Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 175 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

175 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

175 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
105
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 stars
17
1-20 of 135 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 135 total reviews
1-20 of 135 reviews
Better than expected....
7/1/2011

Customer review by ArtyG

4.0 stars 7/1/2011 by ArtyG
by ArtyG

Some time in about June 18th I decided to gift myself a laptop since I had a router set up for the Roku's and it would be nice to sit out in the yard and surf the net. I had aimed at $299 Acer from Circuit City but discovered that included waiting 8 to 10 weeks to recover a $100 rebate from 2 different companies. And even then it would not be a straightforward rebate check but an Amex debit card to spend in certain places. They tell you this AFTER charging your credit card $399! The good news is backing out of the deal was painless. Later, while sulking around WallyWorld's Indian Trail store's electronics dept. I came upon the Compaq CQ 57 for $299! This unit has the same features as the afore mentioned Acer: 2 gigs of RAM, 250 gbs hard drive,AMD Dual Core C50 processor, DVD burner, card reader, etc. with Windows 7 home premium. My best & most successful desk top has been a 7 year old Compaq Pressario with an AMD heart. But alas, while all the area WM's had a display model there were none to sell. I finally found a store in Indian Land, SC that had some. I told you this because getting this from Walmart.com delivered to your door for .97 is a terriffic and painless deal. The computer works as expected, found my LAN quickly and effortlessly and Windows 7 is smooth and sure. I have had only XP up to now. You can boost RAM up to 8 gbs . On the downside there is no seperate number pad so you have to use the ones across the top. You weren't planning on running your accounting practise on a $300 laptop were you?

Was this review helpful? (763) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArtyG
Indian Trail, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Awesome Laptop but...
7/24/2011

Customer review by Caiti3204

4.0 stars 7/24/2011 by Caiti3204
by Caiti3204

Im just starting high school so i thought it would be a good idea to geta laptop for homework and projects. But i need one within a small budget. My goal was to stay under 350 and this laptop fit that price range perfectly. If your looking for the most bang for youor buck this is the laptop for you. Pros: great keyboard, mouse pad in the center of laptop, long battery life, lightweight, volume controls on keyboard. webcam is very useful Cons: isnt the fastest laptop (doesnt matter to me but its the fastest your going to get for a 300 dollar laptop, shows fingerprints easily. (not a huge problem, because they easily come of with a cloth, webcam color is a little off. Other than those few cons this laptop ishighly recommended for anyone. it works great.

Was this review helpful? (300) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Caiti3204
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good laptop for its design
8/2/2011

Customer review by JDBooth

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by JDBooth
by JDBooth

I bought this knowing about the processor becuase i am an environmental science major. I bought this specifcally for the processor, it has an ultra low wattage processor( By slow I mean sometimes it takes 2 seconds to open a program or it takes a little longer to downlaod updates, things like that.Once you open a program it runs smoothly). That means it runs a little slow but it has some advantages. It has excellent graphics(dedicated), it saves on battery life, and it runs cool. Thats important because the more energy a processor uses the hotter the laptpop gets and the shorter its life. It wasnt meant to be the best laptop, it was meant to be a long lasting basic laptop. So it is meant for people who primarily use microsoft office, some older games, to watch movies in high definition, web cam,email, and other basic uses. I bought this and I am happy with it. It plays the programs I need for college like starry night enthusiast for my astronomy course. Best of all, unlike my previous couple of laptops it doesnt get hot and I dont need a laptop cooler/fan to keep it cool(which also saves me money). It is also very light and very portable,which is great for students and frequent travelers. Another nice thing is it comes with a web cam. So if you want a great basic laptop that will last you a long time then get this. Just dont expect more then what it was designed for. I would recommend this to most people I know.

Was this review helpful? (235) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDBooth
SW Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop
7/15/2011

Customer review by Love2shoponline1981

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by Love2shoponline1981
by Love2shoponline1981

I have never had a laptop before this, only a flat screen desktop and for years I would tell my husband that one day I want to get a laptop. Well, in March of this year we were in Walmart,( not shopping for electronics), and my husband suggested we stop by and look at the computers. I first had my eyes on a DELL with a 19' screen but then I saw this computer and I've been enjoying it ever since. I'm glad my hubby told me to go ahead and get a laptop since I always talked about getting one anyone. Great Buy.

Was this review helpful? (189) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Love2shoponline1981
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME BUY!!!
7/26/2011

Customer review by lovewalmartfan

5.0 stars 7/26/2011 by lovewalmartfan
by lovewalmartfan

I bought one of these for my daughter, by the way my daughter is rough very very rough on things and this is the ONLY computer that has been able to keep up with her, this computer is super durable no doubt durable, she does a lot of online gaming, so it is great for gaming. I can't believe how long her Compaq has lasted, buy this computer and you won't have to worry about buying another for a very very long time. LOVE IT because she doesn't have to call me every other day to fix it like all the others she has had, and she has been through many many computers!!

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovewalmartfan
cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wasn't what I expected...
7/13/2011

Customer review by PCSavvy

2.0 stars 7/13/2011 by PCSavvy
by PCSavvy

Yes price is great but this pc is so slow who would believe it has windows 7. I purchased this as a gift for my partner he explained he thought something was wrong with it because even running programs on it took forever to load and it would keep freezing. I took it upon myself to check it out and he was right its just not worth buying. I own the Toshiba Satelite its a few dollars more but a great pc, I am going to exchange this one for that now. Hopefully this will help you.

Was this review helpful? (118) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PCSavvy
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!!!
8/6/2011

Customer review by Kandy06

5.0 stars 8/6/2011 by Kandy06
by Kandy06

We bought this computer and it is completely worth the money! Great picture, sound and runs great. Alot of people have said that the computer runs slow...but we have not had this problem at all. I download things, listen to music, open video/pictures and have not once had it run slow. I have high speed internet and possibly the others have a slower connection through their service providers! All in all I am very happy with my purchase and would tell anyone to buy this laptop.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kandy06
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great laptop
8/7/2011

Customer review by JTitus11

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by JTitus11
by JTitus11

Decided to buy this laptop after testing out many others at Walmart and Best Buy. I was willing to pay up to $500 on a laptop but didn't want to if I didn't have to. I had been researching laptops for the past month and something kept bringing me back to this one. I had 3 laptops in mind and after trying this out I knew it would be the one. First thing that attracted me to it was the price. The feel of the keyboard was nice and the screen was big enough for me. I am currently a college student and full time mother and it is light enough for me to carry around. It took less than 5 minutes to hook my wireless internet up to it. The processor is really fast. Overall a good product.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JTitus11
Lakeland, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than I expected
7/28/2011

Customer review by DKinSRQ

5.0 stars 7/28/2011 by DKinSRQ
by DKinSRQ

I bought this laptop because I love to write and needed an extra computer besides my home one that I could dedicate to my own projects. When I looked at the display in the store for some reason I thought that maybe I would be taking it back in a few days due to low performance but I was pleasantly surprised. The display quality is great, the speed is just fine and the keyboard has a nice quiet touch to it. Even though the processor is an AMD 1.0, all of my applications that I have downloaded did not have any lag time. I wasn't looking to run anything heavy like Adobe CS5, so as long as it it could handle Office 2010, I was happy. The chassis doesn't heat up even when I leave it for 6 hours + which I appreciate also. The design of it allows bigger hands (like mine) to rest comfortably while typing without falling of the keyboard. The only drawback is that it does not have a number pad but if you don't mind that, it's no problem. Besides, if you need one, they sell USB ones pretty cheap. I've had it for about a week now and I am very pleased. Great for students, surfers or any light users !

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DKinSRQ
Sarasota, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love this laptop! Great value for the money!
8/5/2011

Customer review by LindyB1234

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by LindyB1234
by LindyB1234

It comes with everything you could possibly need. I bought it for my grandson for school and he was on it all day and night! Very easy to set up and get running too. I would recommend this to everyone who needs a laptop for their personal use or for schoolwork.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LindyB1234
Daytona Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A happy laptop newbie.
8/5/2011

Customer review by nillabop

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by nillabop
by nillabop

For all these years I hesitated using anything other than my old desktop because I work from home and don't travel, but finally I gave in when I went on vacation and HAD to have access to my files. Considering these things used to cost 3 times this amount, I didn't have high expectations but I have to say, I just love this little guy. I was able to load all my software without any issues (and the fact this has a CD/DVD drive was very helpful!), and not only all my data files but even several videos and all my music. I was staying at a place with free WiFi so that was also a real plus. It's just a tad heavy compared to all the newer tablets, etc. but I couldn't be happier with the job it does and all of its features. And the price was just icing on the cake.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nillabop
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Laptop for those with basic needs.
8/1/2011

Customer review by livin4today

3.0 stars 8/1/2011 by livin4today
by livin4today

Bought this computer for my mother. She has very basic laptop needs. This laptop was affordable and suited her just fine. Our only problems, initially it took the laptop a very long time to open each program, nearly locked up on us every time. Now it seems to be running smoothly.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
livin4today
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great PC for a Great Price
8/19/2011

Customer review by ciaobella65

5.0 stars 8/19/2011 by ciaobella65
by ciaobella65

Lets be honest..if you are looking for a gamer, web designer, music production studio or the like, this is NOT the pc for you..BUT, if you are looking to surf the web, download and store music, stream movies, work on spreadsheets or word processing, this baby will fit the bill perfectly. The AMD is a great little processor and upgrading the RAM will speed it up just fine. You cannot beat the price or the shipping and Wally World backs up their purchases, So I am a Happy Camper.. I own 2 Compaqs, both from walmart.com and I have no complaints..

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ciaobella65
Jackson Heights, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Worth the money
8/8/2011

Customer review by Ilana00

2.0 stars 8/8/2011 by Ilana00
by Ilana00

I bought two of these laptops and expected so much more than what I received. After upgradeing to windows 7 on this laptop It was hard to believe I had upgraded. The computer was very slow and froze up constantly when trying to run two programs at once being a Dual Core you would think it would be able to handle it, wrong. On the second lap top I ended up with blue screen when trying to update java. I gave two stars because it stayed cool no matter what program I was running it never got hot that was the only plus

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ilana00
starkville, ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I Love My Computer =)
8/14/2011

Customer review by Jaminbug

5.0 stars 8/14/2011 by Jaminbug
by Jaminbug

I just graduated Highschool and i recieved a 200 dollar scholarship and i didnt know what to do with it so i purchased this laptop. I plan on using it for college. I think this is a great computer. It isn't slow. The only problem I have noticed so far is that you can see fingerprints on both the screen and the top of it. but other than that i would HIGHLY recomend this computer. I have been very happy with it sence i purchased it. It's easy to use, it comes with a few games that are fun to play. It downloads things fast. I hope i helped =).

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaminbug
Steamburg, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
For basic internet surfing and streaming Hulu, etc
8/26/2011

Customer review by Duke75147

4.0 stars 8/26/2011 by Duke75147
by Duke75147

First, I will say that I am happy with this laptop, 4 stars for meeting expectations, nothing more, but there are some issues that others may not like. I bought in store a month ago and knew the cons of shared memory, AMD Radeon HD 6250 Graphics(google it) so I can't complain. Also, I knew that the C-50 Processor is very low end although it is snappy enough for me watching Hulu or Netflix and basic Internet surfing. 2 gigs of memory is enough for this. You can buy more memory cheaply as others have said. Hulu is OK but Netflix color is terrible and most won't be happy with it. I have tried every different setting I can find including calibrating the screen but the color is still mostly blue gray. Playing a dvd movie, color is bright and looks good so I don't know what is up with Netflix and I have tried several different Netflix movies. I bought this new laptop for two reasons. First I wanted a laptop that I could see the screen outside or in the car. Second, I wanted to be able to screen capture Netflix movies for watching later since my broadband is slow. This computer does both of those things. I knew before I bought that the screen would be glossy and that there would be glare so for me, not an issue. As advertised, I got 4 ½ hours out of my battery the first time I used it. I like the fact that I can pull the battery out of the computer, plug it into the power outlet and use the computer. This is easy to do and in my opinion extends the life or aging of your battery. Stays very cool as long as the fan vents are not blocked. Has a SD card slot you can use for readyboost if you have a fast SDHC card or usb flash drive, but I don't notice any increase in speed. When you first turn on the laptop and it finds the internet, it is going to do a bunch of updates and will continue that for about the first week. I would recommend letting it do it's thing before you disable some or all of them. These initial updates may make the laptop seem slower than it really is. Overall this laptop isn't any faster than or better graphics than my 8 year old Dell C640 which is 2 Ghz, 1 gig memory. But the dual-core does screen capture better as mentioned before.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duke75147
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BATTERY WILL NOT STAY IN!!!
8/5/2011

Customer review by CantHelpButShop

3.0 stars 8/5/2011 by CantHelpButShop
by CantHelpButShop

This is a nice laptop for the price. however the battery will not stay in. I am not sure if it is just mine but whenever i sit it down not matter how soft the battery falls out!! Its seems that the battery switch is weak or the lock is faulty...I am not forced to use tape to hold it in place and after many disconnects i think that may have solved the problem. Other than that i am pretty pleased with the way it functions.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CantHelpButShop
WEST YORK, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/11/2011

Customer review by nannapat

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by nannapat
by nannapat

As a retired senior citizen, this computer is perfect for me. I use it for email, scrapbook blogs, shopping, etc. It might not be fast enough for serious computer users, but I really like it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nannapat
Rowlett, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good purchase!!!!
7/27/2011

Customer review by Toddeybo

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by Toddeybo
by Toddeybo

The only complaint is that it only comes with the trial version of Office products.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Toddeybo
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WARNING!! USB Problem
8/9/2011

Customer review by jgray5

4.0 stars 8/9/2011 by jgray5
by jgray5

I bought this computer and it works perfectly fine, but there is a small problem with the USB port! I also bought a wireless keyboard and mouse and inserted the receiver into the computer; later that day I tried to remove it but couldn't, ended up pulling the receiver from the little metal clip. I was able to put the receiver back in and I am still able to use the additional mouse and keyboard. I was wondering if only the receiver was a little big, but when making an image of the computer for if it crashes; I noticed again I had a problem inserting the USB cord when I pulled it out again it was a little hard, thankfully this one didn't break or anything. I recommend that unless you don't want the USB device back, don't plug it in or be carefull removing the object.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jgray5
Sault Ste Marie, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 135 total reviews
1-20 of 135 reviews