Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

20 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

20 reviews | 5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 20 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Awesome rod at a great price!
7/1/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this rod primarily for throwing 1 oz Carolina rigs with live bait. It's perfect for redfish, I've caught quite a few of them on this rod. Along with some nice flounder and a couple giant rays. I have it paired up with a daiwa sweepfire 4000, and 40lb powerpro braid. ( a heck of a reel for the price!) In my opinion, it has the perfect action for reds..Not too limber, which makes for a nice hookset.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Rod For The Money
6/25/2016

Customer review by GravyGoodness

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by GravyGoodness
by GravyGoodness

Grabbed one in a hurry for my new Clash 3000. Been pleased with it, was going to upgrade to a "higher end" rod for that reel, but it does the job just fine. Did not expect an action that good on an entry level rod. Definitely worth a look, especially considering I'm not particularly a fan of Penn rods, even though I love their reels. Very impressed.

GravyGoodness
Southern Outer Banks, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great feel - very fast action-
6/28/2016

Customer review by johnnyboy27

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by johnnyboy27
by johnnyboy27
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bought the pole to go with my Spinfisher 5500 - its a perfect match

johnnyboy27
Long Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Impressive
8/5/2013

Customer review by SpotChaser

5.0 stars 8/5/2013 by SpotChaser
by SpotChaser

I recommend this rod to inshore fishers. Very sensitive. Nice length. Casts fine. And is reliable when fighting good sized inshore species. I fished this rod in a tournament this passed weekend And it performed very well. I had been buying more expensive Abu Garcia rods and BPS tournament rods. The value and performance of this rod matches and is better than those more expensive rods. I own 2 of these rods both mounted with Shimano Spheros 4000F reels. Im ordering another Spheros 4000FA reel and will mount it on this rod. For the price you can not beat this rod. My guess is that Penn took extra rods from one of their main line, higher priced rods, and made a deal with Wal-Mart. And these are higher priced rods renamed Squadron. But that is only a guess.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpotChaser
Amelia Island FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
American designed Asian import
4/11/2013

Customer review by atlantictrader

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by atlantictrader
by atlantictrader

Never thought of Penn outside of reels and boat rods. You won't find the Squadron series on the Penn website because these rods are made by Penn for WalMart. When I picked up this rod in the store, I immediately felt it was the action I was looking for. More expensive name brand rods that state Med/fast action are actually too Heavy/Slow-Mod or Lt.-Med/moderate. After fishing with this rod, it's perfectly suited for school stripers using surface lures or jigs with 12-15 lb. test. Penn and WalMart did a good job creating such a quality rod at a good value.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
atlantictrader
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Value, value, value
2/25/2016

Customer review by Justtryingtocatchafish

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Justtryingtocatchafish
by Justtryingtocatchafish

I now own three of these rods. Initially, I found one in a clearance bin and decided to grab it. I had no idea that I paid the actual regular price when I purchased the rod. It had been placed in the bin by mistake or by another customer, who knows. When I looked at the price I felt like I was getting a good deal, so I bought it. This is one of the best values on the market. They punch well above their weight class and are very durable. I have three kids and these take a beating but I have never had an issue with a single one. I like having these rods in my everyday arsenal despite owning several higher priced rods. Pair this rod with a decent reel and have fun.

Justtryingtocatchafish
Stamford, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Quality Rod at a Reasonable Price
6/14/2014

Customer review by Pflueger

5.0 stars 6/14/2014 by Pflueger
by Pflueger
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Penn Squadron Medium action rod is an awesome addition to my fishing arsenal. The rod is well balanced and the contoured cork handle is excellent quality. I agree with another reviewer that the medium action is more like a medium heavy, but thats what i wanted. I paired it with a Pflueger Presidential 6940. would highly recommend this rod.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pflueger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/2/2013

Customer review by F1D2

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by F1D2
by F1D2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good rod for the price and very sensitive. The action seems to be heavier than marked. Medium Heavy is like a Heavy and Medium is like a Medium Heavy to me.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
F1D2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great lure action!!!
2/26/2016

Customer review by Snookfisher16

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Snookfisher16
by Snookfisher16

I own 2 of these rods I've had one for almost 2 years and the other for about a year. They are amazing rods I love the action it gives lures. And when you set the hook it's perfect the rod isn't to flexible so you always get the perfect hook set! I've caught many snook ,reds and tarpon and it did fantastic!

Snookfisher16
Bradenton, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Great reasonably priced rod for redfish and trout
2/24/2016

Customer review by RSnoles45

5.0 stars 2/24/2016 by RSnoles45
by RSnoles45
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are pleasantly empressed with the distance we are getting casting these rods with light jigs. I purchased a bait caster and two spinning rods with different actions so I could see which worked better and they all exceeded my expectations. We also tried the new spider wire and wow does it cast smooth!

RSnoles45
Jacksonville, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid blank!!!
2/6/2016

Customer review by Fountainfishes

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by Fountainfishes
by Fountainfishes

I've had this rod well over a year now paired up to a 2000 pen fierce and I personally believe that's the best performing combo for that price range. The guides are cheap, but I knew that prior to the purchase, this doesn't bother me because I like to improve guides as I swap them out, so I've only improved my squadron. Great rod for the beginner, comfortable grip, great backbone and quick response as well as sensitivity. Not biased just lots of experience

Fountainfishes
Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Great Rod!
2/25/2016

Customer review by JS14

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by JS14
by JS14

Purchased this rod mainly for its value, and because it's PENN. Paired with a Battle II 4000 spinning reel. Great setup for light tackle. Rod action is excellent.

JS14
Miami, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
best rod best price
2/19/2016

Customer review by tannerglass52

5.0 stars 2/19/2016 by tannerglass52
by tannerglass52

I bought this rod a year ago on and it's still working better then I could ever ask for. They eyes are strong and the rod shows the slightest nibble but can handle everything from little snapper to good size sharks. Amazing rod planing on buying another one soon

tannerglass52
Vero Beach, FL, United States
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Favorite rod
2/28/2016

Customer review by gavinwunder

5.0 stars 2/28/2016 by gavinwunder
by gavinwunder

This rod will forever be my favorite rod, love it!

gavinwunder
Sebastian, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
SQDIN 1017S70
2/4/2016

Customer review by GlennG

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by GlennG
by GlennG

Got this rod a couple of months ago. 7' xtra fast action paired with a 500 reel is great for Drum fishing. I've caught several fish 29"- 36" on this rod.

GlennG
Wilmington, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
excellent rod for In-shore fishing
10/12/2014

Customer review by TampaFritoBandito

5.0 stars 10/12/2014 by TampaFritoBandito
by TampaFritoBandito
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like this rod with the Shimano Socorro 4000 Saltwater Reel. I use 20lb braid line and it works out great. I have yet to have a problem and have 4 on the boat.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TampaFritoBandito
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Rod for inshore
9/4/2015

Customer review by Capt Travis

5.0 stars 9/4/2015 by Capt Travis
by Capt Travis
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I fish with all types of fisherman. Beginners to hardcore. These rods hold up to everyday use and handle the abuse as used on a guide boat.

Capt Travis
Biloxi, MS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good rod
8/19/2015

Customer review by Jojisansu

5.0 stars 8/19/2015 by Jojisansu
by Jojisansu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Already caught 5 striped bass and lots of surf perch

Jojisansu
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Rod
12/18/2014

Customer review by JETaylor

5.0 stars 12/18/2014 by JETaylor
by JETaylor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second Squadron rod. I had to replace both my Penn Battle II rods. The first one broke and the second rods guide cracked and broke. Both broke after the second time out fishing with them. The squadron rods have a great feel and the 7ft fast action rods have already earned some nice catches of Flounder and Speckled Trout. I sure hope we don't have any issues with the rod guides!!!

JETaylor
Varnamtown, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Rod !
11/6/2014

Customer review by Weekend trout fisher

5.0 stars 11/6/2014 by Weekend trout fisher
by Weekend trout fisher

Thought I would try a PENN, and this is one great rod for the money ! I bought the extra lite 7' model for trout and the Tiger trout I caught today were a lot of fun with this rod. I will be buying more PENN. it works. Thanks PENN for a great rod.

Weekend trout fisher
Utah, United States
Gender:Male