Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 9 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

9 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

9 reviews | 4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-9 of 9 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great bike for biginer hard riders
11/29/2011

Customer review by AGarcia842

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by AGarcia842
by AGarcia842

I like this bike its built solid, good welds, is hase a asome smooth shifting thru all gears, it takes a little tunning up but once dield in its solid, its frame hase and option to put in a rear disk brake, only thing i didnt like about the bike is that its heavy but for 300 buck you cant beat its quality honest im my opinion enything better would cost you 500 plus from a bike shop..

Was this review helpful? (37) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AGarcia842
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome bike!
5/29/2012

Customer review by blzrdphoto

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by blzrdphoto
by blzrdphoto

I love this bike. It's the best one I have ever owned. I would have probably liked a 29" bike better since I'm 6 ft tall but this one still suites me just fine. Only problem I found is my back brake causes a vibration that make a loud wailing sound when I use it but that is probably just some adjustments that I need to make. Overall I definitely do not regret buying it and I would highly recommend Genesis to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blzrdphoto
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good entry level mountain bike
10/30/2012

Customer review by Boomer658

4.0 stars 10/30/2012 by Boomer658
by Boomer658

For the price, this is a good entry level mountain bike. I purchased this bike for my daughter to use on beginner/intermediate trails in the area and am very happy with its performance so far. The bike has held up well despite the pounding that trail riding can impart on a bike. The only downside I found was the same as others have had: the squealing brakes. It took a while to finally get the adjustment right to stop the squealing and I also had to adjust the gears so that they changed smoothly. If you are not versed in bicycle repair, then I would recommend you have the bike assembled at your local Walmart so that it is correct for your first ride.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boomer658
Augusta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gensis HD2600 26" mountain bike
9/27/2012

Customer review by stormchaser1

3.0 stars 9/27/2012 by stormchaser1
by stormchaser1

The bicycle came approx. a week after the online order which is normal by freight through walmart.No problem there. Assembling the bike went well. While riding the bike for the first time and several times after,when applying the rear V brake, it sounded like I was beating 50 kids at the same time because the rear brake squealed so loud. I thought the police were gonna get called on me for child abuse when i was only riding a bicycle.lol Anyway, i took the bike back to my local walmart & let the bike repair guy look at it. he adjusted the brakes on it & so far no more squealing at this point. Thank goodness cause i don't need to be followed by the local guestopo everytime i ride. That problem solved for the moment. The only other concern I have is that the front shocks are very weak. Everytime i get on the bike,the front shock goes in about an inch but does not come back out unless i get off the bike. The shocks do not have much travel space in them that i can see other than say about 4 inchs of travel B 4 they bottom out. I have a polaris sportsman with about the same travel in the front shocks & they are built a lot better as they don't travel inward when i get on that bike. The Gensis bike would be a much better bike if the front shocks issue were addressed by the manufacture as i my opinion, it could possibly be a safety issue in the long run. Other than that,this bike is a strong built bike as far as i can tell.I plan on keeping the bike & build on it to make it better bike.I love the lime green color.Makes me feel like i'm riding a lizard down the road. Now if i could only make it catch & eat bugs.LOL Everyone will have there own opinion on any product they buy. That's human nature. Even though i know the few problems i've had with this bike,I still would purchase another one.Some wouldn't & some would say i'm crazy. Most anything a person buys can have problems with it.The question is,is that person willing to try to improve the product or not? The problems i had were minor & fixable. Some problems understandably cannot be fixed & the product needs to be returned for whatever reason. Good luck in whatever you decide to do.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stormchaser1
Minden,La.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent bike
5/28/2013

Customer review by deboys

4.0 stars 5/28/2013 by deboys
by deboys

I asked to have the bike assembled by the WalMart team. They did a great job putting the bike together so I could ride it this weekend. The bike is smooth, transfers from gears quite well. The back breaks "howl" however I think I can fix this with some adjustments to the rear brake mechanism, otherwise I can take it to a bike shop for some minor adjusting. I am pleased with this bike, I will get a gel seat in the future and some bike clips so I can get more pedal power.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deboys
portland, me
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/15/2013

Customer review by bluecode

4.0 stars 7/15/2013 by bluecode
by bluecode

i think its really a good and nice bike i hope to have it for an long time.i ride it everyday and i will recommend it to an friend anytime.for the price you cant go wrong thanks walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluecode
carbondale,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing!
9/19/2013

Customer review by Iffey

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by Iffey
by Iffey

Just overall Amazing!

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iffey
Murican City, Murica
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Inexpensive with some high-end components
10/4/2014

Customer review by EightyTwentyRule

4.0 stars 10/4/2014 by EightyTwentyRule
by EightyTwentyRule

Good combination of price to features. Welds are clean, components are above average. My 14 y/o loves the paint scheme. Comes partially assembled (most do), however the front tire was strapped to the side of the frame with the pedal crank through the spokes. This resulted in a couple of spokes slightly bent, but they could be straightened without issue. Complete assembly is straightforward, but it does take a bit more time to tune, especially to eliminate the "howl" from the back brakes as others have experienced. Overall a great value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EightyTwentyRule
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Starter bike
9/6/2014

Customer review by Desertbiker

3.0 stars 9/6/2014 by Desertbiker
by Desertbiker

The bike was giving to me as a birthday present. As much as she paid for it was a little disappointing that I had to take it to the bike shop for a overall tune up because it was not put together correctly. I have to agree with all the other posts that the main downfall is the annoying rear brake noise. I have not been on a bike since my teenage years so I don't know if it's the bike or me but when I'm trying to shift from low to high gear the chain slips off sometimes. What was paid for the bike and the cost of the tune up I could have got a Trek for $50.00 more. However I do like the bike.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Desertbiker
Henderson,NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days