Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

8 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

8 reviews | 5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-8 of 8 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

American designed Asian import
4/11/2013

Customer review by atlantictrader

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by atlantictrader
by atlantictrader

Never thought of Penn outside of reels and boat rods. You won't find the Squadron series on the Penn website because these rods are made by Penn for WalMart. When I picked up this rod in the store, I immediately felt it was the action I was looking for. More expensive name brand rods that state Med/fast action are actually too Heavy/Slow-Mod or Lt.-Med/moderate. After fishing with this rod, it's perfectly suited for school stripers using surface lures or jigs with 12-15 lb. test. Penn and WalMart did a good job creating such a quality rod at a good value.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
atlantictrader
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Impressive
8/5/2013

Customer review by SpotChaser

5.0 stars 8/5/2013 by SpotChaser
by SpotChaser

I recommend this rod to inshore fishers. Very sensitive. Nice length. Casts fine. And is reliable when fighting good sized inshore species. I fished this rod in a tournament this passed weekend And it performed very well. I had been buying more expensive Abu Garcia rods and BPS tournament rods. The value and performance of this rod matches and is better than those more expensive rods. I own 2 of these rods both mounted with Shimano Spheros 4000F reels. Im ordering another Spheros 4000FA reel and will mount it on this rod. For the price you can not beat this rod. My guess is that Penn took extra rods from one of their main line, higher priced rods, and made a deal with Wal-Mart. And these are higher priced rods renamed Squadron. But that is only a guess.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpotChaser
Amelia Island FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1/2/2013

Customer review by F1D2

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by F1D2
by F1D2

Good rod for the price and very sensitive. The action seems to be heavier than marked. Medium Heavy is like a Heavy and Medium is like a Medium Heavy to me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
F1D2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality Rod at a Reasonable Price
6/14/2014

Customer review by Pflueger

5.0 stars 6/14/2014 by Pflueger
by Pflueger

The Penn Squadron Medium action rod is an awesome addition to my fishing arsenal. The rod is well balanced and the contoured cork handle is excellent quality. I agree with another reviewer that the medium action is more like a medium heavy, but thats what i wanted. I paired it with a Pflueger Presidential 6940. would highly recommend this rod.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pflueger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent rod for In-shore fishing
10/12/2014

Customer review by TampaFritoBandito

5.0 stars 10/12/2014 by TampaFritoBandito
by TampaFritoBandito

I like this rod with the Shimano Socorro 4000 Saltwater Reel. I use 20lb braid line and it works out great. I have yet to have a problem and have 4 on the boat.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TampaFritoBandito
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Rod !
11/6/2014

Customer review by Weekend trout fisher

5.0 stars 11/6/2014 by Weekend trout fisher
by Weekend trout fisher

Thought I would try a PENN, and this is one great rod for the money ! I bought the extra lite 7' model for trout and the Tiger trout I caught today were a lot of fun with this rod. I will be buying more PENN. it works. Thanks PENN for a great rod.

Weekend trout fisher
Utah, United States
Gender:Male
Excellent Rod
12/18/2014

Customer review by JETaylor

5.0 stars 12/18/2014 by JETaylor
by JETaylor

This is my second Squadron rod. I had to replace both my Penn Battle II rods. The first one broke and the second rods guide cracked and broke. Both broke after the second time out fishing with them. The squadron rods have a great feel and the 7ft fast action rods have already earned some nice catches of Flounder and Speckled Trout. I sure hope we don't have any issues with the rod guides!!!

JETaylor
Varnamtown, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good rod
8/19/2015

Customer review by Jojisansu

5.0 stars 8/19/2015 by Jojisansu
by Jojisansu

Already caught 5 striped bass and lots of surf perch

Jojisansu
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.