Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

29 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

29 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 29 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Awesome rod at a great price!
7/1/2016

Customer review by EricChin

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by EricChin
by EricChin

I bought this rod primarily for throwing 1 oz Carolina rigs with live bait. It's perfect for redfish, I've caught quite a few of them on this rod. Along with some nice flounder and a couple giant rays. I have it paired up with a daiwa sweepfire 4000, and 40lb powerpro braid. ( a heck of a reel for the price!) In my opinion, it has the perfect action for reds..Not too limber, which makes for a nice hookset.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EricChin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
American designed Asian import
4/11/2013

Customer review by atlantictrader

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by atlantictrader
by atlantictrader

Never thought of Penn outside of reels and boat rods. You won't find the Squadron series on the Penn website because these rods are made by Penn for WalMart. When I picked up this rod in the store, I immediately felt it was the action I was looking for. More expensive name brand rods that state Med/fast action are actually too Heavy/Slow-Mod or Lt.-Med/moderate. After fishing with this rod, it's perfectly suited for school stripers using surface lures or jigs with 12-15 lb. test. Penn and WalMart did a good job creating such a quality rod at a good value.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
atlantictrader
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Impressive
8/5/2013

Customer review by SpotChaser

5.0 stars 8/5/2013 by SpotChaser
by SpotChaser

I recommend this rod to inshore fishers. Very sensitive. Nice length. Casts fine. And is reliable when fighting good sized inshore species. I fished this rod in a tournament this passed weekend And it performed very well. I had been buying more expensive Abu Garcia rods and BPS tournament rods. The value and performance of this rod matches and is better than those more expensive rods. I own 2 of these rods both mounted with Shimano Spheros 4000F reels. Im ordering another Spheros 4000FA reel and will mount it on this rod. For the price you can not beat this rod. My guess is that Penn took extra rods from one of their main line, higher priced rods, and made a deal with Wal-Mart. And these are higher priced rods renamed Squadron. But that is only a guess.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpotChaser
Amelia Island FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Penn spinning rod
3/5/2017

Customer review by Bigtimecamper

4.0 stars 3/5/2017 by Bigtimecamper
by Bigtimecamper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product. Same blank as their $100 rods

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigtimecamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality Rod at a Reasonable Price
6/14/2014

Customer review by Pflueger

5.0 stars 6/14/2014 by Pflueger
by Pflueger
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Penn Squadron Medium action rod is an awesome addition to my fishing arsenal. The rod is well balanced and the contoured cork handle is excellent quality. I agree with another reviewer that the medium action is more like a medium heavy, but thats what i wanted. I paired it with a Pflueger Presidential 6940. would highly recommend this rod.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pflueger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/2/2013

Customer review by F1D2

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by F1D2
by F1D2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good rod for the price and very sensitive. The action seems to be heavier than marked. Medium Heavy is like a Heavy and Medium is like a Medium Heavy to me.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
F1D2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Rod
1/10/2017

Customer review by penn fisher97

5.0 stars 1/10/2017 by penn fisher97
by penn fisher97

My brother got me this rod for fishing on the boat but unfortunately we sold the boat before I got to use it me and my buddies all got together and went to the pier one day and I have this rod pair up with a 3000 peen battle 2 and have had no problems with it since that day this is my main Spanish rod on the pier Great rod thanks penn

penn fisher97
Gender:Male
guides broke rings fell out
1/12/2017

Customer review by anovelli

1.0 stars 1/12/2017 by anovelli
by anovelli

bought penn reels and rod combos salt water safe but the squadren rod medium 7 ft. guides broke rubber fell out. man at bait and tackle shop near me he had new rods the guides were bad when received in his store. would not recommend

anovelli
flordia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
excellent rod for In-shore fishing
10/12/2014

Customer review by TampaFritoBandito

5.0 stars 10/12/2014 by TampaFritoBandito
by TampaFritoBandito
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like this rod with the Shimano Socorro 4000 Saltwater Reel. I use 20lb braid line and it works out great. I have yet to have a problem and have 4 on the boat.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TampaFritoBandito
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Value, value, value
2/25/2016

Customer review by Justtryingtocatchafish

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Justtryingtocatchafish
by Justtryingtocatchafish

I now own three of these rods. Initially, I found one in a clearance bin and decided to grab it. I had no idea that I paid the actual regular price when I purchased the rod. It had been placed in the bin by mistake or by another customer, who knows. When I looked at the price I felt like I was getting a good deal, so I bought it. This is one of the best values on the market. They punch well above their weight class and are very durable. I have three kids and these take a beating but I have never had an issue with a single one. I like having these rods in my everyday arsenal despite owning several higher priced rods. Pair this rod with a decent reel and have fun. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Justtryingtocatchafish
Stamford, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Great value !
9/19/2016

Customer review by Jim Dee

5.0 stars 9/19/2016 by Jim Dee
by Jim Dee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great for light Spinning applications. I will be using this rod for Drop Shoting in freshwater.

Jim Dee
Feasterville-Trevose, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price
9/7/2016

Customer review by V Rok

5.0 stars 9/7/2016 by V Rok
by V Rok
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great action rod for snapper blues up here in the northeast. Paired up with Penn Pursuit II 3000 for inexpensive and quality in shore set up.

V Rok
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Purchase
8/23/2016

Customer review by Dryfire55

5.0 stars 8/23/2016 by Dryfire55
by Dryfire55
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this rod and put a Penn Battle 3000 on it. Rod and reel combo is very well balance and I am going to use it for light saltwater and bass fishing.

Dryfire55
Halethorpe, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great rod, and great price
8/26/2016

Customer review by gdor3211

5.0 stars 8/26/2016 by gdor3211
by gdor3211
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have this in a 7ft., handles great, the 7'6" handled just as good.

gdor3211
San Antonio, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Rod For The Money
6/25/2016

Customer review by GravyGoodness

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by GravyGoodness
by GravyGoodness

Grabbed one in a hurry for my new Clash 3000. Been pleased with it, was going to upgrade to a "higher end" rod for that reel, but it does the job just fine. Did not expect an action that good on an entry level rod. Definitely worth a look, especially considering I'm not particularly a fan of Penn rods, even though I love their reels. Very impressed.

GravyGoodness
Southern Outer Banks, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great feeling in hand
8/5/2016

Customer review by SoxFan77

5.0 stars 8/5/2016 by SoxFan77
by SoxFan77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This rod is great, light and is a perfect all around rod for inshore fishing.

SoxFan77
Holly Ridge, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great rod
7/24/2016

Customer review by Jollymon

5.0 stars 7/24/2016 by Jollymon
by Jollymon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very impressed with this rod, I'm going to use it to throw plugs for blue's and Spanish .

Jollymon
WV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid blank!!!
2/6/2016

Customer review by Fountainfishes

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by Fountainfishes
by Fountainfishes

I've had this rod well over a year now paired up to a 2000 pen fierce and I personally believe that's the best performing combo for that price range. The guides are cheap, but I knew that prior to the purchase, this doesn't bother me because I like to improve guides as I swap them out, so I've only improved my squadron. Great rod for the beginner, comfortable grip, great backbone and quick response as well as sensitivity. Not biased just lots of experience [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Fountainfishes
Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
great feel - very fast action-
6/28/2016

Customer review by johnnyboy27

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by johnnyboy27
by johnnyboy27
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bought the pole to go with my Spinfisher 5500 - its a perfect match

johnnyboy27
Long Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great lure action!!!
2/26/2016

Customer review by Snookfisher16

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Snookfisher16
by Snookfisher16

I own 2 of these rods I've had one for almost 2 years and the other for about a year. They are amazing rods I love the action it gives lures. And when you set the hook it's perfect the rod isn't to flexible so you always get the perfect hook set! I've caught many snook ,reds and tarpon and it did fantastic! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Snookfisher16
Bradenton, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews