Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

45 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

45 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-20 of 39 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Great Mountain Bike - Value Plus Upgradeable
9/1/2011

Customer review by Wolfyjr421

4.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Wolfyjr421
by Wolfyjr421

I am into trail riding. I first had purchased the Genesis V2100 from the local Wal-Mart Store. This was alright but not suitable to any true riding. I found that this bike (actually built by Kent Inc) was offered online and had many upgraded features for only $50 more. I bought it and they shipped to my home for free. Assembly was no problem (although fine tuning took a few hours) and I am not very mechanically inclined. Most bike shops will only charge $25 - $45 to assemble and tune it. This bike is great for the value, it comes with many standard features including full metal pedals, upgraded professional seat and upgraded Shimano Altus rear derailler. The frame is light enough but superbly sturdy. This bike is a great base bike that will easily allow for future upgrades. Even though the look of them is not for my taste, the triple wall wheels/tires are great for serious trail riding. The only difference that I have seen between this bike and the more expensive "GMC Topkick" that is also made by Kent Inc is that this bike does not have the rear disc brakes. The only reason it does not get a 5 star rating is that the front forks have a little bit too much play in them for my taste. Although I have certainly put them through some tough rides, the play takes a bit from the confidence in the bike. I will be upgrading these soon. In summary this bike is an excellent deal. Even if I had $600 - $1500 for a more expensive bike, I would still go with this bike and simply upgrade a few things. Even out of the box at $200 this bike performs very well. Adding another $200 - $300 in upgrades would make this bike easily comparable to bikes being sold for $1000 - $1200.

Was this review helpful? (73) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wolfyjr421
Columbia, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice bike
7/17/2011

Customer review by crude

4.0 stars 7/17/2011 by crude
by crude

I bought this off the rack, made a few minor adjustments to fit me and took off. It shifts very smooth and quiet up and down. Light weight and easy to handle. Looks good( I like the colors)and rides pretty comfortable other than seat. The only thing I did'nt care for was the play in the front suspenion (front to back) it was'nt that much and maybe I was being to picky. Overall I like the bike and plan on running the wheels off it.

Was this review helpful? (54) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crude
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice Ride
9/4/2011

Customer review by BubbaNortheast

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by BubbaNortheast
by BubbaNortheast

Although I am not a Bike expert, I believe that this was a good value. All the shopping around that I did online showed me I could have spent alot more for a bike. It does exactly what I expect of it. Good ride, smoth operation, easy to make adjustments to. The additional $50 over the Genesis V2100 was worth it to me as previously stated by others. The better seat, pedals, and quick adjustable seat is worth it. Now I believe a pricier bike also will deliver a quality that a cheaper bike can not but for an end user like myself which will be using it on a casual basis and not going through the roughest of terrain, this bike is perfect for me and the price was good.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BubbaNortheast
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/4/2011

Customer review by DainaI

4.0 stars 8/4/2011 by DainaI
by DainaI

This is a nice looking lightweight bike. It rides very nice. There are a couple of things that need to be said about it. It needs adjusted before use. The front disc brakes and the gear shifters need tuning by a professional bike mechanic, otherwise the brakes don't provide much braking power and the chain will jump off of the gears.

Was this review helpful? (35) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DainaI
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best deal for the price!
3/19/2012

Customer review by HCS001

4.0 stars 3/19/2012 by HCS001
by HCS001

I read all the reviews on this product before making the purchase, I knew to expect some of the components not to be of the quality I was looking for and was ready to upgrade them as they failed. I ride my bikes up mountains and free ride back down, and always make sure to take on some of the more technical trails, so far only the threads on the stem shredded off, I replaces with a Q2 stem at $40. and next I will be upgrading the forks, they look good, but only 60MM travel and are not solid, they have survived some hard runs, steep declines, and caught a little air time, but this item needs to be replaces for my safety. So far no other problems, great performance for the money, expect to replace some components, excellent frame geometry, performs good at high speeds down hill, make sure to adjust the tire pressure according to the train you ride in, the rims are holding better than I expected, if the bike gets muddy it clears up from the derailleurs after it picks up some speed and bumps in the road. The brakes are average, but they do work when you need them to. The only thing I could not take off were the stickers, I tried the blow dryer with WD40, only the stickers on the rim come off, not the ones on the frame, I guess I have to paint over them. This bike met more than my expectations, so far.....

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HCS001
Angeles Forest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome bike!
9/19/2012

Customer review by mtbingagain

5.0 stars 9/19/2012 by mtbingagain
by mtbingagain

So I had a v2100 till I saw this. V2100 is good for light trail use and running around town, great for it. But if your more into actual trails this bike is the way to go. Its basically an upgraded v2100 with lower weight but stronger frame, better components throughout. Has tabs in rear to upgrade to full disc brakes (requires different rear wheel) and rear derailleur hanger is replaceable style (they do get broke sometimes when trail riding). I personally ran into several assembly issues but its walmart, their employees dont care about assembling a bike properly. But since i know how to do my own work didnt bother me in the least. and not going to take points off the bike for poor assembly. LBS near me if I had needed would have checked over the bike for me very cheaply so wasnt worried. Only downside is rear wheel doesnt except disc rotor and that the fancy wheels are kinda heavy, especially the rear, the 8 speed unit is a modified freewheel hub (supposed to only go to 7 speed) and its heavy duty, and HEAVY. Over all, great bike, accepts any upgrades you wanna do, very well built, put a decent rear shock on, front forks if your like me, and you got a NICE mountain bike that can run right along side more expensive bikes on the trails. Genesis outdid themselves on this bike!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mtbingagain
NW Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good enough for me
10/18/2011

Customer review by Galivan

5.0 stars 10/18/2011 by Galivan
by Galivan

I'll start off by saying that I'm just a casual bike rider for exercise and not an expert or serious enthusiast. 99% of my riding is on paved trails, sidewalks, and the street, so I didn't need anything too rugged. I did want something that had some extra features from the regular low end bikes. I wanted something that looked good, but not obnoxious or loud in its paint scheme. The Genesis Saber seemed to fit my requirements, so I purchased it. This bike has met all my needs. It shifts smooth and I love the Shimano gear shift mechanism. The brakes have worked well with no sqealing or vibrations. I have only done very minor adjustments. Overall, I am quite pleased with the bike. I would echo the comments made about having a loose front fork. It was a little disconcerting the first time I felt it, but it seems to be fine otherwise.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Galivan
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike
11/24/2011

Customer review by jcredmond

5.0 stars 11/24/2011 by jcredmond
by jcredmond

The bike has lasted me almost a year and it is holding up great but there are so cheep parts that I replaced like the peddals, the brake pads in the back, and the front brake set those were a joke but now it is like my 2000 dollor bike.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcredmond
Penrose, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Still undecided...
3/23/2012

Customer review by MTBRyder

4.0 stars 3/23/2012 by MTBRyder
by MTBRyder

I bought this bike because it has a lot of the same components of those offered by my local bike store at a fraction of the cost. I was told that the bikes at the bike stores have components a few steps above what is offered on this bike and you're mostly paying to get the bike fitted to your body type. Nevertheless, I just cannot afford an entry level bike priced at $500.00 right now and the rep at the store told me that if I get into the sport, I would want to upgrade to a more expensive model very soon(REALLY!!! Pay for a $500 bike and then decide I want something better??? Why not just buy a cheaper bike and make that kind of decision??). Anyway,my thoughts to begin with was to buy this bike and over time upgrade it with better components as I go (and who cares if the bike is 10-15lbs heavier than those at the bike store...that's why you have more gears to help you on the trail!) The bike comes with metal pedals, the front disk brakes work well, it has an upgraded seat, the front forks give a little (they don't make the loud noises like others have complained about), the wheels seem like they're good, the rear derailleur isn't the best but can be upgraded later, the front derailleur is good, the rear cassette and chain isn't the best, and the rear shocks work surprisingly well and can be adjusted for stiffness. Now I'll go into why I'm still undecided about the bike. It began when it came a little dinged up when it arrived, but nothing that couldn't be overlooked. As everyone else has stated, it needed some brake/shifting adjustments (if you aren't sure how to do it, take it to your local store and they will assemble it or watch some youtube videos). I took the first bike out for a test ride on one of the premier MTB trails in my area and the rear cassette came apart within the first 1/4 mile on the trail. I was able to make it the rest of the way through the trail on the higher gears, but it was pretty sketchy. I returned the bike to Wal-Mart and got one off the shelf fully assembled. I have put this one through some tough trails and it has held up so far. I am going to continue to test it before I make a final decision on the bike. I feel like I got a bad cassette and it was just a fluke. Regardless, I do recommend this bike for the price but do yourself a favor and purchase the two year warranty so Wal-Mart will pay for broken parts or replace the bike if something breaks three times in a row! I hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MTBRyder
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the money!
9/18/2012

Customer review by Justmy3cents

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by Justmy3cents
by Justmy3cents

I bought this bike a month ago and has put 300 trail miles (20 -30 miles each ride) on it without any problems. I am 5' 8" medium built and it's a great fit for me. Don't know much about bikes so I was concerned about some of the negative ratings, enough to pay a bike shop $60 to have the bike checked out after I assembled it (had it shipped to my house), waste of money as they did not find anything wrong. They did adjust the handle bar and seat quick release. There is a seam line on both wheels but the bike shop's mechanic said that it was not a concern. I would definitely recommend this bike for the type of riding that I have experienced; mostly flat trails with gentle inclines/slopes with loose stone areas nothing bigger than a couple of inches in size. The seat was very uncomfortable the first 2 or 3 rides but had become livable once it softened up and I started using a bike shorts.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justmy3cents
Budd Lake, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bad Manufacturing
5/29/2012

Customer review by ksvan

1.0 stars 5/29/2012 by ksvan
by ksvan

My wife purchased me this bike for my birthday and the front disc brakes would disengage when the brake was applied. The front rotor for the disc brakes was also warped so the brakes could not be adjusted correctly. I exchanged the bike at the store for another and when I arrived home noticed that the front forks were installed backwards and the brake cables were all twisted. Once I reassemled the front forks I noticed that this bike also has a warped rotor so I can not adjust the front brakes correctly without them rubbing on the pads. STRIKE TWO! I dont think I'll be going for three

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ksvan
Surprise, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/17/2012

Customer review by SDB16

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by SDB16
by SDB16

I got this bike for under $200. A very good bike for the money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SDB16
Galesburg, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good riding & Good Looking!
4/7/2012

Customer review by In2znite

4.0 stars 4/7/2012 by In2znite
by In2znite

This bike had pretty much everything I was looking for except a rear Disc brake. Alot of compliments from people on this bike, Thinking I paid more then $199. Like some have said the front forks are a bit soft but this would only bother you if you were always off road or on trails. For me I use it as mostly as a street & park bike for crusing and the forks hold up great. I had a little issue with the front sproket gears so I called the Manufacture of this bike(Kent) and let me just tell you the customer service was nothing short of amazing! They took care of all problems and stand by their customers 100% ! I was pretty amazed that the tires say only inflate to 40psi but hey seem nice and hard at the 40psi so it must be the advanced force rims! Pretty amazing. The shumano gears shift smoothly. This bike has quarter welds through out the frame which usually can only be found on bikes over $500! I was shocked to see this! The only reason I gave this bike 4 out of 5 stars is the seat and handlebar grips are unconfortable after 45 minutes of riding but easily replaced! Overall great bike!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
In2znite
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
genesis saber
10/22/2011

Customer review by fyjgjt

3.0 stars 10/22/2011 by fyjgjt
by fyjgjt

a good looking bike and reliable after making the following changes....replace front tire quick release with a quality quick release. second have bottom bracket replaced with a sealed bottom bracket 68x118 square taper english thread such as a shimano bb un-54 68x118 $30 is its cost but well worth it. shifting is smooth and responsive. steering is very nice..love the handle bar width. many compliments while out in public. upgrading the crank in near future will put it in a upper class.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fyjgjt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great dual suspension at a low cost
3/6/2012

Customer review by bikessmith

4.0 stars 3/6/2012 by bikessmith
by bikessmith

This bike is a great buy!!!! Since dual suspension bikes are real expensive. its a solid bike that will need to be upgraded for those who are serious about trail riding, such as the fork and the rear suspension, but in the end you have a bike that is worth the $1000 dollar price range without spending the cash. Remember even the guys who buy the real expensive mountain bikes upgrade components. Or if you just want to ride around the city its a great riding bike that is Shimano equipped..

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikessmith
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the price
10/9/2012

Customer review by CLongSr

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by CLongSr
by CLongSr

Before buying this bike I had done tons of research, seem some good record and seen some bad ones. my advice to everyone is that you can't go off what others are saying. You have some folks that expect everyone to be able to afford a specialized bike. with that being said, this isn't one of those bikes..... have taken my bike on the trail and so far I only have about 30 miles on it, but I have had no issues with.this bike has many pluses and in glad I purchased this bike and didn't spend a penny more! I would definitely recommend this bike to others.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CLongSr
Belleville, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very good bike for the price
4/12/2012

Customer review by jaafarlou

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by jaafarlou
by jaafarlou

this bike offers options that usually can't be found at this price tag. The suspensions work fine, although the front one can be a little loose. I bought the bike directly from the store, where I found three of them and I picked the one which didn't have that problem. I have the bike for two months now, and I've been to trails a couple of times and the bike behaved very good. My only complaint is that the front wheel can't be adjusted to be perfectly true (I took it to a bike repair shop and they couldn't help). Tightly adjusting the front disc brake become problematic in this case. Overall, I'm very satisfied with this bike, given the price I paid.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaafarlou
louisville. ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Bike needs upgrades for serious riding.
4/12/2012

Customer review by GpcG

4.0 stars 4/12/2012 by GpcG
by GpcG

The bike is a large part of my transportation/recreation time. If i want to go to the gym or fishing or wherever i jump on the bike and save some gas money, why drive a car to the gym? I ride a lot on sidewalks along the side of roads that i don't want to be on with the cars. I also go off road sometimes. Sidewalk riding can get to be a rough ride, so i picked a bike with full suspension. Its a great bike but there are a few issues. With 50 miles on the bike i am replacing the front suspension because it is simply not a good system. Its developing play due to wear play makes the front end sloppy. I'm replacing it with an air shock system worth more than i paid for the bike. It took me all night to adjust everything. The steering tube and wheel bearings on both wheels where over tightened. The brakes were over tightened, the front and rear gears had to be adjusted. So! if you don't work on bikes have it shipped to the store and let them put it together for you. I like the bike and plan to continue to upgrade it till i have exactly the bike i want. great handlebars, great shifters, great seat, great rear suspension, great pedals, great frame.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GpcG
Sarasota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Looks Great. Rides Good. Leaves you stranded
3/26/2012

Customer review by tony3779

1.0 stars 3/26/2012 by tony3779
by tony3779

I read a lot of the reviews prior to purchasing this bike, and even the highly rated ones knew the bike was flawed, but bought it for the value of putting more money into it. I had the same expectations... I knew the front fork was an issue (mine also had the loss fork others have reported) I rode the bike for the first time, and took it on a short 5 mile out, 5 mile back ride. Before heading out I went over all the bolts, brakes, shifters, shocks... all looked good and in spec. I got to the 5 mile point. Stopped. Checked everything over again. The front tire was getting a little low, but still holding air. I stuck to my goal of just heading back instead of trekking on. Half way back (2.5 miles out from home) I was JUST starting to think "Man, I should have gone further... I could ride this all day" when BAM! The rear chain derailer exploded. In all my 20+ years of bike riding I have never had a derailer fail like this. I was not shifting... I was not even up off the seat pedaling. I was simply pedaling at a steady even pace. This was a PAVED walking path... not off trail through the woods... it was supposed to be an easy ride. The derailer gear set sheared off the linkage. The metal cage holding the gears twisted and locked to the chain. The rivet used to secure the gears to the shift arm sheared completely off and there was no way to remount the arm even if I wanted to. Both parts were in-salvageable. That meant walking the last 1/4 of the way back dragging the bike with me. I took it back to Walmart 3 days after picking it up. Once I get the refund back on my card I will be going to a local bike shop and putting it into a better built bike.

Was this review helpful? (10) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tony3779
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice Bike for the Price
7/23/2012

Customer review by Johndirect425

4.0 stars 7/23/2012 by Johndirect425
by Johndirect425

I don't know much about bikes but did some research and came across this one. I think its manufactured by Kent, which is a nice bike manufacturer, and for the money is a great bike. It has front disc brakes but no rear. That would have been the only improvement. Everything was easy to put together and the shipping was faster than expected. I would rather spend $200 on a bike that in New York, I can ride during the summer and the rest of the time sit in my garage. Happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Johndirect425
Chelsea, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews