Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

15 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

15 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-13 of 13 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Nice surfcasting reel for stripers
8/21/2012

Customer review by GBBI

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by GBBI
by GBBI

Used for about a week at Block Island with 20lb test line on a 10ft medium action Pinnacle pole with 1.5 once sluggo. Nice feel with good long casts and smooth retrieving. Good combination with the rod. Wish the fish were cooperating a little better though.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GBBI
Block Island, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Reel
5/6/2013

Customer review by foxking

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by foxking
by foxking

It's a very nice reel very well made I have trusted Penn over any other brand. You might as well spend a little more and get one because it will last for years compared to other brands.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foxking
Southwest Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Reel (Fierce 6000)
6/17/2014

Customer review by stephend2016725

5.0 stars 6/17/2014 by stephend2016725
by stephend2016725

I havent owned the reel very long. However, the reel is very smooth and has a great drag system. The gears are very tight and operate smoothly. My favorite aspect of the reel is that there is no built in anti reverse switch. Usually I find that the anti reverse switch gear fails quite often on a reel. This reel excludes that problem.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stephend2016725
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stout construction!
9/27/2014

Customer review by Ully

5.0 stars 9/27/2014 by Ully
by Ully

Been looking for quality made construction and design!

Ully
Leroy, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome product
8/28/2014

Customer review by Cliffc

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by Cliffc
by Cliffc

Have been using this reel for a few months now. Very smooth, love the reel.

Cliffc
Wesley Chapel, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smooth
10/31/2014

Customer review by pez75

5.0 stars 10/31/2014 by pez75
by pez75

I have three of them. 2 are 2000 and one 6000. The 2000 I use for trout, salmon and kokanee. The 6000 for surf fishing. Love all three. Fast, smooth and easy to clean after a fishing trip. Very strong.

pez75
Portland, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing for the Price!
11/19/2014

Customer review by bluefishbuster

5.0 stars 11/19/2014 by bluefishbuster
by bluefishbuster

Once I sold a lot of older reels, rods, and lures, I bought newer and more modern items, with the Penn Fierce being the reel. Ever since I started using it, I have absolutely fallen in love with it! I got to test the drag system on it for the first time in July 2013 while freshwater fishing. I battled a 19" 6 pound 1 ounce largemouth bass with a 2000 model rigged with 6 pound mono. Another good battle was a 2000 model with 10 pound braid landing a 36" striped bass weighing 17 pounds 7 ounces. The reel can go through a lot of heavy usage as long as it's rinsed and kept well taken care of. The only issue I've noticed with the reel is the bail getting a bit loose after a lot of heavy usage.

bluefishbuster
FFLD County, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reels
12/18/2014

Customer review by Yoda

5.0 stars 12/18/2014 by Yoda
by Yoda

I have been using Penn Fierce 3000 and 4000 reels for the last two years. I am very happy with them and have no complaints. My sole failure in 200 plus days of fishing was a reel handle breaking when a customer was fighting an oversized redfish. The drags have worked flawlessly and my bails have never failed. I'm still using most of my original Fierce reels. I lost 4 or 5 that were yanked out of fisherman's hands and one dropped overboard in deep water. Honestly these have been the best, most dependable reels I've used since I started guiding in the mid 1980's. Thanks for providing us with a great reel.

Yoda
Rockport, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
when you know better you do better !!!!!!
1/23/2015

Customer review by mr ikey

5.0 stars 1/23/2015 by mr ikey
by mr ikey

i recently purchased a penn fierce 6000 because my dad used them years ago so after using inferior reels i remembered it was a penn reel my dad used .. so i did a little research and decide to try a penn reel when i say it was heaven sent my dad had to be talking to me from above ....i love it so much i just purchased a 4000 for myself and since my brother happened to pick up my reel by mistake and look at me and said wow!!!!! i like this reel i got get me one these its awesome .... well im headed to fla this weekend and hes getting a surprise.... i bought him a 6000 because he was really im pressed.

mr ikey
atlanta ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smooth, Tough, Reliable!
5/17/2015

Customer review by Gordy83

5.0 stars 5/17/2015 by Gordy83
by Gordy83

I was always a round reel guy until my brother turned me in the direction of the PENN Fierce 3000 model. With 20lb braid and a 6'10" medium/heavy rod. Look out fish here I come.

Gordy83
Kentucky, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great all round reel
12/18/2014

Customer review by bkan010

4.0 stars 12/18/2014 by bkan010
by bkan010

Have had this for about 4 years via a gift and very happy with how it has handled. Although a bit heavy the 8000 is one tough reel handling sharks, kingfish and snapper with ease. Managed to land below with high drag settings on 80lb braid.

bkan010
Auckland, New Zealand
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Terrible reel
1/17/2015

Customer review by Waterbowl

1.0 stars 1/17/2015 by Waterbowl
by Waterbowl

The spool is made with the base of the reel being wider than the top of the spool. This cause severe wind knots with braided line. Would never recommend this reel to anyone.

Waterbowl
Cape Coral, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Much better choices. Save your money
7/4/2015

Customer review by Onetime

1.0 stars 7/4/2015 by Onetime
by Onetime

I bought this. 2 season's ago used it on vacation 3 weeks each time..Loaded 12lb mono. Hooked a skate that was taken drag one click at a time. It finally bit thru the line but not before it took several teeth off the main gear and pinion and bent the spool shaft. I'd say good reel should have snapped the line before trashing the reel. The replacement parts will cost almost enough to replace the whole thing with a new one but it's not going to be one of theses A 4000's. Shame is I got one for the wife too.

Onetime
Old Saybrook, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male