Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 282 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

282 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

282 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
136
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
18
1 stars
26
1-20 of 252 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 252 total reviews
1-20 of 252 reviews
DRAT! Not again!
10/7/2011

Customer review by Arbdious

1.0 stars 10/7/2011 by Arbdious
by Arbdious

The Toshiba Satellite is a nice laptop. It has nice features, great battery life, and comes at a reasonable price. All of the good things about it are, however, over-powered with average performance and one annoying, yet sometimes very upsetting, flaw. The touch pad is so sensitive and close to where the palm rests, on the notebook, to type. If you're typing fast, and not careful, your palm may accidentally and frequently touch the pad. This results in a whole sentence, previously written, deleted or prompting the typing to continue where the cursor is left, on the screen, which inserts new type written information in an unwanted area. As a college student who writes a lot of papers for class, this has happened over and over again. It is not a rare occurrence. I've had the notebook for two months now and I'm really getting annoyed with it that I sometimes feel like throwing the notebook across the room to break it on a wall. As soon as I can, I will get myself a different notebook and give this laptop away to someone not in college who wouldn't be typing important school papers.

Arbdious
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not that great :/
11/7/2011

Customer review by Channte

2.0 stars 11/7/2011 by Channte
by Channte

I bought this at the last minute because i need to write some papers for class asap so all i need now is to type. but i am not keeping it. after i finish writing this papers im taking it back to get a new one. it is a very cheap laptop but there are notebooks that are 10.1" that go faster than this. did i get my moneys worth? maybe, it's not all that great. am i satisfied? definately not. it responds slow to absolutely everything and i guess thats my fault because the label said 1 Ghtz. if you have the patience for it then i suggest you get it but i do to much on the computer, i expect it to go at my pace and this really isnt workin for me. other than that its great. lol i have a toshiba before but i just assumed it was going so slow because it had a virus on it. but who knows. i do not recommend it if you expect quickness

Channte
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
disappointed
12/8/2011

Customer review by dreamcatcher1941

2.0 stars 12/8/2011 by dreamcatcher1941
by dreamcatcher1941

I previously owned a toshiba laptop and was very satisfied with it,so when it came time to upgrade I naturally went back to toshiba, to my dismay, it nowhere compares to my old one, I especially hate the magnifier as I may betyoing something and if I drag or hit something wrong it diminishes the words to a size I cannot see. second when I go toread a news article, it will not let me scroll down the page by dragging the arrow. third it lets commercials stop me from doing what ever I may be doing, it actually freezes the picture until I leave the page. fourth when typoing as Iam now, it will require me to constantly place the blinking line where it should be.in typing this review I have already had to click the flashing line several time.

dreamcatcher1941
Greenville,Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
ehh.
12/19/2011

Customer review by Chicken

3.0 stars 12/19/2011 by Chicken
by Chicken

This was a gift so I can't really complain.My computer needs are basic, so another reason to not complain. However, I do enjoy to watch movies and listen to music through my computer and the speaker quality is very poor, which I can only assume is so that the user will purchase an additional set of Toshiba plug-in speakers. Also, the sensitivity of the touch pad is frustrating. It seems to have a mind of it's own and will shoot you across the page without even being on it or take you to another site from the slightest pressure.On the other hand, my space bar lacks that sensitivity and I find I have to make corrections continuously.

Chicken
Would recommend to a friend? No
I Love My New Toshba Satellite!!!
10/6/2011

Customer review by Rose

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by Rose
by Rose

This is my first ever Laptop that my husband got for me and I Love it! Its now about 4 months old. To me it is not at all slow. I love all the features it has and the built in wifi is awesome!!!! I do have to say that at times the speakers are really low but not all the time. Most of the time I do have to keep speakers turned all the way up but there are times when I have to turn the speakers down cause it can get too loud. The mouse pad is really sensitive and takes some getting used to. I had rather use a regular wireless mouse and so my husband went and got me one.

Rose
Afton, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value for the price!
8/11/2011

Customer review by Doof

3.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Doof
by Doof

Lots of nice features: voice & video calling, skype, memory card reader for Memory Stick PRO & Duo, SD, MMC. No Bluetooth but has Wi-Fi. Ten-key pad is nice for spreadsheet entries on a 15in laptop. Using the Fn key, you can control mute on/off, lock, power plan, sleep, hibernate, video output, brightness, Wi-Fi on/off, touchpad on/off, zoom window in/out, and sound level. Reads and writes DVDs. I have used many laptops for business and this Toshiba is great for school or work without spending a lot of money.

Doof
Charlotte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Never again!!!
11/8/2011

Customer review by pookie

1.0 stars 11/8/2011 by pookie
by pookie

Less then a week after I bout this laptop I had to call tech support because it crashed.. they helped me fix it then a week later it hapoened again... and AGAIN they walked me thru restoring it to out of the box condition.. I only use this to do my homework on and to go on my college website so I know I didnt download anything thst corrupted the system!! Any and everyone I spoke with said def sounds likje I got a laptop with a bad operating system! If this hapoens again I will def be demanding a refund!!!

pookie
Toms River, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Problem
1/9/2012

Customer review by historydigger

1.0 stars 1/9/2012 by historydigger
by historydigger

I only had this laptop for 20 days before it crashed. I contacted Toshiba and had to send it off for repair. When it returns, I will let you know what I really think. I have had many Toshiba Laptops in the past and all were good machines. I am hoping this is just a manufacturing problem that can be fixed and I will get a computer back that meets my expectations of Toshiba Computers. I gave it a poor rating due to the issue at hand and may change my mind once I have a computer that operates properly.

historydigger
Wedowee, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pay the extra dollars for something else
1/10/2012

Customer review by BeepBop

2.0 stars 1/10/2012 by BeepBop
by BeepBop

This laptop is pretty good. Ever since i first got it I noticed it lags a lot when typing. (lagging right now). Absolutely awful to use on websites such as Facebook because it lags, freezes, and goes very slow. So if you're looking for a cheap laptop to surf the web and just go on Facebook, keep looking. Webcam is horrible, too...which may be understandble for the price. But i can't understand why they even bothered to put one in if it has such bad quality.

BeepBop
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Spend the extra money!
1/25/2012

Customer review by Sweetrose

1.0 stars 1/25/2012 by Sweetrose
by Sweetrose

This is not one of the best computers. It has some good features though: bright screen, good battery life, easy to use, and lightweight. But the bad out-way the good, in my opinion. The sound quality is poor, not the fastest, not the most durable, and not enough usb ports. I've had this computer less than a year and I've already had to had it serviced because of software issues. So, to anyone I recommend shelling out a little more money for a better laptop.

Sweetrose
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it.
12/6/2011

Customer review by Noodle

4.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Noodle
by Noodle

I bought myself a toshiba because my sister and her husband love theirs and my hp just wasn't keeping up with me anymore. I have had this laptop for just over a month and have had no real issues. Some freezing up but it can partically be blamed on my internet I'm sure. I would reccommend it to friends and I have. I don't put mine through much, its mainly for keeping in touch with family and friends but so far so good!

Noodle
Western Mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not the greatest, but a good buy.
8/28/2011

Customer review by Dinny

4.0 stars 8/28/2011 by Dinny
by Dinny

After my old laptop died, we rushed out to buy a new one. We found this one; an average-powered computer at an affordable price. It was certainly an upgrade from my last one as well. My two gripes would be the not very good 1.0ghz processor, and that sometimes I would experience screen-tearing at the top of the screen. It only happened once, though, and it was odd. In any case, not the greatest laptop, but a good buy.

Dinny
Raymond, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
8/8/2011

Customer review by Hearsegirl

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by Hearsegirl
by Hearsegirl

I originally bought my laptop for my college classes but I've also been able to use it for storing my pictures (which also makes them easier to upload with the SD card slot built in) and keeping track of my hours at work. From the extra gig that it has to the webcam, this computer is just pure amazing :) the battery life is amazing (even when I use it constantly) and all the controls are so easy to use.

Hearsegirl
Kearneysville, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Laptop
1/13/2012

Customer review by Tom

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by Tom
by Tom

This is a great laptop, it replaces an older Toshiba that I had for years. I highly recommend this brand, not only for value but for the realiability of the computer. Features are nice bu the placement of the power slot on the side near the DVD drive is a bit awkward. Should have been in the back. Same for one USB slot. having cords sticking out the sides interferes with a mouse plugged in.

Tom
Louisville KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Toshiba Sat
11/22/2011

Customer review by Orlando

3.0 stars 11/22/2011 by Orlando
by Orlando

After 4 months of repetitive use of this laptop, I have come to believe that it is a moderate laptop at best. Like others I have experienced the roaming cursor, the script errors, the ambiguous enlarged size of the keys, and the unreliability of its speed. However, it contains upsides as for mine it exhibited a large battery life, a variety of features, and its very modest price.

Orlando
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Keyboard Issues
2/8/2012

Customer review by Unstable cursor

4.0 stars 2/8/2012 by Unstable cursor
by Unstable cursor

Used a Compaq laptop for 5 years. Thought I would just need to get used to the differences in the touch of the keys and the laptop mouse. However, laptop mouse clicker sounds and feels like it is about to break off (the left clicker especially)Think something is not right with my keyboard versus keys selected. Cursor acts unstable, has moved if just move hand over keyboard...

Unstable cursor
Bristol VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Laptop for School/Wolrk
12/23/2011

Customer review by JB

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by JB
by JB

This laptop is one of the best Toshiba Laptops I have had. It is fairly fast, great touch on the keyboard, though I do have problems at time with the palms touching the touch pad and moving my cursor around - a simple softw Iare fix I would recommend this product ESPECIALLY BECAUSE FOR THE PRICE you will NOT find BETTER HARDWARE already with Win 7 Installed!!!

JB
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
satellite
11/2/2011

Customer review by SR

2.0 stars 11/2/2011 by SR
by SR

Continual problems with what i assume is a keyboard problem. The cursor jumps all over the page right in the middle of typing. There is no consistency to a particular place, it could jump anywhere on the page. I thought perhaps it was a Microsoft office product problem but the problem persists in any program, browser, web page, etc. Very disappointing

SR
DFW
Would recommend to a friend? No
very cool laptop love it
12/10/2011

Customer review by mike

5.0 stars 12/10/2011 by mike
by mike

this laptop is cool it has everything that right at your finger tips easy to use has cool voice command loaded with everything a home novice will ever need i would recommend it to everyonei already had 3 family members and 2 friends buy the same one i have toshiba c655d-s5200 series and they enjoy just as much as i do thank you toshiba

mike
st petersburg florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Laptop Jitters
9/23/2011

Customer review by BZNMJ3

2.0 stars 9/23/2011 by BZNMJ3
by BZNMJ3

I am a proficient typist and the buffer on this laptop is way too slow. Also, the cursor will disappear after I think I've typed a whole paragraph and I've been typing God only knows where in another part of a document. Unacceptable. Not enough processing power. Way too slow. Battery life terrible. I would not buy this product again.

BZNMJ3
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 252 total reviews
1-20 of 252 reviews