Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 31 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Very Nice Intermediate Tent
1/3/2015

Customer review by IcanseeNov

5.0 stars 1/3/2015 by IcanseeNov
by IcanseeNov

We've gone back to tent camping so we can camp off the motorbike and our car with the dogs. Other reviews complained that the screen porch area gets wet in the rain. We always have extra tarps for bad weather. The porch area is great for storing non essentials like chairs and boots. We love the extra room and shade/shelter. It also deterred the insects. This tent has the windows up higher which keeps the tent warmer. The tub floor is extra durable as stated. Zippers worked well. Over all it is well designed and manufactured. Our only disappointment was we had thought that the back wall was enclosed. It is difficult to determine from the photos. We hoped to keep the fly off in hot weather but the back wall is 90% mesh so you have to put the fly on for privacy. Not a big deal just not as we had hoped.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IcanseeNov
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Wonderful!
8/9/2011

Customer review by clawsvet

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by clawsvet
by clawsvet

We have always been backpackers with small lightweight tents, so I was in new territory with a "family" tent. It was surprisingly light overall, packs small. Lots of room inside for Queen air bed and two sleeping bags with pads, plus all our stuff. It did not rain so unsure of leaking, but we did seal the seams of the fly based on previous experience with tents and camping. Easy to set up. Even though it was hot, we were comfortable inside. Only problem was one pole had a frayed end, but my friends assure me based on their experience with Coleman that they will replace it without question. One unexpected surprise was that the screen room had a floor in it... most other models we looked at did not. I can see how there are pros and cons to this feature, but it sure made the inside of the tent stay cleaner, and gave us extra space to store things up off the ground.

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clawsvet
Central NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Nice tent and a solid value.
8/28/2014

Customer review by HopZob

4.0 stars 8/28/2014 by HopZob
by HopZob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was pretty easy to set up which was good because there wasn't a lot of fine detail in the instructions. When you first lay it out it seems huge but once you're inside it seems reasonable. I can stand up inside easily and I'm 6 foot which was a selling point. The screened porch is nice for storing things you want to keep drier and it adds another barrier for bugs to get through. The floor is a heavy duty waterproof tarp material so I don't know that a ground cloth is needed but I will probably pick up a sheet of Tyvek in any case. The interior is basic with two small pockets and a ring in the ceiling for a lantern. The side and front screens have covers that zip shut and the door can be either a screen or fabric. The back window and ceiling are just screen but covered by the fly. I can fit my family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids) inside comfortably on air mattresses but it would seem a stretch to fit 8 adults inside even without mattresses.Overall this is a good 2 season (late spring to early fall) family tent.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HopZob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tent - withheld CRAZY storms
6/19/2013

Customer review by ecribb

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by ecribb
by ecribb

So, we bought this tent because we are frequent festival goers and the tent we had been using had had enough. When we first set it up before traveling out to Arkansas for Wakarusa Festival, we were concerned because the back of the tent is a complete open window with just a rainfly covering it, and no way to close the window. We had heard there was going to be rain and were concerned, but decided to give it a try. Little did we know, it wasn't just rain, it was a lightning thunderstorm that completely encompassed the entire festival grounds with 70 MPH winds and lasted nearly all night for about 12 hours. We were told to evacuate the main venue and seek shelter in our cars. The storm was so bad that we couldn't even see out of the car to make sure our stuff wasn't being blown away. By morning time we decided to get some sleep in our tent and were worried that there would be water everywhere. There was little to NO water in our tent. Not only that, it didn't even move an inch off the ground, while other peoples tents and canopies had been completely demolished. I will say that if you are having reservations about getting this tent, take it from a frequent camper, that it is WORTH it. No other tent I have ever been in could have withheld what we went through that weekend. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ecribb
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent tent for a family of four.
7/31/2014

Customer review by COCampers

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by COCampers
by COCampers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very spacious but cozy. Could hang a headlamp from top loop for light. What sold me was the screened porch. The adults can sit and chill while the kids wind down and fall asleep inside. Great windows and position of the open areas. We love to walk in and out without crouching, so this dome tent really rocks. Very very easy to put up, and take down. Left the sprinklers on during the trial run setup in the backyard and everything stayed completely dry inside. Very easy to roll it all back up and put into the bag. We fit four full size sleeping bags, 2 full size air mattresses with plenty of room to spare. Little concerned on the footprint for the standard 10x10 tent pads, but we can always have the porch area hang off a bit if needed. Comparing to other tents, price per square inch you get the most for the dollar and space with this one. Coleman wins on this tent.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
COCampers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tent, well built. Love the porch!
10/11/2011

Customer review by Xenalo

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Xenalo
by Xenalo

I have tried out several tents and this is by far my favorite. Large open area inside and tall enough to stand up in. We had a queen size air mattress in the center with a lot of room left over for gear. I'm 5'10" and able to stand up straight to get dressed around the outside edge of the air mattress. This was very important to me after the last tents I had that claimed to have high ceilings. Another incredible feature is the screened off porch. I didn't think I would ever use it, but within minutes I was proven wrong. We set the tent up during a light sprinkle of rain mixed with snow and by the time we finished, the snow was really coming down. We set our camp chairs in the porch and found out quickly that we had a nice place out of the weather to kick off our mud-covered boots before we entered the main cabin area of the tent. With some of the worst weather conditions I've ever camped in, the tent was the cleanest I'd ever had. I give all the credit to the porch area. The tent is large enough to put a queen size air mattress and a twin size air mattress in with gear. I am very impressed with the overall quality and features of the tent. It was very easy to set up. Oh, and one last thing... NO LEAKS! We used this on the elk hunt in Utah this year in the Uinta Mountains. There was 4 inches of snow on the ground when we got there and in the morning another 2 inches on top of the tent. But wait, it's Utah... The snow turned to rain and by Sunday afternoon, all the snow had melted off. Two days of camping on the tent's first outing and we got rain, snow, sunshine and wind. The tent worked great regardless of the weather. Even with all the snow on top of it, it held true to form and didn't leak. This tent is definitely worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (45) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xenalo
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Easy setup and LOTS of space!!!
5/7/2012

Customer review by Jbird800

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by Jbird800
by Jbird800

I recently bought this tent for a camping trip with my wife, my sister, and her boyfriend. Oh and can't forget my new puppy (yellow Lab). The tent was easy to setup, less than 15mins, including the rain fly. I could not believe the room inside, it was big enough for 2 queen beds, and these were the tall box spring type. The tent stayed nice and clean due to the porch having a floor. I was surprised how big the porch was. We were able to fit a full size dog crate and coolers on the left side (facing tent looking from front). We still had plenty of room for some bags and shoes on the other side of the porch. I am 6'3" and was able to stand in the tent.

Was this review helpful? (47) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jbird800
Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent
1/16/2016

Customer review by VolForever

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by VolForever
by VolForever

This is the ONLY tent I could find with an attached screen room that has a floor. This is very important to us as it will keep the raccoons out! There is plenty of room for four single cots.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VolForever
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Steer Clear
8/2/2012

Customer review by Tiggiler

1.0 stars 8/2/2012 by Tiggiler
by Tiggiler

The living quarters of this tent are exceptional! I sealed the sent using a spray sealer (no seam sealing) and experienced a night or torrential rain with lightning/thunder and high winds. We did take on some water (small amount) but anyone outside in a tent that night would have. However the screened in porch is very poorly designed and the reason I can't grade this tent any higher. It is slanted back which exposes the whole area to the elements. If it rains at all you will wake up with puddles at your front door (size dependent on amt of rain) that you will have to maneuver through to get out. Also because that portion of the rain fly is somewhat flat, water pools above and begins to drip down into the porch adding to the amount of water. If you are really interested in this tent there is a model that doesn't include the porch that I would suggest looking at instead. Sure you wont have the screened in area (which isn't really usable anyway) but you won't have a floor there to collect the water and it will have a chance to dry out. I am in the process of requesting a return for this product and will not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tiggiler
Nashua, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great tent, very easy to set up.
5/16/2012

Customer review by smithac3

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by smithac3
by smithac3

We really love this tent. We do feel it would fit 5-6 comfortably with some space to put some of your things. We have 6. The smallest is 4, he doesn't take up much room, so we were fine. I am very happy with this tent though. It was extremely light weight, easy to set up and take down. Love the front porch feature. This really helps keep the inside cleaner and make taking on and off your shoes easier as well. I highly recommend this tent. It didn't rain while we used it the one night, but the rain guard covers alot of the tent. Also I love the color of it. I did a lot of research on tents and for the price this is the tent...look no further, buy it and try it out!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smithac3
Sterling, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
The screen porch is a problem.
6/5/2012

Customer review by cartridge

2.0 stars 6/5/2012 by cartridge
by cartridge

The main part of the tent (without the screen porch) is about 12 x 9. It was large enough for our queen cot to slide over to one side and still be able to stand in the middle. This left the other side open for our 2 dogs and other items. We also had a small space at the foot of the bed for our personal items. We set the tent up and it rained hard for 2 days. The tent held up very well in the rain. Some rain did leak through the sides into the main part of the tent, but I believe it could be fixed with a little water repellant spray. However, the screen porch was a problem. While it is a good idea in theory, the slant design of this screen porch opens this area to all the elements. There isn't a way to keep the rain out of the screen porch and it leaves large puddles that you have to traverse to get into the main part of the tent. The porch isn't large enough to be used for anything more than storing your (waterproof) personal items. And it is inconvenient to have two doors to go through to get to the main part of the tent. We returned this tent and purchased the exact same tent without the screen porch. We tested this one in the rain also. The new tent did not leak at all. It has a small awning above the door so you can stay dry when entering the tent. The door also works like a hinged door so you have an option on zipping it when you enter or exit. The design without the screen porch gives you more room inside. It measures about 12 x 12. The weekend we camped, the winds were 40mph the first day and the tent stood up very well. We are very impressed with the new tent.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cartridge
Gainesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good Tent
11/29/2015

Customer review by FirstTimeParents

4.0 stars 11/29/2015 by FirstTimeParents
by FirstTimeParents

Make no mistake, this is a BIG tent and while it easily sets up it doesn't hurt to have an extra buddy to help out. I recommend sturdier stakes as with most tents the one's that come with it are pretty weak. This tent has plenty of room and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FirstTimeParents
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for up to 4 people Screen porch GREAT
6/11/2014

Customer review by cmwatso

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by cmwatso
by cmwatso
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First, it's as easy to erect as a 4 person tent! Second, stand up room no crawling into a tent for me! Third , excellent ventilation . Con...... The provided 6" tent pegs are useless unless your on solid rock! I bought 12" pegs. Last thing you want is for your tent with you in it to turn into a bounce house in a storm. You will not be disappointed if your looking for a super comfortable size tent for up to 4 adults. Forget 8 people in this tent.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmwatso
Lakeland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
All round good tent.
10/16/2011

Customer review by Troup238

5.0 stars 10/16/2011 by Troup238
by Troup238

Used for the first time. All round this is a good tent. Sets up quickly and is straight foreward. Screened portion is nice for storage of things you might not want to get wet from dew, like a folding chairs and such. I seriously doubt it would keed dry during the rain. Did not rain so I'm not sure of leaks. Do note that the back wall is 80% sreened. Sometimes a good breeze did find it's way into the tent. Used heater, but still recommend heavy bags for cold weather. Many compliments on tent and I have no plans to return it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Troup238
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Only one thing I found wrong
2/28/2013

Customer review by ArcAngel2013

4.0 stars 2/28/2013 by ArcAngel2013
by ArcAngel2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The porch let rain in is why I gave it only 4 stars other then that, found no other leaks and had no complaints other then also the door was zipperd leading into the tent would have been better if it had been the hinged type

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArcAngel2013
Noth Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy Campers!!!
8/28/2011

Customer review by Leobel52

5.0 stars 8/28/2011 by Leobel52
by Leobel52

This tent rocks... roomy! I've gotten so many compliments on this tent! Used it for 2 nights and love the porch screen. I used to have an old coleman tent and used it for more than 10 yrs. and I know Coleman products last long and very durable. We needed more space for family of four and this tent is just perfect. Highly recommend Coleman products for camping gears and nothing else!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leobel52
Brampton, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent Tent for Longer Camping Trips
10/27/2012

Customer review by Timesolver

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by Timesolver
by Timesolver

We bought this tent for a 10 day camping trip to the Smokey Mountains and were extremely pleased with it's performance. We had fully sealed the seams and completed two test run set ups so we were prepared for anything and weren't disappointed. We didn't have to set up in the rain but we did have two nights of wind and rain but stayed completely dry...not a drop penetrated the tent. There was a bit of mist that came into the screened porch area but considering the amount of rain received, it was minimal. We were able to wisk out the couple of small puddles and the floor area dried in no time. This screened area is great for storage of gear and anything you don't want left out overnight at your site. I love this tent!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Timesolver
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good dry weather tent
8/8/2012

Customer review by champagneonbeerbudget

3.0 stars 8/8/2012 by champagneonbeerbudget
by champagneonbeerbudget

We road tested this tent during a long weekend of camping in the South East. It was spacious enough for our family of five. However, the 8 people it is suppossed to sleep would have been uncomfortably close. Set up was easy and quick. The venting seemed adequate even for the record heat temperatures we were experiencing. I read a review that encouraged seam sealing, so we did. It held up well to water from the ground and the roof over the sleeping portion. Not sure if that was due to the seam sealer or it's own construction. The one ABYSMAL failure is the fly covering over the screened porch. All the points gained for water repelling on the sleeping portion were completely lost for the lake that was once our screened porch. The fly is completely inadequate. In addition, the tent is constructed to jet out at an angle from the roof. So every possible drop of rain gets right in. There is absolutely no cover for it. Coleman incldued a vent of sorts along the floor's edge. Good idea, except it was wholely inadequate for the task. We were never able to fully get the water out so it became a muddy mess. Luckily it rained on our last night. I'd have to say that the one major drawback is the fly. Next time we'll pack a tarp to rig over the screened porch. For the price and Coleman's reputation I would have expected a more appropriate fly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
champagneonbeerbudget
gainesville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
experienced camper loves this tent
9/10/2015

Customer review by Tookiebird

5.0 stars 9/10/2015 by Tookiebird
by Tookiebird

This tent kept me dry in absolute torrential rain. It has a great rainfly. It's designed so that even when the rain fly is on, there is still a lot of ventilation. (Older tents make it so hot and humid when the rain fly is on!) The floor is very sturdy and should last for many years. It has plenty of mesh ventilation panels and windows. The poles are sturdy and well constructed. It only takes me about 2 minutes to set it up. I like the screened "porch" on the front because it gives you somewhere to take off your dirty shoes before entering the main tent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tookiebird
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All good
8/22/2012

Customer review by Thor1997

4.0 stars 8/22/2012 by Thor1997
by Thor1997

Tent is well constructed, easy to put up and at a good price. Negatives, screen area is open so if a good rain comes down the floor in that section can get wet but only in that section. Could use a double door as well, it has one that zips open and a screen portion on the other side. Bit difficult to get a queen size mattress in if you already had inflated it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thor1997
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews