Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

17 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

17 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
0
1-14 of 14 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Pretty good tent at a pretty good price
7/27/2011

Customer review by CampGeek

4.0 stars 7/27/2011 by CampGeek
by CampGeek

What's Included -The tent with fly -a small (14"x14"ish) gear loft -a bag of steel tent stakes (enough to do the job right) -a nice carrying/storage bag I purchased this tent in store in Bangor, ME. My wife and I were looking for a larger, more comfortable replacement for our aging (OK... downright OLD!) small dome tent. After shopping around and coming up on a purchase deadline as we had a trip scheduled and wanted to buy a new tent before leaving, we decided on the Coleman Spring Valley Dome Tent. It hit all our major criteria; It was in stock, it was large enough for me, the wife, and our two dogs, it would fit perfectly on the platform at the campsite we were going to, and the price was pretty reasonable. So, I made the purchase, brought it home and (pay attention here novice campers!) set it up to check out the stitching and seal the seams before we left. Setup was fast & easy as you'd expect with a two pole dome tent, taking under 15 minutes with two people from start to finish. The take down time is equally fast, and again, having a second set of hands makes all the difference in easily folding & storing the tent. The ventilation looked superb, with both the sides and rear being 2/3 mesh netting. The fly has a zipper running up the rear to expose the mesh, and there's a ground vent at the rear to help with ventilation when this is closed. So far, so good. At the site We arrived at our campsite and despite having to use a additional rope for a combination of lashing to trees, the platform, and the use of a few stakes my wife and I had our tent up in about 20 minutes. It easily accommodated our full size air mattress and would have just as easily taken our queen size, along with room for all our gear, the doggie sleeping bag, and extra floor space to boot. The included gear loft sits high enough so that it clears my head at 5'9", and made for handy storage of sunglasses, cell phones, keys, and the like. We hung two lightweight LED lanterns from the gear loft anchor loops as well. These hung low enough for me to bump into by a couple of inches. In addition to the gear loft, there are two mesh storage pockets in the tent, one in the corner by the door opening and one at the opposite rear corner of the tent. I found this to be a great spot to store my headlamp at night. We were both very pleased with the amount of space and the excellent ventilation. Is it weather worthy? Our first night at the campsite was one that we got to enjoy spectacular weather. It was sunny, there was a nice onshore breeze all day, and the temps were mild considering the time of year. The evening and night were exceptionally pleasant as well. As to be expected while camping in a tent, morning brings with it some moisture from condensation, but the excellent ventilation that this tent offers had everything feeling dry again in no time once we opened up for the day. Our second night wasn't as nice though, as a front moved in and treated us to greyed out skies by early evening. By the time we'd turned in, it was already sprinkling out lightly. It's worth nothing that prior to heading to bed for the night, my wife noticed a defect in the stitching in the door panel itself. There was a small 1/4" gap that had appeared at just about the spot on the door where the zipper goes from horizontal to vertical. Rather than attempt to stitch it and seal it as it was already beginning to rain, I elected to use duct tape to prevent any drips for the evening. We went to bed, the wind picked up, and the rain started to fall harder lasting for a few hours into the night. When we woke up the next morning I naturally took a survey of how the tent weathered the storm overnight. There wasn't a single leak. If the gusts had been heavier and not hitting the front of the tent square I'm not certain that we wouldn't have taken a bit of spray up and under the fly through the mesh on the other three sides of the tent. But, as it was, we and our gear were nice and dry. My Conclusion I'm very happy with this tent. So much so that I actually took the time to write this review. We intend to use it for camping from late spring thru early fall when the temps are more mild. In colder weather, this one will be staying home in lieu of something we can seal up better. It sets up easy, vents really well, is large enough for our needs, and the price couldn't be beat. That's my $.02

Was this review helpful? (157) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CampGeek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Better than I expected
8/16/2011

Customer review by AZLynn

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by AZLynn
by AZLynn

I could not find this tent on the Coleman website, so I worried about the quality. Unlike most Coleman tents, there really aren't any windows (other than in the door). The entire top half of the tent is just netting. Without the rain fly, there is no privacy. I wish it had the standard windows with zip up privacy flaps. It was very spacious, we could stand up in it. We used it for 3 days on a camping trip, one of which rained heavily for 4 hours. There was only a bit of condensation under the rain fly that dripped onto the tent netting. It withheld strong winds and we only had a couple of drops get onto us from the condensation. Very easy to assemble and to disassemble. Packs away very small. All in all, I am very pleased and can't wait to use it again.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZLynn
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Terrific tent especially for the price!
9/9/2011

Customer review by suesnothome

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by suesnothome
by suesnothome

Even though this is a good size tent, I bought it just for myself. I used it camping up in the Mountains this week and have to say it met and exceeded my expectations. I did do a set up at home before going camping and it went up very easily. I think it took me about 15 minutes the first time. At the camp site, it took me about 8 minutes to completely set it up all by myself. I wanted a tent I could stand up in and have room for all my stuff and of course easy to set up alone. This was probably bigger than I needed but I'm very happy with it. I left the rain fly off a few nights and the view of the trees and stars were wonderful thru the mesh top.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suesnothome
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/7/2011

Customer review by atariguy36

2.0 stars 8/7/2011 by atariguy36
by atariguy36

This tent is not listed on Coleman's website so I'm guessing this is a build to specific price point model for Walmart. Had a bad zipper and leaked water when lightly spraying it with a garden hose to test for leaks. Returned it and bought a Sundome6 from a different store for just a bit more being it was on sale. Also the Spring Valley was $20 more in the store vs free delivery and no tax from Walmart.com.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
atariguy36
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great tent
8/23/2011

Customer review by xiara

4.0 stars 8/23/2011 by xiara
by xiara

This was so easy to set up. I think we had the tent up in 5 minutes. It is just as easy to break down. We had 2 queen airbeds and it pretty much took up the width of the tent. Thee was about a foot or two near the door, but I would use that space for baggage. I suppose though, you could fit another person in the tent. The only problem I had with this, was that when we were breaking the tent down, one of the poles ripped the tent where the poles go through. Although it was our fault, I would have hoped the material was a little more durable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xiara
Fremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
great tent
11/7/2011

Customer review by topher037

5.0 stars 11/7/2011 by topher037
by topher037

i just bought this tent and went out for a weekend camping trip... when we got there it was pouring, we my girlfriend and i set it up in 7 minutes. then 30 minutes later it started snowing. the tent held up great with the rain, snow, and wind we got the next day. everything inside kept dry and 20 mph winds didnt do anything to the tent. i would recommend this tent to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
topher037
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/21/2011

Customer review by ltrickg

4.0 stars 8/21/2011 by ltrickg
by ltrickg

Great price, easy to put up. It says it will sleep six but to have room for equipment and a queen matress it really only hold two comfortably

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ltrickg
Denver, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good tent great price
4/21/2012

Customer review by 3GERDIEGIRLS

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by 3GERDIEGIRLS
by 3GERDIEGIRLS

this was something that my husband and I got for some camping that we love to do. We have a small child and dogs. My best friend and niece and nephew were coming from Atlanta(city kids); don't get me wrong I love Atlanta but "ruffing it" LOL So that night was fun the tent held up well with lots of room for the airbeds the campfire was wonderful and the kids thought they were in 3 star hotel!!!! There is lots of window screen for airflow, this is one of the best features, good quality, the tent stood well with 15mph winds, the only thing I don't know of is the waterproofing, for it did not rain. DO BUY THIS ONE!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3GERDIEGIRLS
COLUMBUS,MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
GREAT TENT
4/28/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/28/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought this tent a couple months ago to do some early spring camping with our scout troop. Easily fit 4 twin air mattresses in here. The first weekend we went, it took me about 15 mins to set up, was much easier after that. On two of the weekends that we have been camping this year, we had heavy rain and high winds- the tent held up perfectly without a drop inside. I didn't experience any of the issues people had in earlier reviews. I'm 6 feet tall and had no issues standing up inside the tent and there was plenty of room for 3 boys and myself. Thinking about buying a second one- would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Nice camping tent.
8/16/2011

Customer review by boughtWalmart

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by boughtWalmart
by boughtWalmart

Plenty of room for sleeping, storage of gear and standing to change clothes. Detachable rain fly opens top of tent for and open air feeling with protection from insects. Large rear window front door/window makes for plenty of flow through ventilation. A great value from Walmart web site.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boughtWalmart
St.Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
nice tent, good center height, easy to setup.
8/31/2011

Customer review by debbiedan

4.0 stars 8/31/2011 by debbiedan
by debbiedan

the only complaint i have if anything is the light tent color of white/green make it very bright in the morning at dawn. If you want to sleep past sunrise you will need to wear an eye mask or setup your tent in an area with many, many, trees to block out the morning sun.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debbiedan
Shapleigh, Me.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great tent for the price.
8/21/2012

Customer review by lvtoshop28

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by lvtoshop28
by lvtoshop28

The tent was very easy to set up and was roomy inside.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lvtoshop28
Auburn, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Returning this one
8/22/2012

Customer review by DealorNo

2.0 stars 8/22/2012 by DealorNo
by DealorNo

We bought this Tent to replace our old one. I saw this in the store and since it was a Coleman I thought it would be a good one.. It set up Easily enough, and was roomy enough. THe problem we had, was when it began to rain. The Zipper at the bottom leaked when it rained, all else stayed dry .. just a bad zipper, none the less I will be returning this Tent this week !

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DealorNo
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
NOT GOOD
8/15/2011

Customer review by Katie30

2.0 stars 8/15/2011 by Katie30
by Katie30

tHIS TENT IS VERY VERY SMALL..

Was this review helpful? (1) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katie30
Norwell
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34