Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

11 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

11 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-8 of 8 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great fly rod for the money
8/30/2013

Customer review by Abendego10

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Abendego10
by Abendego10

This is my second Crystal River Executive rod. I bought the second one after losing the tip from the first rod while walking through heavy brush. My attempts to contact Crystal River to purchase another tip were unsuccessful, so I used the internet to find another vendor for this rod. I would still like to contact Crystal River, which I believe was a in Reno, Nevada, but it appears they are no longer in business. This rod is light and casts, as well as my other rods, which cost a lot more. The rod has a number of sections, which makes it a great pack rod. A reel comes with the rod. The reels drag quit working on my first rod/reel purchase, so I'm somewhat skeptical about how well the second one will perform. The line, which comes with the rod is well matched to the rod. Overall, this is a great rod for the money.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Abendego10
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent pack/trail rod
6/6/2014

Customer review by Campmaster55

5.0 stars 6/6/2014 by Campmaster55
by Campmaster55

I have now purchased two sets and both are great. This is an outstanding combination for the price. It is not comparable to a Loomis rod and a Ross reel, but is a smooth operating, easy to use, well balanced backpacking rod and reel. I would add a better quality leader and some backing, bot otherwise it is ready to go out of the box. I have been teaching fly fishing for the Boy Scouts for years and have found that this setup is perfect for beginners. The rod's slow action allows new fishermen to get the feel for loading the rod and perfect casting (or at least get good enough at it to make it fun).

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Campmaster55
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the hiker or backpacker
6/11/2014

Customer review by CaribouBiker

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by CaribouBiker
by CaribouBiker

Excellent value and ideal to take on motorcycle trips. When you come upon a stream, simply take the rod from your pack or saddle bag, assemble and enjoy. The perfect companion for the fly rod package would be for Walmart to offer the Arrow backpack pontoon again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaribouBiker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good inexpensive rod and reel for fly fishing
7/29/2014

Customer review by Jeremiad

5.0 stars 7/29/2014 by Jeremiad
by Jeremiad

I have a number of fly rods, but all of them are too long and awkward to carry on my kayak. This little setup is a gem! I can throw it in the back of my SOT's cargo area and use it only if I want to. If my spinning outfit is working fine, then I may not fly fish, but having the option is great. Yes, there are better outfits out there, but it's not worth it to spend a fortune for something that you are not going to use too much. This is a great outfit for learning the basics, or for kayak fly fishing where space is at a premium.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeremiad
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Not worth it
1/18/2014

Customer review by DNA0630

1.0 stars 1/18/2014 by DNA0630
by DNA0630

I purchased this Fly rod to replace one that I had broke and was very disapointed when I received it. The rod its self is nice but the reel is not worth it I am going to have to go replace the reel to use this product. If all you are looking for is a decent rod then this is for you, if you are looking to learn how to fly fish go with a different complete set. This one is not worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DNA0630
Allenhurst, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice
5/22/2015

Customer review by oldfart96575

4.0 stars 5/22/2015 by oldfart96575
by oldfart96575

nice

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldfart96575
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
no flies
6/20/2015

Customer review by rocknv

4.0 stars 6/20/2015 by rocknv
by rocknv

The description said flies were included but there were no flies

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rocknv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice little pole
7/24/2015

Customer review by billk13579

4.0 stars 7/24/2015 by billk13579
by billk13579

This is a nice, compact little pole! Mine came in a soft-sided, foam-lined case, not the plastic box shown in the picture. There aren't any instructions, so if you get this kit and are a complete beginner (like me), then you will have to learn the correct knots to use on the leader line (thin monofilament that connects the "fly" to the casting line). It is well worth your while to pick up extra leader and some extra flies as well as get some instruction and practice casting a few times. Overall, I am very happy with this kit!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billk13579
Would recommend to a friend? Yes