Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 487 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

487 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

487 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
325
4 stars
96
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 stars
38
1-20 of 450 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 450 total reviews
1-20 of 450 reviews
Product is GREAT as long as it works...
10/1/2014

Customer review by SkepticalARgirl

4.0 stars 10/1/2014 by SkepticalARgirl
by SkepticalARgirl

I've had my Primo Bottom Load Water Cooler in stainless steel/black for a little under 2 years (we bought it toward the end of 2012). This week we realized the water was no longer cold coming from the cooler. So after some investigation, we discovered the compressor had gone out in the unit. No big deal. We'll just call the company since we did not purchase the extended warranty through Wal-Mart (no need to waste money on a product that shouldn't have issues, and likely a compressor wouldn't be covered under the warranty anyway...read your fine print). Anyhow, we discovered today that we could not get any support on our unit because we couldn't produce a receipt that shows when the system was purchased; although the model number indicates the unit was not manufactured until 2012. Customer service at Primo will give us one year based on the model number, but they will not go back 2 years unless there is a receipt available. So, there you have it. The unit is great as long as it works...

Was this review helpful? (55) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkepticalARgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great option for elderly or disabled individuals
2/27/2013

Customer review by Skeeter1836

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by Skeeter1836
by Skeeter1836
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although more expensive, this cooler is a better choice for anyone who has difficulty lifting a 5 gallon water bottle to place on top of a cooler for any reason such as age or a physical disablity. Improvement over previous model in that now you can just slide the water bottle into the cooler with your foot whereas before, you had to physically lift the bottle up a few inches to place it in a sliding tray, although this was still better than having to lift a 5 gallon water bottle 3 feet or so to place it on top of the cooler. The fit of the tubing housing has also been improved. This model requires that the entire water bottle cap be removed to attach the tubing housing ensuring a snug fit. On the previous model, the tubing housing was placed on top of the water bottle's removable cap. I had experienced some loose fittings on the older model since we refill the bottles and the cap wears out over time and did not maintain an airtight fit which is necessary for the water to be pumped.

Was this review helpful? (145) (62)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skeeter1836
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's Primo all the way!
4/25/2016

Customer review by HappyBarbi

5.0 stars 4/25/2016 by HappyBarbi
by HappyBarbi

I bought the Primo BOTTOM LOAD Water Dispenser for a few good reasons! It's a bottom load, all I have to do is slide the bottle into the cabinet and pop the dispensing unit on top and I'm ready to go! I don't need to purchase a 30+ package of bottled water and put them into the fridge to be cool and ready to go! The dispenser looks good in my kitchen and even though I have a small kitchen, it fits right in and out of the way and ready to use. I use my insulated cups to carry my fresh cool water and can fill and fill and fill and go! I read many reviews about the home dispensers, Primo in particular, and was hesitant about any of the dispensers, but a friend of mine beat me to the punch and had purchased one and I used it and found it to be so easy to use and maintain, so I made my decision on the Primo and love it! I made my decision on the black and stainless because it looks rich and expensive and easy to maintain it's clean look.

Was this review helpful? (44) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyBarbi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
really love it
11/26/2011

Customer review by carpediem1384

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by carpediem1384
by carpediem1384

ill give you the negatives first: my wife wishes it were a bit colder, and 2ndly we use and drink spring water very regularly in our home, but when we arent using it or when its sitting it still occasionally heats and/or cools the water. to me its a bit of a waste of energy. for example itll heat and cool all night. the switches on the back make it easy to turn off. my suggestion to save energy is too make sure you turn it off when you arent using it i.e. while your sleeping or away for the day. the positives are that it looks great in the kitchen. i love that the water jug is hidden in the base. its not nearly as noisy as some reviews seem to make it seem. ive owned it for about 3 weeks now and am very pleased with it. i did not have any problems with a metal or plastic taste. ive used both manadnock springs and poland springs in it. its been great to have in the house. providing it lasts a couple of years id recommend this to anyone. Longevity yet to be seen.

Was this review helpful? (182) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carpediem1384
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Choice
7/31/2016

Customer review by DHoder

5.0 stars 7/31/2016 by DHoder
by DHoder

I'm so glad our top load water dispenser decided to die. This one is so much better and changing bottles is so easy now with no mess to clean up . The night light is an excellent added bonus. If the company is watching these reviews here's a couple suggestions that would make it better: 1. Add a small pocket inside the unit to store the bottle cap (currently you just have to throw it in anywhere) 2. Change the color scheme on the buttons - I can never remember if light blue or dark blue is chilled water. Maybe tan for room temp?

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DHoder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SAVE YOUR MONEY
10/21/2013

Customer review by UGGGGHHHHHHH

1.0 stars 10/21/2013 by UGGGGHHHHHHH
by UGGGGHHHHHHH

This is the second Primo Cooler in less than two years. The most recent just purchased in April. The first one, the water did not get cold even after troubleshooting for 20 minutes with a Primo rep. as they do not service the coolers they sell. After adjusting the little screw on 10 different occasions/days still no cold water so finally we gave up because we noticed the 1 year warranty had just run out a week prior to the water not getting cold sooooo against my better judgment, my boss suggested just purchasing another Primo cooler. This was done in April 2013 and today October 21, 2013 the cooler just stopped sucking the water from the bottle. Again, I troubleshooted with the rep (via telephone) and nothing worked. I was then told to send an email picture of the cut cord and they would send me another one of their wonderful products......really? I am hopeful that I can talk my boss into being done with this company. 2 products in less than 2 years and nothing but hassle after hassle....definitely not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (84) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UGGGGHHHHHHH
Kingston, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Primo dispensers continue to do the job
8/12/2016

Customer review by JazzedOne

5.0 stars 8/12/2016 by JazzedOne
by JazzedOne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been a Primo top load dispenser for decades, I finally had to replace my unit and decided to go with a bottom loader for the convenience. So for (1 month), I'm quite pleased with the upgrade. The unit looks great, keeps my water cool, operates quietly and gives me the added feature of room temp water along with hot and cold (I only had hot and cold on my old unit). I'm glad I stuck with Primo!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JazzedOne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser 900130
5/6/2016

Customer review by computergram

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by computergram
by computergram

I have had my Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser for a week now and am very pleased with it so far. I like that I can turn either hot or cold off separately. I love the hot water on demand feature of this system and use it often. I'm not a fan of ice water so turn that one off at this time. Perhaps in the hot weather I'll turn it on, but for now room temperature water is preferable. My one suggestion is that the empty light would be gradual - such as when the water is getting low, it begins to glow and gets brighter as the water level decreases. That way I can get my water at the right time and not have it sitting around for any length of time before using it. I can't lift a 5 gallon bottle, so opt to get smaller bottles and pour them into the large bottle. I like that it is not difficult to slide the big bottle back in once it is filled.

Was this review helpful? (27) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
computergram
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/21/2012

Customer review by Sailingone

2.0 stars 7/21/2012 by Sailingone
by Sailingone

I purchased this unit and used it for about 2 weeks before returning it. My reasons for returning were these: the cold water wasn't, it was far from as cold as I like it; it kept a slight plastic taste for all 10 days I had it; room temperature water is not available, even when using the hot water spigot with the heater turned off you get cool water-when getting water for tea I'm using water that has been cooled, which I then heat-it was hard to live with this energy irony. The pump noise was slight, a non-issue, other than the idea that it takes electricity to provide water, unlike the bottle on top type that uses gravity. It is, however, quite handy to merely slide the heavy water bottle into the base of the unit. I think that if you have no need for real cold water or room temp water this unit might be fine; I assume that the slight plastic taste would go away in time. Wal-Mart was great about the return; I had the unit boxed up as I received it and they took it back, no questions asked.

Was this review helpful? (20) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sailingone
Norman, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!!! BEST OPTION!
8/28/2013

Customer review by ShannonsPetSitting

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by ShannonsPetSitting
by ShannonsPetSitting
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I live in Carpentersville, IL which has AWFUL Water! Its so bad its ruins aquarium filters, humidifiers etc. So I refuse to let myself, guests, my cats drink it or my fish to swim in it! So when I bought my house I needed an alternative water source for myself and my pets. I previous had Brita water filters on my sinks in my old apartment & they wouldn't work in my new house with the fixtures. A water softener or home filtration system was not an affordable option. Neither was a water service because I wont go through that much water. Having back issues I also have trouble lifting large bottles of water. This was the PERFECT solution! Its quiet - I'm not sure what those other reviews are talking about. I am able to easily load bottles of water. Plus the buttons are up high so when my niece & nephew come over they can not reach the buttons up on top! I can also shut off the cooling, heating & light buttons to save energy when I'm not home.

Was this review helpful? (44) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShannonsPetSitting
NW Chicago Suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A snap to load
8/20/2016

Customer review by Cbharr

5.0 stars 8/20/2016 by Cbharr
by Cbharr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There is absolutely no lifting to load bottles into this gem. Growing old sucks! For the last couple of years, I could not put a bottle on top of a cooler unless the cooler was placed right next to a counter so I could use the counter to help hold the bottle. Now I just slide the bottle inside and place the connector into the opening. The first time I did it, I was amazed how easy it was. My son is happy that he is no longer responsible for keeping a filled water bottle on the cooler. The cold water is the perfect temperature for cold drinks and the hot water is perfect for coffee, tea, hot cocoa or soup. It also can be used for the instant noodles packages.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cbharr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SO FAR SO GOOD
6/27/2016

Customer review by MCLAS

4.0 stars 6/27/2016 by MCLAS
by MCLAS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Package arrived in good condition. Easy set up. So far so good - only had it for two weeks so don't know what it would be like in the long run. I like the temperature on demand. It runs quietly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MCLAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great purchase
6/4/2016

Customer review by Happywaterdrinker

5.0 stars 6/4/2016 by Happywaterdrinker
by Happywaterdrinker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was a great purchase. We hate the taste of our well water. I was tired of buying water one gallon at a time. This bottom fed water cooler is great because I do not have to lift heavy bottles to insert upside down. The bottles can be refilled easily at a machine for about $1.50. My whole family is drinking more water and less soda because of this product!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happywaterdrinker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
bottom load rocks!
6/18/2014

Customer review by BigS78

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by BigS78
by BigS78
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's an excellent product for the price i've got. It looks pretty nice in the kitchen, but it cool fit perfectly on any space, even office or public areas. The mixed finish of black plastic and stainless steel makes it very cool and modern. it comes with three temperature choices. Room temperature, cold and hot. I didn't get to try the hot one yet, but the cold one gives me chilled water whitout the problem of dealing with ice. Comes out pretty refreshing, even cold enough to creste condensation on the outside of your glass right away. The best of it all is the bottom load. C'mon! Those 5 gals bottles are heavy like a big fat panda! Lifting it up is not a problem now, just roll it, plug it, tuck it in and close the door. Low back issues no more. Im about 6ft tall and the whole thing ain't much taller than my waist. You don't have anti estetics blue bottles eye line height and the possibility of turning of hot-cold system separately makes it very convenient. Its very quiet, even less noise than your refrigerator and loads water into tank very fast. I would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigS78
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this Primo
6/5/2016

Customer review by waukeshaman

5.0 stars 6/5/2016 by waukeshaman
by waukeshaman

It is so great to just slide the water bottle in . With no more lifting and flipping over, my back feels SO MUCH BETTER! The LED night light is great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waukeshaman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy water hookup
2/27/2014

Customer review by soon2retire

4.0 stars 2/27/2014 by soon2retire
by soon2retire
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are very happy with the ease of loading a 5 gallon bottle of water in the cooler. I am in my 50's and my husband is in his 60's. I didn't want to struggle with getting a bottle of water on the top of a water cooler (although my husband can easily lift the bottle, but he travels some for his job) so we chose the Primo bottom load cooler. There are two reasons we gave this cooler 4 instead of 5 stars. The cooler is a little noisy when first plugged in because the pump and cooler are running continuously for about an hour which is normal; however, it was extra noisy and had a continuous vibration. My husband folded a piece of cardboard and wedged it in the back between the body and top of the cooler and the vibration stopped. Easy fix for an annoying problem. The other reason is there is suppose to be a hot water, room temperature and cold water spout. The room temperature spout is just as cold as the cold water spout but this is not a major problem. We can get room temperature water from the hot water spout because we don't turn the heat on unless we need to use it and it heats up really fast. All in all we believe this is a good product and very attractive but believe it is over priced considering the two problems we listed.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soon2retire
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Everything good
8/23/2016

Customer review by RonofMMB

5.0 stars 8/23/2016 by RonofMMB
by RonofMMB

Our son purchased this unit and it was well worth our investment. Being seniors, it is not easy to life a full five gallon bottle of water. So, with the bottom loading, sure is convenient. The hot water feature is used often and the cold water is cold.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RonofMMB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Nice Equipment
3/20/2012

Customer review by WVLovesWalMart

5.0 stars 3/20/2012 by WVLovesWalMart
by WVLovesWalMart

This water cooler was a replacement for a top load cooler that died. I selected the bottom load because, when I was not available, my wife had trouble lifting the 5 gallon bottles of water. This unit is very stylish (black and stainless steel appointed), was very easy to set up, and (so far) has been working well. I read some of the reviews (before purchase) that said it was noisy. I have found the only noise is when it is actually pumping water, immediately after use. Other than that, it is silent. I don't use the hot water option (easier to microwave a small amount of water), and have found the cold water option is cold enough to drink (even without adding ice). A red light comes on when the bottle is near empty, the bottle is easy to change (just pull out the filler tube and replace into the next bottle), and I use the small amount of water left in the previous bottle to fill my coffee maker. There is also a toggle light switch on the back that helps when filling, if your room is not very well lighted. All-in-all, this cooler has been an excellent purchase, a lot nicer than the cheaper-looking white top load models!

Was this review helpful? (79) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WVLovesWalMart
Martinsburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
We love this cooler...
6/15/2016

Customer review by Richard

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Richard
by Richard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is nice and quiet and keeps the water cool/hot... The one thing that they don't tell you in the manual is the that if you use a 3 gallon bottle, like we do, there are two tabs on the top of the probe that slides down to cover the lower bottle. It works well.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Richard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thermostat adjustment for COLDER WATER!!!
7/4/2012

Customer review by FairReviewer23

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by FairReviewer23
by FairReviewer23

I love this product! I have had it for about 6 months now and was shopping for one for my mother and noticed a lot of reviewers complaining about the water not getting cold enough. Hope this is helpful.... Simply locate the dial which resembles a gold/brass-colored flathead screw in the small hole to the left of the black label panel. Use a flat screwdriver to adjust the dial clockwise to cool the water. Do Not adjust this piece more than ¼ turn at a time. Allow one hour increments between adjustments. Turning the control too much will cause water to freeze in the appliance’s reservoir and may lead to other issues such as the tank cracking.

Was this review helpful? (440) (66)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FairReviewer23
MESA, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 450 total reviews
1-20 of 450 reviews