Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 111 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

111 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

111 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
29
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 stars
24
1-20 of 94 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
Pandigital Planet R70A200 Android 2.2 Tablet
7/10/2011

Customer review by JEBS

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by JEBS
by JEBS
Top 500 contributor

The Pandigital Planet is a step up from its predecessor the Pandigital Novel. This one runs at 800 mhz, and the touch screen while still resistive is alot more responsive. It has dual cameras, although not the greatest quality but adequate. It is fairly fast, taking into consideration that it is a single core processor and not dual core like on alot of the newer more expensive tablets running Honeycomb. I do not recommend installing the 6.17.2011 firmware update, since many people have reported that this rolls back the processor speed from 800 mhz to 600 mhz which in turn causes it to run slower. There is no explaination as to what benefits are gained from updating the firmware to this version. Overall, this is a very nice entry level Android tablet for a first time user, or someone that is familiar with Android tablets but wants a nice inexpensive tablet.

Was this review helpful? (542) (74)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JEBS
Hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Great tablet for the low price
8/22/2011

Customer review by theman879

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by theman879
by theman879

The Pandigital Planet is a step up from its predecessor the Pandigital Novel. This one runs at 800 mhz, and the touch screen while still resistive is alot more responsive. It has dual cameras, although not the greatest quality but adequate. It is fairly fast, taking into consideration that it is a single core processor and not dual core like on alot of the newer more expensive tablets running Honeycomb. I do not recommend installing the 6.17.2011 firmware update, since many people have reported that this rolls back the processor speed from 800 mhz to 600 mhz which in turn causes it to run slower. There is no explaination as to what benefits are gained from updating the firmware to this version. Overall, this is a very nice entry level Android tablet for a first time user, or someone that is familiar with Android tablets but wants a nice inexpensive tablet.

Was this review helpful? (124) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theman879
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pandigital Planet
8/22/2011

Customer review by UNCAlumni

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by UNCAlumni
by UNCAlumni

Overall, I've found this unit to be quite reliable. While not in the class of an iPad, it does allow me to check my email, watch videos, read Kindle & eBooks, and overall is a nice little tablet. While you do not have access to the Android Marketplace, you can install the Amazon Android Store. I've found quite a selection of good apps there for a reasonable price (or free). Overall, the Planet is a good, low-cost, introductory tablet.

Was this review helpful? (50) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UNCAlumni
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
VERY EXCELLENT
3/18/2012

Customer review by tonize

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by tonize
by tonize

This product was a breeze to connect to my wifi. The main drawback was not being able to use the Google Play App Store but was able to find all I needed on the Amazon App Store. Can indeed use Netflix on this tablet. You need a Micro SD Card to install the app to and it works just fine. I bought a stylus to use with it and it works very smoothly with it. Also can use Apps from Getjar. I would fully recommend this tablet for those not wanting to spend a huge amount of money. It so far has done everything I wanted it to do right off. The Barnes and Noble app is excellent. I was able to get all my Nook books on it and so my wife gained my Nook. Registering the tablet was a simple process.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tonize
Dothan AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pandigital products
8/19/2011

Customer review by pleasedpuchaser

1.0 stars 8/19/2011 by pleasedpuchaser
by pleasedpuchaser

It is very important, before purchasing pandigital products, that everyone reads the return policy, related specifically to Pandigital products. I purchased a 9" version of this product which was very slow, and froze up continously. The software used throughout these ereaders, made by Pandigital is horrendously deficient. I went through a humiliating experience, with one of their associates on the phone, in an effort to troubleshoot it and solve the problems of malfunctioning, only to be told I may receive a new one in the mail after a month. This product is about as efficient as their customer service policy. If you are willing to endure such an experience, enjoy your purchase.

