Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 528 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

528 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

528 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
351
4 stars
101
3 stars
20
2 stars
12
1 stars
44
1-20 of 491 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 491 total reviews
1-20 of 491 reviews
Product is GREAT as long as it works...
10/1/2014

Customer review by SkepticalARgirl

4.0 stars 10/1/2014 by SkepticalARgirl
by SkepticalARgirl

I've had my Primo Bottom Load Water Cooler in stainless steel/black for a little under 2 years (we bought it toward the end of 2012). This week we realized the water was no longer cold coming from the cooler. So after some investigation, we discovered the compressor had gone out in the unit. No big deal. We'll just call the company since we did not purchase the extended warranty through Wal-Mart (no need to waste money on a product that shouldn't have issues, and likely a compressor wouldn't be covered under the warranty anyway...read your fine print). Anyhow, we discovered today that we could not get any support on our unit because we couldn't produce a receipt that shows when the system was purchased; although the model number indicates the unit was not manufactured until 2012. Customer service at Primo will give us one year based on the model number, but they will not go back 2 years unless there is a receipt available. So, there you have it. The unit is great as long as it works...

Was this review helpful? (107) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkepticalARgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Great option for elderly or disabled individuals
2/27/2013

Customer review by Skeeter1836

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by Skeeter1836
by Skeeter1836
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although more expensive, this cooler is a better choice for anyone who has difficulty lifting a 5 gallon water bottle to place on top of a cooler for any reason such as age or a physical disablity. Improvement over previous model in that now you can just slide the water bottle into the cooler with your foot whereas before, you had to physically lift the bottle up a few inches to place it in a sliding tray, although this was still better than having to lift a 5 gallon water bottle 3 feet or so to place it on top of the cooler. The fit of the tubing housing has also been improved. This model requires that the entire water bottle cap be removed to attach the tubing housing ensuring a snug fit. On the previous model, the tubing housing was placed on top of the water bottle's removable cap. I had experienced some loose fittings on the older model since we refill the bottles and the cap wears out over time and did not maintain an airtight fit which is necessary for the water to be pumped.

Was this review helpful? (177) (76)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skeeter1836
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
really love it
11/26/2011

Customer review by carpediem1384

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by carpediem1384
by carpediem1384

ill give you the negatives first: my wife wishes it were a bit colder, and 2ndly we use and drink spring water very regularly in our home, but when we arent using it or when its sitting it still occasionally heats and/or cools the water. to me its a bit of a waste of energy. for example itll heat and cool all night. the switches on the back make it easy to turn off. my suggestion to save energy is too make sure you turn it off when you arent using it i.e. while your sleeping or away for the day. the positives are that it looks great in the kitchen. i love that the water jug is hidden in the base. its not nearly as noisy as some reviews seem to make it seem. ive owned it for about 3 weeks now and am very pleased with it. i did not have any problems with a metal or plastic taste. ive used both manadnock springs and poland springs in it. its been great to have in the house. providing it lasts a couple of years id recommend this to anyone. Longevity yet to be seen.

Was this review helpful? (205) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carpediem1384
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
SAVE YOUR MONEY
10/21/2013

Customer review by UGGGGHHHHHHH

1.0 stars 10/21/2013 by UGGGGHHHHHHH
by UGGGGHHHHHHH

This is the second Primo Cooler in less than two years. The most recent just purchased in April. The first one, the water did not get cold even after troubleshooting for 20 minutes with a Primo rep. as they do not service the coolers they sell. After adjusting the little screw on 10 different occasions/days still no cold water so finally we gave up because we noticed the 1 year warranty had just run out a week prior to the water not getting cold sooooo against my better judgment, my boss suggested just purchasing another Primo cooler. This was done in April 2013 and today October 21, 2013 the cooler just stopped sucking the water from the bottle. Again, I troubleshooted with the rep (via telephone) and nothing worked. I was then told to send an email picture of the cut cord and they would send me another one of their wonderful products......really? I am hopeful that I can talk my boss into being done with this company. 2 products in less than 2 years and nothing but hassle after hassle....definitely not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (108) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UGGGGHHHHHHH
Kingston, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
7/21/2012

Customer review by Sailingone

2.0 stars 7/21/2012 by Sailingone
by Sailingone

I purchased this unit and used it for about 2 weeks before returning it. My reasons for returning were these: the cold water wasn't, it was far from as cold as I like it; it kept a slight plastic taste for all 10 days I had it; room temperature water is not available, even when using the hot water spigot with the heater turned off you get cool water-when getting water for tea I'm using water that has been cooled, which I then heat-it was hard to live with this energy irony. The pump noise was slight, a non-issue, other than the idea that it takes electricity to provide water, unlike the bottle on top type that uses gravity. It is, however, quite handy to merely slide the heavy water bottle into the base of the unit. I think that if you have no need for real cold water or room temp water this unit might be fine; I assume that the slight plastic taste would go away in time. Wal-Mart was great about the return; I had the unit boxed up as I received it and they took it back, no questions asked.

Was this review helpful? (28) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sailingone
Norman, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
it's cute, but......
11/22/2016

Customer review by smith

2.0 stars 11/22/2016 by smith
by smith

The unit appears to be working nicely. The lights are a great asset in the night. Loading it on the bottom is very convenient, not difficult, and makes for a neater looking unit. That said, try to get parts for it. Getting just the straw for the water bottle is not good enough. What about the tubing up from there ? How long would you use a straw before throwing it out or cleaning it out? I wanted to get another whole piping assembly for it, but that is not possible. Their cleaning instructions are simply not good enough for me. It does not produce the hands-on cleaning that I feel is necessary for EVERYTHING that passes water into my glass to be drunk. The machine will be going away in the not too distant future. With a top loader, you can disassemble it right to the reservoir to hand wipe clean and even remove the spigots for a thorough cleaning.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smith
Would recommend to a friend? No
LOVE IT!!! BEST OPTION!
8/28/2013

Customer review by ShannonsPetSitting

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by ShannonsPetSitting
by ShannonsPetSitting
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I live in Carpentersville, IL which has AWFUL Water! Its so bad its ruins aquarium filters, humidifiers etc. So I refuse to let myself, guests, my cats drink it or my fish to swim in it! So when I bought my house I needed an alternative water source for myself and my pets. I previous had Brita water filters on my sinks in my old apartment & they wouldn't work in my new house with the fixtures. A water softener or home filtration system was not an affordable option. Neither was a water service because I wont go through that much water. Having back issues I also have trouble lifting large bottles of water. This was the PERFECT solution! Its quiet - I'm not sure what those other reviews are talking about. I am able to easily load bottles of water. Plus the buttons are up high so when my niece & nephew come over they can not reach the buttons up on top! I can also shut off the cooling, heating & light buttons to save energy when I'm not home.

Was this review helpful? (61) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShannonsPetSitting
NW Chicago Suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's Primo all the way!
4/25/2016

Customer review by HappyBarbi

5.0 stars 4/25/2016 by HappyBarbi
by HappyBarbi

I bought the Primo BOTTOM LOAD Water Dispenser for a few good reasons! It's a bottom load, all I have to do is slide the bottle into the cabinet and pop the dispensing unit on top and I'm ready to go! I don't need to purchase a 30+ package of bottled water and put them into the fridge to be cool and ready to go! The dispenser looks good in my kitchen and even though I have a small kitchen, it fits right in and out of the way and ready to use. I use my insulated cups to carry my fresh cool water and can fill and fill and fill and go! I read many reviews about the home dispensers, Primo in particular, and was hesitant about any of the dispensers, but a friend of mine beat me to the punch and had purchased one and I used it and found it to be so easy to use and maintain, so I made my decision on the Primo and love it! I made my decision on the black and stainless because it looks rich and expensive and easy to maintain it's clean look.

Was this review helpful? (59) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyBarbi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
bottom load rocks!
6/18/2014

Customer review by BigS78

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by BigS78
by BigS78
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's an excellent product for the price i've got. It looks pretty nice in the kitchen, but it cool fit perfectly on any space, even office or public areas. The mixed finish of black plastic and stainless steel makes it very cool and modern. it comes with three temperature choices. Room temperature, cold and hot. I didn't get to try the hot one yet, but the cold one gives me chilled water whitout the problem of dealing with ice. Comes out pretty refreshing, even cold enough to creste condensation on the outside of your glass right away. The best of it all is the bottom load. C'mon! Those 5 gals bottles are heavy like a big fat panda! Lifting it up is not a problem now, just roll it, plug it, tuck it in and close the door. Low back issues no more. Im about 6ft tall and the whole thing ain't much taller than my waist. You don't have anti estetics blue bottles eye line height and the possibility of turning of hot-cold system separately makes it very convenient. Its very quiet, even less noise than your refrigerator and loads water into tank very fast. I would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (33) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigS78
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great choice
3/14/2017

Customer review by Tanya

5.0 stars 3/14/2017 by Tanya
by Tanya
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a 6month old and we use powder formula I got tired of buying jugs of water so I went all out and got this fabulous item it's great we love it, it's quiet and gives your water at the needs of the temp your looking for it ice cold if needed and also will make a room temp or warm bottle no need to heat it up. And being that we don't drink the water from the faucet this is great for our family

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tanya
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy water hookup
2/27/2014

Customer review by soon2retire

4.0 stars 2/27/2014 by soon2retire
by soon2retire
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are very happy with the ease of loading a 5 gallon bottle of water in the cooler. I am in my 50's and my husband is in his 60's. I didn't want to struggle with getting a bottle of water on the top of a water cooler (although my husband can easily lift the bottle, but he travels some for his job) so we chose the Primo bottom load cooler. There are two reasons we gave this cooler 4 instead of 5 stars. The cooler is a little noisy when first plugged in because the pump and cooler are running continuously for about an hour which is normal; however, it was extra noisy and had a continuous vibration. My husband folded a piece of cardboard and wedged it in the back between the body and top of the cooler and the vibration stopped. Easy fix for an annoying problem. The other reason is there is suppose to be a hot water, room temperature and cold water spout. The room temperature spout is just as cold as the cold water spout but this is not a major problem. We can get room temperature water from the hot water spout because we don't turn the heat on unless we need to use it and it heats up really fast. All in all we believe this is a good product and very attractive but believe it is over priced considering the two problems we listed.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soon2retire
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice Equipment
3/20/2012

Customer review by WVLovesWalMart

5.0 stars 3/20/2012 by WVLovesWalMart
by WVLovesWalMart

This water cooler was a replacement for a top load cooler that died. I selected the bottom load because, when I was not available, my wife had trouble lifting the 5 gallon bottles of water. This unit is very stylish (black and stainless steel appointed), was very easy to set up, and (so far) has been working well. I read some of the reviews (before purchase) that said it was noisy. I have found the only noise is when it is actually pumping water, immediately after use. Other than that, it is silent. I don't use the hot water option (easier to microwave a small amount of water), and have found the cold water option is cold enough to drink (even without adding ice). A red light comes on when the bottle is near empty, the bottle is easy to change (just pull out the filler tube and replace into the next bottle), and I use the small amount of water left in the previous bottle to fill my coffee maker. There is also a toggle light switch on the back that helps when filling, if your room is not very well lighted. All-in-all, this cooler has been an excellent purchase, a lot nicer than the cheaper-looking white top load models!

Was this review helpful? (82) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WVLovesWalMart
Martinsburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Thermostat adjustment for COLDER WATER!!!
7/4/2012

Customer review by FairReviewer23

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by FairReviewer23
by FairReviewer23

I love this product! I have had it for about 6 months now and was shopping for one for my mother and noticed a lot of reviewers complaining about the water not getting cold enough. Hope this is helpful.... Simply locate the dial which resembles a gold/brass-colored flathead screw in the small hole to the left of the black label panel. Use a flat screwdriver to adjust the dial clockwise to cool the water. Do Not adjust this piece more than ¼ turn at a time. Allow one hour increments between adjustments. Turning the control too much will cause water to freeze in the appliance’s reservoir and may lead to other issues such as the tank cracking.

Was this review helpful? (453) (67)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FairReviewer23
MESA, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
My Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser 900130
5/6/2016

Customer review by computergram

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by computergram
by computergram

I have had my Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser for a week now and am very pleased with it so far. I like that I can turn either hot or cold off separately. I love the hot water on demand feature of this system and use it often. I'm not a fan of ice water so turn that one off at this time. Perhaps in the hot weather I'll turn it on, but for now room temperature water is preferable. My one suggestion is that the empty light would be gradual - such as when the water is getting low, it begins to glow and gets brighter as the water level decreases. That way I can get my water at the right time and not have it sitting around for any length of time before using it. I can't lift a 5 gallon bottle, so opt to get smaller bottles and pour them into the large bottle. I like that it is not difficult to slide the big bottle back in once it is filled.

Was this review helpful? (38) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
computergram
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST H2O cooler I've ever had!!!
9/19/2013

Customer review by unclesamsprideandjoy

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by unclesamsprideandjoy
by unclesamsprideandjoy

I am absolutely sick to see this item @ Walmart, for this price!!! I purchased the exact same one, July 4, 2013. It cost $269, and another $69 for delivery!!! I had to replace my old one. I searched everywhere for one, online! I didn't think Walmart carried water coolers! What a dingbat!! This thing is great! When they say the water is nearly boiling, they're not kidding! The cold H2o is ice cold!!!! I'm thrilled with it! The bottom loading is also great! I've got severe back problems & was not able to lift the bottles any more. I switched, from 3 to 5 gal. bottles and it's made so I can roll the bottle right in. You only have about 1/2 cup left, at the end. This is a winner! I saw some complaints about noise. If you adjust the hose & bottle, it ends the vibration sounds!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unclesamsprideandjoy
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
love it
3/20/2017

Customer review by sammijokoutny

5.0 stars 3/20/2017 by sammijokoutny
by sammijokoutny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Theres nothing been wrong with it as of yet. It spits water a little too slowly lol but really i wouldnt trade it in for a thing. worth money and it was bday gift for my water loving fiance and he adores it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sammijokoutny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Primo Bottom Load Water Cooler
12/2/2013

Customer review by Oramel31

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Oramel31
by Oramel31
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As I just moved into a town that has very bad water, I decided to purchase the Primo Bottom Load water cooler. I am a senior citizen and I knew I wouldn't be able to lift the water bottles on a top fill cooler so I thought I would give it a try. It was delivered promptly, was very easy to set up by myself and I have no problem changing the water bottles. And to top it off, I no longer have to heat water for my hot chocolate on cold days. This was the best purchase I have made in a very long time. Thank you Primo for making my life easier.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oramel31
Monee, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice, Quiet & Reasonable
9/28/2013

Customer review by LagunaKidd

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by LagunaKidd
by LagunaKidd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading reviews from various websites, we decided to give this a shot, especially with the bottom bottle function. Overall this is a great product, both in looks and quality. Although there is nothing negative I can say about this product, the one thing I have noticed is the unit could be a little taller, but other than that the cold water is chilled, and the hot water is very hot and of course room temperture is the same. The unit indicator lights alerts you when the water is chilling and when the water is heating. It also indicates when the water bottle is getting low. The added night light is a big plus as well. We are very pleased with our purchase. It does what it is suppose to and what the description states. This is well worth the money, lugging cases of bottles water from the market and taking up room in the frig.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LagunaKidd
Laguna Niguel, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value, good looking, works fabulous!
12/22/2011

Customer review by knittinfool

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by knittinfool
by knittinfool

This is my second Primo bottom load water cooler that I have owned. The only reason I purchased a new one was that I lost my last one in a house fire. I never experienced any of the problems the others mentioned like with water left in the bottom or not very hot or cold. Water temps are great and what they say they are. The asthetics of the bottom load is my biggest draw to having a water cooler. It looks so nice I have it in my dining room and it looks great! My only con that didn't meet my expectations is that the night light isn't as bright or positioned as well as the last model I purchased. Not a deal breaker my any means.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
knittinfool
Burnsville, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
worked great for the first month
12/28/2011

Customer review by Chartskimama

1.0 stars 12/28/2011 by Chartskimama
by Chartskimama

We bought this, because at our age, it is easier to load the bottles on the bottom. It worked great for the first month, just dripped a little, we put a cup to catch the drips, not too bad. Now all of the sudden, it has decided to stream water at night. This happened 3 nights in a row, until the bottle was almost empty. I shut off the heater and cooling units, and figured the little left in the bottle was safe. No, it leaked again. I had a cooler/heater I'd rented and for 20 years, it never leaked. We have no small children. This is a design flaw and we are very unhappy. It definately leaks from the spout, as the container we put under it to catch the leaking was full to over-full, even a large bowl (which fit nicely on the ledge) I leaked approx. 1 gallon per night the first 3 nights. We made sure no buttons were sticking.

Was this review helpful? (39) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chartskimama
Algonquin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
1-20 of 491 total reviews
1-20 of 491 reviews