Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 68 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

68 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

68 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 61 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Door Not Big Enough For My Dog
1/11/2013

Customer review by BrockRooster

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by BrockRooster
by BrockRooster

No complaints with Walmart or this Pet Door. However the Extra Large size advertised wasn't extra large enough for my golden retriever, Sadie. The box and the advertisement showed a golden retriever on the packaging and this was misleading. The opening of the door was 10.5 X 15 and there is no way my Sadie could get through this door. Therefore, I had to return the door for a refund. I never opened the inner package once I saw how small the door really was.

Was this review helpful? (43) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrockRooster
Mayfield, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a great pet door. We love it.
6/5/2013

Customer review by Jeepiecj5

5.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Jeepiecj5
by Jeepiecj5

We have 2 dogs, One is 35 lbs, the other 92 lbs. They both go through with ease. It was easy to train them to use it ( we bribed them with treats ) This was easy to install through our metal outside door.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeepiecj5
Michigans Upper Peninsula
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/4/2012

Customer review by Miner122

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by Miner122
by Miner122

The doggie was as expected easy to install and worked good. It is good quality and design.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Miner122
Tucson Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect For Our Dogs
7/10/2014

Customer review by dfwtxpatrick

5.0 stars 7/10/2014 by dfwtxpatrick
by dfwtxpatrick

We bought this for our 86lb and 13lb dogs. I placed it lower in the door for the little dog, but our big dog has no problem going through it. I really like how the sliding, locking door works. It DOES NOT come with a template or mounting instructions. But if you know what you're doing, it should not be any problem. I highly recommend taking a medium sized Sharpie and drawing an outline of the inside part of the doggie door onto your door (inside part of the door). Once you've drawn the outline, cut to the outside of the drawing and this will give you the room to drop the door right into place. Also do the same thing w/the outside of the doggie door and your door and you'll be good to go. NOTE: If you have an aluminum skinned door, be sure to use a very fine metal jigsaw blade to stop any possible warping. Hope this helps you make up your mind.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dfwtxpatrick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great doggy door!
1/30/2013

Customer review by MommyDori

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by MommyDori
by MommyDori

I have this for my 3 dogs: a pug, an Alaskan Husky, and a Dalmation/Lab mix. Easy install. Clear view makes it great for the dogs to see if someone is in the way. Surprisingly didn't make the entry way cool, has a good block on the air. Door cover is simple and glides easily closed and open. My 2 year old even sneaks in the house through the door when we get home from the store! Silly. Overall, great product!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommyDori
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not sized appropriately
11/13/2013

Customer review by ld1150

2.0 stars 11/13/2013 by ld1150
by ld1150

This door was supposed to accommodate a dog up to 90 lbs and even shows a Labrador on the box. My Labrador would NOT be able to squeeze through this opening and he is only 85 lbs. The next size up is $30 more for just a few inches.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ld1150
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pet door for the money.
10/20/2012

Customer review by Jakers12

5.0 stars 10/20/2012 by Jakers12
by Jakers12

We have two rescue puppies (3 months old) and it works great for them. Too good sometimes. They love the freedom it gives them. Super easy to install. My husband Just cut the hole and placed the pet door in. No problems at all. Works like it should.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jakers12
La Grand, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value dog door
10/4/2012

Customer review by GiveYourDogAHug

5.0 stars 10/4/2012 by GiveYourDogAHug
by GiveYourDogAHug

This product was just as described and easy to install. Great value for the price. Fast shipping too.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GiveYourDogAHug
Lake Arrowhead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent door
7/23/2014

Customer review by abfmdan

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by abfmdan
by abfmdan

Easy to install. Looks good. Took about 45 minutes including cutting the hole. Accomplished the purpose we wanted. Dogs now have total access, comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abfmdan
Rosamond, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ideal Pet Door
6/27/2013

Customer review by tami76137

5.0 stars 6/27/2013 by tami76137
by tami76137

I ordered this Ideal Pet Door from Walmart.com to replace the same model Ideal Pet Door originally installed over 10 years ago. Walmart.com had the best price and ordering from their website is convenient with fast shipping. This Ideal Pet Door is the same model with slightly different modifications which makes it a better door than my first one. Removing the old door was very easy to do. Replacing the new door was just as easy. All I needed was a Phillips head screwdriver and my fur~kid supervising me. BTW, The original installation took an hour and was placed into a glass storm door with a solid lower panel. The Pet Door is sturdy and comes with a panel that slides into slots on the inside to block the pet door opening. It can be used when travelling or when you want to keep your pet in or out. It has a magnetic strip on the bottom part of the frame and one on the bottom of the flap which keeps the flap closed. I have never had an unwelcome guest come through the door. The Ideal Pet Door is a great value, construction is flawless and replacement parts are available. It has lasted through years of two rambunctious very bad black labs and I am replacing it by choice. It can be installed in doors, storm doors, sliding patio door inserts and in brick walls. Ideal is well know for their quality pet products and has been in business for decades. I personally wouldn't consider any other manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tami76137
Fort Worth, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doesn't last long
4/4/2014

Customer review by Hoss49

1.0 stars 4/4/2014 by Hoss49
by Hoss49

We bought this product at the beginning of winter for our dog. It only lasted about 4 months and it was ruined. The plastic part ripped right off the top so there is no way of fixing it either.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hoss49
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Replaced old beat up door with 2 new ones
12/3/2013

Customer review by ColoradoDaveK

5.0 stars 12/3/2013 by ColoradoDaveK
by ColoradoDaveK

I bought two of these to replace an old one. I measured the flap and the door as well. Extremely close in size. I had to build wooden frames to mount each of these on. The frames were attached to the old sliding door doggy door metal frame. One on the inside. One on the out side. I attached each of the doors to the wood frames. Predrilled holes in the wood and metal to mount the wood frames to the metal frame. Used metal screws to mount the wood to the metal. Used wood screws to mount the doggy doors to the wood frames. I also used metal flashing to make the frames more sturdier. Not necessary. But I did it to make the wood act as one piece. I cut 4 inch strips of metal flashing the length of each side of the frames. Bending them over the wood. Then attaching the frames just inside the flashing to the wood. Unbelievable in setup and sturdiness. Keeps the wind out. We have had 40 mph ones this week. It took my dogs a day or 2 to get use to the extra weight of 2 flaps (instead of one) on their noses. I have replaced the flap previously on this door. I do not expect to have to replace the flaps or door. This is a solid product and a very solid deal. The prices for a new door are outrageous.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColoradoDaveK
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product - great value
1/6/2013

Customer review by Bofie

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by Bofie
by Bofie

I already had this door and purchased this one to replace the old door. I know the old door lasted somewhere between 6 and 8 years. It survived multiple dogs, cats and children.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bofie
Garland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not the right size door for 90lbs dogs though
5/13/2015

Customer review by Rich

5.0 stars 5/13/2015 by Rich
by Rich

I used this same brand at my last house, when we moved, it of course stayed in the door. I bought another one from Walmart.com to put in at my new place - but when the door came, it looked smaller to me. Walmart only carries the XLarge - that the company advertises up to 90lbs.. but my lab mixes who are 66lbs & 80lbs weren't having it. The door is 10.5x15 and it doesn't give the dogs much confidence. This company does make a larger door, which is 15x20, but I guess Walmart does not stock it. It is available online through Amazon.com. (Sorry Walmart!) But I came to you first! :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Under sized! My lack lab would need at least XL
3/11/2013

Customer review by SpeedyPete

2.0 stars 3/11/2013 by SpeedyPete
by SpeedyPete

Bought 2 large dors for my black lab, no way she will ever fit through them.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpeedyPete
Dover, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We love it!
7/8/2014

Customer review by romncauthor

5.0 stars 7/8/2014 by romncauthor
by romncauthor

After reading the reviews we got the next size larger when we ordered and glad we did. It fits our border collie perfectly. Super easy to install, looks super nice and works like a dream. Super pleased with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
romncauthor
Colorada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good door size is right for 60 lb sheppard!
7/4/2014

Customer review by Unterseebooten

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by Unterseebooten
by Unterseebooten

Good door, fits my sheppard of 60 lbs very well. Wish it had a better template however, they say to use the door block, but it's actually 1/2 too long on top. Just hope it will last a while as I have now a big hole in my steel door.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Unterseebooten
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very good item for the price..
6/12/2014

Customer review by cimone2001

5.0 stars 6/12/2014 by cimone2001
by cimone2001

Not bad for the price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cimone2001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
VERY EASY INSTALLATION
9/19/2014

Customer review by gfortner

5.0 stars 9/19/2014 by gfortner
by gfortner

VERY EASY INSTALL. FLAP WORKS GREAT AND STOPES ON MAGNET STRIP EVERY TIME !! VERY GOOD DEAL.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gfortner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/7/2013

Customer review by Detourdave

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by Detourdave
by Detourdave

Great door, Great price! Set-up is as easy as 1,2,3. My Dog loves it and I love it. The only draw back is size it says, I recommend that if your Dog is a Small then you get a Medium Door. My Dog is Medium/Large and I got Extra Large Door.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Detourdave
Merritt Island, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews