Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 427 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

427 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

427 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
282
4 stars
83
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 stars
35
1-20 of 390 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 390 total reviews
1-20 of 390 reviews
Great option for elderly or disabled individuals
2/27/2013

Customer review by Skeeter1836

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by Skeeter1836
by Skeeter1836
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although more expensive, this cooler is a better choice for anyone who has difficulty lifting a 5 gallon water bottle to place on top of a cooler for any reason such as age or a physical disablity. Improvement over previous model in that now you can just slide the water bottle into the cooler with your foot whereas before, you had to physically lift the bottle up a few inches to place it in a sliding tray, although this was still better than having to lift a 5 gallon water bottle 3 feet or so to place it on top of the cooler. The fit of the tubing housing has also been improved. This model requires that the entire water bottle cap be removed to attach the tubing housing ensuring a snug fit. On the previous model, the tubing housing was placed on top of the water bottle's removable cap. I had experienced some loose fittings on the older model since we refill the bottles and the cap wears out over time and did not maintain an airtight fit which is necessary for the water to be pumped.

Was this review helpful? (107) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skeeter1836
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
really love it
11/26/2011

Customer review by carpediem1384

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by carpediem1384
by carpediem1384

ill give you the negatives first: my wife wishes it were a bit colder, and 2ndly we use and drink spring water very regularly in our home, but when we arent using it or when its sitting it still occasionally heats and/or cools the water. to me its a bit of a waste of energy. for example itll heat and cool all night. the switches on the back make it easy to turn off. my suggestion to save energy is too make sure you turn it off when you arent using it i.e. while your sleeping or away for the day. the positives are that it looks great in the kitchen. i love that the water jug is hidden in the base. its not nearly as noisy as some reviews seem to make it seem. ive owned it for about 3 weeks now and am very pleased with it. i did not have any problems with a metal or plastic taste. ive used both manadnock springs and poland springs in it. its been great to have in the house. providing it lasts a couple of years id recommend this to anyone. Longevity yet to be seen.

Was this review helpful? (156) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carpediem1384
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Product is GREAT as long as it works...
10/1/2014

Customer review by SkepticalARgirl

4.0 stars 10/1/2014 by SkepticalARgirl
by SkepticalARgirl

I've had my Primo Bottom Load Water Cooler in stainless steel/black for a little under 2 years (we bought it toward the end of 2012). This week we realized the water was no longer cold coming from the cooler. So after some investigation, we discovered the compressor had gone out in the unit. No big deal. We'll just call the company since we did not purchase the extended warranty through Wal-Mart (no need to waste money on a product that shouldn't have issues, and likely a compressor wouldn't be covered under the warranty anyway...read your fine print). Anyhow, we discovered today that we could not get any support on our unit because we couldn't produce a receipt that shows when the system was purchased; although the model number indicates the unit was not manufactured until 2012. Customer service at Primo will give us one year based on the model number, but they will not go back 2 years unless there is a receipt available. So, there you have it. The unit is great as long as it works...

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkepticalARgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SAVE YOUR MONEY
10/21/2013

Customer review by UGGGGHHHHHHH

1.0 stars 10/21/2013 by UGGGGHHHHHHH
by UGGGGHHHHHHH

This is the second Primo Cooler in less than two years. The most recent just purchased in April. The first one, the water did not get cold even after troubleshooting for 20 minutes with a Primo rep. as they do not service the coolers they sell. After adjusting the little screw on 10 different occasions/days still no cold water so finally we gave up because we noticed the 1 year warranty had just run out a week prior to the water not getting cold sooooo against my better judgment, my boss suggested just purchasing another Primo cooler. This was done in April 2013 and today October 21, 2013 the cooler just stopped sucking the water from the bottle. Again, I troubleshooted with the rep (via telephone) and nothing worked. I was then told to send an email picture of the cut cord and they would send me another one of their wonderful products......really? I am hopeful that I can talk my boss into being done with this company. 2 products in less than 2 years and nothing but hassle after hassle....definitely not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (62) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UGGGGHHHHHHH
Kingston, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
bottom load rocks!
6/18/2014

Customer review by BigS78

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by BigS78
by BigS78
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's an excellent product for the price i've got. It looks pretty nice in the kitchen, but it cool fit perfectly on any space, even office or public areas. The mixed finish of black plastic and stainless steel makes it very cool and modern. it comes with three temperature choices. Room temperature, cold and hot. I didn't get to try the hot one yet, but the cold one gives me chilled water whitout the problem of dealing with ice. Comes out pretty refreshing, even cold enough to creste condensation on the outside of your glass right away. The best of it all is the bottom load. C'mon! Those 5 gals bottles are heavy like a big fat panda! Lifting it up is not a problem now, just roll it, plug it, tuck it in and close the door. Low back issues no more. Im about 6ft tall and the whole thing ain't much taller than my waist. You don't have anti estetics blue bottles eye line height and the possibility of turning of hot-cold system separately makes it very convenient. Its very quiet, even less noise than your refrigerator and loads water into tank very fast. I would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigS78
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT!!! BEST OPTION!
8/28/2013

Customer review by ShannonsPetSitting

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by ShannonsPetSitting
by ShannonsPetSitting
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I live in Carpentersville, IL which has AWFUL Water! Its so bad its ruins aquarium filters, humidifiers etc. So I refuse to let myself, guests, my cats drink it or my fish to swim in it! So when I bought my house I needed an alternative water source for myself and my pets. I previous had Brita water filters on my sinks in my old apartment & they wouldn't work in my new house with the fixtures. A water softener or home filtration system was not an affordable option. Neither was a water service because I wont go through that much water. Having back issues I also have trouble lifting large bottles of water. This was the PERFECT solution! Its quiet - I'm not sure what those other reviews are talking about. I am able to easily load bottles of water. Plus the buttons are up high so when my niece & nephew come over they can not reach the buttons up on top! I can also shut off the cooling, heating & light buttons to save energy when I'm not home.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShannonsPetSitting
NW Chicago Suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/21/2012

Customer review by Sailingone

2.0 stars 7/21/2012 by Sailingone
by Sailingone

I purchased this unit and used it for about 2 weeks before returning it. My reasons for returning were these: the cold water wasn't, it was far from as cold as I like it; it kept a slight plastic taste for all 10 days I had it; room temperature water is not available, even when using the hot water spigot with the heater turned off you get cool water-when getting water for tea I'm using water that has been cooled, which I then heat-it was hard to live with this energy irony. The pump noise was slight, a non-issue, other than the idea that it takes electricity to provide water, unlike the bottle on top type that uses gravity. It is, however, quite handy to merely slide the heavy water bottle into the base of the unit. I think that if you have no need for real cold water or room temp water this unit might be fine; I assume that the slight plastic taste would go away in time. Wal-Mart was great about the return; I had the unit boxed up as I received it and they took it back, no questions asked.

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sailingone
Norman, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy water hookup
2/27/2014

Customer review by soon2retire

4.0 stars 2/27/2014 by soon2retire
by soon2retire
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are very happy with the ease of loading a 5 gallon bottle of water in the cooler. I am in my 50's and my husband is in his 60's. I didn't want to struggle with getting a bottle of water on the top of a water cooler (although my husband can easily lift the bottle, but he travels some for his job) so we chose the Primo bottom load cooler. There are two reasons we gave this cooler 4 instead of 5 stars. The cooler is a little noisy when first plugged in because the pump and cooler are running continuously for about an hour which is normal; however, it was extra noisy and had a continuous vibration. My husband folded a piece of cardboard and wedged it in the back between the body and top of the cooler and the vibration stopped. Easy fix for an annoying problem. The other reason is there is suppose to be a hot water, room temperature and cold water spout. The room temperature spout is just as cold as the cold water spout but this is not a major problem. We can get room temperature water from the hot water spout because we don't turn the heat on unless we need to use it and it heats up really fast. All in all we believe this is a good product and very attractive but believe it is over priced considering the two problems we listed.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soon2retire
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very pleased
12/13/2015

Customer review by Becky

5.0 stars 12/13/2015 by Becky
by Becky

Just got it up and running yesterday and I am very happy with it. It matches my appliances beautifully.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Becky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is great but it too expensive
2/4/2016

Customer review by Erick

3.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Erick
by Erick

It works well there is no complain at all

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Erick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Thermostat adjustment for COLDER WATER!!!
7/4/2012

Customer review by FairReviewer23

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by FairReviewer23
by FairReviewer23

I love this product! I have had it for about 6 months now and was shopping for one for my mother and noticed a lot of reviewers complaining about the water not getting cold enough. Hope this is helpful.... Simply locate the dial which resembles a gold/brass-colored flathead screw in the small hole to the left of the black label panel. Use a flat screwdriver to adjust the dial clockwise to cool the water. Do Not adjust this piece more than ¼ turn at a time. Allow one hour increments between adjustments. Turning the control too much will cause water to freeze in the appliance’s reservoir and may lead to other issues such as the tank cracking.

Was this review helpful? (414) (64)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FairReviewer23
MESA, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Nice Equipment
3/20/2012

Customer review by WVLovesWalMart

5.0 stars 3/20/2012 by WVLovesWalMart
by WVLovesWalMart

This water cooler was a replacement for a top load cooler that died. I selected the bottom load because, when I was not available, my wife had trouble lifting the 5 gallon bottles of water. This unit is very stylish (black and stainless steel appointed), was very easy to set up, and (so far) has been working well. I read some of the reviews (before purchase) that said it was noisy. I have found the only noise is when it is actually pumping water, immediately after use. Other than that, it is silent. I don't use the hot water option (easier to microwave a small amount of water), and have found the cold water option is cold enough to drink (even without adding ice). A red light comes on when the bottle is near empty, the bottle is easy to change (just pull out the filler tube and replace into the next bottle), and I use the small amount of water left in the previous bottle to fill my coffee maker. There is also a toggle light switch on the back that helps when filling, if your room is not very well lighted. All-in-all, this cooler has been an excellent purchase, a lot nicer than the cheaper-looking white top load models!

Was this review helpful? (76) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WVLovesWalMart
Martinsburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Couldn't be Happier
9/8/2015

Customer review by 12345Shannon

4.0 stars 9/8/2015 by 12345Shannon
by 12345Shannon

Love the machine so far, have only had it a few days, but runs great, there was one issue with the product that Primo rectified right away. The band that attaches the pump to the water bottle did not grasp the bottle tight enough to stay on, I called Primo and they will be sending me a replacement part which I believe is the plastic clamp and it will arrive in 3 to 5 business days. If it arrives I will give it a 5 o.ut of 5

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
12345Shannon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST H2O cooler I've ever had!!!
9/19/2013

Customer review by unclesamsprideandjoy

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by unclesamsprideandjoy
by unclesamsprideandjoy

I am absolutely sick to see this item @ Walmart, for this price!!! I purchased the exact same one, July 4, 2013. It cost $269, and another $69 for delivery!!! I had to replace my old one. I searched everywhere for one, online! I didn't think Walmart carried water coolers! What a dingbat!! This thing is great! When they say the water is nearly boiling, they're not kidding! The cold H2o is ice cold!!!! I'm thrilled with it! The bottom loading is also great! I've got severe back problems & was not able to lift the bottles any more. I switched, from 3 to 5 gal. bottles and it's made so I can roll the bottle right in. You only have about 1/2 cup left, at the end. This is a winner! I saw some complaints about noise. If you adjust the hose & bottle, it ends the vibration sounds!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unclesamsprideandjoy
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
seems to be what it was to look like and work out
1/16/2016

Customer review by mmmp

4.0 stars 1/16/2016 by mmmp
by mmmp

working out pretty well in the 1 week of use

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mmmp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Like great, but wish I knew a couple details
8/27/2015

Customer review by Krystal

4.0 stars 8/27/2015 by Krystal
by Krystal

We purchased this after our top loader gave out on us. It looks nice, definitely. Only a couple of complaints - it doesn't get every drop of water out of the container, and the water flow isn't as fast as our top loader. You also have to hold the dispense buttons in the whole time - there's no switch to make the water flow constantly on its own. This also says it fits pitchers.... No it does not. We make our own iced tea, which is why I'm complaining about that, the water flow, and having to hold the dispense button. It stinks, but not a big enough complaint to make us want to return it...

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krystal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Primo Bottom Load Water Cooler
12/2/2013

Customer review by Oramel31

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Oramel31
by Oramel31
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As I just moved into a town that has very bad water, I decided to purchase the Primo Bottom Load water cooler. I am a senior citizen and I knew I wouldn't be able to lift the water bottles on a top fill cooler so I thought I would give it a try. It was delivered promptly, was very easy to set up by myself and I have no problem changing the water bottles. And to top it off, I no longer have to heat water for my hot chocolate on cold days. This was the best purchase I have made in a very long time. Thank you Primo for making my life easier.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oramel31
Monee, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
12/2/2015

Customer review by Cindy

5.0 stars 12/2/2015 by Cindy
by Cindy

I bought this for a gift for a family who has not so good of drinking water and they love it. Easy to operate and load of water is great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cindy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very easy to assemble, Love it.
1/4/2014

Customer review by shoptilyoudrop1966

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by shoptilyoudrop1966
by shoptilyoudrop1966
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my fourth Water Cooler and my favorite one so far. It is also my first bottom load. I don't know why I waited 15 years to get a bottom loader. (I think in my mind, I was thinking the water wouldn't make it's way up to the dispensers, and there would be a lot of standing water in the bottle. But that is not the case at all. When the light comes on to indicate that it's time to change the bottle, there is less than a cup in the bottom. It's so easy to put the bottle in, no lifting and no chance of water spilling everywhere. The cold water is very cold. The hot water is very hot. You want hot tea or cocoa, there is no waiting at all. (no more heating up hot water in a pan or in the microwave) Just put your cup under the dispenser and wa-la you have your drink. If you don't think you will need hot water, you can just flip a switch on the back (right up top and easy to locate in the dark) and turn the switch off. This will prevent it from keeping hot water ready at your beck and call. (and will save energy) Personally, if I know I am going to have a Hot tea at night, I just flip on the switch about an hour before I need it. But you can leave the Hot switch on all the time, so there is no waiting. I don't know how long it takes for the hot water to heat up, I haven't timed it, but I don't think it's long, I just plan ahead. I love the buttons also to push to get the water out. So much better than the old timey pegs that would break off. I can't come up with anything negative to say about this. I really love it and it looks very nice. Even my guests compliment it when they see it. I hope this helps. (last thing: there is a little safety feature on the Hot Water, so that a small child doesn't press it and get burned), since I have several kids at my house all the time, I really like this. But very simple for an adult to use.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoptilyoudrop1966
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Will recommend.
1/4/2016

Customer review by saroshj

4.0 stars 1/4/2016 by saroshj
by saroshj

Compact, looks good and average cooling and Heating. Wish the cooling was better out of the box. But I like the fact that the the bottle is hidden in the bottom compartment and it looks sleek too. The price was without question great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saroshj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 390 total reviews
1-20 of 390 reviews