Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 422 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

422 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

422 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
201
4 stars
139
3 stars
34
2 stars
14
1 stars
34
1-20 of 408 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 408 total reviews
1-20 of 408 reviews
shipping mis-handled
6/2/2013

Customer review by stevemd3283

1.0 stars 6/2/2013 by stevemd3283
by stevemd3283
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the safe... for the price its fair but when I received my package the top corner of the safe was damaged obvious mishandle by the shipping company.. the paint had chipped off and a good size dent was present.. I feel for the price I paid I should have received a little better care of my package then what was given.. I am satisfied only because it took 2 weeks to get and I really needed it so other then that im not sure I can get any reconciliation on the matter

Was this review helpful? (38) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stevemd3283
castaic, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Zac
8/19/2016

Customer review by Zacc

1.0 stars 8/19/2016 by Zacc
by Zacc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this safe it showed up destroyed all four corners your Ben 10 firebrick is nothing but powder

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zacc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gets the job done, but not fancy.
11/11/2014

Customer review by MakoM

4.0 stars 11/11/2014 by MakoM
by MakoM

This is my 2nd StackOn 14 gun fire safe after learning the hard way there is no way you will ever get 14 long guns in this model. The price for a reasonable level of security for keeping honest men honest and thwarting most thieves puts this model in the high value range. I used the deliver to store option to save on delivery charges. It took a week to arrive. The staff at the store was helpful and got a large hand truck and rolled out to my truck then helped me load it in the bed. This safe can be reasonably moved by two strong men, but I recommend three to save backs. Once I got the safe un-boxed, it was in good condition save it was covered with a lot of dust similar to what the fire proofing panels are made from. I had to wash the dust off with window cleaner and some paper towels before positioning it. This had to have happened at the factory. It was in a large bubble wrap bag and had cardboard re-enforced Styrofoam around all the edges. The interior is not fancy using very cheap material that isn't wrapped completely around the shelves and carpeting materiel that will not stand up to repeated Velcro on/off removal. Also, you certainly will never get anything like 14 long guns in one of these, more like a mix of 8 rifles or shotguns and a carbine hanging on the door for a 9th is likely as many as you'll comfortably fit depending on how many have scopes. I found the shelves to be 1/8" too thin to use the Gun Storage Solutions Over Under Handgun Hangers - You will want to shim those for a tighter fit or make your own 7/8" shelving as I did for storing my handguns. I get 3 hangers on one shelf, so I can store 6 pistols easily, which is important as the StackOn 4 position pistol rack is too wide to fit the relatively narrow shelves. I also used Acorn Velcro on holsters to hold 3 more handguns on the door, plus added the small StackOn door organizer which I used screws to securely mount to the door. This is also highly recommenced to store your purchase records and smaller items Max packing my first safe, I got it to hold a total of 9 handguns and 7 long guns, along with a good amount of ammo and mags but it wasn't at all pretty, which is why I got this 2nd one to both hold additional items and to allow me to improve the organization of the items in the safe for more rapid retrieval should the need arise. Overall this safe does the job I got it for. I am under no illusions that these StackOn safes are anywhere near the security and fire ratings of a $1500 safe, but for it's intended purpose, it meets my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MakoM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Gun Fire Safe For the Price
9/17/2012

Customer review by SteveNSTL

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by SteveNSTL
by SteveNSTL

Bought this yesterday on sale ($397). Only 300 lbs, not too hard to move around, took it home in my truck. Everything is as described (use the specs on the Stack-On site, not the Walmart site, as there seems to be some confusion in their specs--the actual size is about 20" wide x 20" deep). Several shelves and easy to configure. Sturdy and well made. Also packaged carefully to prevent damage to the keypad and corners of the unit. This same unit and similar ones sell for $700+ elsewhere. Includes "stand-off" barrel supports for rifles with scopes. Comes with two large bolts and anchors if you want to attach to a concrete floor. Can set codes up to 8 digits, and includes two keys in case you forget the code or have a problem with the electronic keypad. Bottom of unit is smooth so you can slide it on dense carpet, etc. A good value. If you're a big gun collector, this might not be large enough for you. But for most of us, with a couple of rifles, a shotgun, and a handguns, this is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (360) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SteveNSTL
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Safe For The Price
3/10/2016

Customer review by Ripcord79

5.0 stars 3/10/2016 by Ripcord79
by Ripcord79

I paid $379 for this safe and had it shipped to my local Walmart for pick up. It has one little chip on the top corner which I'm not worried about. It's a little smaller than expected, you will not fit 14 guns in this safe. The carpet in the safe is good and tight, not loose like I have read in other reviews I installed the shelves on the one side of the safe for Ammo and other supplies, the shelves at a little uneven but not a problem. The other side I have 2 rifles and a shotgun and they fit in ok, soon to be adding another rifle. It is a heavy safe you will need 2-3 people to help you especially if you need to get it up steps or stairs, my wife and I had a fun time getting it up 8 steps to my front door. The reason I got this safe was that it is fire resistant and my daughter won't be able to get access to it. For the price I paid for the safe it is a great safe.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ripcord79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WalMart has the best price on this item.
11/16/2012

Customer review by ResponsibleArmedCitizen

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by ResponsibleArmedCitizen
by ResponsibleArmedCitizen

Mainly purchased for handgun storage. I have 5 long guns and 6 handgunds plus assortment of holsters, magazine holders and speed loaders. Wanted a fire resistant and more secure safe than current long gun cabinet and handgun cabinet. Plenty of room for my guns. There is room to add more homemade shelves to safe. I like the convenience of electronic lock, but also like the key backup. WalMart employees were very helpful in reviewing safe with me and loading into my vehicle. Weighing almost 300 pounds it took two people and hand dolly to get into my location. Drilled through bottom of safe to mount to floor with long bolts and nuts I provided. Lag screws provided with safe were too short to fully fasten through safe, carpet and floor. I could pull them out by rocking safe. Large bolts, washers and locking nuts provided secure mounting. Have researched and found WalMart best price. Would recommend safe as good low priced unit.

Was this review helpful? (84) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ResponsibleArmedCitizen
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Four stars for what it IS.
10/3/2015

Customer review by TimD

4.0 stars 10/3/2015 by TimD
by TimD

Technically, if you own 14 BB guns, or maybe 14 .22 caliber rifles, you might be able to get them all to fit. Beyond that, we all know this isn't a 14 gun cabinet. I knew going into the purchase, I could probably get 5 rifles to fit. The safe did not disappoint. Three scoped rifles, and two unscoped, all fit fine. I was also able to get all of my ammo and pistols on the shelves. This is why I bought the safe, and it did its job. Five stars. Fit and finish. Holy cow, nasty. Obvious that cheap labor did the carpet and woodwork. This would not have bothered me, if only the shelf brackets lined up. Minus two points for that. Price, unbeatable. One point. Delivery. Yup, it was delivered damaged. The box had been torn on two corners, resulting in a nice scratch and some paint chipping. I notified Wal-Mart, they issued me a credit for the damage. No points fit the safe, but kudos for good customer service. So, at the end of the day, I give this safe four stars for what it is. A ridiculously inexpensive, fire resistant gun safe.

Was this review helpful? (25) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TimD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Safe if you are on a budget
4/8/2014

Customer review by Gravelhead

4.0 stars 4/8/2014 by Gravelhead
by Gravelhead
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a nice looking safe and has many nice features !!!! 1st it may only be 300 pounds do not think this will be nice and easy to move around by yourself as I did. And on stairs you will beg anybody with 2 arms to help you pull and push up stairs. But that is a good thing this will not be a easy snatch and grab for a one person break in or 2 for that matter when it is loaded up !! 2nd the Inside of this safe is well to say the least nice with a bit of rough mixed in the shelves are not finished all the way around with carpet. And the bottom of the safe is just kind of laid down for you to pat down and place it in place. And to finish this all off like I said at the start great safe if your on a budget 400 bucks is not a lot but will make you confident your important papers and guns are safe plus being fire proof you wont have to deal with all the hassle of going around collecting those important papers or refilling for said papers again

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gravelhead
Arnold Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good small safe
8/6/2016

Customer review by Acop

5.0 stars 8/6/2016 by Acop
by Acop
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a small safe to secure extra ammo, a couple of tactical rifles and a 12 gauge. This works perfect for that. I have another safe that is much larger for mass storage but for an office or a place where you need to be prepared but don't need a huge safe, this fits the bill. Heavy enough to feel secure and fire rated for protection.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Acop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good starter safe
12/13/2013

Customer review by KC1314

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by KC1314
by KC1314
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got one of these as a Christmas present, but guess what...I filled it up! Money been tight, so instead of waiting to save up to get one huge safe, I got another on of these. The safe is a good beginner's safe if you only owned a few rifles with scope. Any more than that, you need to get something a lot larger. But at least this one is fire-rated for 30 minutes. I think the price point is on the high-side, but it's a good safe that you can keep inside your house instead of the garage. I want to be close to my "toys", and it fits very well in any walk-in closet. My local Walmart did a great job with the site-to-store delivery. They let me drive my truck to the back of the store, and loaded it into the bed of my truck-no sweat. Two guys and good working dolly, and you can put this safe anywhere in your house. Just remember, this isn't a Liberty Safe, you are getting what you pay for. This one fits my needs nicely...twice...

Was this review helpful? (31) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KC1314
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sigh
3/16/2014

Customer review by 2aGuyMerica

1.0 stars 3/16/2014 by 2aGuyMerica
by 2aGuyMerica
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was very excited reading other reviews on this safe. The day before it arrived was like the night before Christmas. It was much smaller then I expected. Even with the scope stand offs, fitting 14 guns is a estranged pipe dream. Sadly the door of the safe is slightly off so u have to push hard on it every time you want to shut it. That's not that big of a deal since I don't need to open it all of the time, What is a big deal is the electronic lock dose not work. Stack-on is sending me a new circuit board, Fingers are crossed that it fixes the lock issue. In hind sight I should have bought the manual combination lock, and spent a few more dollars on a bigger safe. If the replacement board dose not fix the issue I will be returning the safe. I think stack-on needs more quality control and Walmart should ship their products better. My two cents for what it's worth.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2aGuyMerica
Fairfax VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid Safe
2/21/2014

Customer review by SAFEty3rd

4.0 stars 2/21/2014 by SAFEty3rd
by SAFEty3rd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's going to work perfectly for why I bought it. It's going to keep my child from accessing my guns, and it's going to stop would be thieves from stealing my guns. Hopefully I never have to test out the fire resistancy. The electronic lock works great so far and after opening and closing the safe a few time the handle operates smoothly. The safe is much heavier than I thought it was going to be for it's size. Be prepared for a serious workout if you plan on keeping it on a second floor. Filled with guns and ammo, even if it's not bolted to the floor or wall, would be feat of strength and will power. My only complaint is the carpet on the inside is a little rough. By that I mean uneven cuts, weird overlapping, and on the shelves missing carpet. None of these things hurt the function of the safe, it just looks bad.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SAFEty3rd
Reno. NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
quality control
8/6/2016

Customer review by cowboygearedup

4.0 stars 8/6/2016 by cowboygearedup
by cowboygearedup
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this safe seems at first look to be a nice safe all the metal construction seems nice but i can tell the mfg did not use a tape measure to install the clip guides for the shelves .......you install the clips and put the shelf in and they are not level the brackets dont line up with the opposite side .....their are a few short cuts taken on the interior of the safe ....carpet not tucked in at the seams several places ...... but mainly the shelves will not line up raise one side up or down either way your at a angle not level and you really would have to cram 14 guns in this cabinet , scoped rifles dont fit very well they do offer a stand off add on for scoped rifles but the width of the sides need to be wider .......i dont have that many guns and you have to do alot of adjusting to get the door shut . i have tried several arrangements to get mine where you could close the door

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cowboygearedup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stack On Gun Safe
9/22/2016

Customer review by Michael

5.0 stars 9/22/2016 by Michael
by Michael
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Delivery was delayed on day, but arrived in perfect condition. No issues setting it up and electronic lock worked just fine. Could not change the lock code, but was my fault. Called customer service and got it working just fine!! Happy with the safe. NOTE: This is for protection of firearms from fire & keeping them safe and not a document fireproof safe. You can always buy a small document fireproof safe to put important papers inside. Has plenty of room to do so and still have room for about 6+ rifles/handguns & ammunition.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michael
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I thought
10/30/2014

Customer review by Kevangolium

1.0 stars 10/30/2014 by Kevangolium
by Kevangolium
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was not a very good product. It would have been great but it did not work. Once I arrived at home and opened the safe, I attempted to follow the directions and set the electronic safe code. It did not work. I tried all the tricks, trades, and secrets. It still would not connect to the handle to open or close that door. This is definitely not Wal-Mart's fault, they were very kind through the entire process at Wal-Mart in Washington, IL. However, this may be a product that Wal-Mart considers removing from their inventory completely. I read another article online with the same issue and purchased from Wal-Mart, same exact safe. I attempted to contact Stack-On customer service, no results and they are only like 8am to 4pm M-F, the times that I have to be at work in order to live and survive. Since I don't work at home I would not have been able to stand by the safe from work anyways for assistance. Glad I took this one back and it is done. No more Stack-On's for this guy! Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kevangolium
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid Gun Safe - Especially for the Money
9/29/2016

Customer review by kungfuey

4.0 stars 9/29/2016 by kungfuey
by kungfuey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For what I paid for it, best deal around. Did a LOT of research, and Walmart had the best price, and this safe was the best value. Won't hold 14 guns... NO WAY ... but for my needs was perfect.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kungfuey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice safe
9/27/2016

Customer review by Jett

5.0 stars 9/27/2016 by Jett
by Jett
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Safe was shipped with great packaging. Bubble wrapped all the way over the safe inside the box with several other kinds of packing. Enough room for what I needed and the shelves are handy. Scope standoff a also come with the safe. Very nice!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good safe
9/29/2016

Customer review by Bryan

4.0 stars 9/29/2016 by Bryan
by Bryan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Decent safe for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bryan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice
9/26/2016

Customer review by lugib

4.0 stars 9/26/2016 by lugib
by lugib
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was pretty dirty inside and out, Will have to vacuum the entire inside. Nothing major. Nice safe.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lugib
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ovarall good safe
12/12/2012

Customer review by AegisCSMM

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by AegisCSMM
by AegisCSMM

I ordered this safe online for the sale price. Went to pick up at Walmart. When I got home and opened it up noticed dent on front right corner. that wasnt an issue for me until I opened it and saw the the center divider was torn off the top of the safe. It looks like during shipping it may have been damaged by the loose shelves in the safe. Called Wallmart.com they were eceptionaly helpful in trying to find me a replacement one. They were willing to get me a better model for the same price. I was able to find the excact same one at another store so I called the store and told them my problem. They were aslo willing to give me a better one if they did not have the exact same one for the same price. This is my first time dealing with Walmart on exchanges and it was a great experience. Thank you Walmart.com and Walmart Simi Valley. :)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AegisCSMM
Camarillo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 408 total reviews
1-20 of 408 reviews