Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

53 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

53 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

32%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
35
1-20 of 53 total reviews
32%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
SIM functions are primitive
10/28/2011

Customer review by gwideman

2.0 stars 10/28/2011 by gwideman
by gwideman

If you are here because of the SIM reader capability, here are a few things to know: 1. Grab and review the manuals and USIM editor app from the link other commenter provided. The docs reference a CD with drivers for the SIM reader -- there is no CD provided, but the USIM editor also installs the SIM reader driver, apparently. 2. Unlike other memory cards, the SIM contents do not appear as files in Windows Explorer. They are only accessible via the editor program. 3. The SIM may or may not hold your contacts and/or recent SMS messages. In my case, I had to use a command on the phone to move contacts from phone memory to SIM, after which the reader and editor did see them. 4. The PDF docs claim that editor can save ("export") contacts to a file in text or CSV format. I only found capability to export in "usv" format, which contains text embedded in binary data, with records terminated by a "1" byte. Not compatible with a text editor or excel, though a programmer could work with this. Overall, a rather primitive effort, but if you need it, you need it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gwideman
Would recommend to a friend? No
The Software from Sunpak does not work for SIM
12/16/2014

Customer review by Elvis1976

1.0 stars 12/16/2014 by Elvis1976
by Elvis1976

I have tested SIM Cards using this product and downloading software from sunpak.com/sim.html and software does not work. You have to use magicsim_v255, you can download from my 4shared account at http://www.4shared.com/file/bhkUIFrQba/magicsim_v255.html. Read Description!!! To read, write, Contact List from cell phones SIM Cards using Sunpak 72-in-1 Card Reader. Install software and click YES to install DRIVERS, open program MagicSim.exe, click Setup. Select SmartCard Reader and click Conn than click on Files, click on Phone Book. You can Import and Export Contact List. I have done with 4 SIM Cards.

Was this review helpful? (89) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elvis1976
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Junk , Useless , Do not buy ..
5/28/2014

Customer review by Chevy383

1.0 stars 5/28/2014 by Chevy383
by Chevy383

Junk , Useless , Do not buy .. Worked flawless 2X .. Now will not read a card for anything .. Re-seated the card multiple times , and yes it is in the correct way.. Tried multiple laptops, same issue .. Dead after 2 uses... Avoid...Believe the other 19 negative reviews..

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chevy383
Would recommend to a friend? No
IMO a very very good card reader
5/8/2012

Customer review by DewCanSam

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by DewCanSam
by DewCanSam

I have been using this card reader for at least 2 years now. In everything from XP Home / Pro to Vista and Win7 and Linux. I have no idea what everybody else is complaining about because it has worked great in everything that I do. Be it CF, SD, SDmicro, and even SIM. IT DOES REQUIRE A DRIVER for SIM cards. But, I have used it to read SD on a WinXP system without a driver. I am a computer tech support specialist and have been working in the pc field in one way or another since 1999. That is why I have used it on every system except a mac. I have no trouble inserting or using any of the slots. You do have to be careful about mis-inserting as the labels can be confusing. The SIM functions are somewhat limited but that is not the fault of SUNPAK but rather the phone makers, as there are no standards for SIM data storage for contacts. In a way there is, but once again blame LG, Verizon, Moto and all the others for not adopting the vcf format. Even in my most recent phone where I can add all kinds of contact info when I back them up to the sim card all info but the phone number gets dropped. btw driver link @ http://sunpak.com/specsheets/simreaderzipver10250.zip

Was this review helpful? (36) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DewCanSam
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent device
9/4/2011

Customer review by TheShrink

4.0 stars 9/4/2011 by TheShrink
by TheShrink

Does what it says it does.. Though on Windows 7 you have to fuss with it in device manager to manually install the "smartcard" drivers for the SIM reader on it to work. Everything else works flawlessly without having to work on drivers. The USB connector could be a little longer, but considering it's meant for portable use it's adequate.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheShrink
North Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Ever wished you hadnt bought something?
2/15/2014

Customer review by datzmajykl10

1.0 stars 2/15/2014 by datzmajykl10
by datzmajykl10

This will be one of those times when you may, as I wasted my money on this about 2 months ago after having read the reviews, noticing there are less good reviews than bad. This Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot is a rip off after only one time of being able to use it successfully. First time I used it, I put my Sandisk card upside down. Was able to download my music on it. For the past three days I have tried several times, to get more music on the MicroSD card. The slot that holds the micro card is not a snug fit, the card isnt firm in the slot, turn it sideways the card falls out. I live alone and no one has tampered with this in any way, not sure how the card cant be secure in the slot! So I got my Sandisk Adapter, put the microSD card in it, either way my desktop or laptop computer does not recognize this at all. I notice there are more than 1 star reviews, then 2, 3, 4, 5 altogether!! I generally buy or choose not to buy by reviews if any are available for an item I am interested in. I would rather have my money back than this plastic worthless junk. I will shop again for something else to put my music on, being more careful now to pay attention to reviews. I dont have the original packaging or receipt, but I'm taking it back to the Walmart I bought it from and give it to customer service. Its no good to me. Please search elsewhere! You may be glad you did! I wish I had!! Live and learn!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
datzmajykl10
Suwannee County, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Did What I Needed (old Digital Cameras)
6/18/2013

Customer review by TexasWerewolf

4.0 stars 6/18/2013 by TexasWerewolf
by TexasWerewolf

In my case, this was perfect. I have an extremely old Nikon Coolpix and Fugifilm 3800 finepix cameras. My main computer broke down recently and I had to go to a 15+ year old XP machine. It stopped recognizing my USB cable for my camera after 6 hours. No amount of web crawling or normal fixes would get XP to recognize the camera was attached. I didn't have a USB cable for the old Coolpix which used to work with the PC. They had this in-store (Texas) and it worked fine out of the box with XP. I did have to sit through it looking for drivers but it recognized them even though I got the "your device might not be working properly" message. It's keeping me going with the photos I need for work until the PC parts get here. I'll continue using it to save battery drain when my PC is back up and running. I give it 4 stars because it doesn't look particularly durable for the price, but it works. No complaints and rescued my old camera cards.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasWerewolf
Temple, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Junk
10/5/2015

Customer review by Kate

1.0 stars 10/5/2015 by Kate
by Kate

Traveling and forgot to bring my memory card reader so I stopped at Wal-Mart to purchase one. This was the only choice and it is junk. After downloading the photos to my computer and reinserting the card in the camera, the card is now unreadable. Formatting of the card does not work. I tested with a new card and it's the same. Waste of money on this card reader.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kate
Would recommend to a friend? No
Non-existent website for the driver
10/28/2012

Customer review by frogsqueezer

1.0 stars 10/28/2012 by frogsqueezer
by frogsqueezer

Can't read/edit a SIM card without the software--website address is no good---as a matter of fact, www.sunpak.com has a 404 error--"Not Found."

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frogsqueezer
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not Quite Junk
7/27/2011

Customer review by snowdog37

4.0 stars 7/27/2011 by snowdog37
by snowdog37

Just pluged it into a Windows XP Pro machine and did not require any drivers. However, driver is required for SimCard reader and the address for the download is in the instruction leaflet, included in the package. Built-in plug may prove to be the weak point, though.

Was this review helpful? (28) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snowdog37
UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
would never recommend this product
5/13/2014

Customer review by lrijun262060

1.0 stars 5/13/2014 by lrijun262060
by lrijun262060
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this item is the worst thing I have ever spent money on I spent hours trying to get this to work came with no instructions you just insert and it is suppose to give you a option to download never happened went to website they gave if that is what you call it for hours I tried different websites to find a download for product finally found the website for the product and its says to insert cd to download product doesn't come with a cd this was not a cheap item for me that only reason I didn't not return is because my daughter accidently threw away the package

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lrijun262060
madison, il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This reader is poorly designed.
10/30/2013

Customer review by Prolensman

1.0 stars 10/30/2013 by Prolensman
by Prolensman

This card reader is poorly designed. The loose fit of the flash card in the reader slot causes it to mis-align and damage the pins. I have used many card readers over the years and they need a very tight and aligned fit into the slot. Something this reader fails miserably at. I bent the pins on the first insertion and I was careful. This will be headed back for a refund pronto.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Prolensman
Freindsville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Save your money
6/3/2013

Customer review by Wundertech

1.0 stars 6/3/2013 by Wundertech
by Wundertech

This is completely useless. There is no software disc and can not download drivers from mfg. Will not upload pictures to computer. Bought yesterday and have gotten absolutely no use out of it. It will be returned tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wundertech
Alamosa, Co.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Broken after 15 seconds... Junk
3/30/2015

Customer review by Andy

1.0 stars 3/30/2015 by Andy
by Andy

Purchased this to delete data off of a Compact Flash Card. Worked for about 15 to 20 seconds, then the device acted as though it became 'unplugged' and now only has a red light on it. Tried 4 different USB 2.0 ports, 2 other PCs running Windows XP and 7 as well as a different memory card but the device refuses to function. Calling this card reader useless junk would be an insult to junk. Do not purchase if you're looking to actually work with sensitive memory card data.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Complete junk
7/6/2011

Customer review by Cy2000

1.0 stars 7/6/2011 by Cy2000
by Cy2000

No WinXP driver for it. Doesn't autorecognize. No website or support. Pins bent first insertion and no way it will work now for Compactflash. Junk.

Was this review helpful? (23) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cy2000
Would recommend to a friend? No
Reads My Old CF Card Fine on Windows 10
3/3/2016

Customer review by DNCLNT

4.0 stars 3/3/2016 by DNCLNT
by DNCLNT

I was hesitant about getting this guy due to the reviews on this site, however most of the negatives pertain to SIM card usage, which is not why I bought it. I am traveling and forgot my personal CF card reader. I have an old Nikon S5700 that uses the older CF cards. I am happy to say that it works fine. Windows 10 reads the CF card fine. No need to download any drivers for CF cards. The little USB cord that hides under the reader is a nice feature. But why so expensive???? $16??

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DNCLNT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Still has limitations
1/19/2014

Customer review by LunarDee

2.0 stars 1/19/2014 by LunarDee
by LunarDee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this specifically for the SIM reader functions, it doesn't read it. When contacting support, all they said was that it must be my SIM's. No suggestions, no help. I tried an SD card and that worked just fine. Directions are few and vague, you have to download something for the SIM reader on PC; in the d/l instructions says full directions are online…nope, they're not. When having trouble with it reading SIM's on my MAC; support just said: Apple says you don't need the download……. period; not suggestions, no instructions on how to use it. I'll keep it only because I do have need for reading SD cards and such.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LunarDee
Raymond, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great even on old systems
3/13/2016

Customer review by RJ44130

4.0 stars 3/13/2016 by RJ44130
by RJ44130

Expensive

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RJ44130
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sunpak 72-in-one Card Reader
9/5/2015

Customer review by GBPack

1.0 stars 9/5/2015 by GBPack
by GBPack

Even though it says it works with Windows VISTA, XP, 7,8 and "newer" it does NOT work with our new DELL with Windows 10. It requires a USB 2 connection and the DELL has USB 3 ports so it's been returned and I'll be looking for another way to open the pictures on my CF flash card.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GBPack
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works fine out of the box no problem
12/7/2013

Customer review by Bowk5150

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Bowk5150
by Bowk5150

Easy to use, no brainer and no problems using this on my Windows 7 computer. Simply plugged it in to an available USB port and that was that. No drivers necessary, no fooling around with software required. I've used this for SD, CF and MMC sticks with no issues. The short, storable connector is great actually...no need to worry about 4 feet of cabling to take up extra space in the camera bag or backpack. On my main computer at home I use a USB extension cable plugged into a powered USB hub.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bowk5150
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews