Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 373 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

373 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

373 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
161
4 stars
93
3 stars
18
2 stars
21
1 stars
80
1-20 of 343 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 343 total reviews
1-20 of 343 reviews
DVD recorder fills the bill
2/10/2014

Customer review by seaviewkat

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by seaviewkat
by seaviewkat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I owned a Magnavox DVD/VCR recorder before buying this new one made by Toshiba. I am very happy with the new one so far. It is very easy to copy VHS tapes onto DVD's. It takes just one push of the dubbing butting and it goes. Mind you these are tapes that either I or someone else recorded movies on VHS tapes. To my knowledge you cannot copy a copy protected commercially made VHS tape. At least I haven't found a way to do that yet. I wish I could. I have a bunch of old Walt Disney movies on VHS and as most people know the picture is not as good with tape and the quality of the picture gets degraded with age. It would be a lot cheaper for me to copy these movies for my private library rather than to go buy DVD's or purchase each on instant streaming. All blank DVD's seem to work just fine in this one too where as the Magnavox didn't always work with DVD's that were not Magnavox brand. Also had to be certain type for each brand. Don't seem to be having that problem at all with my new Toshiba.

Was this review helpful? (217) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seaviewkat
Longview WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product & Easy Recording Transfers!
4/28/2016

Customer review by LaubbyDoo

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by LaubbyDoo
by LaubbyDoo

I admit when I tried recording from a VHS to a DVD it seemed confusing and the instructions made it even worse. Here is the easiest way to record: 1- Using the SETUP button, select "VHS to DVD" under recording subtitle. 2- Leave everything as factory settings, i.e. the recording speed for the DVD on XP (best picture) if there is not enough disc space, it will automatically move down to SP. 3- Press "DUBBING" button. 4- Add a title if desired and then press "SETUP" button and under the subtitle "Recording", select "FINALIZE". 5- Your DVD is now finished and will most likely look MUCH better than how it looked on the VHS tape.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaubbyDoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Product
6/25/2016

Customer review by puttputt

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by puttputt
by puttputt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This machine makes it easy for me to transfer my old VCR tapes to DVD before any more fall apart. This machine also automatically converts the picture into 16:9 ratio for flat screen. I have a 4K flat screen which makes the picture look pretty good for VCR and DVD. I don't know how it looks on a 2K. Also you don't have to watch while recording except to start it. I've done about a dozen so far and it's working out great. This recorder has many great features.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
puttputt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty Good!
5/19/2016

Customer review by Cookiecrumb

4.0 stars 5/19/2016 by Cookiecrumb
by Cookiecrumb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First of all it arrived two days before expected which was a great surprise! The playback image on both DVD and VHS are impressive.....really good. It's a little complicated to figure out but once you do then it becomes easy. There are more steps to go through in setting up the recording compared to my older prior machine but the single most negative about it is that it doesn't have a built in tuner to allow you to record more than one channel on the same tape. Whatever show you're going to record you have to make sure your TV is on that channel otherwise you won't get the recording you wanted. FYI, none of the few VCR's on the market have a built in tuner. VCR'S are pretty much on their way out the door forever. The plus to this machine is that you can transfer your old VHS movies over to a DVD disc and hope that DVD players will be around for the next 30 years. :)

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cookiecrumb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Customer Service assistance available.
4/14/2016

Customer review by DesertDweller

2.0 stars 4/14/2016 by DesertDweller
by DesertDweller

I purchased this item and tried unsuccessfully to use the dubbing feature several times, using every type of DVD available, and still no luck. My frustration grew when I attempted to call the numbers, for assistance with DVD Recorders, on the flyer enclosed in the retail box. I got a message indicating that these numbers "were no longer being answered by a Customer Service Representative" and directed to call the main CS number. When I called this number, the rrecording indicated that if you needed assistance with a TV to press 1, but if you needed any assistance with any other product, "you can visit our website for asssitance". This did not do me any good, as I had a question not found on the website site FAQs. I returned the item and decided to purchase another brand.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DesertDweller
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not user-friendly
11/16/2013

Customer review by Tianoa

1.0 stars 11/16/2013 by Tianoa
by Tianoa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was disappointed that I had to return this DVR. It was exactly what I wanted because of the features, however it was not compatible with my flat screen TV no matter what I tried. I used the colored cables that came with the DVR but I could not access all the menu options so I connected an HDM1 cable which did not work either. The manual was very complicated to follow especially because when I followed the instructions, what was written should happen just didn't happen and I spent four days trying to figure everything out. Nothing worked so I packed it up and sent it back. Perhaps it did not work because I receive the signal through cable rather than a dish and I have high definition digital TV. Usually I am very good at hooking up any technology that I've had in the past but this one was a total mystery to me. At one point I managed to play a disk and a tape but at no time was I successful in recording anything from on air TV programs.

