Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 287 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

287 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

287 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
138
4 stars
78
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 stars
43
1-20 of 244 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 244 total reviews
1-20 of 244 reviews
DR430 Records UVerse from 1200 Box
2/15/2013

Customer review by TimeLord04

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by TimeLord04
by TimeLord04

My Panasonic DMR-ES20 died today with a U99 code. I could not find a Panasonic replacement unit. Found this Toshiba unit, compares nicely to the Panasonic DMR-ES20, and same price point even though years apart. Hooked up to UVerse 1200 Non-DVR box via RCA cables. Tested signal from DVR through 1200 box to DR430; perfect signal pickup. Recorded from DVR through 1200 box to DR430 with no problems. DO NOT connect this unit directly to a UVerse 1225, (or newer), DVR, the DVR will pump out a copy protection signal into the DVD Recorder. You MUST connect the DR430 to a 1200 Non-DVR secondary box elsewhere in your house and run DVR shows through the 1200 box then into the DR430 to record DVR programs. MOVIE CHANNELS ON UVERSE ARE ALWAYS COPY PROTECTED, they will NOT record... ALL lower channels, (and HD counterparts), record just fine through a 1200 box. I have no knowledge on the new AT&T Wireless boxes, though. This unit is AWESOME!!!

TimeLord04
Danville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DVD Recorder
9/30/2012

Customer review by middleoftheroad

4.0 stars 9/30/2012 by middleoftheroad
by middleoftheroad

Several people wrote reviews that this unit does not record. THAT IS INCORRECT. This unit records just fine BUT THIS UNIT DOES NOT HAVE A BUILT-IN TUNER. That means that this recorder relys on the output functions of another product such as a TIVO or VCR or Digital Tuner converter box. When using these output sources to the input of the Toshiba the unit will perform just fine. I have several DVD recorders from different manufacturers so I can easily compare features and quality. This unit is a bit slow on finalizing and the titling features are awkward but usable. Video and audio quality is good. Recommend not recording slower then at 4 hour speed. The DVD recorder market is drying up. If you need one grab this one now.

middleoftheroad
San Jose, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great DVD Recorder
2/21/2013

Customer review by Film Jockey

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by Film Jockey
by Film Jockey

I purchased my DR430 in January 2012 to replace a dead Sony DVD recorder that I had owned since 2005. I had researched all of the available DVD recorders and settled on this one. Like others have said, it's important to understand the machine lacks a tuner. I mostly use the S-video input to record a signal from either my satellite receiver or my camcorder. Image quality surpasses my old Sony, and the Toshiba doesn't seem to be nearly as finicky when it comes to disc media. So far, reliability is very good. I'm a video professional, so my standards are a little higher than the average person; I'm very pleased!

Film Jockey
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Replacement DVD Recorder
2/1/2013

Customer review by Skip

5.0 stars 2/1/2013 by Skip
by Skip

I Frankly don't understand why so many users had problems with this recorder. Recorders without a tuner cannot be used to record from TV but must be connected to another source (i.e. VCR). I had mine up and recording in under 20 minutes, and that included the time it took to format the disc. I use DVD+RW discs, which do not have to be finalized before playing on this machine or another player. So far, I've played back only one recording and it was fine. Of course, I have no way of knowing what the future holds, But, I am optimistic.

Skip
San Antonio TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Basic Recorder
4/22/2014

Customer review by ZipZinzel

4.0 stars 4/22/2014 by ZipZinzel
by ZipZinzel

I am an advanced user, I have had this unit about 2 years, THIS IS A VERY SOLID BASIC DVD RECORDER. I had 2 different Panasonic DVD Recorders over 3-4 years before that. BASICS= This unit doesn't have any "TUNER" so you can't just hook up basic cable or an antenna feed into it == you hook up the output of cablebox, or DigitalTuner==This should be basic knowledge, While this is a good, overall basic DVD recorder, it is much less utilitarian than the Panasonics (and less costly too).

ZipZinzel
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DR430 Defective....TWICE
4/28/2013

Customer review by JWEUSMC

1.0 stars 4/28/2013 by JWEUSMC
by JWEUSMC

I've had two of these machines in the past month. Cannot get it to record any shows from my DVR. Alli get is the audio....no video. I have a nice store credit to use on this website, but honestly don't see anything on here that I would use. I hooked up both of the recorders in every way possible, but still no video, just audio...Frustrating to say the least.

JWEUSMC
Atlanta,GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
DVD recorded but won't play back
11/18/2012

Customer review by RosieRose

3.0 stars 11/18/2012 by RosieRose
by RosieRose

Bought this for my church because our camera heads were bad. Thought an RCA output from the camera to this recorder would fix our camera issues. The DVD recorded from the camera or appears to have recorded but it will not play back. I keep reading about a tuner. Do I need an interface between the camera and DVD recorder? Is that what you all are saying?

RosieRose
Pascagoula, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value!
4/2/2013

Customer review by JazzDad

5.0 stars 4/2/2013 by JazzDad
by JazzDad

I've owned one of these units for about 3 years now, and couldn't be happier with it. The learning curve wasn't bad and it records discs nicely. Due to the low price of this machine, it is my everyday DVD and CD player, as well. (I play the Blue Ray discs on my more costly machine.) I bought this brand because I was so pleased with my Toshiba LCD TV.

JazzDad
South Central Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not up to par
3/7/2013

Customer review by Dave F

2.0 stars 3/7/2013 by Dave F
by Dave F

Bought a new DR430 Recorder/Player. Was defective from the box. The S-Video IN would not accept video from Cable box. Would only work with a yellow Video RCA cord. The Unit has no HDMI input fo bring audio and video into the unit. Has HDMI OUT port only. It does have a HDMI OUT port to TV which seemed to work well.

Dave F
Sun City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Stopped loading DVDs after 5 months
9/23/2013

Customer review by DVDgirl2076

1.0 stars 9/23/2013 by DVDgirl2076
by DVDgirl2076

I was completely satisfied with this unit until it stopped loading DVDs, instead receiving a "Disc Error" message. The user guide's Troubleshooting causes/solutions section did not fit my situation. Also, and very irritating, I cannot seem to find the correct phone number to call for support.

DVDgirl2076
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Documentation bad product good
11/26/2012

Customer review by No longer confused

4.0 stars 11/26/2012 by No longer confused
by No longer confused

Unit was easy to setup and worked great as long as you used unit to play, However, I could not figure out why it would not work on other devices until I found this page. Would be nice to have actual manual included But key is finalize. Also note unit will not work direct from standard TV.

No longer confused
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product
8/9/2012

Customer review by hkat

4.0 stars 8/9/2012 by hkat
by hkat

I bought this recorder at Christmas (8 months ago) to record some tv shows - and it works well. Operation can be a little complicated, must read and keep instruction manual. Took time to learn to use. Still, I would purchase the same unit if I could do it all over again. Worth the money.

hkat
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent value
9/8/2012

Customer review by hihoaudio

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by hihoaudio
by hihoaudio

I replaced an expensive Panasonic DVD Recorder with this model and have no regrets whatsoever. The DR430 is easy to use and program, records all cable channels and has had no problems at all. Half the price of the Panasonic and picture quality is as good or even better. 100% satisfied.

hihoaudio
NYC, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Useless as a recorder
3/24/2013

Customer review by stosh

1.0 stars 3/24/2013 by stosh
by stosh

The unit plays commercial dvd's , but won't play back what it records. Screen goes black. Toshiba replaced the first unit, replacement does exactly the same thing. Since you can't talk to anyone at Toshiba anymore, is there anyone out there that has had any experience with this??

stosh
Glendora, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
excellent product; quick set up
1/8/2014

Customer review by frosty65

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by frosty65
by frosty65

I was initially worried when I read some reviews, but was later pleasantly surprised at how wrong those negative reviews were. It took me about 10 minutes to set the dvd recorder up and I was recording immediately. Picture quality is great. I'd recommend this product to anyone!

frosty65
altoona, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
problems
8/27/2013

Customer review by Shtach

2.0 stars 8/27/2013 by Shtach
by Shtach

Bought recorder summer 2012. About 6 months later I noticed problems with the remote, I thought it was the batteries and replaced them, but it works on and off. I suspect something is wrong with receptor on the recorder itself. When it works, it records nicely.

Shtach
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does not playback
3/4/2014

Customer review by Ed

1.0 stars 3/4/2014 by Ed
by Ed

I,m having the same problem as this one"Plays our DVD movies fine BUT I bought this unit to be able to record from the TV. The unit does not work. It may be recording but plays nothing back. This one is going back!!!"

Ed
Bedford, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very easy set up
10/14/2012

Customer review by Bill

4.0 stars 10/14/2012 by Bill
by Bill

I just got it today.It was very easy to hookup and the on screen setup was simple .One complaint is there is no manual. I hope there is one online .But I was able to figure it out very easily. Picture quaility is great

Bill
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost Worthless
12/27/2012

Customer review by walterb-sfo

1.0 stars 12/27/2012 by walterb-sfo
by walterb-sfo

Will NOT record most programming from ATT Uverse box due to digital rights management. Might work with some cable boxes or digital to analog over the air converters. DVD-RW discs with CPRM seem non-existant.

walterb-sfo
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
horrible product
7/23/2012

Customer review by bigdog

1.0 stars 7/23/2012 by bigdog
by bigdog

I honestly would not recomend this product to the devil himself it is the most complicating electronic I have ever faced. Im about 6 hours into figuring out how to record and still havent figured it out.

bigdog
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 244 total reviews
1-20 of 244 reviews