The only thing I would change is the battery use. The Explorer has the rechargeable battery option, and I wish they had thought of a way to make this with the rechargeable option, but we will buy some rechargeable batteries, so it's not the end of the world. We love it!!

Was this review helpful? (70) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Satisfiedmomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Preschooler's Favorite Toy!
9/9/2011

Customer review by WebGirl79

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by WebGirl79
by WebGirl79

I write a parenting blog called PrissyMommy.com and I received a LeapPad for review. I can tell you first off what a relief this has been for both my husband and myself. Our preschooler just couldn't keep his sticky (literally) little paws off of our ipad. He was always so intrigued by it, and my husband had more apps downloaded on it for him than us put together! So it's nice that he now has his OWN tablet that can occupy him through the weekends and on family trips. He carries it around in his little bear backpack when he's not on it. He sits between my husband and I on the couch and uses it, and it occupies him longer than any of his other toys and personal electronic devices. The way we see it is computers will become a major part of his life, especially once he starts elementary school, and so I don't feel bad about letting him spend as long as he wants on it since the apps that he is playing are all educational. (It's not like plopping him down in front of the TV.) The apps that he plays with are directly correlated with what he's learning in school now, which is awesome for us. It's like reviewing school on the weekends, in a way that he enjoys and has fun with. We've been doing a lot of letter and number recognition, along with word building and learning about unusual animals and science. I also love that the screen is large, and the video picture is SO clear. He feels just like mommy and daddy now that he has his own camera. He especially loves the drawing feature, since he's really into art and creating. I wish the battery life was a bit longer. We frequently make 5 hour trips down south and he likes to use it on and off throughout the trip, which can be draining on the battery when it's not turned off properly. He is having so much fun that we'd like to buy more games for it. I love that there's such a wide selection available, and that they're also compatible with the Explorer (which he got last Christmas). However, they are on the pricey side to me, so that'll have to be done in moderation. Other than that, we love our LeapPad, and it's replaced his LeapTop for his #1 favorite personal electronic device.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WebGirl79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great learning tool
10/14/2011

Customer review by USMCReconWife

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by USMCReconWife
by USMCReconWife

I purchased the LeapPad for my daughter's 5th birthday. A friend had just given it to her son and warned me that there were some updates that needed to download and the leap pad needed to be registered--only things you can do from a computer. These updates take about 30 minutes so I decided to open it before I gave it to my daughter, to save my sanity, rather than trying to fight off an excited 5 year old who doesn't understand "software update needed". It is very to do and the included software walks you through the process. Of course once it downloaded I had to play with it--can you blame me? It doesn't come with batteries, so make sure you have plenty of AA's. The ONLY complaint I have about this product is the battery life. Granted my daughter plays it constantly but its getting expensive to change the batteries every couple of days. I purchased three games and an e-book--two hardware and two downloaded from the website. They all run roughly 20$, but are absolutely worth the money. I also love the fact that it comes with two stylus...styluses...styli? whatever they are, there are two of them. We managed to lose both within the first week but that's pretty much par for the course at our house. The great thing is that you don't actually have to use a stylus since the touch screen also responds to finger touch. The camera and video are marginal but totally sufficient for a child. My husband is deploying to Afghanistan for a year and was able to leave her a recorded message that she can watch every night before bed! This is a HUGE bonus for me and would be wonderful for any child who is periodically separated from a parent. So, long and short of it is, if you have enough batteries and a child (or immature adult) you'll be very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USMCReconWife
Carlisle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Superb for tech-savvy kids!
8/23/2011

Customer review by Callierose

4.0 stars 8/23/2011 by Callierose
by Callierose

This educational toy is amazing to my 4 yr. old girl who is obsessed with my iPhone. The buttons are specially made for little fingers and the how-tos are even age appropriate. This is a must-have for any kids who are itching for your gadgets. Only down side is the price of the apps which range from $5 to $10 an application.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Callierose
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Ever!!
8/30/2011

Customer review by GreenleasMommy

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by GreenleasMommy
by GreenleasMommy

This is definitely worth the money!! It is very eduactional even for my 2 year old!! She loves the books and the videos and it is very durable!! It definitely saves my iPhone 4 from being broken!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreenleasMommy
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
smart buy
10/24/2011

Customer review by laramiesprincesses

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by laramiesprincesses
by laramiesprincesses

I bought the leappads for my girls to keep them busy on the way to disney (18 hours) with a 3 and 7 year old. Wasn't sure about my older one liking it but she loves it so much I have to set a limit on it lol. It is very educational and fun at the same time. You will love this product!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laramiesprincesses
bloomsburg, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great buy
10/24/2011

Customer review by Tasha13

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by Tasha13
by Tasha13

Please keep in mind, this toy eats aa batteries like crazy. One day of work and four aa batteries are dead. The unit DOES NOT come with ac adapter. You'll have to buy it separate and maybe invest in a good set of rechargeable batteries. Other than that and the price of games, no complains. Great educational toy. Picture quality is way better than expected for a childrens toy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tasha13
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/12/2011

Customer review by Heutermom

1.0 stars 10/12/2011 by Heutermom
by Heutermom

I bought this on august 26th and I have had nothing but problems with it. The first day was great, the second it stopped connecting to leapfrog connect so I could not get my daughter the pet pad shampoo or treats and it would not upload her pics/videos. I have gone back and forth with the customer support for nearly 2 months and I have done everything they told me to, I took hers and exchanged it yesterday to see if it was just that particular device, the new one like the old worked great for 1 day and then when I was prompted to update it, I complied and the leapfrog connect froze as did the leapPad. I am taking it back tonight and finding my daughter a different toy. I will not ever buy another leapfrog product, I will stick to vtech. So sad for my daughter because she loved it when it worked.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Heutermom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Screen going blank or freezing
8/5/2012

Customer review by nesha1717

1.0 stars 8/5/2012 by nesha1717
by nesha1717

I bought this product online, received the product within a few days but didnt open the package until 2 weeks after. With either fully chargerd energizer rechargeable from walmart or the AC adapter the screen goes blank or sometime grey with lines. My 4 year old daughter and 6 year old son is very disappointed right now! The return policy says return in 15 days and in original packaging. 15 days has passed and that packaging long gone. I want to see how 'walmart' will respond to this return which i had no effect on. Leapfrog/Walmart; this issue will determine where i spend my hard earn money in the future.......

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nesha1717
Hollis, NY.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
UGH another battery change!
4/14/2012

Customer review by drcoco

2.0 stars 4/14/2012 by drcoco
by drcoco

The battery thing is exceptionally annoying especially since I have 2 children and two leap pads. My chidlren have had this device for less than 24 hours and already require battery changes. I bought a batery recharger and rechargerable batteries when I purchased the device because I did research prior to the purchase but actually doing it is very bothersome. Hope this helps someone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drcoco
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This Learning System is the BEST!
1/13/2012

Customer review by KeePhotographee

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by KeePhotographee
by KeePhotographee

My 4 year-old daughter received the pink LeapPad for Christmas & loves it! As parents, my husband & love how easy it is to set-up and use. The camera & video, art studio, and endless games keep her entertained (and learning) for hours. We feel so much better letting her use this versus taking our iphone or ipad and playing games. She's practiced her letters and numbers and enjoys taking care of her 'animals' with the PetPals game. We've tried some of the other systems and by far this is the best!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KeePhotographee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This toy was an excellent choice.
4/6/2012

Customer review by WayneLI

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by WayneLI
by WayneLI

This Is a great choice. It is my 6 year-old niece favorite. Please get the adapter. She loves it so much, the batteries would eventually cost more than the console.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WayneLI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great learning toy, eats batteries.
2/24/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/24/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My 3 yr old loves this. It uses the same cartridges as her brothers leapster explorer. Good game but it lasts less than a week on a set of batteries. Also like the gelskin we got with it. Protects well against most bumps and drops. Hate the case leapfrog makes, looking for something else.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great tablet for kids
8/27/2011

Customer review by TopherW

4.0 stars 8/27/2011 by TopherW
by TopherW

Bought this tablet a few days ago as an educational/fun device for my 5 year old and she loves it. The responsiveness of this is good enough for kids and its very easy for her to navigate thru the operating system. The selection of apps/games/books is very nice to start. Will update this after a few more weeks of use

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TopherW
Lawrence, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awsome pruduct for you little one!!!
8/30/2011

Customer review by liyahsmama4

4.0 stars 8/30/2011 by liyahsmama4
by liyahsmama4

I bought this for my daughter and she just cant get enough of it. She cant stop creating new pictures and practicing her letters. Every game is educational. Its well worth it. Apps are cheaper and easy to install. Needs of improvement would be to be able to upload pictures. Love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
liyahsmama4
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME!
10/14/2011

Customer review by CMom2001

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by CMom2001
by CMom2001

We have the Leapster Explorer and now the Leapster Explorer Leappad and we love them both. I have two girls, 3 and 6 and they both love them and alternate which one they play with. Graphics are great and it's so nice that the games are interchangable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CMom2001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews