Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 31 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Great Rig at an Awesome Price
11/7/2013

Customer review by AirForceDaddy

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by AirForceDaddy
by AirForceDaddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this rod/reel combo mainly for fishing the James River and Chesapeake Bay for Striper but also use it for catfish. It casts far and true and is sturdy enough for whatever fish I am fortunate enough to reel in. I use it for trolling, jigging, bait fishing, bottom fishing, hard baits, and top water lures. It has an adjustable drag that can be easily adjusted while reeling in the big one. This is a great, versatile combo package for my first saltwater pole and expect it to last for years to come.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AirForceDaddy
Hampton Roads, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tough and dependable little reel
12/9/2015

Customer review by Capt Ken

5.0 stars 12/9/2015 by Capt Ken
by Capt Ken
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought my first Penn Fierce just after they cam on the market. I loved my Penn Sargus 2000 so much that I wanted to buy another one. When I saw the Fierce, I decided to try the 2000 series to see how it preformed alongside the Sargus. Three years later, the Fierce and Sargus 200's are still catching lots of fish and performing flawlessly. Both of these tiny reels have caught Tarpon over 140#. The Sargus is 6-7 years old and the only repair made on was a new handle knob. BTW, I am a retired charter boat captain and an ex-member of the Florida Berkley Strike Team from 2006. I still fish several times per week, summer and winter. The same goes for the Penn Fierce.

Capt Ken
Crystal River, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice setup!!!!
12/28/2015

Customer review by Outcast

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Outcast
by Outcast
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this Penn Fierce combo for my son as a present. This is a fantastic deal on a closeout model. I would have picked one up for myself as well, but I had just purchased the reel from a retail store. You cannot beat this deal on a powerful and yet versatile combo.

Outcast
Tampa, Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Reel
12/20/2015

Customer review by Rparham

5.0 stars 12/20/2015 by Rparham
by Rparham
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I own a 4000 and 3000 Fierce and they are great reels, I have never had a problem with them and they are made to last. The oversized handle is perfect to crank on when fighting the big one. Drag is really good on these reels, but if you want to put a little more heat on the fish, spend the extra money on the Battle or Spinfisher. Penn Fierce is a great reel, especially for the price.

Rparham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Penn Fierce 3000 combo
12/22/2015

Customer review by Lefty

4.0 stars 12/22/2015 by Lefty
by Lefty
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought a 4000 Fierce combo last summer. Loved it but seemed a little heavy for inshore fishing all day. The 3000 seems the perfect size for inshore.

Lefty
Crystal Coast NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great combo set!
12/22/2015

Customer review by Layne

5.0 stars 12/22/2015 by Layne
by Layne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Awesome combo set, works great and the customer service was outstanding when I called to speak with a rep. My items shipped fast also.

Layne
Holden Beach, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price
12/19/2015

Customer review by Finaddict

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by Finaddict
by Finaddict
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good all around outfit.nice weight,good for light inshore

Finaddict
Connecticut, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/19/2015

Customer review by Claudete

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by Claudete
by Claudete
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought 2 combos three weeks ago and I am very satisfied.

Claudete
Palm Coast, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful for a 4000!
12/10/2015

Customer review by Bearded_fishing

5.0 stars 12/10/2015 by Bearded_fishing
by Bearded_fishing
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got mine spoiled with 30lb high vis yellow braid the day it came in the mail, the very next day had it at the local honey hole and landed a 34" redfish, thanks penn for making such a great product!

Bearded_fishing
Daphne, AL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MUST BUY
9/17/2013

Customer review by zhongguancun

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by zhongguancun
by zhongguancun
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Sturdy, good looking, and affordable price. The price of this combo is lower than the single reel, FRC6000. So I do not see any reason not to buy it. But be careful that this is 1-piece rod, not foldable. You cannot put it into a sedan trunk. But it can be easily put into sedan's seat area.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zhongguancun
san diego, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Deal on a Good Combo
12/8/2015

Customer review by Rudy2510

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Rudy2510
by Rudy2510
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased recently, fished for stripers and the combo worked as advertised. Landed over 15 stripers with this combo and have no complaints

Rudy2510
Manahawkin, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great fishing combo!
12/8/2015

Customer review by Freedome2

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Freedome2
by Freedome2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am I love with it!!! Nice combo... Penn 4000 fishing reel with Penn 7 feet fishing rod. Will definitely recommend it.

Freedome2
Orlando, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great combo
11/13/2013

Customer review by pirategeorge

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by pirategeorge
by pirategeorge
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

exactly as I was expecting, and very economical for a high quality combo. I would have preferred a two piece rod, but the quality is higher in one piece and couldn't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pirategeorge
Flowood, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pole and reel.
11/28/2015

Customer review by Charger78

5.0 stars 11/28/2015 by Charger78
by Charger78

Took it to Florida shark fishing. Worked great. love it.

Charger78
Summersville WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Penn plus
8/14/2015

Customer review by mrfidelity

5.0 stars 8/14/2015 by mrfidelity
by mrfidelity

Works great caught 2lb lg. mouth bass very smooth reeling need a little more practice to zero in on spots on lake but felt combo was a great deal on sale ,will be using for surf fishing in gulf later, may need longer rod but we shall see.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrfidelity
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Durable as all Penn products
10/5/2015

Customer review by Knotmyjob

5.0 stars 10/5/2015 by Knotmyjob
by Knotmyjob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this particular product for clients to use due to cost. Found durable and good quality. I use the battle and conquer for tournaments and will the clash. Just wish I could get on the pro purchase program.

Knotmyjob
Southport, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Penn FRC6000 CBO 7' Rod - -nice saltwater combo
10/22/2015

Customer review by FreddieFlintstone

4.0 stars 10/22/2015 by FreddieFlintstone
by FreddieFlintstone

I didn't know that this reel does not have a shift lever to disengage the anti-reverse. My fault for not checking before making my purchase. But since I'm a beginner fisherman I won't miss this feature, and the great sale price (about $60) would have convinced me to buy this combo anyways. I like the large reel size because it holds a lot of line and retrieves plenty of line with each crank of the handle. This is a great feature because previously I had been using some old spinning reels that I had to crank twice as much to get them to retrieve the same length of line. It gets old cranking so much every time you cast and retrieve, so this real if far better in this respect! I suppose that on paper the Penn Fierce 6000 is the correct reel to match with the medium heavy action rod that comes in this combo. But for my fishing excursions which are mostly from piers along the Gulf Coast of Mississippi, I would have been just as happy (or happier) with a medium action rod. This is my current opinion probably because I have not caught any 'big fish' yet, and lighter action rods are generally better for the smallish fish (white trout, croakers, etc.) I've been catching lately. Buy hey, if I take this combo out into deeper water on my friend's boat some day, I'll probably be glad I got the medium heavy rod ... or I might even wish for a heavy or extra heavy rod if I hook up a big fish! All in all I an very happy with this combo so far. The reel is very smooth. The anti-reverse is 100% and allows absolutely no backward reeling. The drag works great. And apparently all it takes to keep a Penn saltwater reel like this working for a good long time is a freshwater rinse after each trip, then let it air dry overnight, and hit it with a bit of WD-40 the next day when it is dry. And the occasional disassembly, cleaning and re-greasing of course. One issue you may want to note. The first two times I rinsed this reel with freshwater I left the rod standing up against the side of my house to dry. This allowed some water to become trapped under the drag knob on the top of the reel. I discovered this when I picked up the combo the next day and noticed water run out of this location. So now I hang the rod and reel horizontally after rinsing it. This seems to allow the water to drain out of the top of the reel, which theoretically should help to prevent corrosion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FreddieFlintstone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great rod reel combo
5/27/2014

Customer review by pennFisherman

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by pennFisherman
by pennFisherman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Rod is very strong. reel is smooth, has good drag. Have 40# braid on mine and already caught a bunch of sharks with it. Highly recommended. This is my second Penn Fierce, first one is the 8000. Penn is the way to go

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pennFisherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
6/13/2014

Customer review by Dragon1123

5.0 stars 6/13/2014 by Dragon1123
by Dragon1123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dragon1123
Brownsville, tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too heavy for me. Great combo.
9/1/2015

Customer review by Swampy

4.0 stars 9/1/2015 by Swampy
by Swampy

Great combo for the price. I returned it, too heavy for inshore fishing. I waiting for the 4000 model instead.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swampy
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews