Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 277 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

277 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

277 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
130
4 stars
92
3 stars
25
2 stars
9
1 stars
21
1-20 of 263 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 263 total reviews
1-20 of 263 reviews
Excellent Gun Fire Safe For the Price
9/17/2012

Customer review by SteveNSTL

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by SteveNSTL
by SteveNSTL

Bought this yesterday on sale ($397). Only 300 lbs, not too hard to move around, took it home in my truck. Everything is as described (use the specs on the Stack-On site, not the Walmart site, as there seems to be some confusion in their specs--the actual size is about 20" wide x 20" deep). Several shelves and easy to configure. Sturdy and well made. Also packaged carefully to prevent damage to the keypad and corners of the unit. This same unit and similar ones sell for $700+ elsewhere. Includes "stand-off" barrel supports for rifles with scopes. Comes with two large bolts and anchors if you want to attach to a concrete floor. Can set codes up to 8 digits, and includes two keys in case you forget the code or have a problem with the electronic keypad. Bottom of unit is smooth so you can slide it on dense carpet, etc. A good value. If you're a big gun collector, this might not be large enough for you. But for most of us, with a couple of rifles, a shotgun, and a handguns, this is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (249) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteveNSTL
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good value for the money
10/2/2012

Customer review by kep4321

4.0 stars 10/2/2012 by kep4321
by kep4321

I did my research pretty carefully before buying this safe by checking out all the major local hardware and sporting goods/hunting outlets in my area. I had a price range in mind and I knew I wanted somehting fire resistant with an electric lock (quick access) and heavy enough that it wouldnt be able to walk away easily. I picked up this safe off the floor at my local Wal-Mart and was very pleased with the weight (300lbs empty) and the sturdy feel and appearance of the safe. I like the adjustable shelves and the additional brackets included for scoped rifles. Lets be real, most people have scopes on their target and hunting rifles so they are very useful. As is true with any safe you buy the capacity is a bit stretched. The 14 gun capacity quickly dips as you add rifles with detatchable magazines and scopes. The only real thing that I didn't like was the quality of the carpeting on the shelves and floor of the safe. The carpet was loose on the floor and the shelves were not carpeted all the way around. If you sit on the floor or lean down you can see bare wood on the bottom of the shelves so I fixed these issues myself and didn't try calling anybody to complain. Keep in mind that none of my gripes even come close to a deal breaker. I think the price I paid for what I got was a very good deal and I would recommend this to anybody who is looking for a good, solid entry level safe for the avarage gun owner or collector with a modest rifle collection.

Was this review helpful? (73) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kep4321
Deltona, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than expected
11/22/2013

Customer review by Huntersportsman

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Huntersportsman
by Huntersportsman

When I ordered this item, it said expect delivery in about 2 weeks. Well I ordered this on a Sunday morning and had it in my house on Tuesday. Awesome! Solid construction. Heavy enough that nobody can just walk off with it. It comes with hardware to secure it to the floor. The safe has plenty of room inside for my purposes and I had it setup in a few minutes. Carpet lined inside. Four adjustable carpeted shelves to hold ammo and handguns and other items on one side and my shotguns on the other. Perfect for my purposes.

Was this review helpful? (70) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Huntersportsman
Brick,nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WalMart has the best price on this item.
11/16/2012

Customer review by ResponsibleArmedCitizen

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by ResponsibleArmedCitizen
by ResponsibleArmedCitizen

Mainly purchased for handgun storage. I have 5 long guns and 6 handgunds plus assortment of holsters, magazine holders and speed loaders. Wanted a fire resistant and more secure safe than current long gun cabinet and handgun cabinet. Plenty of room for my guns. There is room to add more homemade shelves to safe. I like the convenience of electronic lock, but also like the key backup. WalMart employees were very helpful in reviewing safe with me and loading into my vehicle. Weighing almost 300 pounds it took two people and hand dolly to get into my location. Drilled through bottom of safe to mount to floor with long bolts and nuts I provided. Lag screws provided with safe were too short to fully fasten through safe, carpet and floor. I could pull them out by rocking safe. Large bolts, washers and locking nuts provided secure mounting. Have researched and found WalMart best price. Would recommend safe as good low priced unit.

Was this review helpful? (46) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ResponsibleArmedCitizen
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect gun safe for hubby
1/17/2014

Customer review by ktnavy

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by ktnavy
by ktnavy

After talking about getting a gun safe to store our guns, and mostly to store our ammunition that is stockpiling - awaiting the inevitable revolution that our country is apparently headed towards - I finally bought the old man this gun safe for his birthday. He loves it! For the guns that you don't have placed in various necessary locations around the house (what use is a hand gun against intruders if it is locked up?) - It is a perfect size if you have several but not too many guns, and there are several shelves that are adjustable. We have the long guns on one side and the shelves on the other side. It's heavy enough that no one is going to pick it up and walk away with it in the dead of night, but not so heavy you can't maneuver it into position or move it on a heavy-duty dolly. We rolled it into the basement through the garage on a heavy-duty dolly, no big problems. No scrapes or dents in ours, it arrived in perfect condition, well packaged, and it was quite easy to set the combo. And it has an emergency unlock key in case you have memory loss or you don't leave the combo in your will - future generations will be able to open it, provided you let someone know where the key is. A very good purchase for our $$. We are very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (38) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ktnavy
Owings, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great all around value for the price
8/4/2012

Customer review by Padrat01

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by Padrat01
by Padrat01

This safe is slightly bigger than my old safe and fits in the same area with little alteration. I encountered no negative issues with the order process. The delivery driver delivered the safe to my door with no problems. Installation went well and as expected. Electronic lock set up was a breeze. The safe exceeds my expectations on fit, form and function.

