Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.9out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 | 21 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 21 reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
Rustoleum Fj
6/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased 2 cases of the spray cans (Rustoleum truck bed) for all my plastics bumpers door handles mirrors and grill for my 07 Toyota Fj cruiser. I was very skeptic about the outcome. Once I got started half of the cans sprayed great the other half of the cans would only spray upside down. I'm happy to report what an outstanding product. I used medium grade steel wool on all parts along with an acetone wipe down before I sprayed. Durability texture and looks OUTSTANDING. This weekend I will be buying the gallon can and spraying the roof of my Fj running it thru a automotive paint gun. Thank You Rustoleum for a great product!! With the right prep job on the project it will look great on anything. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rustolum professional kit
5/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My son gave this to me for Christmas gift. He as I followed the directions to a T. Mixed the two part solution and applied, easy as butter.Put two coats on sides and three on bed and tailgate. Looks great not as thick as I thought it would be. But looks like I had it professionally done. Going to wait the seven day cure time and see how it stands up to use..so Farr I'm very pleased with look and texture. The high gloss black looks great with my charcoal grey paint on my truck. I had a quarter gallon left over. Dodge Dakota six foot bed. Time will tell how long it will last but I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Why Pay For Fancy
6/4/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Time will be the ultimate test, but so far the results are right on the money. Still have a little under 1/2 gl left for another project or repair if needed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Saved Money
1/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Do yourself a favor and don't get caught up on all the hipe about z-bart or Rhinoliner as being the ultimate product. While it is true that they are very good you shouldn't have to pay those extravagant prices! I had a 2003 Dodge Ram that had a bed liner in it right when it was new and I removed it in 2009 to make room for a 5th wheel hitch. The bed of the truck was in pretty good shape with of course some rub marks from vibrations which were superficially rusted a bit. After prepping the surface properly I brushed on the Rustoleum Bed Coating ending up doing two coats. That was all I needed and as a result it still looks like the day I did it which is 3 years now. In all fairness I have a tonneau cover that protects the bed, but I did not baby the bed either. I have carried stone, dirt and other abrasive items since and it has held up beautifully. The real trick to keeping it in good shape really is to make sure you clean out your truck bed to avoid problems even if you use the EXPENSIVE products! Oh, by the way, I have a 6 foot bed and only used a half a gallon for two thick coats!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (313)No (38)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rust-Oleum Truck Bed Coating
9/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very easy to use. I don't understand how anyone can mess this up. I used my own brush for the job not a roller. Little or almost no sanding and this stuff stuck very well. The only problem people have with this product is not putting enough on for coating the job. It requires 3 coats applied not 1 coat. I brushed 3 coats on my truck bed 1 year ago and this stuff is still in my truck bed looking good. I also did my trailer wood floor and had good results. How can anyone have a problem? It's so easy a caveman can do it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for a variety of uses
6/22/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like to restore many different items & have had excellent luck with this product. A small amount of prep is required, like any paint-like product, to work correctly. So far I have used successfully to/as: replace grips on tools, provide rust protection for tools, carbon steel knife/axe blades, fill pitted or rusted metal surfaces ( can be leveled & polished once fully cured), repair & protect stacked leather handles on vintage military knives, increase impact resistance & moisture tolerance for acoustic guitar bodies (can easily be painted or tung oiled after curing), & many other projects... The only thing I have not used it on is a truck bed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Coat on Ford F150 Roof
4/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For those Ford owners who have the constant problem of rust on the roof, this product work great. Over the last several years, I've constantly repaired the roof with fiberglass bondo and the rust continues to break through. I purchased 2 quarts of the Rust-Oleum bed coating, and the application Kit. I used the pad to scuff the roof and then masked off the window trim and the edges above the door. I used the brush in the kit to apply a thick coat down the channels followed by applying a thick layer of the coating. My first pass took the entire quart. I placed my brush and roller in a plastic bag as the instructions outlined and waited an hour. I used about 3/4 of the second quart using the same application method, brush in the channels and a smooth even layer with the sponge roller. Looks great and we had a thunderstorm last night and no rain came through. I wish I would have done this a few years ago before the rust took over the roof. I applied the application to on top of the bondo and it seems to have held pretty good. I plan to use the last bit of coating in areas that rust breaks through in the future.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great texture
9/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased for the floor of our truck and it added a texture to the floor. I'm happy with the outcome.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Absolute waste of time and money
5/16/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this product, spent half a day prepping as per the instructions; cleaning, sanding, removing sanding dust, etc. Then I began to paint. The application kit (another piece of worthless junk) had a smooth paint roller with a handle that you could not secure, thus insuring that your knuckles were in the paint on every dip. After struggling with the wonderful roller for well over an hour, I abandoned it and returned to buy a roller that a could paint with without the handle sliding up and down and around the metal shaft. Oh yes, and a roller that would hold some paint. Upon returning home I managed to paint the second coat much quicker. It looked reasonably good. Until four days later when I put an aluminum ladder in the bed. After driving approximately 20 miles, I removed the ladder to find that every place that the ladder had come in contact with the bed was now completely devoid of "bed liner." This has to rank right up there with some of the junk that Ronco used to push. This product is worthless, even if you're giving it away
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (97)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i was able to line the whole inside of my ford bronco and a suzuki samurai with just one can and i had left overs. If you do the inside of a truck it will smell for a while but will go away over time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (90)No (28)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product at a bargain price
9/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I usually use professional vehicle paints instead of Rustoleum on my classic restores. However for an inexpensive inner fender and floor pan sealer it brushes on great, flows nice and meets my needs at a bargain price. Many others use truck bed paints at several times the cost for this purpose.... save the coin. Oh yes, I've used it on truck beds too. It doesn't have the altitude of some bed coatings but coats thoroughly and is durable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works well, But...
11/25/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
First, the product works great.Does what it says, and is very economical. My complaint? I followed the directions, used in an open garage with a back window open. the first coat I was a little woozy, but what the hay. the second coat I was nausous, Vomiting and felt bad. The next day on the third coat I used a filtered mask and was again very nausous, but not as bad. after 2 days i can go in the shop and anything smelling of it makes my belly roll. But the job looks great. covered well, fair build up. would use again only outside, with a filter canister mask!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice
9/16/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
very black. stir well, keep stirring while painting. covers excellently. dries to touch in an hour. looks to wear well. best price i can find here...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
RUSTOLEUM ROLL ON BED LINER
7/31/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We found it very thin and does not cover very well. Very disappointed! Love all the other RUSTOLEUM products........
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product & Price
9/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My original GM bedliner tore up the paint down to the metal. This product was easy to work with and covered well. I did apply a second coat a few days later to thicken the coating. I also coated my truck rear wheel wells and it looks sweet. Between painting the 6.5' bed, tailgate and wheel wells, I have about 1/3 gallon remaining for future touch up. I did purchase the applicator kit and it too worked well. Just a word of advise....use in a well ventilated area.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The best bed liner in a can for the money.
2/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Works great, just follow the directions. Thin coats & more than three is better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SPREADS ON SIDES OF TRUCK LIKE USED OIL!!
10/1/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
HAVE A CHEVY THAT I REPLACED AND TREATED THE ROCKER PANELS AND SIDES WITH RUST OLEUM AND THE SPRAY ON VERSION OF THIS IS WAY EASIER TO WORK WITH AND LOOKS SO MUCH BETTER!! EVEN BOUGHT THE RUST OLEUM ROLL ON KIT! NOT WORTH 15.00 LET ALONE 60.00 TOTAL FOR BOTH. DONT WASTE YOUE TIMS WITH ROLL UNLESS U WANT BLACK PAINT ALL OVER YOUR DRIVEWAY, YOUR TRUCK AND YOU!! THE SPRAY ON IS SO MUCH WELL WORTH THE SMALL EXTRA CHARGE AND EASIER TO GET EVEN!! SPRAYEDSOME HOLES ON MY OLDER AND PREVIOUS BEDLINE BY RHINO GUARD U CAN'T EVEN TELL WHERE I SPRAYED A COUPLE OF DAYS LATER AND IT COVERED THE HOLES EXTREMELY WELL. WILL STICK WITH THE SPRAY ON PERIOD!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for touch up on truck bed
8/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great product for touch up on truck bed and other DIY projects like UTV / ATV.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great.product
7/22/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Awesome price and easy to apply.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
THE STUFF IS WASTE OF MONEY. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!
9/24/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This stuff is a waste of money. It dry way to fast and sticks to the roller that rustoleum says to use. Thanks to this kit i know have to do some sanding for the second time to remove this junk of the body so i can install the good PROFESSIONAL GRADE rustoleum bed liner. Do your self a favor and spend the extra money on the PRO kit!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643940, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-