Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

89 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

5 stars
59
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 87 total reviews
Good quality, Good price, Does what it's built for
2/13/2013

Customer review by CampinHappy

5.0 stars by CampinHappy

I ordered the canopy through Walmart online. Was ready for pickup at nearby store in half the posted time. It was will packaged with no damage. took it home unpacked it with no problems. The first setup will take considerably more time than the 1 to 3 minutes advertised. From then on it gets easier and faster. This thing really fits together good. This is our 3rd screened tent. We live in Texas and camp with a travel trailer 4 -5 months a year, from Florida to Colorado and there are misquitos every where we go. The screen on this canopy has an extra fine weave that works pretty good on Florida's No-See'em's, yet it doesent seem to effect the air flo. Goes back in the bag easy enough. We have been camping for 40 yrs and this canopy has to rate close to the top of the list of must have camping gear.

Was this review helpful? (106) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CampinHappy
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As easy to set up as advertised
6/2/2014

Customer review by Scooterator

5.0 stars by Scooterator

I have had several styles of tent style dinning canopy's. All usually took more than an hour to set up. The Coleman canopy was as easy to set up as advertised. We were up and set up in less than ten minutes. The other great feature is that all the screening, top cover and frame fit easily back into the carrying case.

Was this review helpful? (55) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Scooterator
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great purchase -- more spacious than expected
5/27/2014

Customer review by Redhouse92

5.0 stars by Redhouse92

We are very pleased with this screened canopy--and for the price. We ordered it online. It arrived quickly. It was relatively easy to put up. We put it on our paved patio beside our house. It took two people--to pull the metal framing out to form the perimeter and to pull the canopy fabric over the dome of the frame. But, other than those two tasks, the rest of the assembly was easily done by one person. We've put heavy, flat rocks on some of the "feet" of the poles and also used ties with stakes on the three corners which are near our lawn. While we feel this is an excellent product overall, in the individual ratings we've marked durability somewhat less than excellent, primarily because we've only had this item up for about a week and thus, we're not in a good position to make that judgment. It did, however, do just fine in a rain storm we had during that time and we expect it to do just fine throughout the summer. We're so glad we chose this item. Also, we think Coleman's long experience with camping gear is evident in this item. For example, we noted the extra swatches of fabric which are provided on the inside of the canopy at potential "rub points" where the fabric of the dome contacts hinge points in the frame.

Was this review helpful? (53) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Redhouse92
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
7/8/2013

Customer review by BCcampers

5.0 stars by BCcampers

We put this up at home before we went camping which was a good idea. When we went camping it rained really hard and 2 other campers lost thier Canopys but this one did great. We are so pleased it is really just what we needed.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BCcampers
London KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Extremely Pleased
4/18/2014

Customer review by Worknprogress

5.0 stars by Worknprogress

I had purchased a screened canopy from another store and was very disappointed when on the third day of use a storm came and the canopy collapsed. After reading the positive reviews for the Coleman screened canopy I decided to give it a try. I am extremely pleased with this product. It did not cost much more than the one I brought previously but it has far exceeded my expectations. I must say it took a bit longer to set up than the instructions sait it would, but all in all it was pretty simple. We are also pleased with the amount of room this canopy has. After putting this screened canopy up, we had a storm with very heavy rain and it weathered the storm like a champ. Kudos to Coleman for a well made product!!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Worknprogress
Henrico, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Huge canopy, very heavy though!!
10/6/2013

Customer review by MariaF324

5.0 stars by MariaF324

This is not for the person looking for light setup. It is on the heavy side. You need 1 to 2 people to help you with setting this up. (I needed two more helpers). For people with hand arthritis or back problems, this is not for you. Other than that, nice big canopy. You have the option of keeping the canopy with or without the bug screen. The screen was very long that you can tuck it under the tent. The only thing that was aggravating me was the constant bending to open and close the screen every moment that we had to enter and exit the screen room (constantly if you had a big crowd of people) and I was afraid that the zipper can break in the process, then I am screwed. But it does give good shade in a large area, fits about 8-10 people. Would have been nice if they added the LED lights feature added to such an expensive tent. I had to buy lighting for night occasions. Oh and as for the rain, the bottom screen part does accumulate with water since it is very long that you must tuck it in the ground. Had it on top of my cemented backyard, anchored it with milk gallon bottles filled up with water and tied the string to it. Note: Canopy has no floor covering.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MariaF324
New York,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sturdy and roomy!
7/21/2014

Customer review by Bordersboy

5.0 stars by Bordersboy

I assembled my Coleman 12-by-10-foot Hex Instant Screened Canopy by myself by lifting it slowly from the center and gradually spreading the legs out and had no trouble getting it together within a half an hour. The legs are very strong and lock into place with little effort. The dome shape seems to be much better with handling wind and rain as it barely ripples or moves on windy/rainy days. It does leak a little bit from the seam areas. I assembled mine next to my little house on concrete and have the cords (which are normally staked into the ground) tied around sand bags to weight it down and keep it secure. It has been assembled for over 1 week and has shown no signs of buckling or damage from several windy, heavy thunderstorms. I am very, very happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bordersboy
Brigantine, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what we needed!
5/18/2014

Customer review by happyhoosiercampers

5.0 stars by happyhoosiercampers

After much research we decided on the coleman screened canopy instead of a dining fly. Yes, it's heavy but that's good becuase it's much stronger than those flimsy other ones. We even added some clear plastic side curtains (shower curtains fit perfectly) to keep us warm when it was cold and to keep the breeze down. It takes 2-3 people to set it up but it's fast and easy. We like the quality and it looks like it will last a long time. The tie downs and the stakes keep it in place in windy conditions. So far weve only had 10-15mph gusts but it will take more. I'm sure well use this in the back yard as well...to keep the bugs out. We're very happy with the canopy e

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
happyhoosiercampers
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This shelter is just what we wanted.
6/24/2014

Customer review by freddie61

4.0 stars by freddie61

Shelter was easy to set up. first time took my wife and I about 20 minutes, The frame is solid and well built. The canopy top is thin but strong, I would suggest sealing the seams with tent seam sealer, the screen is well made and goes on very easy. Took longer to stake it out than to put it up. We also had some problems with spiders and bugs coming in where the screen meets the canopy. Solved that problem with sticky velcro. The first night up we had thunder storms with wind and heavy rain. The shelter never moved , it is tougher than it looks. Plan on leaving this up all summer long and only drop it down if sever storms are coming. I only wish colman offered a replacement canopy for it. Just in case of holes for hail or so. we are very happy with this shelter. On evening we sat in it during a gentle rain. It was dry. We are very happy with our purchase and if anything happens to this one I will buy another just like it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
freddie61
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy as a snap to set up
6/12/2012

Customer review by CJ1966

4.0 stars by CJ1966

We couldn't believe how easy it was to setup. Besides being aesthetic appealing, I like the fact it has two entrances. The breeze was able to come through and no flies. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CJ1966
Austell, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Perfect for relaxing bug free!
10/31/2013

Customer review by SouthernGirlatHeart

5.0 stars by SouthernGirlatHeart

This is one of the best screened canopies we've purchased. We winter in FL in a 5th wheel and need outside "room". This canopy is perfect for shade, keeping the bugs out, and the "footprint" of this canopy is better than some we've used. It does take two people to put up, and we laid some 2x4's around the bottom on the skirt as we have two chihuahuas we don't want to escape. We have a couple of folding chairs and a 2x4' folding table in ours, and we also have a 2-burner stove, and there is really no room for more. If you use a picnic table it will fill this room up. Make sure you tie it down, the winds can push it around some. All in all, we love it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SouthernGirlatHeart
Lake Panasoffkee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value for Money
4/15/2014

Customer review by Jerrymabob

3.0 stars by Jerrymabob

Product is basically decent. It was missing several tie downs in package so I will be trying to get those from Coleman. The one thing I am not happy about is how the screen attaches to the roof. There is no velcro on the panels so even though it somewhat overlaps with roof there are spaces where bugs will be able to get in. I intend to glue velcro to the screen panel and roof panels so that I can close those up. But this should be in the design. If glues does not work they will have to be sewn which would be a moor project. The instructions were not always clear and I had to figure some things out myself by trial and error.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jerrymabob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It was exactly what I needed. Excellent!
4/27/2014

Customer review by Gab777

5.0 stars by Gab777

It rained a week later and the wind was blowing hard. I was so afraid that it would fall down and be ruined like the last gazebo that I had, to my joy it stayed in tack. I have nothing negative to say in this review about this product. I can trust Coleman's product(s) and the price was right.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Gab777
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to set up with 2 people!
9/19/2013

Customer review by MontanaMonica

4.0 stars by MontanaMonica

Set this up prior to camping - highly recommend! Very sturdy and even kept us dry when it rained. We even put our tent inside the canopy and still had space for 2 camping chairs and a small table. Great to have the guy ropes built in for when the wind blows.....which is a constant in Montana! Great value for the money.....and it certainly kept the biting insects at bay! Only down side is the zippers are not heavy duty, which I believe Coleman should improve on!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MontanaMonica
Great Falls, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Harder to put together than advertised
4/25/2014

Customer review by Jenn1dyl

3.0 stars by Jenn1dyl

The instructions were minimal and it was not easily assembled in 3 minutes like the packaging claims. Once you finally get it put together, it was very nice and we enjoyed sitting under it. There is almost no way to fit the stuff back in the bag though, it gives you a small pocket (not even the length of the rest of the bag, to store the netting and the cover, which didn't work at all. I'll probably just end up buying a cinch bag to put them in. Oh and it proved challenging for me, I am short (5'3) when it was fully extended, to attach the velcro tabs to secure the roof cover

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jenn1dyl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceeded our expectation
7/11/2013

Customer review by DL0722

5.0 stars by DL0722

It takes 2 people abount 30 minutes to assemble. The frame is strong and the tent is spacious/roomy. The mesh sides keep the bugs out. The 1st time we used it, it rained and the canopy did not leak. We are very pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DL0722
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality, design and appearance exceed expectations
10/31/2013

Customer review by JanskiNJ

4.0 stars by JanskiNJ

Have had this for a week and have no complaints thus far. It arrived, via free ship to home, 3 days ahead of schedule. It was easily assembled by my husband working solo in a matter of several minutes. The look, quality, design and sturdiness are all better than expected. It is a good size, height and width. It keeps the bugs out, is convenient and nice looking . Loving it. Walmart also had it for the best price including the free shipping to home. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JanskiNJ
St Petersburg, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Canopy/Tent for the Money
7/27/2013

Customer review by Guesss

5.0 stars by Guesss

We do like this product very much. It took us a bit longer to install than what was stated. If your objective is to keep the bugs or sun out, buy it! There were a few slight defects, since the box was delivered damaged. We needed it that weekend, so kept it. The quality is good, and it is nicer looking than I thought it would be. We are enjoying it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Guesss
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Effective on mosquitoes and "no see ums" not wasps
9/16/2013

Customer review by DMCKEYS

4.0 stars by DMCKEYS

Wasps tend to land and simply walk up the screen and through the the gap between the roof and walls. If they zippered together it would prevent this. I plan to add a Velcro strip, this will be expensive and time consuming to circle the entire canopy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DMCKEYS
Sugarloaf Key, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what we were looking for
6/7/2014

Customer review by JDLH

5.0 stars by JDLH

Perfect size and design for a bug-proof spot to be during the summer of the Godzilla Mosquito! So far we are very happy with this canopy. I have read elsewhere that some people have had quality issues, but ours arrived in perfect condition, went up smoothly, and appears likely to do the job well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JDLH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 87 total reviews