Was this review helpful? (54) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Padrat01
Titusville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/29/2012

Customer review by MickfrmLV

2.0 stars 4/29/2012 by MickfrmLV
by MickfrmLV

Received the gun case and one of the plastic gun holders was cracked at the factory while over tightening the screws. Several pieces of materials used to manufacture the safe were lying about inside and fabric lining not fastened down inside. I didn't want the hassle of shipping it back so I repaired it myself. Quality control is lacking. The problems may have happened during shipment not sure.

Was this review helpful? (37) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MickfrmLV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Do Not Order Online: WILL be damaged in shipping.
10/11/2013

Customer review by miller54z

1.0 stars 10/11/2013 by miller54z
by miller54z

This safe seemed like a good deal online, but I had to call the shipping company MULTIPLE times just to arrange the delivery, and then (just like all the other reviews have stated) it arrived damaged. I don't know what the shipping company does to these things, but the outer cardboard box it came in was pretty much destroyed. Upon initial inspection, the outside of the safe appeared fine, with the exception of paint scraped off of one of the corners. However, when I opened the safe, all of the shelves had been knocked down, and upon closer inspection, the actual ceramic/plaster fireproofing material had broken away from the ceiling and was falling down. I will spent the extra $$ and pick one up at my local gun shop.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miller54z
Palm Coast, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Convertible Safe if you only have a few guns
10/28/2013

Customer review by THU5551212

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by THU5551212
by THU5551212

I have been researching safes for a while. If you're a serious gun collector, step up to a Gardall or American Security (at easily 2-3x the price). This is an excellent value in a fire/security safe. I needed something that would hold valuables and keep guns safe from the "average" criminal. It was $100 off when I bought it with no tax and free shipping. For just under $400 you cannot beat this safe. It's well made and pretty heavy (nearly 300 lbs). I recommend borrowing/renting an appliance dolly to move this into place.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
THU5551212
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/15/2013

Customer review by MikeInMilwaukee

4.0 stars 10/15/2013 by MikeInMilwaukee
by MikeInMilwaukee

This seems to be a good safe for the money. I prefer the digital lock to the standard combination lock. It is much faster to open. The only drawback I have found so far is that the fireproofing material cracks when the bolts are tightened when bolting it to the floor. I have fixed this problem by making and installing steel plates on the floor of the safe. They could also have done a better job of installing the felt lining material. I had a can of spray adhesive handy so I fixed that too without too much trouble.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeInMilwaukee
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT BUY
2/15/2013

Customer review by jksooner

1.0 stars 2/15/2013 by jksooner
by jksooner

Just brought this home and set it up... I noticed that, with the door closed and locked, there was some play in the handle. When you adjust the handle slightly and give a good tug on the door, it comes right open. This "safe" is not SAFE.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jksooner
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great safe for the money!
9/20/2012

Customer review by Dodaman31

5.0 stars 9/20/2012 by Dodaman31
by Dodaman31

For your everyday collector with a few rifles, shotguns, handguns this FIRE SAFE can't be beat. You can configure it how you want, easy to set your code, easy to anchor to the floor. Really impressed that it was here in less than a week with 97 cent shipping, the guy even helped me get it in the house. I looked and looked for the best deal and this is it guys! Only bad so far is the made in China label on the back, wish it was the USA. I would have paid a little more for the USA.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dodaman31
Braintree VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good starter safe
12/13/2013

Customer review by KC1314

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by KC1314
by KC1314

I got one of these as a Christmas present, but guess what...I filled it up! Money been tight, so instead of waiting to save up to get one huge safe, I got another on of these. The safe is a good beginner's safe if you only owned a few rifles with scope. Any more than that, you need to get something a lot larger. But at least this one is fire-rated for 30 minutes. I think the price point is on the high-side, but it's a good safe that you can keep inside your house instead of the garage. I want to be close to my "toys", and it fits very well in any walk-in closet. My local Walmart did a great job with the site-to-store delivery. They let me drive my truck to the back of the store, and loaded it into the bed of my truck-no sweat. Two guys and good working dolly, and you can put this safe anywhere in your house. Just remember, this isn't a Liberty Safe, you are getting what you pay for. This one fits my needs nicely...twice...

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KC1314
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/12/2012

Customer review by brownsbacker

3.0 stars 3/12/2012 by brownsbacker
by brownsbacker

When I opened the door a piece of plastic fell off the top of the frame. It only needed to be glued back on, but, it's brand new. There also was a tear in the lining along the back wall.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brownsbacker
cleveland,ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
MOST BANG FOR THE BUCK
11/24/2012

Customer review by SportingClays4u

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by SportingClays4u
by SportingClays4u

Bought the stack-on fire resistant safe at Walmarts Black Friday sale. This is one time it wasn't too good to be true as they had to be giving them away to get folks into the store. It meets all of my security expectations and when lag bolted to the floor and screwed to two walls in a corner it isn't going anywhere. The locking bolts on and the steel plated door are certainly industrial strength. The sheetmetal walls could be thicker but as I've put the safe in a corner leaving only one exposed side, access is limited. I suppose the lock could be beefier but doesn't compromise security and is adequate for the job. I'm not a big gun collector but what I have is very expensive and irreplaceable so this safe is the perfect size for the space I'm putting it in and the number of fire arms and documents I want to protect.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SportingClays4u
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Safe if you are on a budget
4/8/2014

Customer review by Gravelhead

4.0 stars 4/8/2014 by Gravelhead
by Gravelhead

This is a nice looking safe and has many nice features !!!! 1st it may only be 300 pounds do not think this will be nice and easy to move around by yourself as I did. And on stairs you will beg anybody with 2 arms to help you pull and push up stairs. But that is a good thing this will not be a easy snatch and grab for a one person break in or 2 for that matter when it is loaded up !! 2nd the Inside of this safe is well to say the least nice with a bit of rough mixed in the shelves are not finished all the way around with carpet. And the bottom of the safe is just kind of laid down for you to pat down and place it in place. And to finish this all off like I said at the start great safe if your on a budget 400 bucks is not a lot but will make you confident your important papers and guns are safe plus being fire proof you wont have to deal with all the hassle of going around collecting those important papers or refilling for said papers again

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gravelhead
Arnold Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sigh
3/16/2014

Customer review by 2aGuyMerica

1.0 stars 3/16/2014 by 2aGuyMerica
by 2aGuyMerica

I was very excited reading other reviews on this safe. The day before it arrived was like the night before Christmas. It was much smaller then I expected. Even with the scope stand offs, fitting 14 guns is a estranged pipe dream. Sadly the door of the safe is slightly off so u have to push hard on it every time you want to shut it. That's not that big of a deal since I don't need to open it all of the time, What is a big deal is the electronic lock dose not work. Stack-on is sending me a new circuit board, Fingers are crossed that it fixes the lock issue. In hind sight I should have bought the manual combination lock, and spent a few more dollars on a bigger safe. If the replacement board dose not fix the issue I will be returning the safe. I think stack-on needs more quality control and Walmart should ship their products better. My two cents for what it's worth.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2aGuyMerica
Fairfax VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid Safe
2/21/2014

Customer review by SAFEty3rd

4.0 stars 2/21/2014 by SAFEty3rd
by SAFEty3rd

It's going to work perfectly for why I bought it. It's going to keep my child from accessing my guns, and it's going to stop would be thieves from stealing my guns. Hopefully I never have to test out the fire resistancy. The electronic lock works great so far and after opening and closing the safe a few time the handle operates smoothly. The safe is much heavier than I thought it was going to be for it's size. Be prepared for a serious workout if you plan on keeping it on a second floor. Filled with guns and ammo, even if it's not bolted to the floor or wall, would be feat of strength and will power. My only complaint is the carpet on the inside is a little rough. By that I mean uneven cuts, weird overlapping, and on the shelves missing carpet. None of these things hurt the function of the safe, it just looks bad.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SAFEty3rd
Reno. NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Res Safe FS-14-MB-E
10/13/2013

Customer review by bartw

1.0 stars 10/13/2013 by bartw
by bartw

This safe shipped to my home free. Thought it was a great deal, until i opened the box to find it badly damaged from shipping. Then upon opening it discovered the poor manufacturing/assembly of the shelving and components of the interior! The shelves were only partially wrapped with the cloth/carpet, and the center divider was warped and out of place. HORRIBLE QUALITY!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bartw
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It Works for Me
11/24/2012

Customer review by Mach2

3.0 stars 11/24/2012 by Mach2
by Mach2

I bought this safe to store 4 guns and to secure other valuables. It weighs 300#, so it can be moved, but it's not super easy to do so. When I unboxed it, it was dirty with some sort of white powder. I'm guessing that it's part of the safe's fire protection system. I cleaned the safe out, configured the shelves, and moved it to the basement. This safe is described as being a 14-gun safe. No way! I had a tough time getting my 4 guns in the one side. Guns with scopes or "tall" guns like an AR15 are tough to fit in. I got my 4 guns in and other valuables, but there's not much room left over. That's OK with me. If you are looking to store 14 guns, better get a bigger safe than this one. I was looking to store a few guns and valuables without spending big bucks, so this safe worked well for me.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mach2
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 263 total reviews
1-20 of 263 reviews