Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 214 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

214 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

214 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
121
4 stars
46
3 stars
19
2 stars
8
1 stars
20
1-20 of 174 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews
Monochrome display leaves it lacking.
2/4/2013

Customer review by IndianaReader

2.0 stars 2/4/2013 by IndianaReader
by IndianaReader

This Nook Simple Touch is adequate for reading old-fashioned novels. It also allows one to download issues of several magazines, but for reading these magazines it is sorely lacking. The monochrome display simply is not adequate for displaying any sort of artwork or graphics. An issue of Scientific American, in particular, was just not enjoyable because of the monochrome display. Also, like many e-readers, this one does not allow anything but reading; no games whatsoever--not even Solitaire or other very simple games. No web surfing (again, like many e-readers). If all you want is to read books in black and white, it will do. However, be very sure that you don't want anything more than that.

IndianaReader
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Nook SimpleTouch
2/27/2013

Customer review by JacktheDog

3.0 stars 2/27/2013 by JacktheDog
by JacktheDog

This is a base model Nook and Simple should be considered a discription of it's capabilities. There is no color in Nook Simple Touch. This is not a product that can support downloading of magazines or other color media such as the advanced Nooks or Kindles, It is only for reading books or print material in black/white. Ok for students, entry level readers. If you want the full reader experience or something more, this is not your purchase.Way too basic.

JacktheDog
Washington, DC Metro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Screen
2/23/2013

Customer review by Trackerdusk9

2.0 stars 2/23/2013 by Trackerdusk9
by Trackerdusk9

The Nook itself is great. I've had it for 3 weeks and i take excellent care of it. I don't let it hit the floor. I leave it on my night stand all the time. Now the problem is that I went to go grab it so I could read and the screen was completely messed up. the pictures were all mixed together and it's stuck. So now it's broken. At 3 weeks. So knowing I didn't do it, I blame the manufacturing.

Trackerdusk9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nook Touch
2/23/2013

Customer review by musicinme

2.0 stars 2/23/2013 by musicinme
by musicinme

When I "wake" my Nook up it won't let me unlock it (sliding my finger across screen to unlock). Occasionally it will unlock but not consistently at all; useless to me at this point.

musicinme
Inwood Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
love the sharing
2/22/2013

Customer review by Reed24

4.0 stars 2/22/2013 by Reed24
by Reed24

I would recommend the Nook for students and avid readers. However, the color Nook is best for those wanting to use the magazine features, especially for fashion and crafting nuts!

Reed24
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
My nook is simple
2/27/2013

Customer review by Molina

3.0 stars 2/27/2013 by Molina
by Molina

Not what I expected, but it has some good stuff.

Molina
Emmaus, pA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Stays charged 2 weeks with wi-fi turned on Love it
7/4/2011

Customer review by wscbrown

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by wscbrown
by wscbrown
Top 500 contributor

I owned the other model that is white and I had to charge it every 2 days I had just bought it and then the touch ereader came out so I returned the other one and bought the touch ereader. This one stays charged for 2 weeks with the wi-fi turned on. I haven't tried it with the wi-fi turned off. I have a light that I purchased from barns and noble to read at night, but during the day I don't need one. It is bright and clear in direct sunlight and in normal lighting. I have a Nook Color also and I can't use it outdoors because you can't see the screen so I alternate betwen the 2 of them depending on my location. Don't forget to download your free book every Friday at Barns and noble's website.

Was this review helpful? (757) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wscbrown
Pound, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
I LOVE IT!
1/17/2012

Customer review by princesskhym

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by princesskhym
by princesskhym

I am very satisfied with my purchase! Given the amount of time comparing it with other ebook readers, this won me over with its compact design, very much light-weight, and its crisp text display (It's not like reading through your computer screen, it's like you're actually reading on an actual book which I really love). The battery life is amazing! I bought this on December 30, 2011 and until now it still doesn't need recharging. I use it everyday, and I find myself reading more. I am really not interested in playing games on Nook or listen to music, so this really met all my expectations because I just want it solely for reading. Great choices of books from B&N, I love the highlight feature and also the quick look up definition feature and you can also change the font size. Above all, it's very user-friendly. I didn't even need to read more on the manual because right when I open my Nook Simple Touch for the first time, it has a quick and easy tutorial that helps you navigate your device. From the name itself, it's very simple to use, it turns the page faster which makes reading so easy. I love the design, it's small and I can just put it in my purse and it doesn't even take so much space in it. I love that it can read .pdf files and I can transfer my files on my Nook Simple Touch. I enjoy everything about this device, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
princesskhym
Temecula, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great!!! But...
8/11/2011

Customer review by PPanther2

3.0 stars 8/11/2011 by PPanther2
by PPanther2

Very impressed. Bought the Nook for my 15 year old son and loved it so got one for myself. Very impressed! Only three negatives that I have found. 1. Almost every book I have found on BN for the Nook is more expensive by at least a few dollars than the exact same book available for the Kindle. This is disappointing.... 2. I actually live in the Middle East. So, when I returned found I am not able to purchase books or newspapers, etc from here. Only for residents of the US. My billing and resident address is in the US! Now, I admit, I probably could have researched this. But, there does not seem to be a good reason for this. I am still a resident of the US! But, there is a way around this... but it is a pain in the... 3. When using in the sun/heat the touch screen does not always work until it is cooler. But the Nook itself is a great product. Light enough for reading. Clear screen. Like it a lot.

Was this review helpful? (65) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PPanther2
SoCal and Middle East
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good e-reader, but has some problems
9/6/2011

Customer review by w507c8259

3.0 stars 9/6/2011 by w507c8259
by w507c8259

I love my nook. I spent a while trying to decide between a kindle or a nook. I decided on the nook because it has better features and I had a gift card for Wal-mart which doesn't sell kindle. I love that I can download books for free from my library and that there are so many choices for books at Barnes & Noble. I do have problem with my nook though. Sometimes there is shadowing from the previous page which can be annoying and the screen tends to freeze up. I learned that if I plug it in and then hold the on/off button for about 30 second that I can force my nook to shut down. But somedays it continues to freeze. The forward & back buttons still work though so I can still read just no do anything else. I would return it for a new one, but my return time frame at walmart has ended. Over all good, but I would get an extended warranty on it.

Was this review helpful? (70) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
w507c8259
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/4/2011

Customer review by DeepCotton

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by DeepCotton
by DeepCotton

The Nook Simple Touch is a great e-reader. Since reading books is all I wanted to do with it, it is just wonderful. Having a computer, I didn't need to go to the web with it or play games, etc., so this Nook is prefect for me and I have no problems with it except "operator" ones. Had no problems with shipping to my home (free) and it arrived when they said it would. Since I am not very "technolgy" savvy, I went to my local public library and they helped me register the Nook because I had to had wi-fi to do that and I was having trouble getting one to use at home. Probably no problem to someone else, but it was greek to me. The library personnel also told me what download (free) I needed from their library for my computer. I went home and downloaded the software. I then went to the library site on my computer and "borrowed" a book from them and then side loaded it to my Nook at home - no problem, no wi-fi. Notice I said "side loaded" - I am gettting better at this. I researched the Kindle and Nook very throughly and I found this Nook to be the only one that said you could download books from a public library. Kindle may have that capability, but it was not stated in anything that I read. The Nook Simple Touch is a great product for the money. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeepCotton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than original Nook
8/7/2011

Customer review by Whoami

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by Whoami
by Whoami

I owned the original Nook but didn't like the fact that indexes had to be navigated using the arrows on the bottom touch screen. That was very slow. With the new Nook I can touch the link to the chapter directly, a much better solution. Word searches aren't any faster than before and I guess that's because ebook readers don't have quick processors like smart phones do. That plus the lack of a color graphics display is why the battery life on ebook readers is much longer. The microSD card slot on the new Nook is externally accessible unlike the internal position for the old Nook. My daughter now has that one. I didn't consider the Kindle because of the proprietary ebook format Amazon uses and the fact that it doesn't have a touch screen.

Was this review helpful? (64) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whoami
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
An Amazing Incredible Machine
7/25/2011

Customer review by DailyPlanetIntern

5.0 stars 7/25/2011 by DailyPlanetIntern
by DailyPlanetIntern

This is an amazing item! I loved my original version of the e-ink nook (the white one) but this one is so much more amazing! I love the touch screen. It's super responsive. This nook has many features that I wished my old one had. You have the option to find any page by typing in the number, unlike the original that had that weird and frustrating page selection bar. You have the option to jump back and forth to any chapter as well from the table of contents. And the dictionary is one of my favorite features. Just touch and hold a word for two seconds and the nook gives you the option to look up the word instantly! No keying it in personally needed! This nook is also great for anyone that's a fan of manga. The original e-ink nook would cut the bottom of the pages leaving parts of conversations unseen, but this nook gives you the option to shrink the page slightly to fit everything on the screen. Now this nook doesn't have a web browser or games like the original but with everyone having smart-phones and i-pods this shouldn't deter you. It's also smaller and lighter than the original, doesn't tire out your wrists like the original dose after a couple of hours. The power button on this devise is also impossible to bump and turn on or off by accident; so no accidental battery drainage. Bottom like this is a great devise! If you're on the fence take the plunge! You'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful? (466) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DailyPlanetIntern
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just the reader I would design
11/19/2011

Customer review by Toolqueen

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Toolqueen
by Toolqueen

Finally! A Nook without all the frills I don't need. This is just a basic reader but perfect for those who just want to read and not play games, or surf the internet, check email, etc. Simple to use, very nice size and weight. Holds enough books for anyone and with the expandable memory, you can keep your whole library at your fingertips. I own the first generation Nook but prefer this one as I wanted a basic reader with a touch screen. The battery life is great also. I've gone for two weeks without even thinking about charging it and when I checked, I still had plenty of battery life left.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toolqueen
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Nook got me reading again!
7/18/2011

Customer review by MrsLB

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by MrsLB
by MrsLB

The convenience of having your favorite books all in one place and being able to carry them with you wherever you go is great! I'm still on my first battery charge, so I don't have experience w/life of one charge, but this edition of the Nook is excellent because the entire screen is touch, instead of just the bottom area like the 1st edition model. The fact that I can make the font larger is a huge plus, because I'm not getting any younger :)

Was this review helpful? (347) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsLB
Clifton Park, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good and Bad Points
12/8/2011

Customer review by Skipe42

3.0 stars 12/8/2011 by Skipe42
by Skipe42

I have thoroughly enjoyed my nook simple touch reader. Quick on/off, quick page changes, easy drag/drop loading of books. A little too much garbage on the home page for my taste, but it probably keeps the cost down. On the negative side: The on/off button on my first nook stuck. Sometimes I would have to finagle for a minute or two in order to free it so I could change its status from on to off or vice versa. Walmart replaced it without hesitation and the replacement worked beautifully for a week, then it would not unlock from sleep mode for one of the sleep screens (the others worked fine). I simply turned it off and then back on and was able to proceed. After a few more days, the nook failed to wake up from sleep mode. I could not turn it off and on, could not activate it using USB, and the chat rep and I could not perform a hard reset--doing so requires the machine to be off first and I couldn't get it to turn off. The nook's performance was such that I will try again. The first exchange was easily accomplished and I suspect the second will be equally painless. If I can find one that works, I will be a happy camper; otherwise, I may need to change brands.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skipe42
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing! And I got it for $60 less!!!
11/25/2011

Customer review by angelkissedxs3

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by angelkissedxs3
by angelkissedxs3

This is an amazing thing. It is perfect for me because I read none stop but never want to cary a book around. I love the touchscreen, the wifi (only to on Barnes&Noble site though..), and everything about it! And the screen isn't like an iPad, its more durable. Now my story on how I got it $60 less! BestBuy had it on sell for $79.99, while it was $139.89 at my local walmart. There is no BestBuy anywhere near me, so I toke the printed page and went to Walmart. They gave it to me no caution And to make it even better they gave me a free 3 year warranty! I was so amazing and happy! Thank you walmart! That made my birthday.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
angelkissedxs3
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better Deal than B&N
12/31/2011

Customer review by Morgoth99

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Morgoth99
by Morgoth99

The Nook Simple Reader is the same one sold at B&N and at the same price $99. The difference is that the one sold at Walmart contains the AC charger and the one sold at B&N does not. The AC charger at B&N costs an additional $20. I have bought 2 Nooks at Walmart and one at B&N and both from Walmart (In the store and on line) contained the charger so it is a better value. I am sending my friends to Walmart for this item.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Morgoth99
Belchertown MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Very good basic ereader.
9/6/2011

Customer review by MichelleZ123

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by MichelleZ123
by MichelleZ123

I like this Nook because it doesn't have all the bells and whistles. It is very basic and works great. It is a basic ereader that I can download books to. The only downside is that there is a lot of steps in order to download a book that is not from Barnes & Nobles. I definetely would buy an Nook again and would recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MichelleZ123
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this e-reader!!!!
8/9/2011

Customer review by tryingtothinkpositive

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by tryingtothinkpositive
by tryingtothinkpositive

Easy to use and pleasant on the eyes for reading ...I can read much longer using the Nook. Battery charge lasts & lasts..wonderful product! Just would be nice and would love it if Walmart carried more options for Nook covers,though.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tryingtothinkpositive
Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews