Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

19 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

19 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-19 of 19 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

AMAZING!!!
11/8/2011

Customer review by WREX0001

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by WREX0001
by WREX0001

Penn reels are very nice as long as you take care of them. This new line of Defiance reels exceeds expectations. I use them to catch bull reds, drums, gars, sharks...etc. This reel can bring them in with ease. Everything is smooth with this reel and it throws far. Great reel.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WREX0001
baytown, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Medium Duty reel!
4/18/2013

Customer review by Keyvacaguy

4.0 stars 4/18/2013 by Keyvacaguy
by Keyvacaguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I own a couple others of this model! They work well for light saltwater fishing! Parts are readily available, and the price was excellent!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keyvacaguy
KeyWest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Quality
6/26/2012

Customer review by ccancer57

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by ccancer57
by ccancer57

The Penn 25 LW is an excellent reel for the price. It casts and retrieval is very smooth. I have pulled in about 5 Catfish (12 to 15 inches) with it sinch I purchased. I have also faught a stingray with it that measured 18 inches acoss the back. It is a powerful reel.....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ccancer57
Port St. Lucie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Great product
2/25/2016

Customer review by Mrojas1

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Mrojas1
by Mrojas1

Great reel. Biult solid and built to last. Can be used by intermediate to expert level fishermen.

Mrojas1
Pharr, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Smooth reeling, lots of bang for little buck
2/5/2016

Customer review by Vamptos

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Vamptos
by Vamptos

I really like this real. In fact I like the level wind so much I bought one without level wind so I can cast. It is not the sexiest reel to be sure, but it never fails. I don't lose fish once they are hooked. The Defiance dares the big fish to test its strength and has not let me down. And I've had the level wind for 3 years now.

Vamptos
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
LOTS of power.
2/4/2016

Customer review by DougEfresh

4.0 stars 2/4/2016 by DougEfresh
by DougEfresh

I was on Lake Michigan last Spring and hooked up on a very LARGE Salmon. I fought this fish for 15 minutes. The drag was strong, but as soon as I would get the fish to the surface, it would take off again. This reel handled several fish the same size all day long. I'll be getting one of these for myself this Spring.

DougEfresh
Northern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
do not go fishing we go catching
2/5/2016

Customer review by rockenrod

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by rockenrod
by rockenrod

this reel fits the river that we go catching in have not lost a large fish or small one nice to have the star drag and flip retrieve just what i wanted in a good penn real.Good as my 309 all 3 penn.s are my best catching real,s.Thank you for the catching experience.

rockenrod
Kansas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
tough as Nails!!!
2/4/2016

Customer review by Skullbone

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Skullbone
by Skullbone

I bought 2 of these reels for Trolling for Salmon and Steelhead in Lake Huron and Lake Michigan. These reels are smooth and very tough. I liked them so much I went out and bought 4 more so I am running this reel exclusivly on my Boat!!

Skullbone
Imlay City, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Good cheap reel
2/9/2016

Customer review by Booby

5.0 stars 2/9/2016 by Booby
by Booby

Good low price reel. Had it for a few months and it's been pulling up mules ever since

Booby
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
D40
2/4/2016

Customer review by Erawk

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Erawk
by Erawk

I use this for heavy line trolling for big freshwater stripers. It functions well and brings fish to the boat. I'd buy it again.

Erawk
Las Vegas, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Great boat reel. Easy cast. Quick retreive.
2/5/2016

Customer review by Stan the man unusual

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Stan the man unusual
by Stan the man unusual

Yellowfin ready. Yellowtail strong. Bottom fish quick.

Stan the man unusual
San Diego, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
great for off shore fishing never had any problems
2/4/2016

Customer review by brojimmie

4.0 stars 2/4/2016 by brojimmie
by brojimmie

I have had this reel over a year and so glad I bought it.

brojimmie
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Anti-Reverse (Dog) issues
3/13/2015

Customer review by txgulfangler

1.0 stars 3/13/2015 by txgulfangler
by txgulfangler

I purchased this reel last year but didn't use it for a while. However, the first time I did, the anti-reverse broke. The handle spins backwards if you are not holding the handle. Makes for a pretty useless reel. I've done some research and I believe they have addressed this issue with a v2.0 of this reel. Basically the dog was a poor design. Unfortunately, I must have purchased older stock and it's past the return/warranty period so I'm stuck with it. I'll look elsewhere when buying new reels. It's hard to say if this was a quality issue or not but I think it was just a bad design.

txgulfangler
Sugar Land, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Sucks
9/2/2015

Customer review by Anthony 7

1.0 stars 9/2/2015 by Anthony 7
by Anthony 7

I have gone through two and both the anti-reverse has broke and it is trash

Anthony 7
Biloxi, MS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Some Problems
7/2/2015

Customer review by Deep Sea

3.0 stars 7/2/2015 by Deep Sea
by Deep Sea
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had two of these come back already. One with a defective worm gear and one with a broken dog. They had been used only a few times. So I hope this is not an indication

Deep Sea
Westport, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Breaks right away
6/16/2015

Customer review by heinz57

2.0 stars 6/16/2015 by heinz57
by heinz57

I bought this reel and landed two fish with it. The second fish though was to much for the reel, a 40lbs flathead catfish and the anitreverse mechanisim broke in.

heinz57
Jordan, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Do not buy!!!
11/18/2014

Customer review by Redboy

1.0 stars 11/18/2014 by Redboy
by Redboy

I bought this reel as a back up reel when I went offshore. Well when I decided to u use it the reel had locked up and then it finally loosened up so I put some bait on it and dropped it down. Well I had probably a 5 lb mutton snapper and it would reel backwards like the anti reverse stopped working. I Ended up replacing it with a penn senator

Redboy
Key West, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Extremely powerful
4/20/2015

Customer review by Flatheadfinatic

5.0 stars 4/20/2015 by Flatheadfinatic
by Flatheadfinatic

I have had this for one summer. Ready to use again this summer. Not caught any big difh but know it will get the job done.

Flatheadfinatic
Abilene, KS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great powerful reel!
10/14/2014

Customer review by Pistol Pete

5.0 stars 10/14/2014 by Pistol Pete
by Pistol Pete

Perfect for fresh or saltwater fish.Powerful and dependable.

Pistol Pete
Santa Maria, Tex, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male