Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
1-20 of 38 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Nice spacious tent
6/23/2016

Customer review by 100plus

4.0 stars 6/23/2016 by 100plus
by 100plus

I really like the tent. It is very spacious. I am 5' 2" female and it now takes me 15 mins. To set up . I sprayed the tent with camp dry and sealed the seams. 2-4 people max would be comfortable in this tent. Will update after next trip..the site won't let me upload any other images.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
100plus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Nice Intermediate Tent
1/3/2015

Customer review by IcanseeNov

5.0 stars 1/3/2015 by IcanseeNov
by IcanseeNov

We've gone back to tent camping so we can camp off the motorbike and our car with the dogs. Other reviews complained that the screen porch area gets wet in the rain. We always have extra tarps for bad weather. The porch area is great for storing non essentials like chairs and boots. We love the extra room and shade/shelter. It also deterred the insects. This tent has the windows up higher which keeps the tent warmer. The tub floor is extra durable as stated. Zippers worked well. Over all it is well designed and manufactured. Our only disappointment was we had thought that the back wall was enclosed. It is difficult to determine from the photos. We hoped to keep the fly off in hot weather but the back wall is 90% mesh so you have to put the fly on for privacy. Not a big deal just not as we had hoped.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IcanseeNov
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Nice tent and a solid value.
8/28/2014

Customer review by HopZob

4.0 stars 8/28/2014 by HopZob
by HopZob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was pretty easy to set up which was good because there wasn't a lot of fine detail in the instructions. When you first lay it out it seems huge but once you're inside it seems reasonable. I can stand up inside easily and I'm 6 foot which was a selling point. The screened porch is nice for storing things you want to keep drier and it adds another barrier for bugs to get through. The floor is a heavy duty waterproof tarp material so I don't know that a ground cloth is needed but I will probably pick up a sheet of Tyvek in any case. The interior is basic with two small pockets and a ring in the ceiling for a lantern. The side and front screens have covers that zip shut and the door can be either a screen or fabric. The back window and ceiling are just screen but covered by the fly. I can fit my family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids) inside comfortably on air mattresses but it would seem a stretch to fit 8 adults inside even without mattresses.Overall this is a good 2 season (late spring to early fall) family tent.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HopZob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Family tent
7/21/2016

Customer review by Momof1

5.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Momof1
by Momof1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We just used our tent for the 1st time. It was perfect for myself, my husband and almost 5 yr old daughter. We had room for our 2 queen sized air mattresses and 3 weekender bags. We hung the lantern and had pockets for our flashlights & phones next to our beds. My daughter & friends played in the screened in front porch so we got barely any dirt/bugs inside the tent. My husband put it up pretty much by himself with assistance from a friend and it only took maybe 10 min! Can't wait to use it again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momof1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful!
8/9/2011

Customer review by clawsvet

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by clawsvet
by clawsvet

We have always been backpackers with small lightweight tents, so I was in new territory with a "family" tent. It was surprisingly light overall, packs small. Lots of room inside for Queen air bed and two sleeping bags with pads, plus all our stuff. It did not rain so unsure of leaking, but we did seal the seams of the fly based on previous experience with tents and camping. Easy to set up. Even though it was hot, we were comfortable inside. Only problem was one pole had a frayed end, but my friends assure me based on their experience with Coleman that they will replace it without question. One unexpected surprise was that the screen room had a floor in it... most other models we looked at did not. I can see how there are pros and cons to this feature, but it sure made the inside of the tent stay cleaner, and gave us extra space to store things up off the ground.

Was this review helpful? (68) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clawsvet
Central NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Coleman Evanston 8 screened
7/25/2016

Customer review by sparky

3.0 stars 7/25/2016 by sparky
by sparky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I set the tent up in my back yard first to see how it goes. Any Coleman trained employee can set this tent up in 15 min., but not you or I! I am somewhat experienced in tent set ups, and it took over 30 min. for me! As far as, the tent itself? It is very roomy and the screened in front porch is a definite bonus. Please note, you may have some trouble getting the struck tent back into its bag!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sparky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tent - withheld CRAZY storms
6/19/2013

Customer review by ecribb

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by ecribb
by ecribb

So, we bought this tent because we are frequent festival goers and the tent we had been using had had enough. When we first set it up before traveling out to Arkansas for Wakarusa Festival, we were concerned because the back of the tent is a complete open window with just a rainfly covering it, and no way to close the window. We had heard there was going to be rain and were concerned, but decided to give it a try. Little did we know, it wasn't just rain, it was a lightning thunderstorm that completely encompassed the entire festival grounds with 70 MPH winds and lasted nearly all night for about 12 hours. We were told to evacuate the main venue and seek shelter in our cars. The storm was so bad that we couldn't even see out of the car to make sure our stuff wasn't being blown away. By morning time we decided to get some sleep in our tent and were worried that there would be water everywhere. There was little to NO water in our tent. Not only that, it didn't even move an inch off the ground, while other peoples tents and canopies had been completely demolished. I will say that if you are having reservations about getting this tent, take it from a frequent camper, that it is WORTH it. No other tent I have ever been in could have withheld what we went through that weekend. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (45) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ecribb
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great tent!!
7/23/2016

Customer review by James

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by James
by James
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tent is very spacious, very well made, stands up to high winds. Couldn't be happier with it. A great coleman product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
James
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent tent for a family of four.
7/31/2014

Customer review by COCampers

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by COCampers
by COCampers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very spacious but cozy. Could hang a headlamp from top loop for light. What sold me was the screened porch. The adults can sit and chill while the kids wind down and fall asleep inside. Great windows and position of the open areas. We love to walk in and out without crouching, so this dome tent really rocks. Very very easy to put up, and take down. Left the sprinklers on during the trial run setup in the backyard and everything stayed completely dry inside. Very easy to roll it all back up and put into the bag. We fit four full size sleeping bags, 2 full size air mattresses with plenty of room to spare. Little concerned on the footprint for the standard 10x10 tent pads, but we can always have the porch area hang off a bit if needed. Comparing to other tents, price per square inch you get the most for the dollar and space with this one. Coleman wins on this tent.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
COCampers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tent, well built. Love the porch!
10/11/2011

Customer review by Xenalo

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Xenalo
by Xenalo

I have tried out several tents and this is by far my favorite. Large open area inside and tall enough to stand up in. We had a queen size air mattress in the center with a lot of room left over for gear. I'm 5'10" and able to stand up straight to get dressed around the outside edge of the air mattress. This was very important to me after the last tents I had that claimed to have high ceilings. Another incredible feature is the screened off porch. I didn't think I would ever use it, but within minutes I was proven wrong. We set the tent up during a light sprinkle of rain mixed with snow and by the time we finished, the snow was really coming down. We set our camp chairs in the porch and found out quickly that we had a nice place out of the weather to kick off our mud-covered boots before we entered the main cabin area of the tent. With some of the worst weather conditions I've ever camped in, the tent was the cleanest I'd ever had. I give all the credit to the porch area. The tent is large enough to put a queen size air mattress and a twin size air mattress in with gear. I am very impressed with the overall quality and features of the tent. It was very easy to set up. Oh, and one last thing... NO LEAKS! We used this on the elk hunt in Utah this year in the Uinta Mountains. There was 4 inches of snow on the ground when we got there and in the morning another 2 inches on top of the tent. But wait, it's Utah... The snow turned to rain and by Sunday afternoon, all the snow had melted off. Two days of camping on the tent's first outing and we got rain, snow, sunshine and wind. The tent worked great regardless of the weather. Even with all the snow on top of it, it held true to form and didn't leak. This tent is definitely worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (51) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xenalo
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Easy setup and LOTS of space!!!
5/7/2012

Customer review by Jbird800

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by Jbird800
by Jbird800

I recently bought this tent for a camping trip with my wife, my sister, and her boyfriend. Oh and can't forget my new puppy (yellow Lab). The tent was easy to setup, less than 15mins, including the rain fly. I could not believe the room inside, it was big enough for 2 queen beds, and these were the tall box spring type. The tent stayed nice and clean due to the porch having a floor. I was surprised how big the porch was. We were able to fit a full size dog crate and coolers on the left side (facing tent looking from front). We still had plenty of room for some bags and shoes on the other side of the porch. I am 6'3" and was able to stand in the tent.

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jbird800
Great tent! Needs some tweaking
7/1/2016

Customer review by Highcountrycamper

4.0 stars 7/1/2016 by Highcountrycamper
by Highcountrycamper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great tent.. Easy to set up kinda.. The poles slide through the sleeve but it's not from corner to corner, you need to hook tent to the poles in the corners and when setting up it helps relieve the stress on the poles if someone holds center of tent up while the other person works the poles into place. If the tent had sleeves that go from corner to corner I'd rate it 5 stars. Very well built for wind if guide ropes are placed correctly. Looks great for weather as well but I didn't have any rain while using it. If you want the porch to be dry you would want an extra tarp to cover the porch.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Highcountrycamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ok so far...but with a few small design flaws.
7/13/2016

Customer review by Lezric

4.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Lezric
by Lezric

We bought this tent two months ago, but only recently got to use it down in the Cascade Lakes area of Oregon two weeks ago. Firstly - it's big, spacious and quite light inside, even with the rainfly on. Assembly - fairly straighforward. Much easier with two, but if you were the sole, er, erector, it would still be possible to put it up in reasonable time. The porch area - this was the main reason for this purchase. More tents in the US should have a decent porch area with a bug screen. It makes perfect sense, so why are they so thin-on-the-ground? Tent manufacturers take note! I mentioned some design flaws, which may or may not be a problem for others: The porch area - yes, it's great, and very spacious in its own right, enabling two fully-grown adults to sit in comfort, and be (seemingly) protected from the mozzies (sorry, mosquitos) but: The zipping method for said porch means there is always a small gap at the bottom, through which insects can find their way inside. Some rethinking of the three-way zipper would probably reduce or fix this issue. In fact, it really needs only one zip with an oval opening. The interior door - it's a little small, and it would be better if it opened on both sides rather than one. The rear wall - this huge area of fabric is completely see-through (bug screen material), which means that, unless you pitch the rear in front of a large boulder or a screen of trees, you need the rainfly on for the sake of "modesty". Rainfly - can't speak of it's water repellency yet, but I think it would be better if the fly covered more of the porch area in the event of windblown rain. In fact, the slope of the porch means that rain will get in regardless. Erecting a canopy over it would solve this, but why should we need to do this when the tent should be designed in a way which mitigates against water ingress in the first place? Overall a good purchase, and for the money, probably one of the best available, but a few niggles as described, prevent me from giving it five stars. Also, have fun repacking it again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lezric
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pros and Cons
7/3/2016

Customer review by Heather2

2.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Heather2
by Heather2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This tent is made sturdy. The screened in porch is useless because the rainy away doesn't cover it enough. Also for an 8 person tent it's small. We only fit 2 queen air mattress and they were touching with only a tiny bit of room left by the door. It should be labeled a 6 person tent. It held up very well thru a wind storm.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heather2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for up to 4 people Screen porch GREAT
6/11/2014

Customer review by cmwatso

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by cmwatso
by cmwatso
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First, it's as easy to erect as a 4 person tent! Second, stand up room no crawling into a tent for me! Third , excellent ventilation . Con...... The provided 6" tent pegs are useless unless your on solid rock! I bought 12" pegs. Last thing you want is for your tent with you in it to turn into a bounce house in a storm. You will not be disappointed if your looking for a super comfortable size tent for up to 4 adults. Forget 8 people in this tent.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmwatso
Lakeland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tent, very easy to set up.
5/16/2012

Customer review by smithac3

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by smithac3
by smithac3

We really love this tent. We do feel it would fit 5-6 comfortably with some space to put some of your things. We have 6. The smallest is 4, he doesn't take up much room, so we were fine. I am very happy with this tent though. It was extremely light weight, easy to set up and take down. Love the front porch feature. This really helps keep the inside cleaner and make taking on and off your shoes easier as well. I highly recommend this tent. It didn't rain while we used it the one night, but the rain guard covers alot of the tent. Also I love the color of it. I did a lot of research on tents and for the price this is the tent...look no further, buy it and try it out!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smithac3
Sterling, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Steer Clear
8/2/2012

Customer review by Tiggiler

1.0 stars 8/2/2012 by Tiggiler
by Tiggiler

The living quarters of this tent are exceptional! I sealed the sent using a spray sealer (no seam sealing) and experienced a night or torrential rain with lightning/thunder and high winds. We did take on some water (small amount) but anyone outside in a tent that night would have. However the screened in porch is very poorly designed and the reason I can't grade this tent any higher. It is slanted back which exposes the whole area to the elements. If it rains at all you will wake up with puddles at your front door (size dependent on amt of rain) that you will have to maneuver through to get out. Also because that portion of the rain fly is somewhat flat, water pools above and begins to drip down into the porch adding to the amount of water. If you are really interested in this tent there is a model that doesn't include the porch that I would suggest looking at instead. Sure you wont have the screened in area (which isn't really usable anyway) but you won't have a floor there to collect the water and it will have a chance to dry out. I am in the process of requesting a return for this product and will not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tiggiler
Nashua, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
The screen porch is a problem.
6/5/2012

Customer review by cartridge

2.0 stars 6/5/2012 by cartridge
by cartridge

The main part of the tent (without the screen porch) is about 12 x 9. It was large enough for our queen cot to slide over to one side and still be able to stand in the middle. This left the other side open for our 2 dogs and other items. We also had a small space at the foot of the bed for our personal items. We set the tent up and it rained hard for 2 days. The tent held up very well in the rain. Some rain did leak through the sides into the main part of the tent, but I believe it could be fixed with a little water repellant spray. However, the screen porch was a problem. While it is a good idea in theory, the slant design of this screen porch opens this area to all the elements. There isn't a way to keep the rain out of the screen porch and it leaves large puddles that you have to traverse to get into the main part of the tent. The porch isn't large enough to be used for anything more than storing your (waterproof) personal items. And it is inconvenient to have two doors to go through to get to the main part of the tent. We returned this tent and purchased the exact same tent without the screen porch. We tested this one in the rain also. The new tent did not leak at all. It has a small awning above the door so you can stay dry when entering the tent. The door also works like a hinged door so you have an option on zipping it when you enter or exit. The design without the screen porch gives you more room inside. It measures about 12 x 12. The weekend we camped, the winds were 40mph the first day and the tent stood up very well. We are very impressed with the new tent.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cartridge
Gainesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
All round good tent.
10/16/2011

Customer review by Troup238

5.0 stars 10/16/2011 by Troup238
by Troup238

Used for the first time. All round this is a good tent. Sets up quickly and is straight foreward. Screened portion is nice for storage of things you might not want to get wet from dew, like a folding chairs and such. I seriously doubt it would keed dry during the rain. Did not rain so I'm not sure of leaks. Do note that the back wall is 80% sreened. Sometimes a good breeze did find it's way into the tent. Used heater, but still recommend heavy bags for cold weather. Many compliments on tent and I have no plans to return it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Troup238
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Happy Campers!!!
8/28/2011

Customer review by Leobel52

5.0 stars 8/28/2011 by Leobel52
by Leobel52

This tent rocks... roomy! I've gotten so many compliments on this tent! Used it for 2 nights and love the porch screen. I used to have an old coleman tent and used it for more than 10 yrs. and I know Coleman products last long and very durable. We needed more space for family of four and this tent is just perfect. Highly recommend Coleman products for camping gears and nothing else!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leobel52
Brampton, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews