Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 22 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Great for bait fishing
4/26/2013

Customer review by B3ntong

4.0 stars 4/26/2013 by B3ntong
by B3ntong

This model is butter smooth and will be good for using it with bait then sticking it to a rod holder. I got mine with the intention of using it with lures and cranking fast it is a labor...I get cramps after a few cast. I tried cleaning out old grease then sparingly used Penn blue grease and oil and still the same...gummy smooth with lures. My other reels have much lighter retrieve action with same rod and lures.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
B3ntong
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice reel
10/2/2013

Customer review by Dodt14

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by Dodt14
by Dodt14

I ordered the wrong size (4000) for the type of fishing I do. I mostly go for bass and the 3000 is a better size for me. The reel was slightly tough to turn after the cast. The bail doesn't close very easily in some positions. After ordering the right size, I couldn't be happier. Feels solid and very smooth.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dodt14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel for the price
6/29/2014

Customer review by Wired2fish

5.0 stars 6/29/2014 by Wired2fish
by Wired2fish

I just bought the Penn Fierce 4000 and paired it with the Penn Prevail 10' surf rod.I could not be more pleased with this combo.The reel has a very smooth drag and very smooth retrieve.The reel has performed very well.It has handled several smaller fish.I can't wait to really test it against larger fish.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wired2fish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I would like for them to meet saltwater standards,
6/25/2014

Customer review by Buddy4724

5.0 stars 6/25/2014 by Buddy4724
by Buddy4724

A great reel for the freshwater and strong enough for a Muskie, Line winds well and level.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buddy4724
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Penn Fierce 4000
2/19/2015

Customer review by Rbsalmon

5.0 stars 2/19/2015 by Rbsalmon
by Rbsalmon

Great reel,Very smooth and well made. I have owned six different Penn reels the past twenty years and have few complaints.I still own all six and have only replaced drag clickers on two of them. Keep them oiled and clean any they last. The Fierce 4000 ranks high on my list. Its light weight has a smooth drag and a great price . The gears are quality made not some cheap production models of other brands.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rbsalmon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well not as good as they use to make them.
7/31/2014

Customer review by ccarva4133

4.0 stars 7/31/2014 by ccarva4133
by ccarva4133

The quality is not the same of what it use to be years ago. Some parts are made of plastic where as they use to be made from metal

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ccarva4133
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Muddog fisherman
1/3/2015

Customer review by Muddogfisherman

4.0 stars 1/3/2015 by Muddogfisherman
by Muddogfisherman

It is loaded with line ready for spring and seems to have smooth/clean action.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Muddogfisherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
too small
8/25/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 8/25/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

if looking for a saltwater rig go for the fierce 8000 this is too small

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
amazing machine
10/24/2014

Customer review by trendkas

5.0 stars 10/24/2014 by trendkas
by trendkas

Amazing piece of equipment

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trendkas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stout construction!
9/27/2014

Customer review by Ully

5.0 stars 9/27/2014 by Ully
by Ully

Been looking for quality made construction and design!

Ully
Leroy, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome product
8/28/2014

Customer review by Cliffc

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by Cliffc
by Cliffc

Have been using this reel for a few months now. Very smooth, love the reel.

Cliffc
Wesley Chapel, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smooth
10/31/2014

Customer review by pez75

5.0 stars 10/31/2014 by pez75
by pez75

I have three of them. 2 are 2000 and one 6000. The 2000 I use for trout, salmon and kokanee. The 6000 for surf fishing. Love all three. Fast, smooth and easy to clean after a fishing trip. Very strong.

pez75
Portland, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing for the Price!
11/19/2014

Customer review by bluefishbuster

5.0 stars 11/19/2014 by bluefishbuster
by bluefishbuster

Once I sold a lot of older reels, rods, and lures, I bought newer and more modern items, with the Penn Fierce being the reel. Ever since I started using it, I have absolutely fallen in love with it! I got to test the drag system on it for the first time in July 2013 while freshwater fishing. I battled a 19" 6 pound 1 ounce largemouth bass with a 2000 model rigged with 6 pound mono. Another good battle was a 2000 model with 10 pound braid landing a 36" striped bass weighing 17 pounds 7 ounces. The reel can go through a lot of heavy usage as long as it's rinsed and kept well taken care of. The only issue I've noticed with the reel is the bail getting a bit loose after a lot of heavy usage.

bluefishbuster
FFLD County, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reels
12/18/2014

Customer review by Yoda

5.0 stars 12/18/2014 by Yoda
by Yoda

I have been using Penn Fierce 3000 and 4000 reels for the last two years. I am very happy with them and have no complaints. My sole failure in 200 plus days of fishing was a reel handle breaking when a customer was fighting an oversized redfish. The drags have worked flawlessly and my bails have never failed. I'm still using most of my original Fierce reels. I lost 4 or 5 that were yanked out of fisherman's hands and one dropped overboard in deep water. Honestly these have been the best, most dependable reels I've used since I started guiding in the mid 1980's. Thanks for providing us with a great reel.

Yoda
Rockport, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
when you know better you do better !!!!!!
1/23/2015

Customer review by mr ikey

5.0 stars 1/23/2015 by mr ikey
by mr ikey

i recently purchased a penn fierce 6000 because my dad used them years ago so after using inferior reels i remembered it was a penn reel my dad used .. so i did a little research and decide to try a penn reel when i say it was heaven sent my dad had to be talking to me from above ....i love it so much i just purchased a 4000 for myself and since my brother happened to pick up my reel by mistake and look at me and said wow!!!!! i like this reel i got get me one these its awesome .... well im headed to fla this weekend and hes getting a surprise.... i bought him a 6000 because he was really im pressed.

mr ikey
atlanta ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smooth, Tough, Reliable!
5/17/2015

Customer review by Gordy83

5.0 stars 5/17/2015 by Gordy83
by Gordy83

I was always a round reel guy until my brother turned me in the direction of the PENN Fierce 3000 model. With 20lb braid and a 6'10" medium/heavy rod. Look out fish here I come.

Gordy83
Kentucky, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best yet
8/5/2015

Customer review by Ryane123

5.0 stars 8/5/2015 by Ryane123
by Ryane123

I've been having this reel for 3+ years now and it's still as smooth as the day I bought it. 3000 real plus a medium 6'6" pole, look out bass.

Ryane123
Lafayette, la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reel!!
8/10/2015

Customer review by Memo

5.0 stars 8/10/2015 by Memo
by Memo

The Fierce 8000 is the best spinning reel I have owned. I fish California's Yellowtail and have had a great time using the Fierce 8000 with no problem I recommend using this reel if you are fishing in California

Memo
Pomona, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great all round reel
12/18/2014

Customer review by bkan010

4.0 stars 12/18/2014 by bkan010
by bkan010

Have had this for about 4 years via a gift and very happy with how it has handled. Although a bit heavy the 8000 is one tough reel handling sharks, kingfish and snapper with ease. Managed to land below with high drag settings on 80lb braid.

bkan010
Auckland, New Zealand
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Greate reel
8/23/2015

Customer review by Mwebber318

4.0 stars 8/23/2015 by Mwebber318
by Mwebber318

I bought the 4000 modle the reel is great but the eye lids on the rod tend to fall off can handle blue fish with 8 lb mono

Mwebber318
Myrtle Beach, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews