Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 88 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

88 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

5 stars
49
4 stars
26
3 stars
11
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
Stack On safe review:
9/18/2012

Customer review by calcitymike

4.0 stars by calcitymike

I finally got the safe after waiting almost a month for it to be delivered. I would NOT recommend the store to home delivery method. The movers that delivered it were professional but unless you want to wait WAY too long skip this method and go to the store to pick it up if you have the means to do so. The safe is a good quality piece that will do everything I need it to do without taking up a lot of space. The outside appearance is well done and it looks good. The inside on mine at least looked like someone was finishing it on a Friday. The carpeting at the bottom of it wasn't glued down and there was too much of it. Other than that the partition that divides it isn't overly strong but it appears to support the shelves so far. Time will tell on this. All in all it's not a bad safe and the issues I had are minor at best. If you are looking for a reasonable priced safe I think you will find this could suit your needs.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
calcitymike
california City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent gun safe for the money
4/19/2014

Customer review by merkur

5.0 stars by merkur

I wanted a heavy fire rated safe. This one is. I also wanted a combination lock,not an electronic type subject to failure. This one meets that requirement. It looks good and is big enough for my needs. I question the number 14 however. I also found some rough interior spots where the cloth did not fully cover or was not totally glued down. But the price was right for what I got.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
merkur
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding safe for the money!!
5/11/2014

Customer review by Bodyguard68

5.0 stars by Bodyguard68

Better then I expected!! Very heavy with a solid door. The 5 point steel bolts are a formidable obstacle to overcome. This is not a glorified file cabinet . The inside can be easily arranged to meet the needs according to the number of firearms owned with ample storage for ammo or any other items that may need secure storage. Heavy bolts included allow it to be mounted securely to a wall. The fully carpeted inside is a nice touch and the rifle mounts with optional scope extensions allow for easy stacking...The color is much darker than pictured..almost a green black and I was really happy with this as it does not have that Acme roadrunner falling out of the sky look...the combination lock that I preferred is shielded with a additional ring of steel and the bolt handle is very very heavy. Buy large...add a few more rifles to your count space is tight but if you plan on adding more long guns you do not want to run short of space...also. Have some one to help move this monster. The delivery was very very fast...6 days!! And the service was great! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bodyguard68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/16/2013

Customer review by Cyclohexane

3.0 stars by Cyclohexane

Good safe for the money but Stack-on does not seem to know anything about it. I called with installation questions and they could not verify the bolt diameter. They also gave me bad advice which if followed, would have ruined my fire rating. The insulation is not pre-drilled but there is holes through the metal. I called Stack-On before installation and was told the red dot on insulation inside safe matched holes on outside metal. I'm glad I decided to turn safe on its side and drill from the bottom because they were wrong. THE DOT AND THE HOLE DID NOT MATCH! If I followed instructions to just drill through inside, I would have ran into metal and be forced to add new holes to bottom metal or ruin fire rating. When installing, turn safe on side, drill holes from bottom to inside of safe, and then turn upright to drill into concrete knowing your holes match exactly. Workmanship is sufficient, not great, not to bad.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cyclohexane
Houston TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Great product especially for the price
9/3/2012

Customer review by HoosierDaddy469

5.0 stars by HoosierDaddy469

The product is very nice and exceeded my expectations considering the price of higher class units. I used site to store shipping and picked the unit up at my local walmart. (No shipping cost!) The guys at the store loaded it into my pickup with a lift and there was not a scratch on the unit when i un-boxed it at home.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HoosierDaddy469
Elkhart, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value for the money
4/18/2012

Customer review by JHR1884

4.0 stars by JHR1884

First safe for me. Enough room for what I need, looks great as well. Home shipping was great in this case, since it's 280 lbs

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JHR1884
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Safe review
4/30/2012

Customer review by Tim335

3.0 stars by Tim335

Good safe for the money, received with some exterior scratches, and had to work out some kinks with the interior carpet.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tim335
OUTSTANDING SAFE FOR THE MONEY
12/28/2014

Customer review by VinsonK

5.0 stars by VinsonK

Purchased this safe on sale for $397.00. It was a great buy. Bought the safe to store guns and other valuables. Does not take long to fill it up. Looking to buy another one, but waiting on the price to drop. Excellent safe for the money. Would recommend to others but, be warned, it does not take long to fill it up.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
VinsonK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value
5/1/2014

Customer review by bertfromNOVA

5.0 stars by bertfromNOVA

The shipping on this 298lb gunsafe was Cheaper than any other store I've seen. The delivery service was easy to plan with, friendly and while there was a hole in the box, no damaged to the safe. It seems like a sturdy, heavy way to secure my valuables. If you use the shelves it's really only slotted for 7 guns on either side. Padding on bottom and all walls. Lock seems very precise. Definitely satisfied with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bertfromNOVA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent entry level safe...but small
4/14/2013

Customer review by DesertSean

4.0 stars by DesertSean

This is a good entry level safe. Solid construction, good features. The only issue is the number of guns that can be stored in the safe. The manufacturer list a 14 gun capacity, and you can fit 14 rifles in the safe...the only issue is those rifles have to be small, and not have any attachments, like scopes. If you do, do not expect to be able to fit all guns neatly into the safe. The storage shelves on one side are nice also, but they limit the number of long guns you can store to half. One other issue is that the door does not seal tight, allowing for possible moisture intrusion. This opening would also allow for water, smoke, and possibly flames during a fire.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DesertSean
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pleasantly surprised
4/21/2014

Customer review by mrwilli1953

5.0 stars by mrwilli1953

Ordering was easy. Ship to home was only an additional $10. Safe arrived a week early and was delivered without damage. The color shown on the website differs from the color actually delivered. I was pleased to find the color much darker than the pictures. Safe looks much better with the dark green.I intend to use this as a security and gun safe (handguns). Would buy again and recommended.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mrwilli1953
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Great Safe seems well built
5/12/2014

Customer review by HITECHTOYS2001

5.0 stars by HITECHTOYS2001

Like the safe plenty of room less if you use the shelfs (4) Will hold guns with scopes the brackets are included. The door is not air tight don't know why. Will keep the curious out. A serious theif could get in keep your power tools out of sight and locked up away from the safe. Shelves are of and seem sturdy. I'm happy with this safe and glad it does not have an electronic lock that can be defeated with a 9 volt battery. Lifetime Warranty and Fire and theif replacment or repair for the first owner. Whats not to like!!!!! 21" deep 19" Wide and 58" tall. 297 LBS

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HITECHTOYS2001
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Supplier had to send replacement
6/6/2012

Customer review by hd55347

3.0 stars by hd55347

Disappointed that the first safe had to be returned. Supplier very cooperative in the exchange. Best price for temp and time. Second safe works very well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
hd55347
Prior Lake, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
Same experience as other reviewers.
6/4/2014

Customer review by Beefstews

5.0 stars by Beefstews

For the price, this was a great buy. Like other reviewers mentioned, my safe had a few cosmetic issues on the outside and the finish on the inside could have been better. The green color is darker than pictured, as also mentioned. Some of the rails on the inside of the safe did not line up, so a couple shelves are not perfectly level. To me, it's not a big deal, but it may be an issue, if you are looking for perfection. Overall, I was looking more for its functionality. It keeps my firearms away from the kids and it will deter thieves from trying to break into it or haul it away. My son and I used a heavy duty dolly and SLOWLY got it upstairs. There is no way one or even two guys can carry this thing away. It is truly the weight listed in the specs. I am very happy with this purchase, as previous reviews had set my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Beefstews
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It was a good buy.
2/2/2013

Customer review by outdoorsed

5.0 stars by outdoorsed

A solid safe will work well for it intended need. it feels every pound of its stated weight. nice exteriour finish, adjustable shelves. If you have older eyes (like I do) it can be a little difficult to work the combination in dim light.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
outdoorsed
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/29/2013

Customer review by luigi99

5.0 stars by luigi99

This gun safe is perfect for our needs. I had considered one that would hold 24 but am very pleased I did not. This is the perfect size if you want to keep it in a closet. It is also not too heavy and could easily be moved by two people. The inside is very adjustable. I believe we will be getting another. The delivery man brought it into our house no problem at all and he delivered it on a Saturday which was very convenient.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
luigi99
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/17/2013

Customer review by Bobalooie

3.0 stars by Bobalooie

Was not pleased with condition of gunsafe when i took it out of the box. Had a dent in upper corner and one of the upper gun cradles were broken. Obviousy was a used safe when i got it. The safe serves the purpose but if im paying almost 600$ for something like that i expect to get a NEW product and undamaged.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bobalooie
Sherwood ,AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good. Happy.
6/20/2013

Customer review by snitterkitty

5.0 stars by snitterkitty

I picked this one up on the online Black Friday sale last year for $300. The one I got is black but I'm positive it is otherwise the same safe. Can definitely say that it is well worth more than that. It is packaged well. I had it shipped to the store. I brought it home on a tilt trailer. I had this brilliant idea that I would strap it to my dolly and slowly walk it down the trailer as the trailer gradually tilted. Let me preface this next part by saying that I do not have a remarkable history of hauling or unloading things from trailers undamaged. For some reason I left the safe sitting right over the top of the axle, strapped to the dolly, as I jumped down off of the trailer to pull the pin. Next thing I knew the trailer slowly tilted with me standing there watching the safe topple over and off the trailer, landing on its side in my rocky yard. At least it was unloaded I guess. I got it inside and took the box off expecting the worst, but to my surprise the good packaging prevented any damage whatsoever from the safe. As far as functionality goes, 14 guns would be a tight fit, especially if very many have scopes, but I would say you can fairly easily put ten long guns in this safe, not counting handguns which you can put on the top shelves. Some longer guns, such as shotguns with a 28" barrel, will have to be up front in order to keep them from interfering with having the shelves at a reasonable level. I'm quite happy with my purchase and am thinking about buying another one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
snitterkitty
Benton, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
best overall safe and transaction
7/19/2014

Customer review by Teve2431

5.0 stars by Teve2431

I already had a competitor's safe of this size and needed another, but I was unable to locate one locally. Walmart offered free ship to store which was fast. And the best part, a gentleman at the store helped me load it into my truck. I would add watch what you are purchasing, make sure IT IS a fire safe and not just a locking metal cabinet. The FS in this model number signifies "fire safe". And the fact that it weights 300 lbs is another indication. Tumbler and locking mechanism is very smooth and feels better than the other competitor's safe I already have.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Teve2431
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeds expectations
5/17/2014

Customer review by Sleeper1

5.0 stars by Sleeper1

This is a great safe for the value; Works perfect and was shipped very quick, site to store; no shipping, just have help to unload, at 300 pounds can be a handful. Was able to store all my weapons in this safe; it doesn't do well for AR type weapons, the rest supports are too high even with stock extended, but you can make do for the value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sleeper1
Waynesville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 86 total reviews