Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 293 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

293 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

5 stars
134
4 stars
62
3 stars
8
2 stars
15
1 stars
74
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 195 total reviews
Purchased less than 18 mos ago and it broke...
7/12/2011

Customer review by Kingrottidog

1.0 stars by Kingrottidog

We purchased this emerson brand less than 18 mos ago and it broke today.... called emerson and they refused to help due to it being out of warranty. I expected this unit to give us more than 18 mos service as our other microwaves....Sharp, Magic Chef.... lasted for years before breaking. We are very disappointed and will never buy another Emerson product....ever. We view this as "JUNK" and will simply buy another, more reliable brand!!

Was this review helpful? (433) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kingrottidog
LV, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
its life time is 18 months
7/16/2011

Customer review by atlantauser

1.0 stars by atlantauser

i got this microwave 18 months back and it is not working now. i tried to fix that but the screws are wired no screwdriver fits into that tricky design. i recommend go to another product which can work long.

Was this review helpful? (172) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
atlantauser
atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best countertop microwave I have owned
7/21/2011

Customer review by grandmaof18

5.0 stars by grandmaof18

Beautifully designed, it is compact and fits nicely on the counter. For 900 watts, it really puts out the power. Works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (91) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
grandmaof18
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Junk
7/18/2011

Customer review by Kjazzy714

1.0 stars by Kjazzy714

I brought this item last month and decide to put it up. The item don't even heat up any food! This is pure Junk and not worth the price!!

Was this review helpful? (118) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kjazzy714
New York, New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Works fine but the beep volume will wake the dead
8/14/2011

Customer review by nlinesk8s

2.0 stars by nlinesk8s

I bought this yesterday and am considering returning it. The volume of the beep is about that of a passing ambulance. As far as I can tell, there is no way to silence or adjust the volume, and there are multiple complaints on the internet about this. If family harmony, getting late night snacks, or making breakfast w/o waking everyone in the house is a priority, try a model with some kind of adjustment.

Was this review helpful? (44) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nlinesk8s
Would recommend to a friend? No
Stainless @ a Great Price
9/9/2011

Customer review by Gypsyone41

5.0 stars by Gypsyone41

I actually ordered this just because I wanted an updated look. I am so glad that I did. Not only does it look great, it sooks great!! I was concerned with some of the other reviews, but I chanced it. Now, all I can say is ....Buy it, you will not be sorry. Black with stainless finish, easy to use buttons with quick cook selections, plenty of cooking room, and very even cooking fast. It gets used daily and have had no problems at all. Even my son who is famous for blowing up the microwave, uses it without an issue.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Gypsyone41
Branson, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Meets expectations and more.
8/2/2011

Customer review by Obi0ne

4.0 stars by Obi0ne

This 900-watt Emerson microwave oven was purchased for my mother to replace an older model Emerson microwave that was slightly larger with 1450 watts.The newer oven has controlls and features almost exactly like the oven it replaces, so there was no learning curve for my elderly mother. Our first test was a full size bag of popcorn to compare cooking speed, and to see if it had room to rotate. Surprisingly, the cooking time is virtually the same as the 1450 watt oven and the large size bag of popcorn had plenty of room to rotate for even cooking. In fact, this oven holds just about everything my mother and I normally cook or reheat in a microwave, and it takes about the same time as the higher wattage oven it replaces, and its much more quiet, you can hardly tell its on, until it beeps. The free shipping was a big plus, and it only took four days!

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Obi0ne
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
this is great for a low usage individual
1/9/2012

Customer review by Jonjo

4.0 stars by Jonjo

Okay i have no problems with the product. It is quite a bargain for the size an the power output. This is not a replacement for your stove top. For those people that are complaining about the product not working, why don't you try cooking something once in a while in your stove? This is a low usage product which if you try to cook anything and everything then yes wear and tear will diminish the longevity of the product. This is an excellent product for the occasional heat up and the occasional quick cooking. but it is not a heavy duty stove top replacement. Very efficient and tons of features. the noise of the beep is good, and the plate inside the microwave is of good size. stainless steel finish looks great on any counter. I highly recommend for those who are going to use moderately and not as a stove top replacement for a family of 5.

Was this review helpful? (35) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jonjo
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I will never buy Emerson again!
11/3/2011

Customer review by lele86

1.0 stars by lele86

I bought an Emerson 13 months ago and yesterday it starts to smoke, pop, buzz and shoot sparks out. I called the company and the told me to " Clean the cavity." That was their advice. They said I could sent them the unit and IF it was under warranty they would see what the problem was and if it wasnt under warranty I would have to pay for them to ship it back. HORRIBLE customer service. I looked online and found that this is a common problem for Emerson microwaves and the reviews I read had similar experiences with customer service. I will never again by any Emerson products!

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lele86
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Do not last like they used to
1/1/2012

Customer review by Sher01

1.0 stars by Sher01

Listen to the bad reviews, this microwave will stop working early on. Mine stopped working about 18 months from purchase. My first Microwave would not die, which was 25 years old when we had it. Then someone bought it from us for $10 at our garage sale. She later told me it lasted about another 3 years. Companies now design products to quit a little outside of warranty or a year or so depending on the product and company. Why? Because Americans do not demand better products like other countries do. So post your complaints here that way Wal-Mart can weed out some of the worst, but remember to complain to the manufacture. If, more Americans do not allow their voice to be heard then, we as the consumer loose over-and-over-again.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sher01
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice small microwave
12/27/2011

Customer review by MissC61

4.0 stars by MissC61

I have only had a month so I am unsure of the durability. When you open the mircowave door, the opening is 11.5 wide & 8 inches high. I can fit my dinner plate in the mircowave. I think it is a nice size for me. It heats really fast. I especially like the express buttons. They work real well for me. It fits nicely on my apartment kitchen counter. the outside measures about 15 inches deep & 12 inches high. I am pleased with this purchase. I will try to update in a year regarding the durability.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MissC61
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellant for the Price
7/23/2011

Customer review by RuralUserJLF

4.0 stars by RuralUserJLF

I bought this as a replacement for a Sharp unit that failed after almost 10 years. I've only had this Emerson for about one month, but I can say I generally like it very much. The fact that I've only had it for a month or so is why I only rated it three stars for durability -- I've had no problems so far. The appearance is fine, tho that isn't why I bought it. My one (minor) complaint (which is why I gave it only 4 stars for features) is that the "buttons" are small and hard to read, and there is no button similar to the one the Sharp had for rolls, etc. The power level is fine and the unit is better than expected given the rather low price for it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RuralUserJLF
Grayville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I will never buy an Emerson again
9/7/2011

Customer review by JRWinn

1.0 stars by JRWinn

I will never buy an Emerson again, while it had all the features I was looking for and was priced very well I ended up returning it not once but twice. It was not Wal-Mart's fault, but the first one of these I picked up the door would not open so I took it back. Wal-Mart was more than accomidating in letting me swap for another one even let me take it out of the box to check the door. Should have plugged it in cause when I got the second one home it would not zap the food at all. Timer would stat to count down, turntable would spin. . .but no microwaves at all. I took it back and went to Sears and got a Kenmore.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JRWinn
winston-salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great... at first.
8/16/2011

Customer review by kpbella1128

1.0 stars by kpbella1128

I bought this microwave to replace another one. It worked very well for about 3 months and last night it stopped working! Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kpbella1128
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/7/2011

Customer review by walmartlover0912

5.0 stars by walmartlover0912

Love the stainless steel look. It works great! I have no complaints

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
walmartlover0912
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible product
11/26/2011

Customer review by ChaLa1970

1.0 stars by ChaLa1970

I purchased the item and went to use it the day I bought it and the food was still frozen, so I increased the cook time by 5 times the minutes required and was still frozen. I then put a mouth full of water in a coffee cup in the item for 1.5 minutes and it was still cold. This microwave is nothing more than a lemon.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ChaLa1970
Florence KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
12/26/2011

Customer review by Momof2WS

5.0 stars by Momof2WS

Works great but has is a low wattage microwave. Be careful most microwave meals require 1100 watts to cook. The microwave is functional and I have owned it for 2 years and no problem.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Momof2WS
Winter Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/27/2011

Customer review by steflee

4.0 stars by steflee

The only thing that I can find that I dislike about this product is you have to almost slam the door to close it, but this seems to be true of all microwave ovens. That being said it was a very good buy, looks nice, and functions like it should.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
steflee
Palm Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
real nice size and look
8/30/2011

Customer review by NMScott

5.0 stars by NMScott

This unit is much smaller than my old microwave, looks really slick in a kitchen done all in stainless steel, and works quite well. The action on the eject button is not too powerful and it latches cleanly.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NMScott
Rio Rancho, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't buy!
10/28/2011

Customer review by Hellotime

1.0 stars by Hellotime

I bought this 2 years ago (Nov 09). I close the door and it continues to run AND heat! This is the second time this happened to me with this microwave. Don't buy!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Hellotime
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 195 total reviews