Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

82 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

82 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-20 of 82 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews
Too early to tell
3/10/2016

Customer review by oldgeek60

4.0 stars 3/10/2016 by oldgeek60
by oldgeek60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is one month before Fishing Season opens in Vermont. So, and review must be on overall perception of Penn's Spinning reel products. I'm a lifelong customer of Penn's Senator Series, Offshore line of products, which are the "Only line of Rods and Reels, I recommend for Big Game Saltwater Angling. I have never owned a Penn Spinning Reel before, now I own 2, a Pursuit II 4000 and a Fierce 3000. Both seem very well built and are smooth as glass. Both are High Speed retrieve and hold adequate braid for their size. The Fierce came with a 7 foot ML 1 piece fast-tip graphite rod, and I filled the reel with 275 yards of 10lb. Spiderwire(Spoon, Jig, Spinner, Action Rod). The Pursuit II, I mounted on a 7 foot M 2 piece fast tip Ugly Stick, and filled it with 275 yards of 20lb. Spiderwire.(Bank Rod). Both cast a Country Mile, with a 1/4 ounce weight and 1/2 ounce weight respectively. We'll see how, well it all turns out on Apr 9th, when the season opens.

oldgeek60
Black River Springfield Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Rig at an Awesome Price
11/7/2013

Customer review by AirForceDaddy

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by AirForceDaddy
by AirForceDaddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this rod/reel combo mainly for fishing the James River and Chesapeake Bay for Striper but also use it for catfish. It casts far and true and is sturdy enough for whatever fish I am fortunate enough to reel in. I use it for trolling, jigging, bait fishing, bottom fishing, hard baits, and top water lures. It has an adjustable drag that can be easily adjusted while reeling in the big one. This is a great, versatile combo package for my first saltwater pole and expect it to last for years to come.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AirForceDaddy
Hampton Roads, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great combo to get started fishing again (4000)
2/25/2016

Customer review by DelphEast

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by DelphEast
by DelphEast

Haven't fished in 50 years but now that I have retired I wanted to get back to fishing but needed to replace by teenage spincaster setup. Since I planned on both salt (inshore) and fresh water fishing I wanted equipment that could handle both water types. And since it had been many years since my last outing, I did not want to invest too much at the start. I lucked out and found this combo deal discounted b/o the recent introduction of the Fierce II. This combo meets my needs and has exceeding my expectations. Appears well constructed and should handle any fish I'll be going after, mainly trout and reds. It's a bit heavy compared to some other combos and the one-piece 7 foot rod can be awkward for some people, so may not be suited for some women or kids. But this will do well for me.

DelphEast
New Orleans, LA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fierce combo: Great reel, not sure about the rod
3/4/2016

Customer review by Hammer77

2.0 stars 3/4/2016 by Hammer77
by Hammer77

After a long break from fishing, I bought a 7 foot Fierce 6000 spinning combo 2 years ago for trips down to the Texas gulf coast. I love Penn, and have since bought 7 more Penn reels (both Fierce and Spinfisher Vs), and 4 more Penn rods (Fierce combo rods and Battalions). For the coast, I use 30lb braid, and fish mainly the inshore Texas bays near Corpus. I noticed on our last trip that my line kept breaking off, and eventually found that my 6000 combo has a cut in the last eye at the rod tip, which now easily cuts my line like a pair of snips. I use this combo only for our trips to the coast, so I was really disappointed and surprised to see that I couldn't get more than 8 actual fishing trips of use out of my Penn rod before needing to repair it. I'm a big fan of Penn, and its my go to brand for my mad money. For the Fierce combo, while I still like the reel very much, I'm concerned about the quality of the rod in the combo, and its ability to stand up to inshore fishing with braid (which is a fairly common combination around here). I'm hoping my other Fierce and Battalion rods hold up and don't develop the same problem. So far so good. While I do recommend Penn, my 'No' recommendation is for this combo due to the rod and my experience with it.

Hammer77
Austin Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Freak'n Great Combo!!!
4/2/2016

Customer review by JeremyGotAFish

5.0 stars 4/2/2016 by JeremyGotAFish
by JeremyGotAFish

I bought the Penn FRC8000102H combo about half a year ago. I use it for pier and surf fishing in the Gulf of Mexico. With this combo I'm able to pull in 40'' Bull Reds like their child's play. Casting with this combo is also really good, especially if you are not good at casting like myself. I am able to cast with this combo w/6oz spider weight @ about 50 to 80 yards. All in All... I love this combo lol

JeremyGotAFish
Galveston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
MUST BUY
9/17/2013

Customer review by zhongguancun

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by zhongguancun
by zhongguancun
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Sturdy, good looking, and affordable price. The price of this combo is lower than the single reel, FRC6000. So I do not see any reason not to buy it. But be careful that this is 1-piece rod, not foldable. You cannot put it into a sedan trunk. But it can be easily put into sedan's seat area.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zhongguancun
san diego, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great combo
11/13/2013

Customer review by pirategeorge

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by pirategeorge
by pirategeorge
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

exactly as I was expecting, and very economical for a high quality combo. I would have preferred a two piece rod, but the quality is higher in one piece and couldn't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pirategeorge
Flowood, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value at its price point
2/12/2016

Customer review by krturner34

5.0 stars 2/12/2016 by krturner34
by krturner34

The Penn Fierce 4000 combo I purchase 12 months ago has been an excellent value. I fish in southwest Florida saltwater in and around mangroves and structure from a kayak. I am not easy on equipment but the Penn Fierce has been durable and fail safe. After about 6 months of heavy use, it got a little tight so I took it apart, cleaned and greased and oiled with the recommended Penn products and it became like new again. All the important inside parts are made of metal. This is a throwback American made product. I have purchased one more Fierce 4000 since and I am planning to add a Battle II this spring. I fish for mangrove snapper, sheepshead, snook, and sea trout.

krturner34
Naples, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Awesome Combo for the Price!
2/25/2016

Customer review by IamAries

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by IamAries
by IamAries

Ordered a Penn Fierce 8000 combo for Black Friday as an early Christmas gift. So far it's an awesome combo everything from the reel to the rod is very well made. I've only had the chance to use it a few times as it's been really cold lately. The one time I did take it out, the surface was very rough, I still caught a nice Bluefish though. With the few times I have taken it out, I can say I'm very happy with it, it's an awesome rod, and I'll definitely reccommend it.

IamAries
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Solid Multi-Purpose Combo
2/25/2016

Customer review by WahooDon

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by WahooDon
by WahooDon

Great Combo (4000 Reel/ 7'-6" Rod) that has served me well as a medium weight boat rod trolling for Stripers in the Chesapeake Bay as well as a capable surf rod along the Outer Banks in NC. Casting is smooth and long and handles Power Pro braid with ease. Enough backbone to handle hard strikes yet sensitive enough to feel smaller bites. Overall great value - owned for 2 years now with no issues.

WahooDon
Midlothian, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Talk about bang for your buck!
2/27/2016

Customer review by Miketastik

5.0 stars 2/27/2016 by Miketastik
by Miketastik

Had a couple extra bucks floating around so I treated myself to a new rod and reel. Picked up the pen as my first step into a decent set up. Wow what a pleasant surprise! I've put some huge red fish flounder trout and snook on this beast of a rod and reel. Nothing but pure joy. I would highly recommend Penn to anyone entry-level or professional angler.

Miketastik
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Awesome combo for the money!
2/25/2016

Customer review by jansell84

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by jansell84
by jansell84

I bought the Fierce combo for surf fishing. I use it all last year and it's a killer bargain at it's price point. The 8000 series reel is of all metal construction and it's rock solid. The 10ft graphite rod is perfect for making long casts, and is strong enough to stand up to landing even decent size sharks. I love this product and will purchase again in the future.

jansell84
Knotts Island, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
2/28/2016

Customer review by pearl

4.0 stars 2/28/2016 by pearl
by pearl

the fierce 4000 is a great combo.I can cast it very well and have caught lots of fish with it and expect to catch far more. I really like the handle on it. The handle is slim and fits in my hand perfectly. We also have the 5000 as well. I like it just as much but prefer the handle on the 4000 best

pearl
Weeki Wachee, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Amazing and durable product: highly recommend
2/14/2016

Customer review by Floridafisher88

5.0 stars 2/14/2016 by Floridafisher88
by Floridafisher88

I bought both a 2000 and 4000 a little over a year ago and they both have far exceeded my expectations. I don't have a boat so I'm always roughing it through creeks, I have dropped them in sand, mud, salt water and they still spin flawlessly. I used to have a 2500 series from a comparable brand and dropped it in salt water once and it was locked up the next day even after cleaning it, I guess not so comparable. These reels are extremely rugged and the rods are just as tough. Highly recommend for any type of fishing.

Floridafisher88
Jacksonville, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
In-shore and Off-shore Great
2/28/2016

Customer review by dosake

4.0 stars 2/28/2016 by dosake
by dosake

Using Penn Fierce is a very good experience, it's great for both in-shore and off-shore fishing and the anti-reverse system just did it for me. I will definitely recommend this product to my fishing buddies.

dosake
Corona, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
light weight and easy to handle
2/25/2016

Customer review by Frock Morton

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Frock Morton
by Frock Morton

I bought this combo a couple of weeks ago and filled reel with 30# braid line. I am very impress with the weight and ease of handling. I am looking forward to using this combo in the near future. Several of my fishing friends are very interested in trying unit out.

Frock Morton
Cumberland, RI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
2/29/2016

Customer review by Xroads

5.0 stars 2/29/2016 by Xroads
by Xroads

I now have four of these combos. I've caught several reds over thirty inches on these set ups. Well worth the money. I've even caught a false albacore on these.

Xroads
Statesville, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Smooth Action!
2/25/2016

Customer review by RUSTY NAIL

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by RUSTY NAIL
by RUSTY NAIL

I've owned the Penn Fierce combo just over a year and have found it to be one of my better fishing tools. It is smooth on casting and retrieve. It handles most any weight lure or jig and pulls in the big ones!

RUSTY NAIL
Quitman, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
great product - just wish the rod was shorter
2/25/2016

Customer review by ericfenwick

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by ericfenwick
by ericfenwick

never understand why combos are sold with 7' rods only..target fishing off a boat in canals and back bay water...I am only 5'6" and the long rod is too hard for fishing...great product and love the reel

ericfenwick
Fenwick Island, DE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Great Combo! Great Action!
2/26/2016

Customer review by Pluminsp

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Pluminsp
by Pluminsp

Penn Fierce Combo's and Penn Reels rock my boat! I prefer Penn fishing equipment because of their quality and durability.

Pluminsp
Freehold, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews