Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 130 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

130 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

130 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
97
4 stars
30
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 130 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
Great for bait fishing
4/26/2013

Customer review by B3ntong

4.0 stars 4/26/2013 by B3ntong
by B3ntong

This model is butter smooth and will be good for using it with bait then sticking it to a rod holder. I got mine with the intention of using it with lures and cranking fast it is a labor...I get cramps after a few cast. I tried cleaning out old grease then sparingly used Penn blue grease and oil and still the same...gummy smooth with lures. My other reels have much lighter retrieve action with same rod and lures.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
B3ntong
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Tough reel for all conditions!
2/26/2016

Customer review by Howler1423

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Howler1423
by Howler1423

I own 2 fierce reels, the 3000 model and the 6000 model and both have blown my mind. The 3000 is a very versatile reel and the 6:2:1 gear ratio helps it to excel in trout fishing when you are reeling with the current. The higher gear ratio helps your spinners come to life where other reels don't have the juice. Moving to the 6000, another great reel and a total workhorse. With the killer drag system on all models it truly out shines on the 6000, strung with 50lb braid you can literally pull trees out of the water. Great for open water and very good for fishing larger catfish species the Fierce reels have become a permanent fixture in my fishing arsenal and they're a great buy for anyone. You won't be sorry you bought it.

Howler1423
Rome, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
perfectly sufficient reel
4/3/2016

Customer review by twalsh9

4.0 stars 4/3/2016 by twalsh9
by twalsh9

This reel does everything I need it to do. I use it on my friend's rod and it hanndles everything we throw at it perfectly fine and definitely can withstand more. We generally use it for surfcasting.

twalsh9
Cold Spring Harbor, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Tough enough to handle more than a good fight!
2/25/2016

Customer review by Olsalty88

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Olsalty88
by Olsalty88

I found this Penn Fierce 4000 reel and Allegiance II 7' rod submerged in a bayou in Pensacola while fishing for reds. It been there long enough for the gear housing to fill with mud and obviously for barnacles to grow. I took everything apart, cleaned it, rinsed it, and greased it back up. The rod is practically perfect, and the reel has just a small amount of grind to it. Otherwise it works better than some of my cheaper reels. I've never purchased a Penn before, but after seeing how well it held up to the elements I'm pretty convinced. Just wanted to share this with you. Good job y'all!

Olsalty88
Pensacola, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
I would like for them to meet saltwater standards,
6/25/2014

Customer review by Buddy4724

5.0 stars 6/25/2014 by Buddy4724
by Buddy4724
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A great reel for the freshwater and strong enough for a Muskie, Line winds well and level.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buddy4724
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fierce 6000 Review
2/25/2016

Customer review by lonellr

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by lonellr
by lonellr

This reel has lasted me 3 seasons after I won it in a fishing tournament! Of course after every season I take it apart and clean it, but I've had other reels that don't make it to two seasons. The only issue I have with it right now is figuring out why the bail won't close on it's own sometimes. But like I said, I will easily figure that out. I've put this reel through hades but it still feels heavenly!!!!! Thanks Penn. Consistently impressing the masses!!

lonellr
Nantucket, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Great reel for the price
6/29/2014

Customer review by Wired2fish

5.0 stars 6/29/2014 by Wired2fish
by Wired2fish

I just bought the Penn Fierce 4000 and paired it with the Penn Prevail 10' surf rod.I could not be more pleased with this combo.The reel has a very smooth drag and very smooth retrieve.The reel has performed very well.It has handled several smaller fish.I can't wait to really test it against larger fish.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wired2fish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great reel
2/3/2016

Customer review by BDelisi46

4.0 stars 2/3/2016 by BDelisi46
by BDelisi46

I've always liked Penn products. Last year I started buying the PENN FIERCE to change out all the older reels I had and boy that was the best move. I have put those reels to the test. Using the 2000, 3000 and 4000 models for almost all the fishing I do. The 2000 and 3000 model are great inshore and fresh water fishing. Every time I head out off shore I'll always carry my 4000 for light casting. I've been off shore 50 miles catching Mahi Mahi and jigging for smaller Amber Jack in the 10 to 15lb. class. The Fierce models are great pieces of equipment at a great value.

BDelisi46
Ayden, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
I love the Fierce
2/26/2016

Customer review by Browej

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Browej
by Browej

I've had this reel for 2 seasons now and it works very well in the salt. It's light weight, strong enough to turn and haul in large fish,and has decent line capacity using power pro. I use the 4000 series on a 6'6" medium rod and I love the combo! It works well for everything from schoolie stripers and blues, to fluke, black sea bass and scup. This reel comes on every boat trip!

Browej
Cape Cod, MA, United States
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
This is a great product
2/5/2016

Customer review by Jimbobam

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Jimbobam
by Jimbobam

I have been using 4000 for two years now and it is holding up to salt water well. Run fresh water over your gear after using and no problem. With braid it has the drag to fight bullreds 4000 are a little heavy for most fresh water fishing, but great for larger fish I also own a 7000 and 8000 that I use for surf fishing. Both have been rugged and solid against reds and sharks, both are holding up well, though the paint is chipping on the exterior where I've laid it on the rocks while fishing. (Dropped while losing balance on the jetty)

Jimbobam
Fort Polk LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome reel!
2/26/2016

Customer review by Nangusdog

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Nangusdog
by Nangusdog

Been fishing for 40+ years...mostly kayak fishing in salt water which is really tough on gear. Hands down the best reel I've ever owned. I gave three different sizes and they all take a beating on a regular basis. My 2500 finally succumbed to one too many drag ripping bull Redfish this past fall and replaced it with another.

Nangusdog
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Peen Fierce
2/25/2016

Customer review by srwatts

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by srwatts
by srwatts

I own the 5000 size in this reel, I have had it for several years. I mainly use it on summer vacations to the Grayton Beach area of Florida. It is used mainly for surf and pier fishing. Have had no problems with the reel, operates perfectly, a quick rinse after using is about the only maintenance I have do on the reel.

srwatts
Brandon, MS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
awesome reel
2/25/2016

Customer review by nainoa

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by nainoa
by nainoa

Aloha I brought 2 reels last year in October just started getting into fishing order a fierce 2k, 4k and man these things are amazing I have caught many fish with them they are smooth and I have had zero issue with them. I also like them so much I purchased an 8k fierce combo with a 10ft rod setup

nainoa
Laie, HI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Love This Reel!!
2/25/2016

Customer review by rockerm1

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by rockerm1
by rockerm1

I do a lot of surf fishing for striped bass and this reel has not disappointed. I have caught stripers up to the 20lbs range and the drag has performed as good as the "higher quality" models and brands. I would recommend this reel for any who wants a great reel at a lower cost!!

rockerm1
Lynn, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
smooth reel
2/25/2016

Customer review by eric14645

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by eric14645
by eric14645

i bought a few months ago- i have used it once and really like it. my son has 2 of these reels in different sizes and I have enjoyed using those. We did have an issue with one of his-probably because we didn't wash the salt water off daily. We have the 3000 and 4000 models

eric14645
olathe,KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
3/1/2016

Customer review by hmmunsell

5.0 stars 3/1/2016 by hmmunsell
by hmmunsell

I bought this item about 6 months ago, great shark rod. reeled in a 7 foot nurse shark with ease, and wasn't scared it was gonna break. great pole, strongly recommended!

hmmunsell
Alachua, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Great Saltwater Reels!
2/17/2016

Customer review by Ta Taco

5.0 stars 2/17/2016 by Ta Taco
by Ta Taco

I now own the 6000, 4000 and the newest edition 2000. I probable neglect my reels. I don't wash them every time I come in from the coast. I pretty much abuse them. They have not even begun to show any type of ware. I cleaned both the 4K and the 6K after about a year of use and they was no sign of ware. For the price, you just can't beat the quality you get.

Ta Taco
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great drag, solid build
2/29/2016

Customer review by stripersniper

5.0 stars 2/29/2016 by stripersniper
by stripersniper

ive had this reel for 3 years and its a tank. its nice and light but solid as a rock its been put through heavy use in saltwater for blues, stripers, and fluke

stripersniper
Hanover, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Exceptional value
2/25/2016

Customer review by Kasuj33

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Kasuj33
by Kasuj33

I've bought a handful of these reels in different sizes and I've been extremely pleased. The quality vs the price point is exceptional. They all have performed extremely well and held up for many years with little maintenance.

Kasuj33
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Reliable reel
2/25/2016

Customer review by halsey

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by halsey
by halsey

I used a Fierce 4000 last fall for Coho in Washington. This reel worked great. Loaded with 20 lb braid it cast well and had plenty of power for salmon to 12 lbs. I'll be using it again next season. Thanks Penn1

halsey
Sequim, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews