Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 285 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

285 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

285 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
192
4 stars
51
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 stars
27
1-20 of 209 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 209 total reviews
1-20 of 209 reviews
Lid doesn't fit, so it doesn't work!
9/19/2013

Customer review by 3in4mama

1.0 stars 9/19/2013 by 3in4mama
by 3in4mama

I purchased this last week after being without my old crock pot (just like this one but was programmable and white) for the whole summer due to dropping the lid and the handle breaking off. I knew I would need one for fall and winter so I bought this one the last time I was in Walmart. The problem here is that the lid doesn't fit the darn thing! It has huge gaps on each side (it actually rocks back and forth b/c it doesn't fit# so the food inside doesn't get warm enough to cook. I had it on high for about 5 hours and when I went to check on it in the afternoon there wasn't even any steam inside or condensation on the lid. The chicken was still raw! It had to be thrown out. You can't leave raw, warm chicken out for 5 hours. The only way I can think to get the thing to work would be to wrap tin foil over the top of the whole thing to try to keep the heat in but what's the point in that? Might as well have just thrown a twenty down the drain. What a waste of my money #that, I don't have very much of, to begin with!). Another issue is that the base isn't steady. It has 3 things to set it on. So if you dare to rest your hand on the handle, the whole thing tips. I wouldn't mind if it was just this issue, but adding that to the fact that the thing doesn't work, is just even more upsetting. Buy something else!

Was this review helpful? (37) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3in4mama
OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
12/7/2011

Customer review by GB24

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by GB24
by GB24

I just bought this crock pot last week. I'm so glad that I did. I've been wanting one for a few years now. Got it on a Thursday night, opened it up on Friday morning, put a pot roast in with potatoes, a few carrots, and an onion. Set it on low. It cooked all day. By dinner time it was so tender I didn't have to even cut it. Normally when I do the oven or stove top method it's tender, but you have to cut it. This, only needed a fork to serve. Just made a beef brisket last night. Ir fit the cabbage, carrots, potatoes and meat. Came out wonderfully. And again I didn't need a knife to cut it. Meat came off with a fork. I haven't tried high setting, only low. And the warm setting keep my meal nice and warm. You can even reheat it using the warm setting instead of the microwave.

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GB24
Pgh,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Large oval crock pot lid really doesn't fit well.
9/8/2014

Customer review by Loves2sew25901

3.0 stars 9/8/2014 by Loves2sew25901
by Loves2sew25901

I bought this so I could cook large amounts and be able to divide it out into small packages for the freezer. When I took it out of the box and set the lid on it the lid actually sort of rocked instead of sitting evenly all the way around. I turned the lid 180 degrees and it fit somewhat better, but still not as well as I would have liked. I decided to go ahead and give it a test to see how it cooked. I put in a large quantity of pinto beans and let them soak overnight. The next morning I poured off the water and put fresh water in the pot and turned it to high. It did get hot, but it seemed to take longer than it should have, but it WAS a large amount of beans, so I decided to just let it do it's thing. I had to cook it for about 9 hours before the beans were as soft and "done" to the way we like them. I have since cooked several things in the crock pot and it does cook well, but it does take longer than I think it should. I almost wish I had returned it and ordered a replacement.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loves2sew25901
Oak Hill, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
One and 3/4 GALLONS capacity!
6/16/2014

Customer review by txtumlin

4.0 stars 6/16/2014 by txtumlin
by txtumlin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We LOVE the large content possibilities of this Crock-Pot. The first meal we made was Beans and hog hocks. Mmmm, mmm! Our one pound of navy beans and hog hocks was lost in the big crock LOL! Cooked evenly and quickly on high. Hubbs became concerned when he went to lift the lid and heard something pop. He initially thought the handle on the lid had popped, but we determined the walls of the heater element is what made the noise. Kept our ears tuned for more 'popping' noises and heard none. Next meal was the actual test. Big pot roast with all the potatoes, onions, celery, carrots, blah blah. It was almost to the rim. Late afternoon hubbs started it, reduced heat to low for overnite slow cook and next morning awoke to the best smell. By noon we were noshing and planning what we would crock next! :) This Crock-pot was less than 25$, acts like an upscale cooking machine and produces excellent results and compliments! I'm happy and you know what's said, "If Mama is happy then . . . :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
txtumlin
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I call a slow cooker!
2/6/2012

Customer review by Marchgirl29

2.0 stars 2/6/2012 by Marchgirl29
by Marchgirl29

The whole point of a slow cooker is to set it and leave it for a long period of time while it cooks your meal. This thing gets too hot, even on low setting, and it has been a disappointment. I have ended up with food burning where it is in contact with the crockery every time I use this appliance. On the latest attempt, I tried one of the slow cooker liners you can buy at the grocery store and made a batch of chili, hoping to slowly simmer it to deliciousness over several hours. Within 2 hours it was boiling and starting to burn around the outside. That was on low setting. At least with the liner I didn't have to scour burnt food off the sides of the crockery. I'm thinking of seeing if the keep warm setting will cook food more like a crock pot is supposed to....or just going back to using my older slow cooker, which doesn't have the bigger capacity but is way more reliable.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marchgirl29
NW Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Crock-Pot 7-Quart Slow Cooker, Black
10/17/2011

Customer review by Apadana

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by Apadana
by Apadana

I cooked Lentil soup and Peas soup in the Crock-Pot 7-Quart Slow Cooker. They came out excellent! I love Peas soup but can't stand the can soup. Restaurants don't always have it on the menu. Pot was easy to clean and didn't even need to wash it in the dish washer. It's larger than the my other slow cooker and now I can put a whole chicken in it. Before it was difficult because my previous cooker was so small.

Was this review helpful? (89) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Apadana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Bought it despite previous reviews & "gut feeling"
11/13/2013

Customer review by St0rmy

1.0 stars 11/13/2013 by St0rmy
by St0rmy

Initially, I really liked the price and look of this 7Qt. Crockpot on walmart.com. I started questioning my purchase after reading the all the negative reviews. I should've gone with my "gut feeling" because I experienced what a lot of others did when purchasing this crockpot. The stoneware that sits in the heating element is too small, like it was made for a 6Qt. and moves around freely when it should fit snug. Also, the glass lid was too large, like it was made for an 8Qt. and doesn't fit in the grooves on the stoneware causing it to fall off. I was really looking forward to using the crockpot and was really disappointed when I could not. This deal is "too good to be true." I wish I had purchased something else and when I take this back to the store, I will!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
St0rmy
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/29/2011

Customer review by Tcpisi

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by Tcpisi
by Tcpisi

Awesome crock pot, great size and easy to clean!

Was this review helpful? (120) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tcpisi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what i need
11/10/2011

Customer review by handyathome

5.0 stars 11/10/2011 by handyathome
by handyathome
Top 250 contributor

I had been using this 7 quart CrockPot slow cooking since i got it delvered by Fedex. I had made a big pot of Chili with ground beef and canned red beans, following the receipe enclosed. i brown the beef however on a separate pot on the stovetop for added flavor and to drain out most the fat. It's GOOD and after cooking fo the hours indicatd on HIGH, i turned it OFF and drained more of the fat that settled on the top portion. I then freezed them into portion for later cunsumption. I then cooked another pot of the Chicken Caciatore,following same receipe on the enclosed book and it turn out great. My next project will be the Beef Stew after i go shopping for all the stuffs needed. I am glad i stick to the old reliable CROCKPOT brand...the mover cracked and broke my old one that i owned for over 25 years!

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
handyathome
SSF,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Too Hot!
12/6/2011

Customer review by SpokaneValueShopper

2.0 stars 12/6/2011 by SpokaneValueShopper
by SpokaneValueShopper

As with so many so-called "slow cookers" these days, this thing simply gets too hot on the low setting. I made some pulled pork, and it was okay, but I had to watch the temp constantly and turn it to warm periodically because it boiled on LOW. Who wants to constantly watch a slow cooker for 8 hours? I'm returning it and I'm still researching slow cookers to try to find a decent one (nothing fancy) that doesn't get too hot and generally works properly. Some seem to heat too slowly, others turn themselves off, and most get too hot on low setting. I can't imagine why it seems to be so difficult to make a decent slow cooker. Oh well.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpokaneValueShopper
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Crock Pot
10/17/2011

Customer review by Computerlady911

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by Computerlady911
by Computerlady911

I love it! Have made several great meals in it so far! Would recommend!

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Computerlady911
Glen Burnie, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent choice of slow cooker!
2/20/2012

Customer review by Freddey

4.0 stars 2/20/2012 by Freddey
by Freddey

We'd been looking for a slow cooker for a few months. We couldn't believe that a brand name one was so easily available and at such a low price. Frankly, we thought we'd have to buy a much smaller one due to price. But, that wasn't the case. This was our first "site to store" purchase and it could not have gone more smoothly. The Crock Pot was ready for us to pick up in less than 12 hours! The inside of the cooker is removeable so washing it is quite easy. We're using it once a week and loving it! Buying a larger one than we'd originally planned has allowed us to have enough left over to freeze for another meal. Gotta love that.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Freddey
Danbury, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Don't buy this !
8/20/2012

Customer review by DCG12

1.0 stars 8/20/2012 by DCG12
by DCG12

We have had 2-3 of these. The first one did a great job for about a year then a large crack developed in the bottom of the crock. We bought another one and it had visible defects in the crock so we took it back and exchanged for another one. That one does not get hot enough and takes too long to cook anything. It is is going to the trash.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DCG12
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
10/12/2011

Customer review by KSJayhawkfan

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by KSJayhawkfan
by KSJayhawkfan

It was bigger than expected but works great so far. We cooked a roast in it the same day I picked it up and it was delicious!

Was this review helpful? (44) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KSJayhawkfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Too Hot!
9/17/2012

Customer review by helpppppppp

1.0 stars 9/17/2012 by helpppppppp
by helpppppppp

I bought this last year and have used it several times. Cooks too hot! Everthing is done in 4 hours on the low setting. I could not use it unless i could come home at lunch and turn it to warm. That kept it warm but did not think that might be a safe temperature to leave it for another 4 or 5 hours. Going to buy a different one that i can leave 10 hrs while i am at work.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
helpppppppp
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It cracked!
3/17/2012

Customer review by MommyOf2Plus1More

1.0 stars 3/17/2012 by MommyOf2Plus1More
by MommyOf2Plus1More

I had this slow cooker for a few years, when it eventually cracked. Because it worked great for us (being used quite often), I decided to purchase the same one. I thought that the old one may have cracked from being washed in the dishwasher, which the owner's manual said was okay to do. So, I always hand washed the new one. I have only had it for a few months, and it now has a large crack in the ceramic crock. I have only used it a hand-full of times. Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyOf2Plus1More
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Dont buy this!
10/31/2013

Customer review by jd30

1.0 stars 10/31/2013 by jd30
by jd30

I cooked beef stew all day on high and by 4 o clock (6 hours) when I returned home to check there was barely a simmer going, all veggies were raw! This thing doesn't cook. I assume it is because the lid does not seal it barely sits on it correctly.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jd30
NPR, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
10/29/2011

Customer review by saver13579

3.0 stars 10/29/2011 by saver13579
by saver13579

Keep your receipt. I bought this in white December 2010, and it developed a large oval crack this month. I called the phone number on the bottom and was told to return it to the store for a refund. I have owned rival crockpots for years and never had one crack before. In fact, I'm using one I've had for eight years now. I liked the size and shape of this one and would like to get another in white, but none are to be found. I just don't think the black is attractive. Maybe ones made at a later date will not have the defect.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saver13579
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Exactly what I wanted - for less than I expected!
9/12/2013

Customer review by OgOfBashan

5.0 stars 9/12/2013 by OgOfBashan
by OgOfBashan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I can't tell you about durability, because I've only had the Crock-Pot (brand name, as well as description) for a couple of weeks. However, my previous Crock-Pot (ditto) was bought at a thrift store in Bend, Oregon, and it was old when I got it. I've used it for almost five years, and since I paid $4.00 (on Senior Sale Day) for it, I'm really thrilled with Crock-Pot. Anyhow, I wanted the larger oval model because I like to do beef back ribs in barbecue sauce, and cutting the ribs in half to fit the round Crock-Pot was a royal pain. The day after the oval model arrived, I put in a batch of ribs, and they fit just fine. After about 12 hours, everything was PERFECT! I've been exulting at this purchase ever since. 7 Quarts is probably over-kill for two of us, but the instructions say I can safely cook 3-4 quarts, and I freeze stuff, so I think this is going to work. There's no rubber seal, but the old one didn't have one, either, and it never seemed to matter. There's no mechanism (or rubber bands) to hold the lid on, but I don't take my Crock-Pot to potlucks or tailgaters, anyhow, so that doesn't bother me. For excellent slow-cooking for a very reasonable price, this is your Crock-Pot!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OgOfBashan
chico, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exterior gets too hot
10/25/2013

Customer review by newburyUk

1.0 stars 10/25/2013 by newburyUk
by newburyUk

Bought two of these. Put water in them and turned on to make sure both worked. They did work but the outside shell also got very hot. The ones I've had in the past were much better insulated. I had planned to use for the big meals we cater at our club but there is too much risk that someone will burn themselves. Taking them back.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newburyUk
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
1-20 of 209 total reviews
1-20 of 209 reviews