Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 208 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

208 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

208 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
121
4 stars
45
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 stars
20
1-20 of 168 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews
An Amazing Incredible Machine
7/25/2011

Customer review by DailyPlanetIntern

5.0 stars 7/25/2011 by DailyPlanetIntern
by DailyPlanetIntern

This is an amazing item! I loved my original version of the e-ink nook (the white one) but this one is so much more amazing! I love the touch screen. It's super responsive. This nook has many features that I wished my old one had. You have the option to find any page by typing in the number, unlike the original that had that weird and frustrating page selection bar. You have the option to jump back and forth to any chapter as well from the table of contents. And the dictionary is one of my favorite features. Just touch and hold a word for two seconds and the nook gives you the option to look up the word instantly! No keying it in personally needed! This nook is also great for anyone that's a fan of manga. The original e-ink nook would cut the bottom of the pages leaving parts of conversations unseen, but this nook gives you the option to shrink the page slightly to fit everything on the screen. Now this nook doesn't have a web browser or games like the original but with everyone having smart-phones and i-pods this shouldn't deter you. It's also smaller and lighter than the original, doesn't tire out your wrists like the original dose after a couple of hours. The power button on this devise is also impossible to bump and turn on or off by accident; so no accidental battery drainage. Bottom like this is a great devise! If you're on the fence take the plunge! You'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful? (466) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DailyPlanetIntern
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Stays charged 2 weeks with wi-fi turned on Love it
7/4/2011

Customer review by wscbrown

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by wscbrown
by wscbrown

I owned the other model that is white and I had to charge it every 2 days I had just bought it and then the touch ereader came out so I returned the other one and bought the touch ereader. This one stays charged for 2 weeks with the wi-fi turned on. I haven't tried it with the wi-fi turned off. I have a light that I purchased from barns and noble to read at night, but during the day I don't need one. It is bright and clear in direct sunlight and in normal lighting. I have a Nook Color also and I can't use it outdoors because you can't see the screen so I alternate betwen the 2 of them depending on my location. Don't forget to download your free book every Friday at Barns and noble's website.

Was this review helpful? (757) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wscbrown
Pound, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Nook got me reading again!
7/18/2011

Customer review by MrsLB

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by MrsLB
by MrsLB

The convenience of having your favorite books all in one place and being able to carry them with you wherever you go is great! I'm still on my first battery charge, so I don't have experience w/life of one charge, but this edition of the Nook is excellent because the entire screen is touch, instead of just the bottom area like the 1st edition model. The fact that I can make the font larger is a huge plus, because I'm not getting any younger :)

Was this review helpful? (347) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsLB
Clifton Park, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product
7/31/2011

Customer review by JO40JO

4.0 stars 7/31/2011 by JO40JO
by JO40JO

It was hard to choose between Nook and Kindle, but I read up on both and decided Nook was the best buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (360) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JO40JO
Sebring, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good e-reader, but has some problems
9/6/2011

Customer review by w507c8259

3.0 stars 9/6/2011 by w507c8259
by w507c8259

I love my nook. I spent a while trying to decide between a kindle or a nook. I decided on the nook because it has better features and I had a gift card for Wal-mart which doesn't sell kindle. I love that I can download books for free from my library and that there are so many choices for books at Barnes & Noble. I do have problem with my nook though. Sometimes there is shadowing from the previous page which can be annoying and the screen tends to freeze up. I learned that if I plug it in and then hold the on/off button for about 30 second that I can force my nook to shut down. But somedays it continues to freeze. The forward & back buttons still work though so I can still read just no do anything else. I would return it for a new one, but my return time frame at walmart has ended. Over all good, but I would get an extended warranty on it.

Was this review helpful? (70) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
w507c8259
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than original Nook
8/7/2011

Customer review by Whoami

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by Whoami
by Whoami

I owned the original Nook but didn't like the fact that indexes had to be navigated using the arrows on the bottom touch screen. That was very slow. With the new Nook I can touch the link to the chapter directly, a much better solution. Word searches aren't any faster than before and I guess that's because ebook readers don't have quick processors like smart phones do. That plus the lack of a color graphics display is why the battery life on ebook readers is much longer. The microSD card slot on the new Nook is externally accessible unlike the internal position for the old Nook. My daughter now has that one. I didn't consider the Kindle because of the proprietary ebook format Amazon uses and the fact that it doesn't have a touch screen.

Was this review helpful? (64) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Whoami
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Great!!! But...
8/11/2011

Customer review by PPanther2

3.0 stars 8/11/2011 by PPanther2
by PPanther2

Very impressed. Bought the Nook for my 15 year old son and loved it so got one for myself. Very impressed! Only three negatives that I have found. 1. Almost every book I have found on BN for the Nook is more expensive by at least a few dollars than the exact same book available for the Kindle. This is disappointing.... 2. I actually live in the Middle East. So, when I returned found I am not able to purchase books or newspapers, etc from here. Only for residents of the US. My billing and resident address is in the US! Now, I admit, I probably could have researched this. But, there does not seem to be a good reason for this. I am still a resident of the US! But, there is a way around this... but it is a pain in the... 3. When using in the sun/heat the touch screen does not always work until it is cooler. But the Nook itself is a great product. Light enough for reading. Clear screen. Like it a lot.

Was this review helpful? (65) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PPanther2
SoCal and Middle East
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best E-reader on the market.
7/22/2013

Customer review by Hollyosophy

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by Hollyosophy
by Hollyosophy

Firstly, this is a device dedicated to reading. It was designed to do one thing, and do it spectacularly well-- Read books. The screen is not like a computer screen. The "page" color is a soft muted gray, and the ink is a soft, but crisp black. Since it is not back-lit, there is no eyestrain. None. Ever. The casing is a soft silicone that makes it very easy to hold securely with just one hand. It is soooo light! If you want to read in bed, get a book light. The screen itself has a matte finish, so there is no glare To turn the page, lightly swipe your finger as you would on a physical book. There are also internal buttons on the sides if you wish to page turn that way. Adjustable font size. No more reading with glasses! Yay! It has very simple features, like you can make shelves and name them. It is an easy way to sort them. I have a "current reads" shelf, a "finished" shelf. You can name and sort however you wish! There is nothing confusing about this device, because it has the features necessary to just read in peace. No browser to distract you, no sounds or email alerts. Because it is just a book :) It has wi-fi so you can download from bn.com. I look for books online then search the title on BN, hit the download button, and it goes straight to my device. I discovered anything you see in the public domain, you can find on bn.com. When you shut it off, it saves your page. You can highlight passages, and it saves them. Highlight a word and tap, and you get the definition. It has crazy long battery life. So basically this crafty, cunning, simple little device gives you access to every book ever written. Amazing. This device is for readers. People who love reading. The type of people who like to curl up and read all day and night, losing yourself in a literary alternative world. I recommend getting a case for it. That way it is always protected when its not in use, and you can slip in your purse. Overstock had some super cases with accessories for like 13 bucks. Totally worth it. Do not put a screen protector on it. It completely disables the touch functions. You don't need it, especially if you have a case. I spent en entire year researching readers. I am a voracious reader, and I made the right choice. NOOK, baby!

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hollyosophy
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good basic ereader.
9/6/2011

Customer review by MichelleZ123

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by MichelleZ123
by MichelleZ123

I like this Nook because it doesn't have all the bells and whistles. It is very basic and works great. It is a basic ereader that I can download books to. The only downside is that there is a lot of steps in order to download a book that is not from Barnes & Nobles. I definetely would buy an Nook again and would recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MichelleZ123
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/4/2011

Customer review by DeepCotton

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by DeepCotton
by DeepCotton

The Nook Simple Touch is a great e-reader. Since reading books is all I wanted to do with it, it is just wonderful. Having a computer, I didn't need to go to the web with it or play games, etc., so this Nook is prefect for me and I have no problems with it except "operator" ones. Had no problems with shipping to my home (free) and it arrived when they said it would. Since I am not very "technolgy" savvy, I went to my local public library and they helped me register the Nook because I had to had wi-fi to do that and I was having trouble getting one to use at home. Probably no problem to someone else, but it was greek to me. The library personnel also told me what download (free) I needed from their library for my computer. I went home and downloaded the software. I then went to the library site on my computer and "borrowed" a book from them and then side loaded it to my Nook at home - no problem, no wi-fi. Notice I said "side loaded" - I am gettting better at this. I researched the Kindle and Nook very throughly and I found this Nook to be the only one that said you could download books from a public library. Kindle may have that capability, but it was not stated in anything that I read. The Nook Simple Touch is a great product for the money. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeepCotton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I LOVE IT!
1/17/2012

Customer review by princesskhym

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by princesskhym
by princesskhym

I am very satisfied with my purchase! Given the amount of time comparing it with other ebook readers, this won me over with its compact design, very much light-weight, and its crisp text display (It's not like reading through your computer screen, it's like you're actually reading on an actual book which I really love). The battery life is amazing! I bought this on December 30, 2011 and until now it still doesn't need recharging. I use it everyday, and I find myself reading more. I am really not interested in playing games on Nook or listen to music, so this really met all my expectations because I just want it solely for reading. Great choices of books from B&N, I love the highlight feature and also the quick look up definition feature and you can also change the font size. Above all, it's very user-friendly. I didn't even need to read more on the manual because right when I open my Nook Simple Touch for the first time, it has a quick and easy tutorial that helps you navigate your device. From the name itself, it's very simple to use, it turns the page faster which makes reading so easy. I love the design, it's small and I can just put it in my purse and it doesn't even take so much space in it. I love that it can read .pdf files and I can transfer my files on my Nook Simple Touch. I enjoy everything about this device, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
princesskhym
Temecula, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellant Product
9/1/2011

Customer review by JROD34006

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by JROD34006
by JROD34006

I purchased this for my wife's birthday. She loves it. It was easy to set up & use. And it was a great deal. You really get your money's worth. She loves the fact that she can change the font size and everything. She said the dispalay makes it appear like your actully reading a page from the book, not a computer screen.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JROD34006
Bessemer City, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just the reader I would design
11/19/2011

Customer review by Toolqueen

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Toolqueen
by Toolqueen

Finally! A Nook without all the frills I don't need. This is just a basic reader but perfect for those who just want to read and not play games, or surf the internet, check email, etc. Simple to use, very nice size and weight. Holds enough books for anyone and with the expandable memory, you can keep your whole library at your fingertips. I own the first generation Nook but prefer this one as I wanted a basic reader with a touch screen. The battery life is great also. I've gone for two weeks without even thinking about charging it and when I checked, I still had plenty of battery life left.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Toolqueen
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Love this e-reader!!!!
8/9/2011

Customer review by tryingtothinkpositive

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by tryingtothinkpositive
by tryingtothinkpositive

Easy to use and pleasant on the eyes for reading ...I can read much longer using the Nook. Battery charge lasts & lasts..wonderful product! Just would be nice and would love it if Walmart carried more options for Nook covers,though.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tryingtothinkpositive
Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SCREEN LOCKS UP
9/1/2011

Customer review by ChihuahuaLover01

1.0 stars 9/1/2011 by ChihuahuaLover01
by ChihuahuaLover01

Ok I loved the battery I still had 57% left from the first charge when I took my nook 2 back.It was also perfect for my purse, But The screen kept freezing up on me. It wouldn't be so bad if you could hold in the off button to reboot it but you have to use the touch screen to turn it off so when it freezes up like that you really can't do any thing but wait for it to fix itself. I only had it for about 2 1/2 weeks and everytime I was on it I had some form of it locking up. I would say locking up because I could still us the soft keys but not the screen. So I could turn pages but I couldn't change books or anything that took the touch screen which was everything else. It also would skip ahead in my books and when I would try to go back the page numbers wouldn't change so I couldn't just go back to the page I remember being on. I had to turn back one page at a time and scan each to see if I had read that page yet. Which really messes up a good book because I would have to read a little if I saw something good which is like just scanning and reading only the good parts so the book should of been free after that. I thought it might be mine since I seem to always get lemons in everything but I just read where another person has had simular problems with it locking up anyways on the Best Buy site. So I'm not sure what I'm getting next. It wouldn't be bad if it had soft keys to do everything as well as the touch screen that way if one didn't work you could still use it but why take the chance it will freeze up compleatly once you can't return it. I might try another one but if it locks up even once then I'm switching to something else.

Was this review helpful? (47) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChihuahuaLover01
IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better Deal than B&N
12/31/2011

Customer review by Morgoth99

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Morgoth99
by Morgoth99

The Nook Simple Reader is the same one sold at B&N and at the same price $99. The difference is that the one sold at Walmart contains the AC charger and the one sold at B&N does not. The AC charger at B&N costs an additional $20. I have bought 2 Nooks at Walmart and one at B&N and both from Walmart (In the store and on line) contained the charger so it is a better value. I am sending my friends to Walmart for this item.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Morgoth99
Belchertown MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great value and I love it.
8/9/2011

Customer review by nirwin

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by nirwin
by nirwin

The Nook Simple Touch Reader is what it says. Simple to use and navigate. Easy to read even outdoors in full sunshine. My only problem was not with the Reader but with the way it was shipped. Always in the past I have ordered site to store but because it this case the expected time of delivery was supposed to be a few days quicker by mail I went that route. It was a BIG mistake. Took about 16 days to arrive. It was sent by so called Express Mail which then became lost in transit not once but twice. I will never order any way but Site to Store in the future.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nirwin
Rockport, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's Great!
8/13/2011

Customer review by pastorlj03

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by pastorlj03
by pastorlj03

This Nook is so much nicer than the first one I bought. The downloads are completed in seconds and the words are clear and easy to read. It is great buy! Would I buy it again? Yes, I would.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pastorlj03
Farmerville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/30/2011

Customer review by DMarie1971

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by DMarie1971
by DMarie1971

I picked this item over the Kindle because I could transfer items from my old e-reader to this item. That process was easy to do. Item works well. Was easy to set up and use.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMarie1971
Sheboygan, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great reader, compact
11/3/2011

Customer review by pickygirl123

4.0 stars 11/3/2011 by pickygirl123
by pickygirl123

bought this for my 12 yr old..There isn't any internet or games..but kids have so much access to that already! Easy to read in bright light..more like a book then a computer screen so it seems easier on the eyes. small, light and thin so she just puts it in her coat pocket! Nice book!

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pickygirl123
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews