Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 90 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

90 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

90 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
27
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
1-20 of 88 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Great price, great size, great height!
6/14/2012

Customer review by coonhoundtodd

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by coonhoundtodd
by coonhoundtodd

So I was searching and searching for a tent that we could stand up in, without it being so humongous that it would take up our entire campsite!! I was between a couple tents and this one just seemed like it had a better design. PROS 1) There's room to stand up and walk throughout the tent. 2) It is still a dome styled tent (which many taller tents are not) so rain and whatever else will slide right off the top without creating pools on top like a flat top/or sharply angled tent would. 3) The structure of the dome is wide but still high. With the curvature of the dome being higher to the top, there's even more usable standing space. 4) Fully lined zippers, bathtub welded floor, great stitching & rain fly = no rain or water leaks! 5) great ventilation, provides a big open back window (without zipper closure) which is covered by the rain fly for privacy when completely down, or the rain fly can be tied off to the sides for partial window, or rain fly can come off to allow open mesh window to be completely exposed and open. side windows with zipper closures still remain partially private with the rain fly on, and are high enough that outsiders can only see your head anyways. door provides excellent ventilation as well! 6) comes with door mat. I don't think it was mentioned in the product listing, and i really didn't think we would use it, but i'm glad we did... it kept the inside of the tent grass/dirt free! 7) Was just me, my boyfriend, and our dog, but there was a ton of room in there. We had a queen bed, and a dog bed with ample room on all sides of us for our belongings. We even turned the bed after we woke up for the day so we had even more open space to walk around and get dressed ect. (the foot of the bed was on the door side of the tent and the head was by the back window.) 8) I liked the fact that we were able to put our outside belongings inside the tent, just so our things weren't on display while we were gone. CON (AT FIRST THEN PRO): My boyfriend was hung up on the fact that the tent was going to be huge. WRONG. Any bigger and I think it would take up too much room. The tent is rectangular so it is long, but not too wide (It's as wide as a queen mattress is tall). So it is the perfect size without over doing it, and without taking up the whole campsite!! BOTTOM LINE: great tent and easy setup! glad I got this one!

Was this review helpful? (124) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coonhoundtodd
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
One Tough Tent
3/27/2012

Customer review by Ricoreedman

5.0 stars 3/27/2012 by Ricoreedman
by Ricoreedman

Got this tent for a weekend camping trip to a coastal Island only accessible by boat. The tent was compact and light enough to easily fit in the bow of a 10' Kayak. Set up was quick and simple for 2 people, all the components were of good quality (for beach camping I would recommend some longer stakes). Tent is very roomy and also airy without the rain fly. The true test came on our last night when severe storms rolled up the coast. This tent rocked!, literally. We were buffeted by 40 - 50 mph winds with torrential rain fall and small hail. Even though the stakes weren't holding the tent held it's integrity. The wind was coming out of the south which was where the door of the tent was facing. The tent rocked violently as it was hit broadside by heavy gusts. Considering what was thrown at it I'd say it was pretty tight. The only visible leak was a tiny drip from the tie that secures the door window when open. We did spray the seams with a water proof sealer before the trip.

Was this review helpful? (128) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ricoreedman
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great tent...
7/1/2013

Customer review by Katdani

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by Katdani
by Katdani

Love this tent...Bought it 2 yrs ago, used it 3 times already. Didn't do the review right away bcause we didn't test it yet with the wind and rain. First time we used this the weather was nice, 2nd time it rain and was windy (Memorial weekend 2013) and was cold. It held up the wind with no problem, as for the rain, we didn't get wet inside but it was not a heavy rain ( just a little rain). 3rd time was just last week (June 2013). We went to Cherrystone in VA our site was right at the bay. It got windy at night, but out last night there was a thunderstorm. Good thing the people next to us warned us about it and told us to prepare as it gets very windy when there's a thunderstorm and we were right at the chesapeake bay. And boy we did not expect it to be that intense, about 40-50mph and it lasted about an 1hr. It was scary and I thought the tent was going to be blown away. But thank goodness it held up. and no tear.. As for the size, we're a family of 5, 3 kids (10,8,4) we have 2 airbeds (queen & full) and still have space to walk inside and have some space for our stuff. Love love this tent. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (69) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katdani
Mays Landing, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent for two people
7/24/2014

Customer review by FishingT

4.0 stars 7/24/2014 by FishingT
by FishingT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently purchased this item online and "broke it in" this past weekend. With some assistance, I was able to set it up within twenty minutes. I also purchased and set up a queen size Coleman inflatable bed and set it up on one side of the tent. I was also able to put four medium size carts and cooler inside on the opposite side floor to the bed, with room to spare for standing in the center section. Hopefully, with good care, and some more time free, I'll be able to use this tent at another weekend camping trip in the near future. I might recommend, as I did, to bring a floor tarp, 8 x 8, to put before the entrance. the door mat included in the tent set is small.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FishingT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Everything I was looking for
7/8/2016

Customer review by DanK

5.0 stars 7/8/2016 by DanK
by DanK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Disclosure: I have not yet had this tent out in the field, only pitched in my living room. This tent ticked off all the boxes for me. I wanted to spend about $100. Check. Wanted a free-standing dome tent. Check. Wanted a plastic bathtub floor. Check. Want it to fit 2 queen sized air mattresses with a little extra space. Check. Wanted excellent ventilation. Check. Wanted a rain fly with decent coverage and an awning. Check. Want it to be easy to set up. Check. Only unknown at this point is durability, but should be acceptable coming from Coleman and it appears to be pretty well made. Other niceties that were not requirements but I appreciate: It's lighter weight than I expected--not gonna take it backpacking, but easy to carry. Has a gear loft. It's pretty tiny, but will hold a light. Love the colors--it's a very nice looking tent on top of meeting all of my requirements. Looking forward to doing some actual camping in it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very spacious tent
8/12/2014

Customer review by Kugo

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by Kugo
by Kugo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Being this is our first tent and Coleman being a named brand for years I decided to purchase it, mostly because I wanted it to be spacious and room enough to have most of our personal belongings and ice chest in at night and still be able to move about in and out of the tent. It meet our expectations and my boyfrined being five feet/seven inches tall certainly was a nice added feature that he was able to stand straight up and walk about inside the tent. Also he really enjoyed the fact that we have two netted pockets adhered to the wall of the tent to place small personal items in and that the zip up door has a screen to be able to see in and out minus the bugs. We so are enjoying our first Coleman Cimmaron 8-person tent. Only wish we could have more of selection of colors to chose from. Also as for the written instructions they could be better written as it was not very clear at some points. All in all it took us middle aged folks to setup the tent in about 45 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kugo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good tent at a decent price
8/2/2013

Customer review by NBOXY

4.0 stars 8/2/2013 by NBOXY
by NBOXY

We bought this as a replacement for an older Coleman tent that we had used for the last 10+ years.Our other is a Cabin style tent. The Cimmaron tent has more cubic ft. but has an odd layout and because of the sloping sides does not feel as big as our older tent. It was more difficult to set up also. Not bad, just make sure you have two people. The rain fly is un-necessarily difficult to set up. It has string ties and hooks that you have to undo and then put away once you don't need it. It is hard to get back in the original bag too. It served it's purpose and we were dry after a nice solid rain overnight.I did seal the seams before using. We had room for our queen size air mattress and two cots for sleeping.It also had room for our gear. At most you could sleep six in this tent in sleeping bags but would not have room for your gear. We are a Family of six and slept six in our other tent. We did not this time. We used two tents instead. Good value,j ust not as big as expected.

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NBOXY
Dexter, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
I really like it!
7/30/2011

Customer review by QuentinsMOM

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by QuentinsMOM
by QuentinsMOM

I bought this one day before our camping trip, so I had no time to test run it. We camped on the Washington Coast and of course as soon as we got there it started to rain, drizzle, but still wet! When we started to go to bed it started to pour, poured all night! Not one drop of water go into the tent and this was without water sealing it. Very impressed, because the rain was relentless. Super easy to put up and nothing was missing with ours and we had no stitching errors at all. This was a replacement tent that had two rooms and was way to big for us. Did not like having two rooms, like the idea of one big room much better. We had one queen and one twin mattress in the tent with plenty of walking room. Highly recommend! Happy camping to you.....

Was this review helpful? (211) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuentinsMOM
Puyallup, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great design - poor quality!
7/18/2011

Customer review by HappyHacker

3.0 stars 7/18/2011 by HappyHacker
by HappyHacker

I loved the features on this tent after extensive 'on-line' searching. After I bought it I decided to do a 'test run' set-up before my big (5-night) camping trip. I was really impressed with the design, especially the little ventilation window on the floor. Problem was, the tent was very poorly constructed! There has to be four gromet holes for the two cross rods on the ceiling and there were only three (missed one at the factory)? The stitching around the doors and windows looked like a third grader did it (croocked and uneven everywhere)! The last straw with this was after I had the 'test model' fully set-up I was standing in front of it and I heard a big POP! One of the rear legs ripped off (stitching missed the flap)! I will admit that I was so impressed with the design that I did bring this one back and exchanged it for a new one. I set up the new one and it was much better, but still poor construction. I will strongly recommend that you "seal the seams" (should on any tent) with this model because I could see light through the stitching on all four corners. I am excited to put this design to the test as I wiggled the heck out of it and am convinced this will hold up (dry I hope) to 30+ MPH winds!

Was this review helpful? (105) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyHacker
White Bear, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Easy set up and No leaks!
6/10/2014

Customer review by Pretaz

4.0 stars 6/10/2014 by Pretaz
by Pretaz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was able to set up the Cimmaron alone in 10 minutes. The continuous pole sleeves eliminate hang-ups while feeding the poles through. The entire top is made of mesh. At 5'11, my husband can walk around the full length of the tent without ducking. There is plenty of room for 2 queen beds, gear, and room to walk around. It has been through two days of rain with no leaks. The floor was damp even with a ground cloth, but no puddles. I would definitely purchase this one again.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pretaz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
8/8/2016

Customer review by Lynnerific

3.0 stars 8/8/2016 by Lynnerific
by Lynnerific
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cons: came with one broken tent pole. Is was very windy where we stayed, so the tend didn't have a chance with it being broken already. By the end of the weekend, an additional tent pole broke. Pros: Large enough for two full beds. Easy to set up. Probably doesn't need tent stakes if you don't use the rain fly. But, I am returning and looking for a different style.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lynnerific
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/7/2012

Customer review by ram52

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by ram52
by ram52

I camp alot....I am not your one week or weekend camper.....Last summer spent 3 1/2 months in a tent on 2 separate lakes for the US Forest Service.....I test all my tents prior to use....I do not want surprises.......We had Major Storms in our area.....High winds......I put this baby out for the last 3 days......put my gear inside to see what it would look like after 3 days of storms......this tent did not budge......not one drop of rain got inside.....I still wish though coleman would improve the thickness of their floors......they go first......if alot of traffic.....this tent should last years.....I highly recommend though most coleman products.....they are a staple in camping gear.....

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ram52
Iron River, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Exceeded my expectations!
11/24/2014

Customer review by Cimmamom

5.0 stars 11/24/2014 by Cimmamom
by Cimmamom

I bought this tent based on others' reviews, in particular, that of a retired Army officer. Set-up was quick and simple, even with the help of an 18-month old and a man who refused to consult the directions (go figure)! My three kids and I stayed warm and dry with temps in the 40's. We had two full size air mattresses and all of our supplies in the tent with plenty of room to spare. This was my kids' first time camping and my first in 20 years. We all loved the experience and the tent. The only complaint I have is with the zipper on the door. It's a little tricky to use without catching the tent material in it, but once you get used to it it is not a problem. I almost didn't buy this tent because it was too attractive--it was love at first sight. I was afraid that I was being influenced too much by outward appearance so I researched other tents for weeks, but I always came back to the Cimmaron.Turns out you can have it all!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cimmamom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not that easy set up
8/1/2016

Customer review by camplady64

2.0 stars 8/1/2016 by camplady64
by camplady64

Just bought this on Friday 7/29/16. Set up in back yard, before I head out to camp this weekend. Experienced camping with tents over 30 years. Took 3 of us to get this tent set up. Upon placing the poles in one of the top sleeves, one of them came lose , as I tried to correct it, the tent top sleeve ripped ! In all my years of camping this has never happened. My Opinion :Cheap material, not easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
camplady64
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good tent, good price
6/23/2012

Customer review by Tirod

4.0 stars 6/23/2012 by Tirod
by Tirod

I've tent camped for over 30 years now, with 22 years Army Reserve adding to that. Tents these days are made from much different materials, in different styles, and have advanced features that didn't exist when I first started. The Coleman Cimmaron is a large tent, certainly the largest I've ever used. It's rated for 8 - which in the Army would be accomplished by correctly stacking the inhabitants. Nonetheless, it's certainly roomy enough for 6 and almost luxurious for 4, my intended use. This tent isn't one to quickly pitch singlehandedly, I previously had a Daisy geodesic that could be put up by one - but it lacked good air circulation, would leak in hard rain, and did not have a coated tub floor. It was at best a fair weather tent. This one is different, with multiple poles that assemble easily, and which provide a lot of headroom. Very little crouching and crawling around is necessary, which a shorter 9x7 "four" man tent would require. The tent assembles easily enough, the rain fly attaches quickly, and the ventilation in full sun on a 93 degree day with 65% humidity was the best I've enjoyed. If there was a breeze, you could feel it, and the heat soak from full sun was minimal, unlike OD canvas. Instead of radiating from the full surface of the fabric, you only feel the directional impact of the sun. Few sleep their day away in tents in the full sun, but humid nights are a constant hazard in the South and Midwest. The open ventilation, including the ground level vent, ensures you will get some chimney affect to dump the heat, and you can control it when you need. This isn't a cool weather tent, tho, and we anticipate using it in the high desert at the Grand Canyon. Previous experience has taught me that tents aren't known for their insulation, you reduce the passage of air. This tent does that by zipping all the windows closed - but it's a tradeoff, as the full net roof will allow some heat to escape. I chose this over using one with a cool season ability, because the hot weather circulation is a higher priority with typical summertime vacations. Overall, the construction shows attention to detail, the cordage is sufficiently strong, but the tent pegs aren't. I'll substitute the more expensive heavy duty plastic pegs as they are nearly hammerproof. A 36 oz dead blow gets the job done in compacted campgrounds. This model has a power cord port, interior pockets, a center ring to hang a light or fan, and a center loft net to hold small items. The net hooks weren't sewn on well, the one flaw I've found overall. The roof design doesn't drape and pool water, a welcome change to the practice of my fellow soldiers and children timing a good shove on the roof as I pass by. I wonder how they learned that? In general, I'm pleased with the construction and expected the larger size to be more complicated than a simple backpacking tent. It is, but it goes up with less effort or special technique than the geodesic. It disassembles easily, and if you read the directions, stowing the fly inside the tent makes for a compact bundle to zip into the carry bag, which is superior for handling and travel. Our last tent had a sack that didn't protect it well. I can see this tent will likely serve us better than the last one did.

Was this review helpful? (78) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tirod
SW MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
11/19/2011

Customer review by SmokeyMommaC

4.0 stars 11/19/2011 by SmokeyMommaC
by SmokeyMommaC

Basically a good tent for the $$...bought on sale. BUT, if u try to put 8 people in here..good luck. Maybe 8 w/ sleeping bags only. But for just 2 humans & 2 dogs, it is very roomy. Used in rain and VERY windy weather. Held up very well to 50 mph wind gusts, and only had one little seam w/ a leak solved w/ seam sealer. NOT a real good tent to use in very cold weather. The open ceiling w/ fly & open back window area is only covered by the fly and this lets out too much of the heat. But on the plus side, I can put the tent up in less than 20 minutes by myself. Very simple to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmokeyMommaC
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Incredible value!
10/15/2012

Customer review by RTRcamper

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by RTRcamper
by RTRcamper

Purchased this tent last week ($119) after doing extensive research. I'll have to say that I am very pleased with this tent. My family and I (wife & two kids) went camping over the weekend and used the tent for the first time. Very easy to set up, we had it pitched in about 25 minutes. Next time this tent will be up in 15 minutes or less! We were camping with several other families and the wind was blowing gusts of 15-20 and it held up quite well compatred to the other wobbly boxes pitched around us. My 14 yr old son said "dad.....look at all of the tents out here and then look at ours. These tents are about to blow away and ours isn't even moving" Anyway, we fit our 2 double height queen air beds in with room to spare for our gear. We did have a little condensation on the inside walls but that was expected as we had the rear flap zipped open for air circulation. With this flap closed you will not get the condensation. I highly recommend this tent for any family of 4. This is supposed to be an 8 man ten and it is not, however I knew this going in and don't care how they classify it. By far the best tent out there for the money! Looking forward to our next camping trip next month!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RTRcamper
Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
8 man Coleman tent -great for us
7/27/2016

Customer review by Mary

4.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Mary
by Mary
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good quality, up in 15 minutes. I'm 5'8" and being able to walk in and stand up straight was great. Air ventilation is good. There were three of us using 1 queen and two twin air mattress, wall to wall which didn't leave much space for anything else. Once one twin was removed, there was plenty of space. I can't image fitting 8 people.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice tent
8/1/2016

Customer review by Mcjones

5.0 stars 8/1/2016 by Mcjones
by Mcjones
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to put up, we trust the Coleman brand

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mcjones
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/22/2012

Customer review by JA87

4.0 stars 7/22/2012 by JA87
by JA87

Just spent six nights in this tent at scout camp. It rained three times during the week, one time for several hours and the tent stayed dry every time. I do have a few issues with the tent: 1. the dimensions are not 8' as it says. It gets narrower on the ends. It might be 8 feet across the middle section but not the ends, my air mattress touched both sides. 2. Ventilation was poor. I thought the floor vent thing when I bought the tent was a great feature, but in reality, it did little, if anything, to help ventilation. 3. Sleeps 8? I doubt it. Overall, I was pleased with the tent. It is pretty spacious inside and I loved being able to stand up inside it. I'm not sure it will hold up for years and years but for occasional use and less then 8 people, (more like four), it's a pretty good choice.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JA87
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews