Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 348 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

348 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

348 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
164
4 stars
116
3 stars
29
2 stars
11
1 stars
28
1-20 of 334 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 334 total reviews
1-20 of 334 reviews
shipping mis-handled
6/2/2013

Customer review by stevemd3283

1.0 stars 6/2/2013 by stevemd3283
by stevemd3283
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the safe... for the price its fair but when I received my package the top corner of the safe was damaged obvious mishandle by the shipping company.. the paint had chipped off and a good size dent was present.. I feel for the price I paid I should have received a little better care of my package then what was given.. I am satisfied only because it took 2 weeks to get and I really needed it so other then that im not sure I can get any reconciliation on the matter

Was this review helpful? (26) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stevemd3283
castaic, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gets the job done, but not fancy.
11/11/2014

Customer review by MakoM

4.0 stars 11/11/2014 by MakoM
by MakoM

This is my 2nd StackOn 14 gun fire safe after learning the hard way there is no way you will ever get 14 long guns in this model. The price for a reasonable level of security for keeping honest men honest and thwarting most thieves puts this model in the high value range. I used the deliver to store option to save on delivery charges. It took a week to arrive. The staff at the store was helpful and got a large hand truck and rolled out to my truck then helped me load it in the bed. This safe can be reasonably moved by two strong men, but I recommend three to save backs. Once I got the safe un-boxed, it was in good condition save it was covered with a lot of dust similar to what the fire proofing panels are made from. I had to wash the dust off with window cleaner and some paper towels before positioning it. This had to have happened at the factory. It was in a large bubble wrap bag and had cardboard re-enforced Styrofoam around all the edges. The interior is not fancy using very cheap material that isn't wrapped completely around the shelves and carpeting materiel that will not stand up to repeated Velcro on/off removal. Also, you certainly will never get anything like 14 long guns in one of these, more like a mix of 8 rifles or shotguns and a carbine hanging on the door for a 9th is likely as many as you'll comfortably fit depending on how many have scopes. I found the shelves to be 1/8" too thin to use the Gun Storage Solutions Over Under Handgun Hangers - You will want to shim those for a tighter fit or make your own 7/8" shelving as I did for storing my handguns. I get 3 hangers on one shelf, so I can store 6 pistols easily, which is important as the StackOn 4 position pistol rack is too wide to fit the relatively narrow shelves. I also used Acorn Velcro on holsters to hold 3 more handguns on the door, plus added the small StackOn door organizer which I used screws to securely mount to the door. This is also highly recommenced to store your purchase records and smaller items Max packing my first safe, I got it to hold a total of 9 handguns and 7 long guns, along with a good amount of ammo and mags but it wasn't at all pretty, which is why I got this 2nd one to both hold additional items and to allow me to improve the organization of the items in the safe for more rapid retrieval should the need arise. Overall this safe does the job I got it for. I am under no illusions that these StackOn safes are anywhere near the security and fire ratings of a $1500 safe, but for it's intended purpose, it meets my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MakoM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Gun Fire Safe For the Price
9/17/2012

Customer review by SteveNSTL

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by SteveNSTL
by SteveNSTL

Bought this yesterday on sale ($397). Only 300 lbs, not too hard to move around, took it home in my truck. Everything is as described (use the specs on the Stack-On site, not the Walmart site, as there seems to be some confusion in their specs--the actual size is about 20" wide x 20" deep). Several shelves and easy to configure. Sturdy and well made. Also packaged carefully to prevent damage to the keypad and corners of the unit. This same unit and similar ones sell for $700+ elsewhere. Includes "stand-off" barrel supports for rifles with scopes. Comes with two large bolts and anchors if you want to attach to a concrete floor. Can set codes up to 8 digits, and includes two keys in case you forget the code or have a problem with the electronic keypad. Bottom of unit is smooth so you can slide it on dense carpet, etc. A good value. If you're a big gun collector, this might not be large enough for you. But for most of us, with a couple of rifles, a shotgun, and a handguns, this is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (326) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SteveNSTL
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Four stars for what it IS.
10/3/2015

Customer review by TimD

4.0 stars 10/3/2015 by TimD
by TimD

Technically, if you own 14 BB guns, or maybe 14 .22 caliber rifles, you might be able to get them all to fit. Beyond that, we all know this isn't a 14 gun cabinet. I knew going into the purchase, I could probably get 5 rifles to fit. The safe did not disappoint. Three scoped rifles, and two unscoped, all fit fine. I was also able to get all of my ammo and pistols on the shelves. This is why I bought the safe, and it did its job. Five stars. Fit and finish. Holy cow, nasty. Obvious that cheap labor did the carpet and woodwork. This would not have bothered me, if only the shelf brackets lined up. Minus two points for that. Price, unbeatable. One point. Delivery. Yup, it was delivered damaged. The box had been torn on two corners, resulting in a nice scratch and some paint chipping. I notified Wal-Mart, they issued me a credit for the damage. No points fit the safe, but kudos for good customer service. So, at the end of the day, I give this safe four stars for what it is. A ridiculously inexpensive, fire resistant gun safe.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TimD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WalMart has the best price on this item.
11/16/2012

Customer review by ResponsibleArmedCitizen

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by ResponsibleArmedCitizen
by ResponsibleArmedCitizen

Mainly purchased for handgun storage. I have 5 long guns and 6 handgunds plus assortment of holsters, magazine holders and speed loaders. Wanted a fire resistant and more secure safe than current long gun cabinet and handgun cabinet. Plenty of room for my guns. There is room to add more homemade shelves to safe. I like the convenience of electronic lock, but also like the key backup. WalMart employees were very helpful in reviewing safe with me and loading into my vehicle. Weighing almost 300 pounds it took two people and hand dolly to get into my location. Drilled through bottom of safe to mount to floor with long bolts and nuts I provided. Lag screws provided with safe were too short to fully fasten through safe, carpet and floor. I could pull them out by rocking safe. Large bolts, washers and locking nuts provided secure mounting. Have researched and found WalMart best price. Would recommend safe as good low priced unit.

Was this review helpful? (68) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ResponsibleArmedCitizen
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Safe if you are on a budget
4/8/2014

Customer review by Gravelhead

4.0 stars 4/8/2014 by Gravelhead
by Gravelhead
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a nice looking safe and has many nice features !!!! 1st it may only be 300 pounds do not think this will be nice and easy to move around by yourself as I did. And on stairs you will beg anybody with 2 arms to help you pull and push up stairs. But that is a good thing this will not be a easy snatch and grab for a one person break in or 2 for that matter when it is loaded up !! 2nd the Inside of this safe is well to say the least nice with a bit of rough mixed in the shelves are not finished all the way around with carpet. And the bottom of the safe is just kind of laid down for you to pat down and place it in place. And to finish this all off like I said at the start great safe if your on a budget 400 bucks is not a lot but will make you confident your important papers and guns are safe plus being fire proof you wont have to deal with all the hassle of going around collecting those important papers or refilling for said papers again

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gravelhead
Arnold Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice safe
10/21/2015

Customer review by John7258

4.0 stars 10/21/2015 by John7258
by John7258

The safe appears to be well constructed for the price. There were some complaints about interior finish but what do you expect for the price. The felt in my safe was for the most part cut to fit and secured fine. The bracket rods are a little off so I can't make my shelves quite match up level. Some do and some don't, no big deal.. again for the price.. The rifle rests are placed a little high and will have to be moved. none of my rifles even reach them. It only comes with 4 shelves so i cut a few more out of quarter inch ply and covered them with felt, they work fine. it's easy to secure to the floor. I didn't use the supplied lag screws. I felt these were too short and would pull out of the floor easy with a good kick. I used 3/8th inch 6" Tapcons all the way through my slab. No problems with the electronic key pad so far, opens and locks every time. The door operates smoothly. Overall I'm very pleased with this safe.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John7258
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good starter safe
12/13/2013

Customer review by KC1314

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by KC1314
by KC1314
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got one of these as a Christmas present, but guess what...I filled it up! Money been tight, so instead of waiting to save up to get one huge safe, I got another on of these. The safe is a good beginner's safe if you only owned a few rifles with scope. Any more than that, you need to get something a lot larger. But at least this one is fire-rated for 30 minutes. I think the price point is on the high-side, but it's a good safe that you can keep inside your house instead of the garage. I want to be close to my "toys", and it fits very well in any walk-in closet. My local Walmart did a great job with the site-to-store delivery. They let me drive my truck to the back of the store, and loaded it into the bed of my truck-no sweat. Two guys and good working dolly, and you can put this safe anywhere in your house. Just remember, this isn't a Liberty Safe, you are getting what you pay for. This one fits my needs nicely...twice...

Was this review helpful? (27) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KC1314
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty good value
1/19/2016

Customer review by Russ

4.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Russ
by Russ

In the $400-$500 range this is a pretty good gun safe. It is secure enough that it will safeguard your guns or other valuables from the vast majority of thieves. It arrived (with free shipping) on the day expected at the Walmart near my home. There was a small scratch on the lower front of the safe, I just took a sharpie and inked over the scratch. You would have to really be looking for the damage to notice it, so I'm happy enough. The safe is fairly roomy, but I don't think you could get 14 rifles in it. The safe is heavy at nearly 300 pounds, but the steel, especially on the back of the safe seems fairly thin. The door does not close as tightly as I expected, there is a little "play" in the door when it is closed. No doubt with time, tools and determination a thief would be able to get into this safe. If you are trying to protect items that are extremely valuable it would be wise to spend the extra money (I'm sure that safes in the $1500-$2000 range are built sturdier, but that's 3-4 times the cost of this Stack-on) for most of us this safe will do the job. However, with all things considered for less than $500 it does the job and is a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Russ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid Safe
2/21/2014

Customer review by SAFEty3rd

4.0 stars 2/21/2014 by SAFEty3rd
by SAFEty3rd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's going to work perfectly for why I bought it. It's going to keep my child from accessing my guns, and it's going to stop would be thieves from stealing my guns. Hopefully I never have to test out the fire resistancy. The electronic lock works great so far and after opening and closing the safe a few time the handle operates smoothly. The safe is much heavier than I thought it was going to be for it's size. Be prepared for a serious workout if you plan on keeping it on a second floor. Filled with guns and ammo, even if it's not bolted to the floor or wall, would be feat of strength and will power. My only complaint is the carpet on the inside is a little rough. By that I mean uneven cuts, weird overlapping, and on the shelves missing carpet. None of these things hurt the function of the safe, it just looks bad.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SAFEty3rd
Reno. NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sigh
3/16/2014

Customer review by 2aGuyMerica

1.0 stars 3/16/2014 by 2aGuyMerica
by 2aGuyMerica
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was very excited reading other reviews on this safe. The day before it arrived was like the night before Christmas. It was much smaller then I expected. Even with the scope stand offs, fitting 14 guns is a estranged pipe dream. Sadly the door of the safe is slightly off so u have to push hard on it every time you want to shut it. That's not that big of a deal since I don't need to open it all of the time, What is a big deal is the electronic lock dose not work. Stack-on is sending me a new circuit board, Fingers are crossed that it fixes the lock issue. In hind sight I should have bought the manual combination lock, and spent a few more dollars on a bigger safe. If the replacement board dose not fix the issue I will be returning the safe. I think stack-on needs more quality control and Walmart should ship their products better. My two cents for what it's worth.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2aGuyMerica
Fairfax VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fiancé loves it!
2/6/2016

Customer review by h42na

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by h42na
by h42na

I bought this for my fiancé for Christmas and it has all the qualities I wanted.. Fire resistant, lots of room for guns and storage, 2 back up keys incase you forget your PIN number or someone tries to break into it and it gets broke, doesn't take up a lot of space in the house, and our kids are safer now that guns are locked up better. Very heavy and sturdy, in my opinion well made!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
h42na
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
MOST BANG FOR THE BUCK
11/24/2012

Customer review by SportingClays4u

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by SportingClays4u
by SportingClays4u

Bought the stack-on fire resistant safe at Walmarts Black Friday sale. This is one time it wasn't too good to be true as they had to be giving them away to get folks into the store. It meets all of my security expectations and when lag bolted to the floor and screwed to two walls in a corner it isn't going anywhere. The locking bolts on and the steel plated door are certainly industrial strength. The sheetmetal walls could be thicker but as I've put the safe in a corner leaving only one exposed side, access is limited. I suppose the lock could be beefier but doesn't compromise security and is adequate for the job. I'm not a big gun collector but what I have is very expensive and irreplaceable so this safe is the perfect size for the space I'm putting it in and the number of fire arms and documents I want to protect.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SportingClays4u
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great basic safe
12/26/2015

Customer review by Justsomeguy

4.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Justsomeguy
by Justsomeguy

I did a lot of reading about this being damaged in transit so I decided to use the site to store and pick it up myself. It took 3 grown men to load it and 2 to unload it. Once it was in my garage, I was able to walk it around and into place by myself. Upon opening it, everything was intact and undamaged. It was super easy to program the custom pin and easy to operate. Very satisfied, but I don't see how it will hold anywhere near the 14 it is designed for. Install tip - if you anchor through the floor, there is no support through the fireproofing material in the pre-marked areas. When you tighten the anchors, it will crush the material and the safe will not feel secure once anchors are tight. I recommend using a hole saw to remove enough of the fire proofing material so that your anchor can sit all the way on the steel bottom.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Justsomeguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I thought
10/30/2014

Customer review by Kevangolium

1.0 stars 10/30/2014 by Kevangolium
by Kevangolium
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was not a very good product. It would have been great but it did not work. Once I arrived at home and opened the safe, I attempted to follow the directions and set the electronic safe code. It did not work. I tried all the tricks, trades, and secrets. It still would not connect to the handle to open or close that door. This is definitely not Wal-Mart's fault, they were very kind through the entire process at Wal-Mart in Washington, IL. However, this may be a product that Wal-Mart considers removing from their inventory completely. I read another article online with the same issue and purchased from Wal-Mart, same exact safe. I attempted to contact Stack-On customer service, no results and they are only like 8am to 4pm M-F, the times that I have to be at work in order to live and survive. Since I don't work at home I would not have been able to stand by the safe from work anyways for assistance. Glad I took this one back and it is done. No more Stack-On's for this guy! Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kevangolium
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
keypad troubles
2/2/2016

Customer review by Spark

4.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Spark
by Spark

I like the safe. construction looks good. the only problem is that the keypad doesn't work correctly. I contacted Stack on and the are sending a new keypad. I would recommend this product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ovarall good safe
12/12/2012

Customer review by AegisCSMM

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by AegisCSMM
by AegisCSMM

I ordered this safe online for the sale price. Went to pick up at Walmart. When I got home and opened it up noticed dent on front right corner. that wasnt an issue for me until I opened it and saw the the center divider was torn off the top of the safe. It looks like during shipping it may have been damaged by the loose shelves in the safe. Called Wallmart.com they were eceptionaly helpful in trying to find me a replacement one. They were willing to get me a better model for the same price. I was able to find the excact same one at another store so I called the store and told them my problem. They were aslo willing to give me a better one if they did not have the exact same one for the same price. This is my first time dealing with Walmart on exchanges and it was a great experience. Thank you Walmart.com and Walmart Simi Valley. :)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AegisCSMM
Camarillo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Solid Safe
12/29/2015

Customer review by Mayoub

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Mayoub
by Mayoub

I was not in the market for a top-of-the-line safe for a priceless gun collection. I simply wanted something with enough heft to deter the run-of-the-mill thief and keep the firearms safely away from the kids. This fits the bill perfectly. It was delivered exactly on schedule and in good shape. The delivery man was even nice enough to help me get it very close to where I intended to keep it. Now that it's there, it isn't going anywhere. The interior isn't as luxurious as some of the more expensive safes I've seen, but I wasn't looking for luxury. The shelves adjust easily and will store everything I planned to keep in it and more. (We only have 4 long guns, and with the shelves taking up half the space, I think we could get a couple more in, but not much more than that).

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mayoub
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Heavy duty!
1/28/2016

Customer review by Bubbaandgenia

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Bubbaandgenia
by Bubbaandgenia

The gun safe was heavy. My husband & I got it in the house with a hand truck. My husband also said that this is not a 14 gun gun safe. But it will do what we want it for & that is to store his guns & all of our important papers. Good price for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bubbaandgenia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great gun safe
1/19/2016

Customer review by Westncoop

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Westncoop
by Westncoop

This gun safe was exactly what we needed. It will keep our guns out of the hands of unwanted intruders as well as curious individuals (big or small) that don't need to have access to them. The keypad lock with backup keyed entry, however, still allows quick and easy access when desired. It's also a good size for us, offers protection from fire and although it's rather plain, it still looks nice. We really like the option of buying online and having delivered to one of the Walmart express stores not far from our home!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Westncoop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 334 total reviews
1-20 of 334 reviews