Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 60 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

60 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

60 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 52 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Lives up to the reviews from several vendor sites
5/17/2012

Customer review by JimMijm

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by JimMijm
by JimMijm

I checked out reviews on multiple vendor sites before buying @W-mart (best price same unit) and it had the most favorable and least unfavorable user reviews of any portable DVD/CD I considered, including more expensive ones. I've used it for a 2 or 3 months now and I have not had any problems with it doing whatever I've asked it to do using a couple of different software apps. I believe it is the best one I could have purchased for the money or, including some more expensive units based on all their negative reviews. I have been using it with the Gateway Nightsky Netbook. Burning will sap the battery quickly but just playing a DVD seems it only does a little. Burning requires both cables to be plugged in but the one cable plays it just fine.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimMijm
Da South
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
small but mighty
1/23/2012

Customer review by wtb875

5.0 stars 1/23/2012 by wtb875
by wtb875

This is a small unit, but it works great! It was well worth the small amount of money spent!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wtb875
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice
2/19/2013

Customer review by yarzit

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by yarzit
by yarzit

super easy'' i didn't even install the software just plug and play'' i plugged it in and started burning movies easy as that this is a great little unit burns and plays DVD'S'' CD"S it's small and works' no problems at all. i burn allot of movies so when i spilled a little water on my laptop the only thing affected was my DVD player burner' i had to get something fast so this sweet little unit was it so if your looking for a burner that's easy to use this is it and you cant beat the price

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yarzit
chiloquin' oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great with Linux and Nero 4 Linux
9/5/2011

Customer review by tlcstat

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by tlcstat
by tlcstat

Greetings, I bought this for my wife's Toshiba Netbook with Ubuntu Natty installed. Works just great! The extra usb power cable isn't needed. Full speed ahead writer to the limit of the media. If you use the Linux OS you can throw away the included M$ disk and do what you already know how to do. And on top of all that - free Site to Store delivery! Thank you Walmart! Works with Linux No installation needed with Linux Works with Linux software Second power cable not needed Low Price Site to Store delivery

Was this review helpful? (21) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tlcstat
Galax VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/16/2012

Customer review by whw76

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by whw76
by whw76

works great with netbook

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whw76
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome
9/7/2013

Customer review by dmc871

5.0 stars 9/7/2013 by dmc871
by dmc871

I got this to pair with a new ultra thin laptop after reading good reviews and finding none cheaper. I could not be more pleased. Installed fairly easily. It is super compact-less than the size of two stacked cd cases, and the USB cable clips into the edge of the unit when not in use. It works flawlessly. This is a really well-designed burner for real a bargain price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmc871
Niskayuna, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good basic unit for burning CDs & DVDs
12/10/2013

Customer review by Gizmo428

4.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Gizmo428
by Gizmo428

I was able to hook up the unit use it almost immediately. USB connectors are included and are stored on the unit. You may need to have two USB ports available that are close together, physically. I already had a version of the included software (Cyberlink) installed for my old internal drive, which is working well with this drive. Seems to work as well as my old internal drive used to at a reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gizmo428
Grand Haven, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Portable Dvd Burner
12/31/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/31/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Product doesn't work like I thought it would from advertisement. Information says works great from 1 USB port. It does if you want to only play a dvd! If you want to burn a dvd it takes a lot more power than 1 USB port!

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tulsa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great portable DVD burner.
9/28/2013

Customer review by Android001

4.0 stars 9/28/2013 by Android001
by Android001

This is a great small portable DVD/CD reader/writer. It writes every type of CD and DVD possible. Having some of the fastest read/write speeds, as compared to other products, makes this a far better choice. The only thing that could be improved is the USB cable. It is very short, which makes placing the device on a flat surface while used with a lap top difficult.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Android001
Burrillville, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/14/2012

Customer review by RicksPlace

5.0 stars 3/14/2012 by RicksPlace
by RicksPlace

It's great. Just a plug and run operation. It is a perfect take any were device.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RicksPlace
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great burner!
11/3/2013

Customer review by LaLainLasVegas

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by LaLainLasVegas
by LaLainLasVegas

Works great with my netbook! Easy installation. Plug in and go. Burns dvd's fast! I only needed to use one of the cables. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaLainLasVegas
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
for the price it has been great
3/14/2012

Customer review by Blackleatherjacket

4.0 stars 3/14/2012 by Blackleatherjacket
by Blackleatherjacket

great price, I like how the USB cord wraps around for easy transportation with for my netbook

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blackleatherjacket
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product
5/15/2013

Customer review by jewce

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by jewce
by jewce

I have used this product multiple times and it works flawlessy.One great feature is that its powered by the computer,so no extra cords to deal with.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jewce
Boston,Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great dvd burner
11/16/2013

Customer review by billythekidfl

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by billythekidfl
by billythekidfl

this dvd burner is real good with burning dvds with windows 7 64 bit laptop did not need both usb power cords pluged in

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billythekidfl
winter haven,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product.
1/5/2013

Customer review by loball

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by loball
by loball

Only had this for a short time but love it. Only need one of the usb cables. Have used it to play dvds, burn dvds and cds, works great. Really like the usb cable storage and seems to be well made.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loball
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
MET EXPECTATIONS
12/14/2013

Customer review by miramar43

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by miramar43
by miramar43

The unit is slim and cables fit neatly into the side of the casing. The unit is quiet and performs as expected. I found I did not need to use the power cable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miramar43
Walton County FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty good but short cord
6/3/2013

Customer review by HockeyGuyJason

4.0 stars 6/3/2013 by HockeyGuyJason
by HockeyGuyJason

I recently acquired a second hand Gateway LT20 Netbook and needed a DVD Burner for it. This item operates using one port. However the cord is extremely short. While most computers could use this only on one port some computers in extreme cases will require 2 ports to draw the power. Lengthwise Id say the cord is only 5 to 6 inches long at best. So unless you keep everything close by don't count on using this with a USB Extension cord - I tried this and there is not enough power. Have not tried two USB extension cords But Don't want to find out and short the ports out on my laptop. Okay for pepople who are using a computer without a drive and need a quick fix to install programs on devices without a DVD Drive, otherwise........ Find something else with a longer cord and perhaps an AC Adapter.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HockeyGuyJason
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Doesn't work out of the box
1/12/2014

Customer review by nighthawke07

1.0 stars 1/12/2014 by nighthawke07
by nighthawke07

I bought it to burn videos onto dvdr. You cannot burn dvd's until you go online and purchase The Program for more $ To be able to operate it. To me What a scam should come with it if it says it's a portable DVD Burner. So I Returned it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nighthawke07
usa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dvd burner
8/7/2013

Customer review by osi1966

5.0 stars 8/7/2013 by osi1966
by osi1966

up and burning easy in 5 minutes,works great with great price. highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
osi1966
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/16/2013

Customer review by Taz222

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by Taz222
by Taz222

Great price and met all expectations except for the connection line being too short!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Taz222
Hudson, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews