Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 9 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

9 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

9 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-9 of 9 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

AMAZING!!!
11/8/2011

Customer review by WREX0001

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by WREX0001
by WREX0001

Penn reels are very nice as long as you take care of them. This new line of Defiance reels exceeds expectations. I use them to catch bull reds, drums, gars, sharks...etc. This reel can bring them in with ease. Everything is smooth with this reel and it throws far. Great reel.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WREX0001
baytown, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Medium Duty reel!
4/18/2013

Customer review by Keyvacaguy

4.0 stars 4/18/2013 by Keyvacaguy
by Keyvacaguy

I own a couple others of this model! They work well for light saltwater fishing! Parts are readily available, and the price was excellent!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keyvacaguy
KeyWest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Quality
6/26/2012

Customer review by ccancer57

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by ccancer57
by ccancer57

The Penn 25 LW is an excellent reel for the price. It casts and retrieval is very smooth. I have pulled in about 5 Catfish (12 to 15 inches) with it sinch I purchased. I have also faught a stingray with it that measured 18 inches acoss the back. It is a powerful reel.....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ccancer57
Port St. Lucie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Great powerful reel!
10/14/2014

Customer review by Pistol Pete

5.0 stars 10/14/2014 by Pistol Pete
by Pistol Pete

Perfect for fresh or saltwater fish.Powerful and dependable.

Pistol Pete
Santa Maria, Tex, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Extremely powerful
4/20/2015

Customer review by Flatheadfinatic

5.0 stars 4/20/2015 by Flatheadfinatic
by Flatheadfinatic

I have had this for one summer. Ready to use again this summer. Not caught any big difh but know it will get the job done.

Flatheadfinatic
Abilene, KS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Some Problems
7/2/2015

Customer review by Deep Sea

3.0 stars 7/2/2015 by Deep Sea
by Deep Sea

I have had two of these come back already. One with a defective worm gear and one with a broken dog. They had been used only a few times. So I hope this is not an indication

Deep Sea
Westport, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Breaks right away
6/16/2015

Customer review by heinz57

2.0 stars 6/16/2015 by heinz57
by heinz57

I bought this reel and landed two fish with it. The second fish though was to much for the reel, a 40lbs flathead catfish and the anitreverse mechanisim broke in.

heinz57
Jordan, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Do not buy!!!
11/18/2014

Customer review by Redboy

1.0 stars 11/18/2014 by Redboy
by Redboy

I bought this reel as a back up reel when I went offshore. Well when I decided to u use it the reel had locked up and then it finally loosened up so I put some bait on it and dropped it down. Well I had probably a 5 lb mutton snapper and it would reel backwards like the anti reverse stopped working. I Ended up replacing it with a penn senator

Redboy
Key West, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Anti-Reverse (Dog) issues
3/13/2015

Customer review by txgulfangler

1.0 stars 3/13/2015 by txgulfangler
by txgulfangler

I purchased this reel last year but didn't use it for a while. However, the first time I did, the anti-reverse broke. The handle spins backwards if you are not holding the handle. Makes for a pretty useless reel. I've done some research and I believe they have addressed this issue with a v2.0 of this reel. Basically the dog was a poor design. Unfortunately, I must have purchased older stock and it's past the return/warranty period so I'm stuck with it. I'll look elsewhere when buying new reels. It's hard to say if this was a quality issue or not but I think it was just a bad design.

txgulfangler
Sugar Land, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male