Was this review helpful? (176) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pleasedpuchaser
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Great value for kids
1/18/2012

Customer review by sarge38a

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by sarge38a
by sarge38a

Unless you want to give a child a $500-600 iPad, this is a good option. Plenty of available apps and the platform is good for younger folks.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sarge38a
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quality, User Experience and Performance
9/6/2011

Customer review by Mahen

3.0 stars 9/6/2011 by Mahen
by Mahen

This product is not bad for the price, But dont expect an Apple Ipad performance and speed , The random access memory (RAM) is low in this devise so certain programs will either freezes or closes, but you have to have a real logic brains to search and load the apps for this Planet, since this is new to the market and there are many incompatible issues with the apps. The pre-loaded apps are like sometime will not satisfy you the real expectation you have. The touch screen is having the less accuracy and you have to first get use to hold the device and scroll the screen lol..... I did this device more friendly myself after many struggles, but one you start using the device , you will feel better. wifi is very poor, it catches only very strong signals, but if you thing using your neighbor free wifi, then better drop the idea buying this device. Camera are good for video chat, but not good for pics, so dont think you can take good still pics with this device. Battery is not very good and not bad, if u r a regular user, better keep ur charger next to you.. for best battery charging leave the devise in off condition and charge it for atleast 4 hrs for full charge. Weight is little heavy compare to other tablets, and the poor design does not allow you to hold the device ergonomically and accidental you may press the buttons that are placed in the bottom of the device while holding. I am writing my user experience since i am Product design Engineer. Thanks Mahen

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mahen
07747
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not happy
8/18/2011

Customer review by Wileythedad

2.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Wileythedad
by Wileythedad

I got this unit with some level of caution. I know it's not going to perform like an iPad, so I don't expect that. I also know that it is inexpensive, so I kept my expectations in line with the price. That being said, I just don't think this unit has lived up to what I would have expected, even for a unit under $200. First, just because it is an Android O/S, don't expect to get Android apps at the Android Market Place. I have an HTC Android smart phone and have been spoiled by the excellent selection of good, high quaility apps. So naturally I expected to have access to them with this unit. WRONG. The app store with this tablet seems well stocked with less than adequate (translated junk) apps. There are a few good ones, but if they require Flash player, forget it. Flash doesn't work, and when I tried to download it, the message from Adobe said they cannot download to my unit because of restrictions from APPLE!!!!!! What's that all about?!?! YouTube is horrible. Picture quality looks like something from a cheap video card from the late 1980's. Horribly pixelized and choppy, even though this unit has an 800 Mhz processor. Prior to this one, I had an ereader that used Kobo for it's standard provider. I really liked the Kobo interface, but cannot download from Kobo to my unit. If it would allow me to access the Android Market Place, I could download the Kobo reader, and all would be well. But alas, my books are stuck in my Kobo library and I cannot get them to my new unit. Yes, I tried saving them to my computer and transferring to the micro-S/D card and then putting it back into my unit. However, all I got was ASCII text and symbols. The screen is not easy to use by touch. I am a typical sized man, and don't have overly large fingertips. However I am finding it very hard to find the "sweet spots" when typing in a url; thus, having many misspellings along the way. Also when I touch a "button" on screen, it may work and may not. Sometimes I find myself having to touch below the button to get it to work. I am no novice to computer operations. I have been using PC's since 1987. However, this unit has me stumped. I sent an email to customer service last night. We'll see if/when they respond if they can give me some answers to rectify these problems, and others I haven't mentioned here. If they cannot, then the unit will go back, and I'll probably just get a Kobo reader and be done with it. After all, I already have a computer. I just want a unit that works, and does what it is supposed to do.

Was this review helpful? (288) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wileythedad
Mason, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
overall great tablet for the price
1/5/2012

Customer review by youngturk

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by youngturk
by youngturk

My wife and I shopped at Walmart for the holidays.She purchased a really nice digital camera and I purchased a Pandigital Planet on line.The unit was easy to set up to get e-mails and the Apps are great to access.The unit works very well and the screen is easy to see and touch screen is excellent.Would reccomend this item to friends

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
youngturk
redford,mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tablet
5/8/2012

Customer review by 19Yrs

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by 19Yrs
by 19Yrs

My mom purchased this for me and I love it. It comes with the Barnes and noble book reader so that's EXTREMELY handy for a college student and anyone who likes to read. The apps are pretty good also. Some people expect it to be an iPad but it's not. It's cheaper and works just as good..maybe even better at times. The speakers are great. I have used it everyday since i got it. As long as you have a good wifi connection then you're good to go! :)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
19Yrs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
An Excellent Value for an economy Android Tablet
4/11/2012

Customer review by CrossvilleGuy

4.0 stars 4/11/2012 by CrossvilleGuy
by CrossvilleGuy
Top 1000 contributor

I owned the Pandigital Planet with Android 2.2 for about a week and found it to be a good value. Two of its biggest limitations appear to have been addressed in the Android 2.3.4 OS model currently sold by Walmart. I recently purchased the updated Planet sold by Walmart. From what I have been able to surmise, the updated Planets were manufactured beginning in December 2011. Most of the Planets being currently sold elsewhere are the older model with Android 2.2 OS. Upgrading from Android 2.2 to 2.3 provides expanded support for VOIP (Skype now runs with video). To check for your OS version, access 'Settings' and then 'About device'. The Walmart late model Planet increases RAM from 256MB to 512MB; the newer model continues to support storage up to a 32GB microSD in addition to the internal storage (RAM is where programs load and run; storage is where they load from). The earlier model experienced slowing, and occasional crashing, when too many applications were running simultaneously. Doubling the RAM should improve that situation as well as rendering the new model more capable of running more RAM hungry applications, such as popular Android games. To put this in perspective, the iPod 1 had 256MB of RAM and the iPod 2 and newly released 3 are reported to have 512MB RAM (Apple appears secretive about their tablet RAM and do not list it in their specifications). Like the older Planet, the iPod 1 was prone to crash especially during games, presumably due to RAM limitations. As previously indicated, another limitation of the old Planet was camera imaging quality. Neither the 1.9MP rear camera nor the 0.3MP front camera produced acceptable detail when compared with even a 1.3MP Android phone camera. The image quality issue appears to have persisted in the newer Planet. Both cameras functioned well as webcams. As previously indicated, the webcam is now compatible with Skype, however, does not appear compatible with ooVoo. There were roughly 300,000 iPad apps in January 2012. At that time, Android apps were less than half as numerous. Since Android, unlike the iPad, is an open platform and relatively new, Android apps are likely to ultimately exceed iPad apps in number just as Android phones have eclipsed iPhones. The site freewarelovers.com currently lists 1714 free Android apps; both current and earlier versions of apps are available, thereby increasing your chances of compatibility with at least one of the versions. The Amazon Appstore is also an excellent resource of both free and reasonably priced apps. I recommend adding the Amazon Appstore app to your Planet soon after delivery. You should understand that not all Android apps are likely to run on a given Android tablet. Some are designed for Android phones and look for the phone hardware prior to installation. Running Android 2.3.4 should manifestly improve your compatibility with the non-phone specific Android apps. The later model Planet continues to use a resistive screen. Conversely, improvements in the OS suggest that false selection issues may not be as manifest. Brief testing with my newly received Walmart Planet did not disclose any obvious difference in the screen performance from the earlier model. Resistive screens are less expensive to produce than capacitive screens. Both have strengths, but the addition of a capacitive screen to Pandigital's newest tablet, the SuperNova, would suggest the superiority of the capacitive screen. The 8" SuperNova, unlike the Planet, also has Bluetooth built in as well as a 3MP rear camera. One additional note: hold off buying the micro-HDMI connector referenced by Walmart. The older Planet used a mini-HDMI connector. Make sure which connector you have prior to ordering a cable for viewing 720p or 1080p videos on your TV. My Walmart Planet also came with a mini-HDMI connector, as opposed to the micro-HDMI connector listed in the Walmart specifications.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrossvilleGuy
Crossville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
My Son enjoy's using it
1/10/2012

Customer review by msgfc

4.0 stars 1/10/2012 by msgfc
by msgfc

Purchased this for my 18 year old son for Christmas. He wanted a table with front and rear camera's and an Android system. He got want e wanted in this product, he enjoy's using it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msgfc
DC Metro Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/27/2012

Customer review by sillypaguy

5.0 stars 3/27/2012 by sillypaguy
by sillypaguy

For the price you can't beat this table. Remember you are paying less than $200, don't expect it to be an apple i-pad! The pandigital does plays games, read book and plays videos what more do you need?

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sillypaguy
Benton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pandigital Planet 7" Tablet Android 2.3.4 OS
3/23/2012

Customer review by Professor8897

5.0 stars 3/23/2012 by Professor8897
by Professor8897

I own this tablet and I installed Adobe Flash 10.3 and Android Market via article from www.slatedroid.com and video from YouTube. This tablet is like booting up a Android Cell phone and faster than the old version Pandigital PRD07T10WWH756. Way cheaper than the Kobo Vox and it doesn't have cameras. Why spend hundreds of dollars on Ipad. I don't know why unless you have money to burn.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Professor8897
Vancouver, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/21/2012

Customer review by Happi1D

5.0 stars 2/21/2012 by Happi1D
by Happi1D

Overall, this tablet is great for surfing the web or checking your email or playing a game. Battery life I would like to be longer, not able to watch a movie before the battery dies.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happi1D
Marshfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/18/2012

Customer review by HONEYdaboss

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by HONEYdaboss
by HONEYdaboss

The whole family uses it and we love it! !!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HONEYdaboss
Lakeland FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Warrranty Issues
5/3/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/3/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

When I got my Planet, I did a firmware update. A week later, I began familiarizing myself with it by reading ther guide and downloading apps. It fell off my bed and the screen cracked. I wasn't too upset since the representative whom I spoke with reassured me that the warranty will cover EVERYTHINGk, including water damage and cracked screen, hardware dmage and software malfunctions, I knew I could send it back and get another one since I had only had it a week. The stickers are still on it. Well, I spoke with another representative about what happened and he told me that the warranty doesn't cover it, but to write a letter explaining what happened. I converted to this from my laptop for ease of convenience. Now I am playing the waiting game. I really needed this for my final for school (colege). I hope that the conversation I had with the lady representative who told me that the warranty covers everything was recorded. Until then, I am without my laptop and my Planet. I will write another review showing the results of my situation. God Bless You.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fabulous tablet with a tweak!
5/30/2012

Customer review by Momneedsvacation

4.0 stars 5/30/2012 by Momneedsvacation
by Momneedsvacation

My son bought this for his birthday and it is a fabulous tablet. We only paid $99 for it, so it was well worth the cost- quite a deal actually. It originally only came w/ a limited version of GetJar marketplace, which wasn't great. But, we tweaked it easily by downloading the Amazon marketplace. You have to have a micro sd card to serve as the "cloud" for the Amazon apps, but he can now download and play everything great! It's super simple. This tablet really has great functions, it's touchscreen requires a firmer touch then say the kindle, but it's quite responsive. My son is happy so far, and I would certainly recommend this tablet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momneedsvacation
Clearfield,UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exellent Tablet
4/11/2012

Customer review by tabley

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by tabley
by tabley

Awesome tablet with the best sound ever awesome for getting apps like fruit ninja the webcam is awesome front and back great HD photos and video taking doesn't freeze , and with 2GB you can get like 30 something apps great tablet

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tabley
homestead, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for the price
3/25/2012

Customer review by alvdlv1

3.0 stars 3/25/2012 by alvdlv1
by alvdlv1

Yes its not an i pad but for the price it good enough. Yes its slower but its 80% less im price. I like it, works good, I am happy with this product. Remember you get what you pay for. If you are expecting an i pad, buy an i pad.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alvdlv1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews