Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

18 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

18 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-18 of 18 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

MUST BUY
9/17/2013

Customer review by zhongguancun

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by zhongguancun
by zhongguancun

Sturdy, good looking, and affordable price. The price of this combo is lower than the single reel, FRC6000. So I do not see any reason not to buy it. But be careful that this is 1-piece rod, not foldable. You cannot put it into a sedan trunk. But it can be easily put into sedan's seat area.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zhongguancun
san diego, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Rig at an Awesome Price
11/7/2013

Customer review by AirForceDaddy

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by AirForceDaddy
by AirForceDaddy

I bought this rod/reel combo mainly for fishing the James River and Chesapeake Bay for Striper but also use it for catfish. It casts far and true and is sturdy enough for whatever fish I am fortunate enough to reel in. I use it for trolling, jigging, bait fishing, bottom fishing, hard baits, and top water lures. It has an adjustable drag that can be easily adjusted while reeling in the big one. This is a great, versatile combo package for my first saltwater pole and expect it to last for years to come.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AirForceDaddy
Hampton Roads, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great combo
11/13/2013

Customer review by pirategeorge

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by pirategeorge
by pirategeorge

exactly as I was expecting, and very economical for a high quality combo. I would have preferred a two piece rod, but the quality is higher in one piece and couldn't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pirategeorge
Flowood, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great rod reel combo
5/27/2014

Customer review by pennFisherman

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by pennFisherman
by pennFisherman

Rod is very strong. reel is smooth, has good drag. Have 40# braid on mine and already caught a bunch of sharks with it. Highly recommended. This is my second Penn Fierce, first one is the 8000. Penn is the way to go

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pennFisherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
6/13/2014

Customer review by Dragon1123

5.0 stars 6/13/2014 by Dragon1123
by Dragon1123

Excellent

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dragon1123
Brownsville, tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Strength yet light and reliable
7/11/2015

Customer review by JBert

5.0 stars 7/11/2015 by JBert
by JBert

I pulled some big fish in with this and while light it still performed superbly. I was impressed by the lighter weight but still extra strength this rod had. It is 1 piece, so boat storage ir inside seating area is only place it will fit. but not the trunk. Reel work beautifully smooth and nice drag setting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent combo
7/30/2015

Customer review by Russ

5.0 stars 7/30/2015 by Russ
by Russ

The rod and reel combo are well matched.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Russ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Penn plus
8/14/2015

Customer review by mrfidelity

5.0 stars 8/14/2015 by mrfidelity
by mrfidelity

Works great caught 2lb lg. mouth bass very smooth reeling need a little more practice to zero in on spots on lake but felt combo was a great deal on sale ,will be using for surf fishing in gulf later, may need longer rod but we shall see.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrfidelity
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Combo
10/14/2014

Customer review by LIsoundfish239

5.0 stars 10/14/2014 by LIsoundfish239
by LIsoundfish239

Got this combo at the beginning of the sumer and loved it, great for catching stripers and blues. Super smooth when reeling in. Great weight and durability.

LIsoundfish239
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best all around rod in my opinion.
7/23/2014

Customer review by HarnessB

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by HarnessB
by HarnessB

I have brought in sever big catfish in the 20 to 30 lbs range. I have the 5000 series, strung with 20 lb. string. I take a lot of kids fishing, that's why I chose the spinning reel. this is very user friendly. i can cast this reel with 20 lbs test line farther then i can my lew,s speedspool with 12 lb test. I will be buying more of these combos

HarnessB
Tazewell, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1/4/2015

Customer review by Trevor

5.0 stars 1/4/2015 by Trevor
by Trevor

Have several fierce models ranging from 4000-7000 very durable, easy to cast caught many species of fish wouldnt use anything else butt penn

Trevor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very nice rod&reel combo
3/8/2015

Customer review by cueroslim

5.0 stars 3/8/2015 by cueroslim
by cueroslim

I bought this rod because I love the way it felt. It's a very sturdy one piece rod and the grip on the spinning reel is very well thought out. When it comes to saltwater its a beast. Bull drum and the big uglies don't stand a chance against the Fierce 5000. This rod and reel combo has completely made me a Penn fan. A big step up from the Shakespeare Ugly Stick.

cueroslim
Houston TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great for big and small
4/24/2015

Customer review by Moonman

5.0 stars 4/24/2015 by Moonman
by Moonman

When I went to bass pro shop I got the 30 pound combo it seemed to be the best value since the reel is made up of all metal, I haven't caught anything bigger than 5 pounds yet but thats because I've been fishing at piers, with the 9 foot pole I can cast to anywhere I would desire. The only thing that annoy me is the difficulty taking the pole down, I have to grease the connection every time. And sometimes when casting the line gets caught on a certain part of the bail but over all great combo. This is not a light combo so intend to put it in a holder or get sore sholders.

Moonman
Florida, United States
Gender:Male
Great road
7/14/2015

Customer review by Pier king 54

5.0 stars 7/14/2015 by Pier king 54
by Pier king 54

I have had this rod for a year and have caught hedge fish off piers! Yesterday I beached a 100 pound tarpon on this rod with 20 pound test! You can do so with the right drag set up. The only complaint is that the reel needs to hold more line for what I'm doing. Over all great rod!

Pier king 54
Navarre, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Can't beat price, less as combo!
6/4/2014

Customer review by TotalFishing

4.0 stars 6/4/2014 by TotalFishing
by TotalFishing

The reel is nice on the eyes and works very well so far. The rod that it came with is another story; it broke on the first fish. Based on the break, it seems the rod was poor quality, what can one expect when the rod brought the price down?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TotalFishing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too heavy for me. Great combo.
9/1/2015

Customer review by Swampy

4.0 stars 9/1/2015 by Swampy
by Swampy

Great combo for the price. I returned it, too heavy for inshore fishing. I waiting for the 4000 model instead.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swampy
Would recommend to a friend? No
nice product
10/8/2014

Customer review by chi wei

4.0 stars 10/8/2014 by chi wei
by chi wei

i bought this for a friend and he so happy that i give it to him

chi wei
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reel is ok, hate the rod
7/26/2015

Customer review by Ts1206

2.0 stars 7/26/2015 by Ts1206
by Ts1206

The reel is decent but not happy with rod

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ts1206
Would recommend to a friend? Yes