Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 282 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

282 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

282 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
136
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
18
1 stars
26
1-20 of 252 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 252 total reviews
1-20 of 252 reviews
Gets the Job Done.
7/21/2011

Customer review by gradchick12

4.0 stars 7/21/2011 by gradchick12
by gradchick12

I bought this laptop to replace my HP (cost $900). My first two laptops were as well toshibas and they were great, then i decided to replace them with an HP because of i so thought the features would be better, worst thing i could of done. So i have had this toshiba (which i paid $440 but because i added a wireless canon printer) laptop for two weeks already, it runs smooth and the internet speed is alot better than my HP, i don't know why people say its slow and it shuts down slow it might of just been that computer or they have bad internet connection, overall this computer is great i use it for college work and it is light weight. I would reccomend it to anyone who wants a computer and is in college. its cheap and gets the job done.

Was this review helpful? (275) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gradchick12
Edinburg, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop for it's price
10/6/2011

Customer review by MichaelYammer

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by MichaelYammer
by MichaelYammer

I was considering buying a used laptop, but then I saw this machine at Walmart. I wasn't expecting to by a computer at Walmart that day, but I had saved just up just over 300 dollars for a used one I had been eyeing up online. I decided to take a chance and get it, I could always return it, right? I have been using computers for over 20 years, and I am VERY happy with my new laptop. You can't beat this machine for the price, I am amazed at how well to runs. It will sometimes lag under heavy usage, so don't plan on using it for heavy gaming. However, if you want a solid machine for internet and media usage, I'd advise you to look into the Satellite. The only two drawbacks it has are the CPU is a little under-powered for high-end gaming (I am a "classic" gamer so that isn't a huge one to me) and it only has USB 2 rather then the newer and much faster USB 3 ports. The built-in webcam is more then acceptable and has very good performance for use with Skype. The speakers are fairly good, and can be adjusted for usage in different areas by software. You can always get a set of desktop speakers to plug into the side jack if you want better. The video is very good, the screen is a good size and very clear. Again, if you want better, you can always hook up an external monitor for watching DVDs and such. The computer has no HDMI or S-video port, but if you are buying a laptop within this price range, chances are you aren't buying high-end monitors anyways. The Wireless card works just fine, it seems to have normal range and performance. I had no problems connecting to my Netgear router. If you haven't used Windows 7 before, you might be surprised at it's improved usability. It is a huge improvement over XP. The hard drive isn't huge, but it is more then large enough for to store you favorite songs and photos along with a good amount of movies. Battery life is good, even on the "high performance" setting you should have over 3 hours of usage. Setting it to "balanced" or "power-saver" might give you up to 6. This machine is a 64-bit system, so it can run most resent programs without trouble. I have had almost no problems running older 32-bit programs, those that I did seemed to be the program rather then the laptop. Toshiba has also included some useful programs, such as the Bulletin Board. It's a program that runs in the background and has a little push-pin icon on the taskbar. Open the Bulletin Board for that icon, and it gives you a short tutorial on it's usage. It basically acts as a sort of organizer where you can add "to do" list, virtual post-it notes, and shortcuts to your preferred programs and files. All-in-all, this is an excellent laptop for a student or anyone needing a low-priced but usable PC.

Was this review helpful? (124) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MichaelYammer
Trenton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Opposites Agree: Great Buy
8/4/2011

Customer review by Consumerologists

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by Consumerologists
by Consumerologists

Mr & Mrs Opposite generally agree they each have their own way of getting things done. But sharing a laptop was not a matter of preference or opinion: Mr O is a novice computer user while Mrs O is an expert user. He wants graphics, ease of using, ability to use all the laptop's functions without needing to read how to do it or ask a person. He doesn't type but knows he wants the PC to do everything it said it can for the money and to work for years. Mr O bought this Toshiba laptop for $348 with a cable modem and wireless router to connect to the web for Mrs O's birthday. He purchased it alone knowing if she came along they would spend a week before she gave a yes or no. Mrs O has used computers since it was introduced for businesses by IBM and knows how computers work therefore she can't help but expect it to be accurate, fast, highly dependable, durable, and able to handle all the demands she commands without waiting. Mr O gave it to her as a gift to share and waited for her to hook it up and set up the programs however she saw fit; took Mrs O less than an hour to complete. She has a Dell Windows 7 Desktop with a all-in-one-printer, a VOIP phone, fax machine, and streams movies to their home TV. Mrs O said it was a solid PC laptop for its cost and had no complaints with its usability or speed. Mr O said he accesses its programs and features just fine and with all the privacy he likes of a laptop. Two very different adult users with one satisfied purchase.

Was this review helpful? (135) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Consumerologists
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!
7/7/2011

Customer review by armywife2011

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by armywife2011
by armywife2011

I just bought this yesterday and love this laptop! Its light weight and great for college work. Not for gamers though! I would so recommend it to others who are in college and need a light laptop and on the go laptop!

Was this review helpful? (100) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
armywife2011
Hinesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good computer
7/18/2011

Customer review by ToKiiNz

4.0 stars 7/18/2011 by ToKiiNz
by ToKiiNz

its a good computer i do all my video editing on this so its great with cinema 4d and Photoshop cs5 and Microsoft office and sony vegas pro its just great

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ToKiiNz
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop
9/23/2011

Customer review by ComputerTechSavy

5.0 stars 9/23/2011 by ComputerTechSavy
by ComputerTechSavy

I repair laptops and computers for a living,from replacing motherboards repairing dc jacks and replace small items on motherboard with a magnify glass.This laptop is light and works great.Just disable tapping for mouse takes care of sensitive item.Great deal for the money.The windows 7 cost just as much as this laptop if purchased from microsoft.Thats a deal itself,even if it last a year,you got your money worth.Toshiba is top of the line of laptops.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComputerTechSavy
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good computer
8/8/2011

Customer review by pudgeismybaby

5.0 stars 8/8/2011 by pudgeismybaby
by pudgeismybaby

I love it. A lot of people have problems with it freezing and i've had mine for a month and its fine. the battery life is amazing the only complaint I have is that the track pad is a little sensitive and the clicker buttons are a little hard to work but other than that its really good :)

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pudgeismybaby
Newark,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great computer for a student
8/7/2011

Customer review by Gigi304

4.0 stars 8/7/2011 by Gigi304
by Gigi304

I had to take a compaq back because of technical problems, and I got this laptop instead. It has everything that I need on it for my schooling and I have had no problems WHATSOEVER with freezing or crashing like the compaq did. I have had to problems with this laptop and I think it is great for at home use and for student use.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gigi304
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EWWW
7/1/2011

Customer review by KDSANDJES

1.0 stars 7/1/2011 by KDSANDJES
by KDSANDJES

This was my second Toshiba and I figured it would run and perform like my old one, well not so much. I only had this a week and a half before I took it back to the store! Three times it totally jammed up and I had a horrible time shutting it down, I did not think a brand new laptop should freeze the way this one did and that did not sit real well with me. I am now down with this brand, my next one will be a HP, done with Toshiba forever!

Was this review helpful? (72) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KDSANDJES
ROSEBURG, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Useless!
7/5/2011

Customer review by Bltyler1

1.0 stars 7/5/2011 by Bltyler1
by Bltyler1

This laptop is useless. I only wanted it for basic internet use, and it can't even perform well enough for that. It becomes VERY SLOW or FREEZES too frequently! I changed the settings for several programs from automatically starting at start up & uninstalled some of the free programs that came with it, hoping it would improve the speed & performance but it did not! (I haven't even downloaded ANYTHING onto it yet!) I made this purchase to replace a Compaq laptop that was physically damaged (by human error), & compared specs alongside with this Toshiba, and the Toshiba specs appeared much better (more memory, more power, etc.) for only $12 more. Can't beleive I didn't replace with the original Compaq that had no issues! Will NOT buy a Toshiba again. Can't understand how they dropped the ball on this one.

Was this review helpful? (108) (77)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bltyler1
Brunswick, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/2/2011

Customer review by hondahonda

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by hondahonda
by hondahonda

love it good and fast

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hondahonda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good laptop
7/21/2011

Customer review by Nupraptor

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by Nupraptor
by Nupraptor

this is my second laptop, but not in a row...I was convinced by the price, the RAM and the memory capacity, I been using it for almost 2 weeks and until now I don't have any problem with this laptop...the only thing is that run very slow with some games, in special for WoW, this is definitely a student laptop or just for internet users.....I still recommend it

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nupraptor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It is the worst laptop that I have ever used
7/2/2011

Customer review by ilovmygrandkids

1.0 stars 7/2/2011 by ilovmygrandkids
by ilovmygrandkids

This is the slowest laptop that I have ever used, it is slower than the old dial up internet. I would never even buy a Toshiba again since they messed up so bad on this one.

Was this review helpful? (63) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ilovmygrandkids
Claremore
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for a good price
10/23/2011

Customer review by CanineCarrier

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by CanineCarrier
by CanineCarrier

I had a computer shop set it up and transfer all my old files. Runs with Windows 7, lots of internet use and emails... and tons of photos! Over 5,000 (average 5.6 MB each) photos in Photoshop so far and over 100 short videos on it and yet I'm not having any freezing or slow periods that I have read about here. I also do some typing Word/Excel and some image capture software that allows me to edit and manipulate it. Nice to know how to fix the pad/mouse tap as I have found it an issue. My comparison is that I have an excellent new computer at work, it is part of a network, everything is saved on the server... that computer is as responsive as this one. So again I really don't understand others issues with speed... unless they have connection issues or have downloaded a virus of some sort.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CanineCarrier
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop
7/26/2011

Customer review by awbebe1

5.0 stars 7/26/2011 by awbebe1
by awbebe1

very satisfied of my purchase

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
awbebe1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the price and gets the job done.
9/2/2011

Customer review by Appreciate1981

5.0 stars 9/2/2011 by Appreciate1981
by Appreciate1981

I have had this for about a week and haven't had one issue. This is the first Toshiba I have ever owned. I am not really brand loyal but I do steer clear of HP computers (accessories are okay). Battery life is as stated as long as you keep the brightness down. Loaded and runs Microsoft office with no issues and easily connected to my windows 7 home network. Nothing complicated just open the box and plug it in before you turn it on.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Appreciate1981
Columbia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Get what you pay for
9/1/2011

Customer review by Banmaster

3.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Banmaster
by Banmaster

It's a cheap lap top. The plastic case and keyboard are cheaply made. But the price is also low, so it's a fair value for what it is. It is slow to power up. The processor needs a more power. If you're looking for a quality laptop, look elsewhere. It you want an inexpensive laptop that will do a basic job and you're not to fussy or impatient, this one is good.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Banmaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice features for the money, but very slow!
9/2/2011

Customer review by teejaydubya

2.0 stars 9/2/2011 by teejaydubya
by teejaydubya

I should have read the description better before I purchased this laptop. The 1.0 Ghz processor is half as fast as our six-year-old desktop. Lesson learned - I went with the HP-refurbished Compaq laptop with a 2.2 Ghz processor, even though it only has a 3-month warranty.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teejaydubya
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Excellent Value
10/20/2011

Customer review by PlanktonBooky

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by PlanktonBooky
by PlanktonBooky

I needed a computer for myself and my High School children. Their needs put more of a strain on a system than mine. I had a limited budget and did a great deal of research and shopping. This system and the price I paid was remarkable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PlanktonBooky
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Kind of disappointed
8/31/2011

Customer review by lionessprideof2

3.0 stars 8/31/2011 by lionessprideof2
by lionessprideof2

I bought this laptop in a bundle package, but I had to pay an extra $57.00 to get this one new instead of the refurbished Dell (I think it was Dell) they were offering. The laptop itself is nice, sturdy and comfortable, but it's slow as molasses. I've been using it for my online college courses and it takes me 3x as long to complete my work than my desktop computer. I do like having two USB ports and the built in webcam although I haven't tried the webcame on it yet. I thought getting this computer new would be faster than the refurbished one and I am now wishing I went with the refurb.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lionessprideof2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 252 total reviews
1-20 of 252 reviews