Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-15 of 15 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Would give it 5 stars but....
12/14/2016

Customer review by JohnH

4.0 stars 12/14/2016 by JohnH
by JohnH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall, this is a great reel for the money. It has more than enough back end to handle what you are hoping to catch. The one drawback is that it does not offer a switch that disables the reel lock and allows the reel to free spin, or manually unspool line with the handle. In order to let off more line, you have to flip the bail. I like a bit more control, but again, for the price, I'll live with this small annoyance. The other thing is that spooling with braid, you may want to put a mono backer on it to fill up some of the spool first then tie it to your braid since the spool is larger than you need for that type of line. In short, for under $20, this is a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy
9/10/2011

Customer review by SVDJBPSL

5.0 stars 9/10/2011 by SVDJBPSL
by SVDJBPSL

I bought this reel with the expectation of using for a short while until i could find something better. Well needless to say this reel blew me away extremely smooth casting, very easy to reel, very high drag can handle about anything other than heavy saltwater fishing. ive been using it to catfish with great results. i will be buying another when i go to get my next catfishing pole. A must buy for people looking for a heavy 60 size reel.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SVDJBPSL
Norfolk Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Great reel for the money.
2/15/2012

Customer review by ohiobassfisherman

4.0 stars 2/15/2012 by ohiobassfisherman
by ohiobassfisherman

Bought this reel to use on a trip to Florida, planned on using it in the surf one week and throwing it away. Needless to say, that was three trips ago. Using it on a 12' surf rod for bluefish, pompano and snapper. Works really well, cost $25. How can I complain. Drag will handle saltwater fish and is pretty smooth. I figured the corrosion would eat it up but I cleaned and oiled it after the trip and its still working fine.

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohiobassfisherman
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
3/17/2012

Customer review by coolman3456

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by coolman3456
by coolman3456

This fishing reel is the best for all round usage,T have caught 65.2 pound cobia and tons of grouper,snaper,flounder,jack crevalle,amber jack,blue runner,roster fish, striper,big cats,and some sharks.Great for pier,dock,and boat fishing.I put 60 pound braded line and I use a ugly stik 12' rod.But this is the best for the price and i think that they could sell this reel for at least $60 because of the preformance

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coolman3456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Age:18 - 24
great rod for the price
3/25/2013

Customer review by linx707

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by linx707
by linx707
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Definitely worth the $30 bucks...reeled em in no prob...perfect delta stripper/sturgeon rod and it holds 300 yds. Of 20 lb test...they're not getting away

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
linx707
Sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good construction, smooth and easy to handle.
2/25/2016

Customer review by Aldar

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Aldar
by Aldar

I liked how it was made. Heavy duty. It is very smooth. My brother saw it and said he is buying two of them.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aldar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smooth, sleek, good price
9/25/2015

Customer review by Mike

5.0 stars 9/25/2015 by Mike
by Mike

The reel is very nice. The drag is smooth the reel itself looks good.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very solid for the price
3/2/2017

Customer review by JJVV

5.0 stars 3/2/2017 by JJVV
by JJVV

Bought one because it was cheap, and I rarely use my surf rods. Didn't take long before I bought 2 more for my other surf rods. Caught everything from reddish to sheepshead to small sharks in the 2-4' range and it's handled everything well. Just wish I could find some carbon drag washers for it, the felt drag gets a little sticky after a while.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JJVV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No anti-reverse selector switch!
5/15/2016

Customer review by loannb

1.0 stars 5/15/2016 by loannb
by loannb

There is no anti-reverse selector switch 'located on the bottom of the reel' as stated in its manual. I'm very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loannb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best reel for the price
11/30/2015

Customer review by Bosshawgz

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by Bosshawgz
by Bosshawgz

I had one that was used before I bought my new reel same kind it works perfectly fine I tell in a 33 lbs blue catfish and 25 and a 20 like knife cutting threw butter ima buy two more today

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bosshawgz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ok item
10/1/2016

Customer review by al7aris

3.0 stars 10/1/2016 by al7aris
by al7aris
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

its not bad for the price but if you are looking to fight something bigger than 15 inch invest in something better

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
al7aris
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1 season reel
3/27/2016

Customer review by CaptCamperBob

1.0 stars 3/27/2016 by CaptCamperBob
by CaptCamperBob

I wish I had read the review about the one season reel. I bought one of these last year, I used it in tidal water, not really salt, but not fresh. I loved it, worked great, smooth. rinsed off and put it away for the winter. I just got it out for my first fishing trip this spring. the reel is rotted, the handle fell off, it looks like its 100 years old, looks to be made from pot metal. had to use the old trusty Walmart special.

Was this review helpful? (7) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptCamperBob
Would recommend to a friend? No
No Spare Spool
6/22/2015

Customer review by Nothappy

2.0 stars 6/22/2015 by Nothappy
by Nothappy

Don't buy if you are expecting a spare spool as it doesn't come with one...

Was this review helpful? (7) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nothappy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Optix Size 60 Spinning Reel
3/16/2016

Customer review by fjonn48

4.0 stars 3/16/2016 by fjonn48
by fjonn48

Great fishing reel, smooth and not expensive. but there is no spare reel

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fjonn48
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1 season reel
3/17/2012

Customer review by deprived5650

2.0 stars 3/17/2012 by deprived5650
by deprived5650

i bought this reel in the spring of 2011. it was used all that summer and into the fall. the first trip out this spring,the reel broke. if you want a reel that will work only for one season, then this is the reel for you

Was this review helpful? (8) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deprived5650
texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:11 - 12 months