Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 235 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

235 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

235 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
135
4 stars
40
3 stars
17
2 stars
14
1 stars
29
1-20 of 234 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 234 total reviews
1-20 of 234 reviews
Works as you'd expect, but...
7/7/2016

Customer review by Pixelestial

4.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Pixelestial
by Pixelestial

Note that even though the product description and box say that the item is dishwasher safe, the instructions inside the box clearly say it is NOT dishwasher safe.

Pixelestial
Excellent Jar Sealer
6/7/2014

Customer review by snowmuffin45

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by snowmuffin45
by snowmuffin45

I bought the wide mouth jar sealer at least three years ago from a mail order company. :) It does not need a hose to work with a hand held device. I have used my old, discontinued by the company, Reynolds Sealer to seal mason jars. All I do is place the food in the jar and put on a lid. Then attach the jar sealer.I then place my sealing device onto where the hose would go into and proceed to seal by pushing the button on the hand held device.. It removes the air and seals with no problem. It just takes a few seconds to complete the seal. I then store in freezer or on a shelf depending on the contents. Every jar I have sealed, several dozen at least, has sealed tightly with no problem and no hose needed. A very handy item for sealing jars.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snowmuffin45
Okeechobee, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Works every time
7/4/2016

Customer review by JammyG

5.0 stars 7/4/2016 by JammyG
by JammyG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I gave this to my Son-in-law and he uses it all the time. He says it is very handy.

JammyG
Charleston SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Most valuable item I've ever purchased...
11/4/2013

Customer review by Shebra

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Shebra
by Shebra

I have had the Food Saver sealer for many years, and absolutely can't function without it. However, they used to include the wide mouth jar sealer in the package, but not anymore, which is a real pain. The sealer caps don't work forever, and I've gone through at least two, before a crack appeared in the cap, which makes it useless. I'm in the process now, of ordering one from Amazon, Ebay, or wherever I can find one. The wide mouth works wonderfully, but like many other people have stated, the small mouth sealer doesn't work nearly as well as the wide mouth one does. What I have found that works with the small mouth cap, is to wrap a folded piece of plastic wrap entirely around the neck of the jar, before putting the lid and the cap on. The cap makes contact with the plastic wrap while sealing, and most of the time it does work. Just something for the cap to make contact with, since it doesn't fit well around the shape of the small mouth quart jar. I truly could not manage without this item. I must have 75 or more jars sealed, with everything from pinto beans to cookies, to corn chips, candy, etc. in them. Cookies will last a year and still taste fresh. I don't know why Food Saver quit including the sealer cap in the package with the sealer, unless it's so they can sell more of their brand of lids, which sit on top of the jars, bowls, or whatever, but don't work. The seals break loose overtime, and the food gets stale, before you realize they've come unsealed. Their plastic sealer containers do not work as well as the canning jars and sealer cap, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shebra
Colfax, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/24/2013

Customer review by NiteJag

3.0 stars 4/24/2013 by NiteJag
by NiteJag
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It fits reg size lids of mason jars, but do not be fooled like I was. It only comes with the main piece, it does NOT come with the hose attachment. At least mine did not. I tried contacting the company, but still no reply via email. So I bought a $2 air hose for a fish tank and rigged it up instead of sending it back. Since the main apparatuse does work great, just my air hose is not a great fit, but will do for a pinch. I bought it to vacuum seal my jars to keep my salads fresher longer. It does work great for that. I would recommend it, but advise about the hose that you see in the picture, did not come with mine.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NiteJag
Dothan, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A little temperamental
6/17/2016

Customer review by Ed G

4.0 stars 6/17/2016 by Ed G
by Ed G

I just received this device and was super anxious to try it! Followed the instructions to the letter and it would not seal the lid. I tried it 6 times with the same result and was about to return it when I had an idea. Instead of putting the lid on the jar and then pushing the sealer onto the jar,I put it into the device and then pushed the sealer onto the jar. SUCCESS!! I repeated that proocedure four or five times and it sealed every time.

Ed G
Erie, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Small jar sealer
6/24/2016

Customer review by Chiroman

1.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Chiroman
by Chiroman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for the small mouth canning jars. However it does NOT work at all. Will not seal period. The large sealer I have works great, the small one, wasted my money.

Chiroman
Pensacola, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
outstanding all the way around!
6/2/2016

Customer review by Schraeder

5.0 stars 6/2/2016 by Schraeder
by Schraeder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent product, excellent service . Works excellently!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Schraeder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
singular not plural
5/28/2015

Customer review by DWaite

1.0 stars 5/28/2015 by DWaite
by DWaite

Its not both sealers as the plural in the title leads one to believe, but just the regular size sealer without the hose so you'll still need to shop the hose elsewhere anyway and if you do wide mouth jars you'll have to get that sealer elsewhere as well. Would have been a good review if its title simply read regular size jar sealer replacement cap in the singular instead of sealers in the plural.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DWaite
Would recommend to a friend? No
Jar sealer
6/14/2016

Customer review by Jeanee

5.0 stars 6/14/2016 by Jeanee
by Jeanee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was so excited to recieve my jar sealers, and hose attachment, I use them constantly.thankyou so much.

Jeanee
Beaumont texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hit and miss
6/2/2016

Customer review by jcsmgb

1.0 stars 6/2/2016 by jcsmgb
by jcsmgb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had high hopes for this product, but it let me down. It does work, but not all of the time. I would say it works about 25% of the time. I have followed the instructions; making sure the cap and bottle are clean, but most of the time it does not seal.

jcsmgb
Greer, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
5/28/2016

Customer review by Gjjb

5.0 stars 5/28/2016 by Gjjb
by Gjjb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works exactly as advertised, I have discovered that you need to put the ring back on the jar after vacuum sealing it or you will lose the vacuum in some of the jars, I've also found that with some ball lids you need to put another lid on top upside down before putting the device on the jar in order to create a good seal. Other than those two qwerks works great for sealing stuff in jars.

Gjjb
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ease of use
6/3/2016

Customer review by Mynameistaken

5.0 stars 6/3/2016 by Mynameistaken
by Mynameistaken
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very happy with product , plan to purchase wide mouth one soon. We

Mynameistaken
Sebring, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great resource for storing things.
11/3/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A way to store dry goods so that air can't get to them. Should help keep my pasta, rice, and beans from going stale or attracting boll weevils.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
6/16/2015

Customer review by bms29

5.0 stars 6/16/2015 by bms29
by bms29
Top 25 contributor

I have both the Regular and the Wide Jar Sealers. Both work great. If I ever have any problems, I know to put 2 flat lids on the jar to seal then remove the 2nd lid from the sealer. I also have only used Mason Jars - wide mouth & regular. The first time I used one of these, I wondered if the machine would stop - it did. I still wondered if it sealed correctly and I found out that it sealed very tightly when I decided to open one of the jars - very tight seal. I ordered both of mine directly from Food Saver & also purchase the suction tube. I wasn't certain if the one my sister had for her FS would work as she had never used it. But it does work so I have an extra if / when needed - PLUS it has her interested in sealing products in jars.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bms29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 25 contributor
Great Product!
5/8/2016

Customer review by TBeal

5.0 stars 5/8/2016 by TBeal
by TBeal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not had any issues that others have had with reviews I read. I would recommend this product, it works great!

TBeal
GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mixed Feelings~!
12/17/2013

Customer review by Lrising

3.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Lrising
by Lrising

I was reading several reviews before I bought this product as I was worried that it wouldn't work without jumping through hoops such as using two seals, using two seals and puncturing a hold in one, pressing hard on the cap while you use it etc. So I thought that for my first attempt I should just try it normally, no jumping through hoops, but I did put a little pressure on the jar sealer when I used it. (I do not have to jump through any hoops with my wide mouth sealer). It worked just fine, however the inner blue rubber ring stayed on the jar lid instead of in the jar sealer. I was going to send it back immediately, but it is nothing to keep putting it back in as packing it up would be a pain. I have only used it for short terms seals as I juice and I put some in the fridge sealed for during the day, so I do not know if it keeps the seal long term but it works fine for short term. I use my wide mouth sealer for long term bulk items. I gave it a fair for ease of use because I have to keep putting the rubber ring back into the sealer.

Lrising
Hillsborough, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Regular mouth jar sealer
11/12/2015

Customer review by Jackie54

1.0 stars 11/12/2015 by Jackie54
by Jackie54

Today I decided to buy another regular mouth jar sealer after ripping my hair out after repeatedly trying to get the one I own to work properly. It is a frustrating product that rarely works without multiple tries. I am constantly trying new ways to get this to work. The wide mouth sealer works perfectly. As stated by another customer, the blue seal on the regular mouth is not designed the same as the wide mouth sealer. I am hopeful that the reason the regular mouth sealer is currently unavailable is that you have listened to your customers and are in the process of redesigning a product that should have been recalled (I know, I know, its poor design is actually not a safely issue). I personally would love to purchase the new design as I am always canning and dehydrating but I often run out of wide mouth jars. It would be marvelous if you would contact your loyal clients with good news!

Jackie54
Newark, De
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Works perfect oj jars!
4/30/2016

Customer review by Priscilla82c

5.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Priscilla82c
by Priscilla82c
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use this to put leftovers and soups in the fridge. They stay fresher longer and in my opinion work better than plastic seal containers.

Priscilla82c
Jacksonville, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Jar Sealer
5/1/2016

Customer review by mrshummy

1.0 stars 5/1/2016 by mrshummy
by mrshummy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have tried this several times and it just doesn't seal my jar...

mrshummy
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 234 total reviews
1-20 of 234 reviews