Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 287 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

287 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

287 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
138
4 stars
78
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 stars
43
1-20 of 244 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 244 total reviews
1-20 of 244 reviews
So far, so good
8/7/2011

Customer review by RiverratGR

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by RiverratGR
by RiverratGR

I've only had this a short time and only sparingly used it, it seems to work great. Picture and volume are great, machine is easy enough to operate. So far, so good so if it holds up thru time, we're completely happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (146) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RiverratGR
Chillicothe, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Meets expectations
9/6/2013

Customer review by DrewNY

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by DrewNY
by DrewNY

I've been using it with DVD -R media and it records TV programs easily and, at faster record speeds, the video quality is very good. The disc finalize process seems to go reasonably quickly. After discs are finalized they play on other DVD players and computers without difficulty. The instruction manual appears to be well-written and it does a good job of explaining how to connect and operate the DVD recorder. This unit does have a slightly annoying problem. Each time I turn on the DVD recorder a message appears on the screen that says Unknown USB Device/File and to remove it. There is no device in the USB port so there's nothing to remove. The message goes away after about ten seconds and the unit works fine. I haven't tried using using the USB port to see if it works OK after that. I'm sure the warranty is a big hassle so I'm going to live with it. Other than the USB problem, I've been happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (50) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrewNY
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good DVD Recorder
3/30/2012

Customer review by Techie33

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by Techie33
by Techie33

The Toshiba DR430 DVD recorder is an excellent product that is easy to use and operate. Many users that have problems with the Toshiba simply use imcompatible DVD's; the type for your computer will not work in a DVD recorder. Also remember that this unit does not have a turner so you can only record the channel that is selected on your cable box, Direct TV, ect. Pro's: 1. Easy setup and use 2. Makes excellent recording at all speeds and can be set to "auto" to ensure the best recording Con's: 1. Remote is small and the buttons are not backlit 2. The remote is not universal Overall this is an excellent unit for the price.

Was this review helpful? (49) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Techie33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/8/2011

Customer review by frog22

1.0 stars 11/8/2011 by frog22
by frog22

This dvd recorder lasted 7 months.

Was this review helpful? (66) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frog22
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A bit quirky, but does a good job
10/3/2011

Customer review by 455gto

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by 455gto
by 455gto

The only feature I don't like is: when you want to record in 1 hour mode it seems you have to use the timer, or stop the recording before it records over the one hour mark. Even if you tell it to record in XP (one hour) if you let it record over an hour it will auto adjust to a slower speed.

Was this review helpful? (58) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
455gto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
My son hasn't used it yet
10/18/2011

Customer review by NewDVD

4.0 stars 10/18/2011 by NewDVD
by NewDVD

I almost brought it back after my son tried to hook it up and use it. It doesn't have Cable in and Out jacks. I called Toshiba and they said I had to have a set-top-box in order for the DVD to work. I was really disappointed. I had to get a digital cable box from Comcast which is going to cost me $8.00 more a month on my bill. I know he has used it to play DVD movies he gets from Red Box. I assume he will be able to tape tv stories whenever he gets around to trying it.

Was this review helpful? (89) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewDVD
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very happy camper
6/7/2012

Customer review by mrm32409

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by mrm32409
by mrm32409

I bought this as a replacement for my 6 year old Sunaii (nuff said!) which was constantly popping up "error-disc not recordable" messages despite using the recommended discs. Please use only discs recommended for this recorder, such as sony, jvc, verbatim, etc. DO NOT USE THE MEMOREX brand discs-you are just asking for problems. The player was very reasonably priced and looks good with my other electronics. The remote and menu are easy to use, and the recorder writes and finalizes very quickly. Discs take about 15 seconds to load but i believe this is normal with all dvd recorders. It came with a/v cords but my tv only accepts component and hdmi. I usually use hdmi anyway so no biggie there. My only real problem is with the recording mode timer lengths which are 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 hours but you can always manually stop recording and finalize yourself. I am just lazy and always automatically finalize at the end of timer recording. I only burn one movie per disc just to ensure i get the best possible quality. Also, the 3-year warranty is only 17 dollars. Get it! I hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrm32409
Panama City, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
RE: All DVD Recorders -Warranty
1/24/2012

Customer review by Billdvdrecorder1

3.0 stars 1/24/2012 by Billdvdrecorder1
by Billdvdrecorder1

This is my 4 th machine in 5 yrs. 3 other brands failed after 1 yr m.o.l. one was a JVC $300. I record 2 hrs/wk avg. I suggest you buy the Walmart 3 yr + mfg warranty, it's only about $25 on any machine up to $149 price. I expect to get a repair or the purchase price back in that time frame. So my cost per yr will be around $37 yr. This Toshiba has only been in-svc for a month (Jan 2012), it's no better or worse than any of the others. So 3 stars because I don't know how long I'll get out of it. AH! but I have 3yr warranty. I never buy extended Warranty, but my experience w/recorders vs $25 says this is way to go.

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Billdvdrecorder1
Jax., Fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Very Minimal Complaints
12/25/2011

Customer review by SweetTea84

4.0 stars 12/25/2011 by SweetTea84
by SweetTea84

My husband and I were looking for something simple to replace our dying VCR that would also be compatible with an older TV that doesn't have HDMI. We have satellite service and don't subscribe to DVR, so this was an excellent option for us. So far this recorder has served us well, and as long as you set it to a lower recording length (higher quality) just like you would a VCR, the picture is excellent. I really only have two complaints: for one, it's kind of noisy while recording, but not horribly distracting. And for two, we have to run it through both the old VCR and satellite box to use it, and we have to leave it on in order to be able to watch something on TV as it's shown. That wouldn't be a problem if it weren't for the fact that in order to get a timed program to start up, we have to turn off the recorder until it's time to start recording and it will turn itself on for that. This means that you can't just leave it on and have the timer set and know that it will start recording when it's time. Not sure why it has to be off in order to register the timer. This was kind of a surprise to us just because it seems unnecessary and the old way of recording on any machine has never seemed to necessitate that the unit be turned off in order to activate a timed recording. I mean, we can live with it to save the money on DVR, but it is a little bit of a nuisance. Overall though, if you're looking for something uncomplicated to just record your shows, this is a good recorder that's easy to figure out as long as you look at your manual, and I'm only moderately tech saavy...I figure most electronics out pretty quickly, but I'm not always completely informed about the most current technological advancements out there, if that gives you an idea of where I'm coming from saying it's easy.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SweetTea84
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A very good product for home recording
12/4/2013

Customer review by ChazProd

4.0 stars 12/4/2013 by ChazProd
by ChazProd

The Toshiba DR430 DVD recorder is a very good for home recording. My only complaint is the clock gains several seconds a day. Although this is not much, over several weeks, your start and end times will be off enough that you may miss part of the program you are recording. I have been setting the clock each time I record a program. This is a bother. Other than this issue, the deck is perfect. I would recommend it with this one caveat.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChazProd
Harrisonburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great DVD recordercorder with the right features.
1/21/2012

Customer review by Fireman1969

5.0 stars 1/21/2012 by Fireman1969
by Fireman1969

I had the DR410 an earlier model to this one and loved it. I use it to to record TV shows and movies that I have on my DVR. It's an obsession I started a long time ago with VHS tapes. I loan the DVDs I've recorded to my parents to get them interested in a TV series that I tell them to watch because I know they're interested but always forget the time, day, or channel. Inevitably they like the show but are clueless on the back-story so then I loan them DVDs that include the whole season from the 1st episode and in some cases the entire series that spans several seasons. The quality is very good and I really like the HDMI output and up-conversion the unit provides. My only complaint or wish is that it included a HDMI input.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fireman1969
Uehling, Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/18/2011

Customer review by Baldolguy

1.0 stars 12/18/2011 by Baldolguy
by Baldolguy

Read the fine print, you need an "external receiver" to record a TV program, you can NOT record and use this like a VCR.

Was this review helpful? (50) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Baldolguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good value and quality, easy to use.
11/11/2013

Customer review by gsim48

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by gsim48
by gsim48

Very good option for transferring taped videos to DVD format. Easy to use, but has lots of features to enable more complex operations such as video editing. Would recommend to anyone having a collection of camcorder tapes.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gsim48
Vancouver, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best recorder I have purchased!!!!
10/18/2011

Customer review by Swivalee

5.0 stars 10/18/2011 by Swivalee
by Swivalee

This dvd recorder has many capabilities, The main one is to preserve Videos on VHS to DVD format with ease. Allowing you to record the title (pause) then the movie giving you digital image and keyed in title for reference. This unit so far out performs any other unit I have owned. Another feature which in and of itself is great. It has the ability to reformat previously recorded dvd's (from other units "unfinished" status) while saving any information that is on it already, so your old dvdr's may be used and any info on them retained, no longer lost forever. It has many nore features you'll love. reading the manual is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swivalee
Washington, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/4/2011

Customer review by WWEFAN79

4.0 stars 12/4/2011 by WWEFAN79
by WWEFAN79

I bought this after getting my HD TV and I have to say I love it,the price was the best i saw anywhere for this product and it is so easy to use I would recommend this recorder to anyone

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WWEFAN79
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value
12/25/2013

Customer review by scruggee

4.0 stars 12/25/2013 by scruggee
by scruggee

This seems to be a good deal. Have only had it just over a weeK. Easy to operate. Been recording movies to DVD disc for the last two days and haven't even needed to read the manual yet. DVD recorded resolutions are not as crisp as the original HDMI images, but it's okay. If you're wanting to hook this DVD to a Direct TV Genie/cable box, you'll have to buy a special 10-pin adapter that allows you to tape the programs/movies you save on Direct TV to DVD discs.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scruggee
Southern region
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the features and ease of use
1/15/2014

Customer review by Handyman2014

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by Handyman2014
by Handyman2014

Read a number of reviews for this DVD recorder and for the most part they sounded okay. The price that Walmart offered this for was too good to pass up. The convenience of ordering it on line and picking it up at my local Walmart store to save on shipping charges was the icing on the cake. After about two weeks of using and enjoying this's DVD player to both play and record DVDs I am totally convinced I might the right decision all the way around. Even enjoy having the clock feature when the DVD is not in use. I knew ahead that I would not need an external tuner so that was really the only feature that could have been a concern but not for me. The ease of use allowed me to record quickly from my camcorder and create wonderful DVDs of my grand children. These will be wonderful gifts.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Handyman2014
Portsmouth, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very good product overall....
6/16/2012

Customer review by cowboy1

4.0 stars 6/16/2012 by cowboy1
by cowboy1

I am quite pleased with this recorder. Especially like that it uses both dvd-R and dvd+R discs. All my other recorders over the years have been just dvd-R, which is fine unless you buy the wrong product or are offered some free discs from a friend, which are the wrong format. Other thing I like it that it finalizes automatically when the disc is full! Only negative thing on this is the remote. The print on the remote is almost impossible to read. Looks washed out. Overall, so far....I am very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cowboy1
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/7/2012

Customer review by reneob

4.0 stars 2/7/2012 by reneob
by reneob

The DVD recorder has functioned well so far but it is somewhat complicated to use; e.g. playing back selected titles is not intuitive. Also, the only way I've found to overwrite previously recorded material is to reformat the disc.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reneob
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great little machine
11/4/2012

Customer review by ImhereN

5.0 stars 11/4/2012 by ImhereN
by ImhereN

At first I had my reservations but this little player/recorder has been wonderful. Its easy to program. The recordings are nice, crisp, clear and even low resolution recordings look better. It plays back old recordings from other units with no problem without the discs being 'finalized'. Its a great little machine and I will definately get another one.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImhereN
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 244 total reviews
1-20 of 244 reviews