Was this review helpful? (116) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tianoa
Shamokin Dam, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great DVD Recorder For the money!
4/12/2016

Customer review by TVBob

5.0 stars 4/12/2016 by TVBob
by TVBob

We use the unit to record DVDs of live studio programs we produce for broadcast on KRHP TV-14 in The Dalles, OR. Previously, we have used the Toshiba model DR 430 KU, but these models are no longer available in the U.S. These combo VSH - DVD actually, in my humble opinion, record a slightly higher quality DVD on the highest quality speed (which is all we use). These unit are so good, I bought five more just in case they also become unavailable in the United States. Please note, we do not use the VHS portion of the combo unit (and so have not tested the VHS), and we also have not tested the timer recording features, though I am confident that they work well.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TVBob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great machine, eassy to use
12/23/2011

Customer review by podggie

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by podggie
by podggie

easy to use, one button for copy of VCR tapes to DVD, saved hundreds of dollars copying the family videos to DVD myself. DVD's play on TV and on Computer, Picture Quality with Up-Convert is impressive considering coming from a VCR tape 20yrs old. have not tried Cable/Tv to DVD Recording but expect the Quality to be exceptional. Use an HDMI cable for you Connection. Smart Device stops the VCR if you Fill Up the DVD and then all you need to do is load another DVD and continue again. Menus and titles can be added, Automatic "chapter" is real nice allows you to use the "skip" button to jump ahead on the DVD in 10min increments. You can even control the increment time size. Plays all of my Comerical VCR Tapes with an impressive picture on a High Def Plasma TV. Reasonable Price for a Product to Help Preserve Those Family Movies that cant be replaced.

Was this review helpful? (229) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
podggie
buffalo, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
No telephone technical support
11/19/2012

Customer review by Tobusytofight

1.0 stars 11/19/2012 by Tobusytofight
by Tobusytofight

After I purchased the Toshiba DVR620KU, I found the manual confusing. I consider myself tech savvy. So I found some YouTube videos that helped. But I still had questions. Accompanying the DVD recorder was a reference paper with a big red STOP that listed various phone numbers to call for technical support. Unfortunately, each phone number ultimately directed me to a website, and not a person. (Why not be transparent and list only the website if the phone numbers go nowhere?) I went to the website, did not find answers to my questions, and called another number, where I did reach a human being. The Toshiba representative said that he was not "trained" in this hardware. Also, he noted that unless it was a laptop, Toshiba does not offer telephone technical support for any of its products. This would have been helpful to have known prior to the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (145) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tobusytofight
Would recommend to a friend? No
Family vhs to DVDs
4/4/2016

Customer review by memories

5.0 stars 4/4/2016 by memories
by memories

We had around 30 VHS tapes of the family and wanted to put them on DVDs. This machine does a great job at dubbing the tapes and it is easy to do. It would have cost us three times as much to have it done at a photo place. The DVDs picture quality is better than what the VHS was which I don't understand how that happens but I'm glad.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
memories
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/21/2012

Customer review by TheStudio

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by TheStudio
by TheStudio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I now have all of my VHS home movies from the 1990's transferred all to DVD now, thanks to this unit. It is what I have been looking for now for several years, but the price has been out of my budget. I bought this unit at a price I could afford, thanks to Walmart. I saw this unit in the past at Best Buy, but it was $80 more. So I decided I would wait, and I am glad I did. This unit works great!! The only grip I have (and not just this product) is these units today are really complex on what they can do. I wish the manufacturers would make an instructional DVD on how to use the products of today. Watching how-tos is a much better way for customers to get a more hands on experience beside just reading it from a book. Overall I am very happy with this unit, and would reccommend it to anyone. It has an affordable price tag too.

Was this review helpful? (73) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheStudio
Jackson County, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love Toshiba DVD Recorders
3/8/2016

Customer review by MarkT

5.0 stars 3/8/2016 by MarkT
by MarkT

I like to archive TV shows from my cable DVR and Toshiba DVD Recorders have always been great workhorses for doing just that. I wanted a stand alone DVD Recorder but since they are hard to find anymore, the VCR combo was a nice added feature. As some have said, if you are dubbing from tape to DVDyou can't pause/edit out commercials. (Not a problem if going to cable box to DVD Recorder). (And you CAN NOT dub an old store bought professionaly taped movie to a DVD - there is usually a hidden marco-code on the tape that prevents that, so unless its a tape that you made, do not expect to dub your VHS store bought Star Wars collecton to DVD.) For some, operating the system might be complicated, but I have had no problems. 8 hour mode is great for recording news shows. I usually use the LP 4 hour mode for movies and favoriote shows. It also has 2 and 6 hours modes. There is no tuner, but that is fine by me. I just hope Toshiba kees making these great machines for a long time. This is the second Toshiba DVD Recorder that Ihave owned, I bought this one just to keep the first one from being over used. In the 4 years that I have had the first model, it has been great and never gave me any problems. As a tip, I recommend using 'DVD -' discs instead of 'DVD +' as the 'plus' discs tend to have given me playback problems over the years. This is not a fault of the recorders, but a playback issue with some standard DVD players. So if you like archiving some of your favorite shows for your personal home view collection, I highly recommend Toshiba DVD Recorders, a solid recorder with HDMI up-conversion. (Recorder does not record in HD, which as of now, would probably be way to expensive.) Thanks again for a great, reliable product.

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarkT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for DVD's, Video tapes, & CD's - plays ALL!
5/7/2014

Customer review by GrammaSuzy

5.0 stars 5/7/2014 by GrammaSuzy
by GrammaSuzy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I haven't tried to record anything yet, but am loving this recorder combo. I'm a retired elementary teacher. I have a plentiful collection of commercial videos of so many of the Disney fairy tales, and other stories, plus many Baby Einstein DVD's for my grand children. I thought I'd have to buy DVD's of the Videos I'd accumulated, but they play fine. According to the Combo's information/instructions, I can also record them on DVD. I haven't tried that yet, however. The surprise was being able to play our many CD's on it through our hook up (via HDMI cable) to our Smart TV. They sound GREAT! I don't have a Walmart Rewards card, but the store rep. in electronics took care of ordering for me, using my credit card as payment. That was the only part that took a little time to complete. I ordered it through our local Walmart store, and picked it up there when it arrived. Delivery was only 24 hours. That was a happy surprise.

Was this review helpful? (28) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrammaSuzy
Oneida, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Toshiba DVD Recorder/VCR Combo player
5/21/2016

Customer review by 2MovieLovers

1.0 stars 5/21/2016 by 2MovieLovers
by 2MovieLovers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this DVD Recorder/VCR on-line at Walmart. The Price was good so I purchased it. The set up was easy and used it exactly three times; using the DVD twice and using VCR only once. It stopped working the following attempt to open DVD. It never could open again. I was so disappointed I could not see the film. I will be taking it back for a credit refund.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2MovieLovers
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AS advertised
3/19/2016

Customer review by Pete

5.0 stars 3/19/2016 by Pete
by Pete

These units are getting hard to find. After doing some research I decided this looked like the best consumer model available. So far, I have not been disappointed. Setup was simple, it plays and records as specified. Great buy. By the way - Walmart is a great place to buy if they have what you need. Delivery and pick-up services are remarkably good ( I don't work there and don't own any part of it - too bad).

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pete
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't work properly!
5/4/2016

Customer review by Southerngrandpa

1.0 stars 5/4/2016 by Southerngrandpa
by Southerngrandpa

The first day I was able to view a VHS tape. The next day it wouldn't play any VHS tape at all. Tried the same tape viewed the day before, no luck. I immediately packed it back up and returned for a full refund.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Southerngrandpa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Toshiba dvd recorder
4/6/2016

Customer review by Happyvideomomma

5.0 stars 4/6/2016 by Happyvideomomma
by Happyvideomomma

Works really well and makes good quality DVDs from vhs. Not hard to do once you figure it out. Directions that came w it were hard to follow but if you google directions they are easy to follow.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happyvideomomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Occasionally malfunctions and it's brand new
8/21/2016

Customer review by DVRGUY18

2.0 stars 8/21/2016 by DVRGUY18
by DVRGUY18
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the most part, it works great, but occasionally gets a software glitch where it gets stuck in VCR mode and won't allow me to change it to DVD mode, so I end up unplugging it and starting from scratch, a practice I am getting tired of..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DVRGUY18
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Product will not work with my TV.
1/11/2012

Customer review by BobbieGee

1.0 stars 1/11/2012 by BobbieGee
by BobbieGee

After trying several times to get this recorder to work, I find that because I do not have an HD tv it will not work. While setting up the recorder, the DVD drawer will not open. You can hear it trying to do something but will not open. The instructions ask you to click on your source of video on the tv's menu but there is no such option on my tv. There should be a disclaimer in the product write-ups that cover this situation. The Toshiba 800 number was far too busy to answer my call because of the Christmas rush on their products. My information came from a product forum. I have returned the recorder to Walmart for a full refund.

Was this review helpful? (58) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobbieGee
Would recommend to a friend? No
It does everything I hoped it would do.
9/7/2012

Customer review by octonion

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by octonion
by octonion

I bought it primarily to be able to transfer my VCR tapes to DVD. It does a beautiful job. Some companies offer this service for $7 or so each, and this will pay for itself in a few weeks. I have over a hundred tapes to convert.

Was this review helpful? (282) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
octonion
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 343 total reviews
1-20 of 343 reviews