Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 112 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

112 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

112 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
30
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 102 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 102 total reviews
1-20 of 102 reviews
Over All A Great Value!
10/13/2013

Customer review by ThrilledInColorado

5.0 stars 10/13/2013 by ThrilledInColorado
by ThrilledInColorado
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We've been wanting a doggy door for a long time. We have three dachshunds and I was getting really tired of opening door for them all the time or leaving screen open for them to come and go, this summer especially the flies were horrid so we finally figured it was time. The only thing that we were disappointed about was that the thickness of screen door and thickness of doggy door were different. The doggy door was way thicker so we had to cut and place additional framing between the doggy door and the screen door on the inside to get it nice and tight. Worked out perfectly though and we love it!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThrilledInColorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product, good price!
8/3/2012

Customer review by HeavyRevy

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by HeavyRevy
by HeavyRevy

Having shopped around we found this to be a better buy for the money than most. Installation was easy, we had a wooden door. I'm sure a metal door might be a tad more challenging. With nothing more than a jigsaw my son and I installed it in less than 20 minutes start to finish. The 20 minutes including taking the door off its hinges and putting it back on. It was very easy! Take the door off its hinges (thought that would be easier than cutting it in place). Take a second to figure out exactly where it should go on your door. One of the doggie door pieces serves as your template. Trace the outline, put four drill holes in each corner with a decent sized drill bit. Crank up the jigsaw and cut it out. Put both sides of the doggie door on and screw in four screws. Re-mount your door! Puppy loves it! Took to it quite easily! Only caveat would be the tightness of the plastic cover (to close the door off when you want). On our door we had to tighten the doggie door in quite tight on the door to get it to hold in just the right place. That makes the plastic door cover a bit tough to slide in and out. A little WD40 solved that! Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeavyRevy
Texarkana, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Second Door in 8 years
8/28/2011

Customer review by CliffnSebring

5.0 stars 8/28/2011 by CliffnSebring
by CliffnSebring

We got the same door about 8 years ago and it held up great until just recently. At one point we had 2 Siberian Huskies a Boxer/Lab and 4 small terriers using the door. I really don't know how it lasted as long as it did. The huskies and lab were a tight fit in and out that medium size door but they sure did it and did it pretty fast at times (whats she doing on the porch?) I highly recommend these doors, their very sturdy and easy to install Cliff S

Was this review helpful? (50) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CliffnSebring
Sebring FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy, Easy, Easy
8/24/2011

Customer review by BCtvor

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by BCtvor
by BCtvor

Great for the money. Easy to install. Don't have to be extremely accurate with your door cut out because there is plenty of leeway. DO as the directions say when it comes to the screws that hold the assembly together! Use a screwdriver by hand or the screw head will mash right through the hole provided. Took about 20 min from pulling the door off to having it re-hung.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BCtvor
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It!!!
4/4/2012

Customer review by jonesiia

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by jonesiia
by jonesiia

I have 1-Jack Russell and 1-Tom Cat and 1-Queen Cat and soon to be kittens...I was tired of opening and closing the door hundreds of times a day so I ordered this pet door after lots of research and measuring to see what would work...delivery was speedy....install was easy and took barely 30 min..all went well and now my babies are happy as well coming and going freely...it took about 2 days for them to figured out to go to their new door but they finally get it :) So far 1 week out I'm a happy momma and I'm wondering why I waited so long to get it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jonesiia
Sullivan, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/10/2011

Customer review by Mrpk

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by Mrpk
by Mrpk

We have used Ideal Pet Doors for years. Their quality remains high.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mrpk
Rocky Face, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Pet Door
7/8/2014

Customer review by Luckynkl

5.0 stars 7/8/2014 by Luckynkl
by Luckynkl

I was recently given a Chihuahua and an inch taller Chihuahua/Beagle mix. I've heard potty training is at best difficult with Chihuahuas, so I knew a pet door would be a must. I looked at all sorts of pet doors on various sites, but the Ideal pet door seemed to give the most bang for the buck. Ideal has a video on their website demonstrating how to install the pet door (this particular model is called "The Original Pet Door"), as well as how to replace the flap if it should need replacing in the future, so installation was a breeze. It took me about half an hour to install. Removing my door wasn't necessary - as Ideal's video shows. The Chihuahuas were too small to do measurements by their shoulder so I just made the bottom cut 4" from the bottom of the door as the video recommends. It came out perfect. It took the Chihuahuas about 30 seconds to figure out how to go in and out the door. It was the perfect size for them. I also have a larger Lab/Pitbull mix, but she is too big to fit through this medium pet door. I didn't buy the pet door for her tho. She is trained and uses the front door. All in all, I am very pleased with this purchase and the installation. If you're looking for a pet door, I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luckynkl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love it
4/26/2016

Customer review by happytinky

5.0 stars 4/26/2016 by happytinky
by happytinky

Bought this pet door for my dog and I love easy to install and so worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happytinky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pet Door for Pets up to 35 Lbs.
12/5/2013

Customer review by JLSmitty

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by JLSmitty
by JLSmitty
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This door was easy to install. Former purchasers mentioned that they removed the house door in order to facilitate installation. That was not necessary in my case. With the house door still on its hinges, I drew the dog door outline in place, used a drill to cut a hole in the 4 corners of the outline and used a skill saw to cut out the outline. Once both "sides" of the doggy door were set into the hole in the house door, I facilitated the difficulty of tightening the six screws by squirting WD40 into the doggy door screw areas. It made tightening everything SO MUCH EASIER!!!! This was the one thing I would HIGHLY recommend in order to make the installation a breeze!

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JLSmitty
Huntsville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well made
5/30/2016

Customer review by electre68

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by electre68
by electre68
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to install. My dog is small but he likes the bigger Size I purchased

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
electre68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very satisfied!
11/20/2011

Customer review by shantisairam

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by shantisairam
by shantisairam

Easily installed by my handyman into a solid wood door. Provides a low profile doorway for my cats into the garage for litter box access. Very nice to have litter boxes out of the house! Appears to be sturdy and the cats took to its use easily.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shantisairam
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very small actual door size
9/15/2012

Customer review by Jojo321

3.0 stars 9/15/2012 by Jojo321
by Jojo321

I feel the description on this item could have been better. In measurements it doesn't give the actual door size, which when you receive it you see on the box it says 7", which is pretty small. The door itself is nice but if the description would have been more clear I would not have ordered this and will have to return.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jojo321
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
6/6/2013

Customer review by carmendeb

2.0 stars 6/6/2013 by carmendeb
by carmendeb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered a medium door and when I received it I thought it looked small. My dog which is half cockerspanial and pekinese weighing at 14 lbs. couldn't fit through the door. I had to return it. I don't think your measurements on your doors are accurate. But I will remain a Wallmart customer faithfully.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carmendeb
mullens, wv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good doggie dorr, excellent price
4/20/2016

Customer review by Blueroads

5.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Blueroads
by Blueroads

The only complaint we have is that they give you slightly too big measurements for the initial hole to be cut in the door. A bit of trim fixed this, but on the second door, my husband took a 1/2 inch off the measurements and then it fit perfectly. The flap seems to secure well, our pup is still not sure she likes the flat, so we have it tied up for the moment. Seems like its good and sturdy and the medium sized one is about right for our min doxie, even though they said we could have used the small, I think it would be more for real small dogs like chihuahuas and toy poodles. Medium works for her, she weighs 8 pounds and is 7 inches high.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blueroads
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect Doggy Door
8/10/2011

Customer review by dianegordon

4.0 stars 8/10/2011 by dianegordon
by dianegordon

This door was easy to install & works great. There are more airtight & more "secure" doggy doors out there for sure but for my 2 little dogs on my budget, this has worked out great. I'm very please.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dianegordon
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than expected.
5/2/2013

Customer review by shuumai

4.0 stars 5/2/2013 by shuumai
by shuumai

Extremely easy to install.* Looks and functions better than expected in an interior door. The screws were a bit long considering the width of the door. I would suggest using shorter screws because they were hard to screw in completely, and I was using a drill to drive the screws! Overall, the door is an excellent value and I would buy another one if needed. I went with a slightly larger door than typically recommended for cats. One reason is that we are expected one cat to grow large. (We think he's a Norwegian forest cat. Before that we guessed Maine Coon.) Also, there are steps immediately on one side of the door, so I figured extra clearance would help. The smaller door would probably work OK for normal sized, fit cats. (*I traced the part that slides through the door, drilled holes where the screw posts fit through, and just cut along those lines with a jig saw. It fit right through perfectly the first time! I had a moment of minor shock when I wasn't sure if I oriented the door properly since the middle screw posts are not centered. I did, but it would have been a correctable mistake.)

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shuumai
Central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Pet Door
1/24/2012

Customer review by DohDa

5.0 stars 1/24/2012 by DohDa
by DohDa

I got this pet door because I could not find one for my 3 cats. One of my cats is 20 pounds so I had to go for a bigger door than just a cat door. The pet door fit perfect aganist the door we installed it on and it works great. Thank You

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DohDa
Newport News, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/30/2011

Customer review by ComputerWhiz

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by ComputerWhiz
by ComputerWhiz

Great product, great price, very easy to install. Love the magnetic flap lock.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ComputerWhiz
Wichita Falls,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/8/2012

Customer review by mocomarcus

4.0 stars 10/8/2012 by mocomarcus
by mocomarcus

no installation instructions or tips

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mocomarcus
home
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good dog door for the price
4/25/2016

Customer review by Brett

4.0 stars 4/25/2016 by Brett
by Brett

Overall grade of good. The only negative is that the two pieces will not clamp down far enough, or tight enough, to use in thinner doors. Had to add a sheet of plywood to build up door thickness so the dog door would not flop loose in the door.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1-20 of 102 reviews