Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.8out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 | 16 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-16 of 16 reviews
1-16 of 16 reviews
Would give it 5 stars but....
12/14/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Overall, this is a great reel for the money. It has more than enough back end to handle what you are hoping to catch. The one drawback is that it does not offer a switch that disables the reel lock and allows the reel to free spin, or manually unspool line with the handle. In order to let off more line, you have to flip the bail. I like a bit more control, but again, for the price, I'll live with this small annoyance. The other thing is that spooling with braid, you may want to put a mono backer on it to fill up some of the spool first then tie it to your braid since the spool is larger than you need for that type of line. In short, for under $20, this is a good buy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great so far
9/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Not bad so far only had it out 2 times
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great buy
9/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this reel with the expectation of using for a short while until i could find something better. Well needless to say this reel blew me away extremely smooth casting, very easy to reel, very high drag can handle about anything other than heavy saltwater fishing. ive been using it to catfish with great results. i will be buying another when i go to get my next catfishing pole. A must buy for people looking for a heavy 60 size reel.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great reel for the money.
2/15/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this reel to use on a trip to Florida, planned on using it in the surf one week and throwing it away. Needless to say, that was three trips ago. Using it on a 12' surf rod for bluefish, pompano and snapper. Works really well, cost $25. How can I complain. Drag will handle saltwater fish and is pretty smooth. I figured the corrosion would eat it up but I cleaned and oiled it after the trip and its still working fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This fishing reel is the best for all round usage,T have caught 65.2 pound cobia and tons of grouper,snaper,flounder,jack crevalle,amber jack,blue runner,roster fish, striper,big cats,and some sharks.Great for pier,dock,and boat fishing.I put 60 pound braded line and I use a ugly stik 12' rod.But this is the best for the price and i think that they could sell this reel for at least $60 because of the preformance
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Smooth, sleek, good price
9/25/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The reel is very nice. The drag is smooth the reel itself looks good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great rod for the price
3/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Definitely worth the $30 bucks...reeled em in no prob...perfect delta stripper/sturgeon rod and it holds 300 yds. Of 20 lb test...they're not getting away
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good construction, smooth and easy to handle.
2/25/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I liked how it was made. Heavy duty. It is very smooth. My brother saw it and said he is buying two of them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very solid for the price
3/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought one because it was cheap, and I rarely use my surf rods. Didn't take long before I bought 2 more for my other surf rods. Caught everything from reddish to sheepshead to small sharks in the 2-4' range and it's handled everything well. Just wish I could find some carbon drag washers for it, the felt drag gets a little sticky after a while.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No anti-reverse selector switch!
5/15/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
There is no anti-reverse selector switch 'located on the bottom of the reel' as stated in its manual. I'm very disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best reel for the price
11/30/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had one that was used before I bought my new reel same kind it works perfectly fine I tell in a 33 lbs blue catfish and 25 and a 20 like knife cutting threw butter ima buy two more today
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1 season reel
3/27/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wish I had read the review about the one season reel. I bought one of these last year, I used it in tidal water, not really salt, but not fresh. I loved it, worked great, smooth. rinsed off and put it away for the winter. I just got it out for my first fishing trip this spring. the reel is rotted, the handle fell off, it looks like its 100 years old, looks to be made from pot metal. had to use the old trusty Walmart special.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ok item
10/1/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
its not bad for the price but if you are looking to fight something bigger than 15 inch invest in something better
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No Spare Spool
6/22/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Don't buy if you are expecting a spare spool as it doesn't come with one...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1 season reel
3/17/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i bought this reel in the spring of 2011. it was used all that summer and into the fall. the first trip out this spring,the reel broke. if you want a reel that will work only for one season, then this is the reel for you
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Optix Size 60 Spinning Reel
3/16/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great fishing reel, smooth and not expensive. but there is no spare reel
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641744, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-