Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 109 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

109 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

109 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
60
4 stars
18
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 stars
21
1-20 of 98 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews
DON'T WAIST YOUR MONEY
10/17/2012

Customer review by WESS0582

1.0 stars 10/17/2012 by WESS0582
by WESS0582

WE HAD IT UP FOR 2 HOURS BEFORE FRAME BEND AND IT WAS ONLY A 5MPH

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WESS0582
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Tailgating & backyard tested, excellent product.
3/3/2013

Customer review by Mrbert62

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by Mrbert62
by Mrbert62

Coleman 12x12 instant up shelter. I live in Buffalo New York and have had this unit a few months nows. My neighbors and I tailgate and do alot of BBQ on a Weber Smoker. The coleman shelter has seen winds, rain and snow and has worked well, but you have to take measures to keep it safe and intact. Here are some must have items to get the most benefit from this product. Here are some extra items I invested in before using: * Coleman (8) Ft Tent Extension pole ( Must have to hold up the center) Cost $8.00 at Walmart * Coleman tent stakes (4) the ones that come with are useless ($4.99 at Walmart) * Coleman sun/wind side panels (2) $24.00 at Walmart * (4) 5 gallon water buckets ($1.99) at Home Depot * (4) steel "S" hooks $3.00 at Home Depot I am in the middle of a 14 hr BBQ session, its 18 degrees out and we had about 3" of snow, my setup worked perfectly. I also setup the shelter myself. Everyone cannot set this shelter up by themselves. I am 6 ft tall and able bodied. I setup the frame and befor I do anything else, I attach the buckets to the frame legs using the s hooks. I fill the buckets with water and this is the stabilizer for any high winds or snow. Use can use the sand bags that attach to the legs as well. Once filled with water, the canapy is not going anywhere. Next install the top, I also used one side panel to block a strong wind. Raide the canopy and then install the tent pole in the middle of the roof. I stood mine on a 5 gallon bucket. Then installed the side stakes and guy ropes. This took me about 20 minutes by myself. The 3" of snow that aculated overnight was easily brushed off by using an old broom handle and tapping from underneath. It worked great all night for the 14 Hr smoke. Whe I take it to the stadium for Bills games, I use sand bags attached to the legs. Great product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mrbert62
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Wouldn't hold to up rain!
12/7/2012

Customer review by AmerGhost

1.0 stars 12/7/2012 by AmerGhost
by AmerGhost

I'm a faithful Coleman customer since they make quality products, but this thing isn't one of them. First, it's really not easy to setup, it's work for 2 people and really needs 4 to do it easily. The worst part is that the canopy doesn't pull tightly enough to provide tention to keep rain from building up. I set this up over my truck so I could do some work on it. There was heavy rain expected so I figured I was covered (pun intended). I went inside to gather tools and get ready and came out about an hour later to find that gallons of water had gathered on top of the tapr and one whole side had collapsed. The frame broke apart like twigs, gauging my paint on the way down.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmerGhost
Pleasanton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Sturdy construction & easy set up
7/12/2011

Customer review by Glickshaw

4.0 stars 7/12/2011 by Glickshaw
by Glickshaw

I am very pleased with my Coleman instant canopy. The construction is excellent, and it is very easy to set up. I set it up by myself without help. It handles rain well without leakage, and handles mild wind. It was used for a graduation party holding two 5 foot tables with ample room to spare. I used 3 sun screens and kept one side open which worked well for accessibility. While camping in NC when a bad storm came through, my frame bent on one side making the whole canopy unstable. I was able to fix it temporarily, but no replacement parts for the actual frame is available through Coleman. This causes, much waste. I will keep my broken frame for replacement parts. I plan on buying a new canopy because it did perform well. Most canopies can't survive a major storm without damage. In comparison to other canopies, I found this one to be the best buy, due to fair price, plenty of height, strong metal legs, push button adjustable, stores well in a wheeled bag, and shades the sun well. The two vents on the top help to vent out heat.

Was this review helpful? (65) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glickshaw
Freedom, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent Canopy
7/18/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I saw this canopy in my local Walmart a month before it showed up online. Frustrating, because I wanted to read reviews of this before I bought it for an upcoming camping trip. Bought it anyway and I am so glad I did! We had a rain storm come through on the second night and it kept everything dry. I can't comment on how well it holds up in the wind because this was a mild storm, but heavy rain, and this held up great! This thing is HUGE. We had 2 woooden picnic tables sitting end-to-end and it covered the whole eating area and then some. The frame is fairly sturdy, in my opinion. A lot sturdier than a First Up canopy I used to own, but not as beefy as a commercial EZ-up that my friend owns....somewhere in the middle. The no-pinch slides are great. No more breaking your thumb to push in sticky buttons! I picked it up in the store for $129 and in that price range, NOTHING compares to it. If this is for recreational use, not using it EVERY weekend, then I strongly recommend. It also doesn't hurt that I am a fan of Coleman products. Way to go Coleman! A total home run in my book. Easy to set up. Easy to break down. What more could you ask for?

Was this review helpful? (98) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Product! Easy To Put Up!
10/17/2012

Customer review by RastaMex

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by RastaMex
by RastaMex

I live in Palmdale, California. The weather can be extreme: Hot, Very Hot, and Windy. I have three small boys (younger than 13 of age), and between all of us, we were able to put the shade in less than 10 minutes; but I’ve also done it with just my brother (2 people). My family and guests have enjoyed being under the shade while entertaining in my backyard. Since it can be windy at times, I did anchor down some of the sides, using dumbbells and small bungee cords, to prevent the canopy from moving around. The canopy is very easy to put up, very sturdy and well made. In my opinion, it’s so much better than dealing with an “E-Z Up” tent. I had contemplated getting the 10’ X 10’, but when once I saw how much more the 12’ X 12’ covers, I felt paying the extra money would be a great investment to provide shade for more family and friends without feeling like you’re being squeezed into a smaller shade. I strongly recommend the Coleman Instant Canopy 12’ X 12’. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RastaMex
Palmdale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Only 1 complaint
12/4/2011

Customer review by thehellwithanickname

4.0 stars 12/4/2011 by thehellwithanickname
by thehellwithanickname

I basically like everything about this canopy. The frame construction seems very solid and the ease of raising and lowering was great. The true 12X12 shade area had many of my fellow campers with canopy envy as it completely covered the picnic table and other accessories that I take camping. My only compaint is that during a 2 1/2 hour moderately heavy rain event the canopy leaked a bit, probably at the seams. We could still sit under it and have our cocktails, but they may have been watered down a bit by the constant dripping. I wrote Coleman a couple days ago but have not yet heard back yet. If they can find a way to completely waterproof it I would give it all top grades. Even with the dripping a couple of friends who shared drinks under it are going to get one.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thehellwithanickname
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Canopy
7/7/2011

Customer review by wefesting

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by wefesting
by wefesting

Bought this Canopy for an added addition to our tent. We bought all 4 of the side walls,draped the one facing the tent over the tent as an extra rain barrier. When it rained it kept everything dry, It was like we had an extra large room added to our tent and the set up took 10 min,

Was this review helpful? (87) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wefesting
up north
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Don't buy!!! Check out the reviews at coleman.com
6/11/2012

Customer review by wildmanzack

1.0 stars 6/11/2012 by wildmanzack
by wildmanzack

The product says that it can handle mild winds, that's not true at all. I set it up on the beach and the "mild wind" bent some of the structure causing the canopy to collapse. I'm gonna contact both coleman and walmart to see what they are gonna do. I am not sure if this review will be censored, but all the other people say that this product is great. If you want to know checkout the reviews on colemans website. The reviews go on-and-on about how the structure was bent in the wind, those reviews gave it an overall score of 1.5??? and the only part you can buy is the top

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wildmanzack
Ponca City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
RAIN :(
7/11/2012

Customer review by tzenz

1.0 stars 7/11/2012 by tzenz
by tzenz

i purchased this product in June 2012 i used it once camping and did great in the biggest pouring down thunderstorm ever....i used it again for the 4th of july picnic we had a 20 min rain and the thing fell to the floor within 5 min of the rain comoing down.....i had no time to save it and when i called coleman they said its an act of god its not covered under any warranty....ashley from coleman said "canopy is not made for rain regardless how much or how little" i sad i r u seriousand her exact response was "yes dry conditions only with no exceptions" so dont ever get caught in the rain with this cause it will fall and your done...oh she did offer me a 25% discount on a new one....so buyer beware.....if it rains your own your own...other than that its easy to put up and a very good size ....i did love it till coleman dont stand behind there products....

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tzenz
allentown, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Expected more; Got less
5/30/2012

Customer review by tsshlj

1.0 stars 5/30/2012 by tsshlj
by tsshlj

I purchased this canopy 5/8/12 and did not use it until 5/26/12 for a birthday party. I attempted to open it up and one of the metal rods broke immediately.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tsshlj
Montgomery,AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Size is Awesome...Durability is questionable
3/11/2013

Customer review by Ictinus

3.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Ictinus
by Ictinus

The size of this canopy is incredible, everyone who has seen it set up comments on how large it is. It's 144 square feet of shade area versus typical 100 square feet for a 10x10. My problem with this canopy was with the durability, ours was damaged by a wind gust on about the third occasion that we used it from an afternoon thunderstorm. The wind bent one of the trusses rendering it unuseable. The problem I have is not that it broke, I can understand that they can only make them so durable before it costs too much to be affordable, what frustrated me is that you cannot order replacement parts from Coleman for this canopy. It's as if they want you to treat these as disposable canopies and even if a small part breaks, you should just throw the whole thing away and buy a new one. Consider one of the other brands such as King Canopy that offers replacement parts allowing you to fix it when (not if) the canopy gets damaged.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ictinus
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Solid choice
4/5/2012

Customer review by Wakawah00

4.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Wakawah00
by Wakawah00

I have purchased several Coleman products recently. All of them are well engineered for ease of use by their target market, outdoor enthusiasts. The 12x12 canopy is easy to set up and provides a considerably larger amount of shade than a 10x10. It is well made and appears like it will last a while. On the downside, it is not suitable for strong winds and will collapse in those conditions. Unfortunately, if that happens, you cannot get replacement parts to repair the frame. That said, I consider this a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wakawah00
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Will break in the wind
5/6/2012

Customer review by hubal

1.0 stars 5/6/2012 by hubal
by hubal

Took this canopy to the beach. The setup was ok and the size was right. However, after a few gusts of find (not too strong) the (aluminum) sides bend, folded and eventually broke making the canopy unusable.

Was this review helpful? (64) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hubal
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? No
Junk
8/26/2012

Customer review by CNTRLFLA

1.0 stars 8/26/2012 by CNTRLFLA
by CNTRLFLA

Very poor quality. Accordion frame crumples under the slightest breeze and rain, even when tied down correctly (FIRST USE). This is only good for shade (not rain) when there is no breeze. Coleman apparently didn't have an engineer design this product... Saw a review on the Coleman site that this product should have a warning "indoor use only"... Read the reviews on the Coleman site itself prior to buying this product (they all mimic this review)!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CNTRLFLA
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Take it down in the wind!
5/23/2012

Customer review by 1Grumpa1

4.0 stars 5/23/2012 by 1Grumpa1
by 1Grumpa1

This is a big, beautiful shade canopy when it is set up. It takes a long time to set up, be sure you have at least one helper. Once it is up, it is huge, very high, and provides a lot of shade. It will not tolerate wind though! Mine is like two weeks old, I had it set up in my back yard, anchored down. High winds came up over night by surprise, and buckled the frame in several places. I went to Coleman's site to see if spare parts are available and they do not sell anything except the fabric top. :(

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1Grumpa1
Northridge, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Camping Canopy Out There
10/19/2011

Customer review by JTest

4.0 stars 10/19/2011 by JTest
by JTest

We bought this canopy and took it on a camping trip up north. It rained the last day and this canopy kept everything nice and dry. It was relatively easy to set up, but it is easier with a few people. I strung lights on the inside of my canopy and figured out to string the lights, with the clips BEFORE raising the canopy up high. This is SO much bigger and better than those 10x10 First Ups in the stores. I now won't go camping without this canopy!

Was this review helpful? (37) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JTest
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
Junk!! And Coleman does not stand behind products!
6/12/2013

Customer review by ITGuy1998

1.0 stars 6/12/2013 by ITGuy1998
by ITGuy1998

I purchased this Coleman popup shelter for use in the AZ sunshine. It took about 10 minutes to set up with my wife, we staked it out pretty securely, and thought we were doing good... Until we caught a little bit of a breeze. Next thing I knew, one side had completely buckled, and the only thing holding it up were the ties. Looking at the structure, all the struts are bolted together, so I figured I could get replacement parts. No such luck. I finally got around to contacting Coleman to see about replacement struts, and the answer I got was: "We unfortunately do not offer an replacement parts for the shelter. I apologize for the inconvenience. Was there anything further I can assist with today?" and "We just do not manufacture replacement parts for it I apologize." followed up with " I apologize but acts of nature would not be considered a warranty issue. I can certainly offer a discount on a new shelter for the inconvenience." After making my dissatisfaction very clear, I got: "I apologize again for the inconvenience. Please accept this one time offer of 25% off and free shipping of any 1 regular priced product found at [...] . (Already discounted items are not included.) To take advantage of this discount, call us at 1-800-835-3278. Please mention this offer to the representative that answers." I ultimately told the rep that I would not be doing any further business with Coleman - after paying a premium for the Coleman brand and then getting this underwhelming support, I have to say 'adieu' to Coleman from now on.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ITGuy1998
SE AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Held up in the wind!
7/24/2012

Customer review by Popeye62

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by Popeye62
by Popeye62

I went to a family gathering at a beach. We had 4 of these lashed together and they held up fine in the wind. I was so impressed with them! Most of the negative reviews have to do with them not holding up in the wind. I estimate that the wind was gusting at about 20-30 MPH and there were no problems.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Popeye62
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Absolutey great canopy
7/18/2012

Customer review by elimenop

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by elimenop
by elimenop

I love this canopy. My sons were playing in a Little League baseball tournament and the outside temperature was well over 100 degrees. I ordered it online, it was in stock at my local store and I picked it up the next day. Awsesome! The first time we erected it, 4 of us took maybe 5 mintutes; mostly because we had to attached the fabric to the frame. Since then, it really can be erected and taken down in the advertised 3 minutes. It seems to be very durably constructed and looks great. However, there is one qualification: when it's packed in the fabric case it's very heavy and bulky, which makes it hard to transport. It will fit in a minivan only on the floor in front of the middle seats or the entire back area if the seats are all down. Otherwise, it's great!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elimenop
Cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews