Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

36 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

36 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

25%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
24
1-20 of 35 total reviews
25%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Not one of my best purchases
7/13/2011

Customer review by gerberbaby72

1.0 stars 7/13/2011 by gerberbaby72
by gerberbaby72

I bought this microwave 2 days ago. For this price you would expect a good working microwave. I should have done my homework before making this purchase. The first time I used it I had to run it twice at a minute each to heat some canned corn. Two days later I was making pizza bagels for my kids and had to run it about 5 minutes to get them warm. Then right after I did the pizza bagels I tried to cook some bacon and I don't fry my bacon. I just hate the grease and have been microwaving bacon for at least 20 years. I pushed the quick time 2 for 2 minutes cooking. After about 30 second the whole unit powered off, even the clock display went out. After about 10 minutes I heard a beep and looked at the microwave and the display came back on. I'm returning this microwave. I have done my homework this time around and found out that this microwave is prone to electrical issues and customer service will not do anything about it. Buy with caution.

Was this review helpful? (68) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gerberbaby72
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is JUNK!!!
7/25/2011

Customer review by Tfox01

1.0 stars 7/25/2011 by Tfox01
by Tfox01

DO NOT buy this microwave. This microwave is a piece of junk. We had it for about a year. But about 6 months ago, we were cooking food in it and when we were finished using the microwave, it wouldn't stop running. We had to unplug it to make it stop running. Then a few weeks later it would stop and we could leave it plugged in. Then a couple weeks later it would keep running where we had to unplug it again. And now today, it just died. So again. DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF JUNK!!!!

Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tfox01
Richlands, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I should have read the reviews, to bad!!!!!
7/29/2011

Customer review by spice1212

1.0 stars 7/29/2011 by spice1212
by spice1212

I bought this microwave without reading the reviews and what a mistake that was. At first i noticed a rusty color at the bottom of the microwave plate and i thought it was something my kids had waste in it, but it happened after every use. I only had this microwave for a year and some months and it developed a hole at the bottom of the the microwave and on top of that it had electrical problems. The only features that i really liked about this product was the handle( which is better than the push button feature to open the microwave door) and the outside looked nice. Overall this product was a waste of money!!

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spice1212
Jacksonville, NC (Camp Lejeune)
Would recommend to a friend? No
Do not waste your money!
8/7/2011

Customer review by Micmay25

1.0 stars 8/7/2011 by Micmay25
by Micmay25

We have had this microwave less than a year and it will not turn off without unpluging it. The timer goes off but it just keeps cooking until you open the door. If you close the door again, it starts back up. Cheaply made, now I am on my way to buy another one, will never by this brand again!

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Micmay25
Mobile
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome
6/18/2012

Customer review by love2shop4family

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by love2shop4family
by love2shop4family

okay I brought this Microwave just for the grill factor. I put some burgers on it yesterday. All I can say is my family has been eating burgers for the last two days. They are delicious. I will never put another burger on the stove again. I tried George Foreman for a grill I can use inside the house when I need something quick. My husband hated that grill. My husband is hard to please and he loves the grill feature on this microwave. I would recommend this microwave to anyone who wants a good grilling feature. As for the microwave itself we only use it to heat things up and it seems to work just fine. We have had no problems with this. This is the first review I have every done for anything ever and I am a hard core online shopper and this is the first thing that has moved me to write a review. This microwave surprised me. Great Job Emerson

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
love2shop4family
Dallas TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than anticipated via past reviews.
8/7/2011

Customer review by Chalet110

4.0 stars 8/7/2011 by Chalet110
by Chalet110

I am one that does my research before buying any product. But even the best researchers have snafus. I went into Walmart to purchase the Emerson $86 microwave oven. Since none were in stock I picked up the $104 model. My experience is that Emerson has decent products. I experience everything that the 3 review 1 star reviews were correct.. except for the sparks. I bought the model because of the grill feature. It had a pretty face and it was a little big but the power I assumed it was the reason for the larger size. In my experience , it was not as disappointing as other microwaves grill features with other mircowave purchases. I just don't think any of the microwave companies can compare the a real grill. But the good grill feature, it was far less messy than past experiences. I can see where I can cordinate the grill with the microwave for a better result with grilling. Microwave the meat, then slap it on the grill for the pretty grill marks. I bought 2 types of popcorn. The 1/2pack popcorn that state 1 1/2 minutes so I pushed the 30 second button 3 times. Perfect pop corn. The regular size pop corn took twice on the popcorn button feature. I am know to have flames coming out of my popcorn so with fire. So it works for my personal needs. I thought, this was a good microwave. I then warmed up some cold coffee on the beverage button. It was good and hot without the scorch taste. The frozen dinners came out evenly heated without cold and hot spots. Interesting, the manufactor must had read the past reviewerss because when you open the door, there is a big sticker that states, if not clean will cause fires. Not that the other reviews had dirty microwaves. LOL It is not the top of the line and it does not have the top of the line price tag. For me, it does a better job than anticiipated. But don't anticipate it is something it is not.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chalet110
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as advertised
4/5/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/5/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I read the reviews prior to purchasing this microwave and because of the negative ratings I was planning on purchasing a different brand. When I got to the store the model I wanted wasn't there and I was torn between buying a more expensive model or purchasing this one. I purchased this model with the intent on returning the Microwave when it failed. I purchased the microwave in September of 2010 and (currently April 2012) it has yet to fail. Either I have the best microwave of the bunch or some of the reviewers don't know how to use a microwave.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Princeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This microwave has serious electrical problems
9/3/2011

Customer review by Carol42

1.0 stars 9/3/2011 by Carol42
by Carol42

Within 6 months of purchase this microwave started the problem of continuing to run even though the timer had stopped. The only way to stop it was to unplug it. Then it would run normally for a month or so and then go through the same cycle again. I called the Emerson customer service department and they said they would replace it if I mailed them the electrical cord along with the glass plate and a check for $15, shipping it to them would be at my expense. I asked about having it serviced at a local shop and they said they did not do that. I felt that was a pretty bad deal since it was still under warranty. Now I am looking for a new one because after over a year of this it finally died this week.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carol42
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A fail
8/31/2013

Customer review by realllllllllllly

1.0 stars 8/31/2013 by realllllllllllly
by realllllllllllly

Paint chipping after cleaning . Used non abrasive cleaner. ONLY vinegar and water. Arcing. Contacted Emerson and was told the following: Thank you for notifying us of the issue you are having. Our continual evaluations performed on microwaves clearly indicate to us this type of damage is always caused by one of two things: 1. Harsh Chemicals- what product do you use to clean your microwave? The Owner’s Manual clearly states to clean the unit with warm water and a mild dish detergent. If any type of harsher chemical cleaner is used, it will cause the paint to dissolve and will cause rusting with exposure of the metal below. 2. Not wiping up spills after each use. If the unit is not wiped clean after each use which is also indicated in the Owner’s Manual, it may cause the grease to become super heated with continued use and will cause the paint to bubble and expose the metal underneath. Unfortunately, both of these instances are the result of not following the instructions provided in the Owner’s Manual which accompanied your unit when purchased. We do apologize for any inconvenience but Emerson will not be able to repair or replace your unit as the problem was caused by not following the operating Instructions provided. We do not recommend that you do not continue to use this unit in its current condition as it may spark or catch on fire. We do suggest replacing this unit. Sincerely, Emerson Radio Consumer Affairs VINEGAR ? Really?! Would that not be safer to ingest than detergent? Aren't many foods acidic that would be prepared in this unit? I'm discouraged at having notified them of the same issues many others have with NO RESULTS> POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
realllllllllllly
East Coast
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the $
8/31/2011

Customer review by CavyWife

1.0 stars 8/31/2011 by CavyWife
by CavyWife

6 months after we bought this microwave we started having issues with it. When the microwave was closed and the timer wasn't on it would continue to run. Which also meant that the defrost option didn't work properly. Instead of defrosting it would cook. A few days later the turn table started not working. Luckily we bought the protection plan for this product & got our money back to buy a new microwave!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CavyWife
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sparks and grinding noise....DON'T BUY!!!
5/6/2012

Customer review by SparksAndGrindingNoises

1.0 stars 5/6/2012 by SparksAndGrindingNoises
by SparksAndGrindingNoises

My dad bought me this as soon as I graduated. We mainly got it because it was the only one in our store with a grill on top (which I never use and only makes it hard to clean) it's always made a weird grinding noise when the plate turns and about 2 weeks ago I noticed it was sparking inside as if I had something metal in there. I checked my bowl and it didn't and it's not like the bowl had any silver lining or anything. It's just a faulty microwave. I really hoped since my dad spent almost 100 dollars on it, it would be half way decent. It was a horrible feeling to have to lug this brand new, nice looking, and expensive microwave to the dumpster and throw it in. I really with the people who made it would keep making it but with better quality. I really liked the look of it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SparksAndGrindingNoises
Olympia, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
Worst Purchase Ever
5/6/2012

Customer review by IndianaCritic

1.0 stars 5/6/2012 by IndianaCritic
by IndianaCritic

There wasn't many reviews when I purchased this microwave about a year ago. I think it's biggest problem is it gets too hot and doesnt vent. I noticed it rusting inside around the front after the doing baked potatoes about the third time. After 4 mo. it did this thing where it wouldn't turn off... the timer was done but it wasn't. Nothing stopped it except unplugging it, but as soon as you plug it back in it would sometimes still continue to run. I would have to let it sit for a day. It did this about 8 or 10 times during the year and now its officially outdone itself and would not turn off after many days of letting it sit unplugged. The grill thing never worked, kept running, couldnt figure out some of the functions on it, the paint chipped under the turntable, rusted... yep worst purchase ever!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndianaCritic
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
don't buy it at any price
8/27/2011

Customer review by BethanysGrammy

1.0 stars 8/27/2011 by BethanysGrammy
by BethanysGrammy

I bought this microwave in store about 2 yr ago. I chose this one because of the grill feature. I only used that twice, and did not like the result. The only real problem I have with this microwave is the fact that it blows my circuit breaker, even if it is the only thing using that circuit. I bought this to use in my loft space, within the home I share with my son's family. The loft is upstairs, and I have made a mini kitchenette for myself. I have to turn off computer, TV, DVR, lights, ceiling fan etc, just to use the microwave, and still don't know if it will blow the breaker when it comes on. When that happens, I have to go downstairs, outside and back into the garage to reset the breaker -- so it's just not worth it. I did not know this microwave had electrical issues, so now will not be using it again. I'm on here now looking for a new microwave. This one is headed to the trash!

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BethanysGrammy
Land O Lakes, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good value for the price
10/5/2011

Customer review by wrene

4.0 stars 10/5/2011 by wrene
by wrene

all functions work well.instructions for grilling is vague.grilling seems to take a long time,but performs well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wrene
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/14/2012

Customer review by SKAUNT

1.0 stars 5/14/2012 by SKAUNT
by SKAUNT

Bought this October 2011 for my nieces. Was noisy but it did an Okay job. Now it just doesn't heat anything. Power is on but it will not heat. I did not buy the extended warranty and 90 days is it. I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SKAUNT
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
7/27/2012

Customer review by pumpky

1.0 stars 7/27/2012 by pumpky
by pumpky

I loved the look, the color and the featured buttons. However, our plates would be hot and the food not warmed. Or the food would be too hot. Then it quit heating altogether after 5-6 months and the lightbulb burnt out too an it really wasn't used that much. I returned it to Walmart without a receipt and purchased another brand. I wished I would have read the reviews before purchasing the Emerson - I loved the look, but it worked (I should say didn't work) terrible.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pumpky
Massillon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Junk
3/23/2014

Customer review by Zoosssseds

1.0 stars 3/23/2014 by Zoosssseds
by Zoosssseds

Bought this just over a year and it does not work should look to the reviews prior to buying. This company also makes other products. I never deal with this company again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zoosssseds
Wickenburg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
7/19/2012

Customer review by SurveySal

1.0 stars 7/19/2012 by SurveySal
by SurveySal

This product is true to form for Emerson Brand! Was received as a house warming gift ... worse one ever! Noisy, doesn't shut off have to keep it unplugged or it runs all the time, or keep door open. Grill feature is impossible to clean, cannot clean top of microwave under grill unit so smell is always there! does not defrost properly, takes forever for 2 lbs of meat. Overall I would never have bought Emerson,

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SurveySal
Providence, RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/27/2012

Customer review by mastercheff

4.0 stars 4/27/2012 by mastercheff
by mastercheff

Does all that it should do. Is by far the most reasonably priced Microwave with a grilling feature.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mastercheff
Glenview, Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Little Microwave!
5/18/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Love this unit! Works well with minimal cleaning necessary!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews