Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 102 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

102 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

102 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
15
1 stars
13
1-20 of 88 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Great TV
12/12/2011

Customer review by wd8dsb

4.0 stars 12/12/2011 by wd8dsb
by wd8dsb

My wife and I were skeptical about this TV after reading the reviews about poor audio, but we went ahead and purchased the TV and we are very glad we did. The sound is very acceptable for a TV of this size, and this model offers many features (1080p, lots of inputs and outputs compared with Samsung TVs, and LED back lighting). Compared the video on this TV with Samsung and LG LCD TVs, and this TV had the the best picture quality. Would have given this TV 5 starts but it appears the TV remote control does not control our Toshiba Blue Ray DVD player which we also purchased when we purchased the TV. The TV remote control has dedicated buttons for controlling a DVD player, but it does not control our Toshiba DVD player and Toshiba customer service is looking into this problem for us (they also tested our combination and confirmed that they too are not able to control the Toshiba Blue Ray DVD player with the Toshiba TV remote control).

wd8dsb
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product
7/18/2011

Customer review by TT-H1

4.0 stars 7/18/2011 by TT-H1
by TT-H1

Extremely pleased with this TV. Using it for the bedroom. Initial scan picked up 39 channels, half of which were DTV, using DTV antenna in the room. Picture quality is outstanding. Sound quality is acceptable - "normal" sound for a small TV. I noted that the firmware version is already 1.07 on the unit I purchased; which is also available as a firmware update from the support website. I believe the other reviewers complaints with sound have been addressed with this update. Hooked up a DVD player as well with excellent results, using component cables. Pic Size feature gives nice & quick options to resize viewing area. Only issue I have with TV is can't manually add channels; have to run full scan again. There were 2 channels I expected which didn't pick up (probably temporary weather interference). On the plus side, it got many other channels I didn't expect. Overall, very satisfied.

TT-H1
Courtice, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect TV after firmware update
11/12/2011

Customer review by Bufbarnaby

5.0 stars 11/12/2011 by Bufbarnaby
by Bufbarnaby

After a few adjustments , the picture looks fantastic. Using it a PC monitor/HDTV with tuner in my PC using Windows Media Center. YES...the native resolution is 1080p no matter what Windows 7 says. I just went into Catalyst Control Center for my 5850 card and set it to 1080p and turned overscan to zero. Fills screen perfectly then. I am using it connected to HDMI. Don`t use the small built-in speakers , have it connected to good 2.1 system with a subwoofer. Played music through USB port from a flash drive. Sound was clipping very bad. No panic. Went to Toshiba support site , flashed firmware on TV to newest version , and now it is perfect. No ghosting on gaming either (FPS/racing) both of which are very demanding. I suggest turning down the gamma and brightness slightly for best picture. Uses less power this way too.

Bufbarnaby
Riverside , CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV!
3/27/2012

Customer review by leonardd

4.0 stars 3/27/2012 by leonardd
by leonardd

What everyone is saying is true. It does have terribly tinny built in sound, it feels like an after-thought to me. Though, it does make up in the fact that it has a lot of inputs AND gives you multiple audio output options. I am currently hooked into the speakers I use on my computer, and it sounds great! If you are concerned that the price is going to be to high with some speakers to go with it... make a quick trip to your local electronics store and get a RCA to 3.5mm jack and then a 3.5mm coupler and some good computer speakers and voila, problem fixed! If you can find a set of PC speakers with an AUX input you are in even better shape. Give the TV a try... seriously. 1080p, 2 HDMI, and tons of goodness.

leonardd
Canon City, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great if used as PC monitor , TV not so much.
4/15/2011

Customer review by visoredgrunt

2.0 stars 4/15/2011 by visoredgrunt
by visoredgrunt

Con : As others have said the sound is pretty bad. My 15 inch laptop has better sound than this T.V. It really doesn't sound like it is in stereo , more like there is a radio behind the set providing the sound. Con : Factory preset is a bit dark which I noticed on the showroom floor of the store when compared to others. The picture is o.k although I have noticed slight backlight bleeding and side view isn't great either. Pro : There are plenty of different ports for all needs. Pro : Easy set up , up and running in less than 15 minutes. I hope Toshiba uses the consumer feedback to improve this model , because if it wasn't for the sound I'd give it a 5/5

visoredgrunt
Atlanta Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
great tv ok sound
11/29/2011

Customer review by toshreview

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by toshreview
by toshreview

before purchasing I compared this TV to a Insignia, this had a better picture although as with other reviews the Insignia had better sound. I decided to go with it because of the better quality picture. After some adjusting with the bass/tremble the sound is acceptable for my needs bedroom TV/computer monitor. I have a subwoofer and speakers set up on my computer so watching DVD's is great. The TV sound again is acceptable for my needs its not my main entertainment TV, if your looking for a quality stereo sound /entertainment system this is not the one, but still a great TV with acceptable sound for what it is at a good price.

toshreview
ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great picture, awful sound
4/2/2011

Customer review by Mosster

2.0 stars 4/2/2011 by Mosster
by Mosster

The 24" screen size is perfect for my kitchen and the picture is outstanding, but the audio is just terrible. I am serious in saying my AM clock radio has better sound than this. It sounds like you are on a speakerphone. It makes no sense to me that a sub-29" TV has to have a home theater system to go with it. People use them in non-typical locations where there is no room for a speaker system. Even if you have a powered speaker system there is no headphone jack to plug into. There is an RCA out, but it is fixed level, so the remote does not change volume or mute. Very frustrating.

Mosster
Troy, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Beautiful Picture but sound is unacceptable
4/9/2011

Customer review by KT

2.0 stars 4/9/2011 by KT
by KT

I bought this TV as a gift for a senior couple. Once it was hooked up, we realized that not only is the sound awful, but there is no practical way to amplify it. The most common solution for small sets like this is to use some computer speakers. That's not possible with this one though because it doesn't have a headphone jack. Apparently, customers are expected to install auxilliary sound systems in kitchens, spare bedrooms, etc. so they can hear what's going on. I was embarrassed to have to return the gift and get another brand television.

KT
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Buyer beware - very poor audio quality!
3/14/2012

Customer review by Levgre

1.0 stars 3/14/2012 by Levgre
by Levgre

This TV has just an unacceptable audio quality. They are worse than most laptop speakers. Listening to this TV , reminded me of watching a youtube video of a recorded TV. It is difficult to understand voices when they multiple people talk at the same time (like a political panel). This was my only Toshiba purchase, and based on this alone I would not recommend them at all. However their other TVs may be quality products. This one is just very sub-par quality compared to other TVs in the same price range.

Levgre
Would recommend to a friend? No
Affordable TV but I agree the sound is BAD
12/30/2011

Customer review by NJ Dad

1.0 stars 12/30/2011 by NJ Dad
by NJ Dad

My wife bought this TV today for my kid's bedroom primarily for video gaming. I have read reviews and was hesitant to even open the box but my wife insisted to try it. The picture quality is ok as expected for an LED 1080 hdtv but the sound is just not acceptable despite trying different audio settings. This is my 3rd flat screen and the smallest at 26 inches, and I am not happy with this purchase at all. My son's first reaction as soon as it was turned on was that "the sound is just not right".

NJ Dad
New Jersy
Would recommend to a friend? No
The audio problems do not end at the speakers.
5/3/2012

Customer review by Madcap

1.0 stars 5/3/2012 by Madcap
by Madcap

The audio on this television is absolutely horrendous. I knew better than to use the default T.V. speakers because every review criticizes them (It's horrible). There is a very noticeable background humming noise when using the RCA audio-out ports. Rendering them unusable. When using the optical audio out port, the volume is more than cut in half and renders any speakers unusable. There is absolutely NO way to get decent sound out of this TV. Picture is great, but this TV is horrible

Madcap
Stevenson, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lousy Sound
12/25/2011

Customer review by KG

2.0 stars 12/25/2011 by KG
by KG

TV has great picture, but the sound is lousy. I have to turn the volume control up to 3/4 from the top level to hear at a normal level and no I'm not hard of hearing. My laptop (a Toshiba) has better sound. I'm looking for an inexpensive home theater system with a small speaker for it, but so far most of them cost more than the TV and come with numerous pieces that take up space. I will probably end up returning it and buying something else. What a hassle.

KG
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
What??
3/29/2011

Customer review by Frank

3.0 stars 3/29/2011 by Frank
by Frank

I own 3 Toshiba HDTVs now. They other 2 sound great.I just bought this one and I cannot believe the sound coming out of it. Unfortunately I have to buy and setup additional equipment to enjoy this TV. For a 24" I shouldn't be expected to have a sound system to back it up. The picture is crisp and bright but the off angle viewing isn't spectacular. The price was the biggest selling point. But now I need to spend more so I now lose the savings.

Frank
Portland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Must agree, audio is terrible
4/27/2011

Customer review by Ken

1.0 stars 4/27/2011 by Ken
by Ken

I got this TV as a gift for working 20 years for my current company. The original offer was for a 22" Samsung. It was changed to this model and I was excited. I own Toshibas and was happy with them. HOWEVER, this model sounds like a transistor radio from the 1960s. The video is fine however. Very disappointed. I am now stuck with this TV. I told my company to stop offering this TV if at all possible!!

Ken
Rockville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Picture, Bad Sound
11/20/2011

Customer review by Stormer

2.0 stars 11/20/2011 by Stormer
by Stormer

The screen is bright and nicely saturated. It's light weight makes it quite portable. Basic setup is easy. It has a good tuner and picks up well. The sound is thin and tinny. The speakers are of poor quality. While one can attach external speakers, the line-out volume cannot be controlled. One either has to manually adjust the volume or buy expensive speakers and deal with yet another remote control.

Stormer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Channel input doesn't work
3/22/2012

Customer review by cloverman

4.0 stars 3/22/2012 by cloverman
by cloverman

Sound not great as others have said but a little soundbar fixes issue. Biggest problem is I cannot key in channel numbers with the remote. When I try it just stays on the original channel. I can scroll through using the channel up & down buttons but I would much rather be able to type in channel 129 or 327 and not have to scroll through all the channels just to get to the ones i want.

cloverman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible sound
4/23/2011

Customer review by David_L6

2.0 stars 4/23/2011 by David_L6
by David_L6

Picture is good. Setup was easy. Sound is absolutely horrible. The initial price of the TV was good. By the time I buy a receiver and speakers to get acceptable sound the price is not so good. I am returning it and buying a different brand. I wish that I had read the reviews before I purchased. Don't buy this TV unless you are going to hook it up to a home theater system.

David_L6
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Picture sizing
4/4/2011

Customer review by 11290

4.0 stars 4/4/2011 by 11290
by 11290

Got this tv today and with all of the analog channels I can set the default picture size to "theater 3" but with all the digital channels it automatically defaults to 4/3 and you have to manually change it to "theater 3" for each channel, each time you change the channel. If this can't be locked it is going back. Like the tv but won't keep it like this.

11290
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst Audio/Sound of Any TV I've Owned
7/27/2011

Customer review by Auger

1.0 stars 7/27/2011 by Auger
by Auger

I recently replaced my old Toshiba bedrm. TV with a Toshiba 24DL410U. But I am "hugely" disappointed and am returning it to the store tomorrow. My old Toshiba had great sound quality but this one is absolutely horrible. It Sounds like an old transistor radio. The picture is also very dark and not at all like my old Toshiba. Sorry .... just being honest.

Auger
Magnolia, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Some what disapointed
7/29/2011

Customer review by Tech Guy

3.0 stars 7/29/2011 by Tech Guy
by Tech Guy

Like everyone else here nice TV till you realize the sound is horrible the speakers are located in the rear and speakers sound like something meant for a toy . Also couldn't believe it had no S-video connection ,should have at least come with an adapter cable. I bought this TV based on a larger Toshiba TV I bought a year ago that s fantastic .

Tech Guy
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews