Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 306 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

306 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

306 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
124
4 stars
79
3 stars
17
2 stars
17
1 stars
69
1-20 of 276 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 276 total reviews
1-20 of 276 reviews
It does everything I hoped it would do.
9/7/2012

Customer review by octonion

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by octonion
by octonion

I bought it primarily to be able to transfer my VCR tapes to DVD. It does a beautiful job. Some companies offer this service for $7 or so each, and this will pay for itself in a few weeks. I have over a hundred tapes to convert.

Was this review helpful? (265) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
octonion
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great machine, eassy to use
12/23/2011

Customer review by podggie

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by podggie
by podggie

easy to use, one button for copy of VCR tapes to DVD, saved hundreds of dollars copying the family videos to DVD myself. DVD's play on TV and on Computer, Picture Quality with Up-Convert is impressive considering coming from a VCR tape 20yrs old. have not tried Cable/Tv to DVD Recording but expect the Quality to be exceptional. Use an HDMI cable for you Connection. Smart Device stops the VCR if you Fill Up the DVD and then all you need to do is load another DVD and continue again. Menus and titles can be added, Automatic "chapter" is real nice allows you to use the "skip" button to jump ahead on the DVD in 10min increments. You can even control the increment time size. Plays all of my Comerical VCR Tapes with an impressive picture on a High Def Plasma TV. Reasonable Price for a Product to Help Preserve Those Family Movies that cant be replaced.

Was this review helpful? (181) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
podggie
buffalo, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good, cheap, complicated
12/3/2011

Customer review by marketdoctor

4.0 stars 12/3/2011 by marketdoctor
by marketdoctor

I bought this as a VCR (and DVD player) replacement for use with a satellite box. For that, it works fine. The pros: a low price (relative to other units), and it works as advertised for the first few days. Instant skip is nice, and the DVD recording quality is better than videotape. You can adjust the tracking (this is what went out on my last two VCRs; it's nice to be able to adjust that.) It plays a wide range of files and discs--including MPEGs and MP3 (claimed; I haven't tried it). The cons: There's no co-ax cable input. There's no tuner either, and it comes with RCA cables, but it's the first VCR I've seen without a co-ax input. DVD recording is much more complicated than recording a tape (you have to format the DVD first, and it makes a difference whether you're using DVD+WR or DVD-WR. It is much more complicated than recording to a DVD-ROM, and read the manual before you buy a lot of either.) There are complications, like if you want to delete a DVD recording, you use "top menu", not "disc menu". The manual is helpful, but why one button couldn't be used for both is unclear. The timer is harder to set than other products I've used (you have to use one button to set the timer, another one to finish setting the timer, and a third to turn the unit off and timer on.) There were some annoyances. It defaults to DVD for recording, with no way to change that. If you set the DVD recorder and timer, you can't replay the DVD until the timer has finished recording. Also, if you're playing a tape or DVD back, there's no easy way to show the clock on the display (you can show it on the TV itself, but that distracts from what you're watching.) The range of the remote could be improved, especially compared to other VCR remotes I've used. I haven't yet tried recording a DVD and playing it on another machine yet, and I haven't tried tech support. The manual did answer everything I needed so far, and if you're technically competent (or patient), this unit has a lot of nice features, especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (153) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marketdoctor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No telephone technical support
11/19/2012

Customer review by Tobusytofight

1.0 stars 11/19/2012 by Tobusytofight
by Tobusytofight

After I purchased the Toshiba DVR620KU, I found the manual confusing. I consider myself tech savvy. So I found some YouTube videos that helped. But I still had questions. Accompanying the DVD recorder was a reference paper with a big red STOP that listed various phone numbers to call for technical support. Unfortunately, each phone number ultimately directed me to a website, and not a person. (Why not be transparent and list only the website if the phone numbers go nowhere?) I went to the website, did not find answers to my questions, and called another number, where I did reach a human being. The Toshiba representative said that he was not "trained" in this hardware. Also, he noted that unless it was a laptop, Toshiba does not offer telephone technical support for any of its products. This would have been helpful to have known prior to the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (109) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tobusytofight
Would recommend to a friend? No
Difficult to operate
11/19/2011

Customer review by JerryLA

4.0 stars 11/19/2011 by JerryLA
by JerryLA

We use the Toshiba VCR for recording programs when we're unable to view them. This product does that, but is extremely difficult to control and the very thick manual is hard to read and the instructions there don't work. Example, finish a recording under timer control, now just try to rewind the tape!! Very tricky and requires very quick sequence of several button presses. Manual says press stop and rewind. the Toshiba insists on going to DVD mode and won't rewind the tape, and won't switch to VCR when the VCR button is pressed. Frustrating. Definitely much much harder to use than our previous Sony DVD/VCR. The Sony got an electronic failure after 7 years.

Was this review helpful? (125) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JerryLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
DVD recorder fills the bill
2/10/2014

Customer review by seaviewkat

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by seaviewkat
by seaviewkat

I owned a Magnavox DVD/VCR recorder before buying this new one made by Toshiba. I am very happy with the new one so far. It is very easy to copy VHS tapes onto DVD's. It takes just one push of the dubbing butting and it goes. Mind you these are tapes that either I or someone else recorded movies on VHS tapes. To my knowledge you cannot copy a copy protected commercially made VHS tape. At least I haven't found a way to do that yet. I wish I could. I have a bunch of old Walt Disney movies on VHS and as most people know the picture is not as good with tape and the quality of the picture gets degraded with age. It would be a lot cheaper for me to copy these movies for my private library rather than to go buy DVD's or purchase each on instant streaming. All blank DVD's seem to work just fine in this one too where as the Magnavox didn't always work with DVD's that were not Magnavox brand. Also had to be certain type for each brand. Don't seem to be having that problem at all with my new Toshiba.

Was this review helpful? (123) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seaviewkat
Longview WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
An advanced recorder at a resonable price.
10/27/2012

Customer review by MCinKY

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by MCinKY
by MCinKY

The unit has a variety of inputs and outputs which makes it simple to interface with TV's, tuners, VR's, etc. It has many more features than the average user will use, such as editing titles, playlists, chapter marks, etc. Just ignore the advanced features in the user manual and pick out what is needed for your application. Most of the basic functions can be programmed with the buttons on the box without using the remote. Be sure to 1. record, 2. edit title, 3. finalize in that order. DVD's cannot be played in another player without the finalize step.

Was this review helpful? (133) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MCinKY
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
12/21/2012

Customer review by TheStudio

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by TheStudio
by TheStudio

I now have all of my VHS home movies from the 1990's transferred all to DVD now, thanks to this unit. It is what I have been looking for now for several years, but the price has been out of my budget. I bought this unit at a price I could afford, thanks to Walmart. I saw this unit in the past at Best Buy, but it was $80 more. So I decided I would wait, and I am glad I did. This unit works great!! The only grip I have (and not just this product) is these units today are really complex on what they can do. I wish the manufacturers would make an instructional DVD on how to use the products of today. Watching how-tos is a much better way for customers to get a more hands on experience beside just reading it from a book. Overall I am very happy with this unit, and would reccommend it to anyone. It has an affordable price tag too.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheStudio
Jackson County, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent equipment
8/30/2014

Customer review by msnthrp

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by msnthrp
by msnthrp

The Toshiba DVR620 is a great machine. I bought it for the purpose of converting my VHS home movies into DVDs. It has performed flawlessly. I purchased the machine from Wal-Mart. I ordered it online on Thursday evening and picked it up at the nearest store the following Tuesday after being notified it was in by email. When I brought the machine home, I unpacked the Owners Manual and remote control and left the rest of the machine packed. I took the remote control with me to find and get familiar with where the different buttons were. I read the owners manual TWICE before I was ready to hook it up. As I read the manual I marked the pages pertaining to the functions I wanted to perform and made notes on the front cover -- my memory is not the greatest. After I hooked it up, it used a commercial DVD and a recorded VHS tape to be sure the playback parts were working properly. On page 9 of the manual is a list of the suitable DVD disc types. On page 108 is a glossary of unfamiliar terms. I use the DVD-R type of disc because they make the operation a bit simpler. On pages 103-106 are troubleshooting instructions in case of problems. I had no problems. On pages 50-51 are the directions telling how to do the VHS-to-DVD dubbing and also how to do DVD-to-VHS dubbing. The directions are laid out in check-list style and are very easy to follow. After dubbing the tape, pages 76 and 77 tell how to edit the default title to something you can follow - again easy to do but a bit tedious -- don't get impatient. When you are satisfied with the titling of the segments you put on the disk, page 32 of the manual tells how to finalize the disc so that it will play on any DVD player. You must put the segments you want on the disc before finalizing the disc. Finalizing is the easiest step of all. But you must finalize if you want the disc to play back on a different DVD player. I have seen some negative reviews because this unit will not record directly from an antenna connection. Written on the box it comes in, in 14 point type, is "External Tuner required for recording broadcast TV Channels." That is very explicit. The lack of a cable connection on the back panel as shown on the picture on the exterior of the box makes it plain the unit does not have a tuner. Toshiba did not hide the lack of tuner. I have seen comments that the instructions are difficult for old people. I will be 80 in five months and I had no trouble with the instructions. Read the owners manual and follow the instructions and you should have no problems. Patience is your greatest need. The dubbing operation is not intuitive and the total process is spread over three sets of pages. But the information is there if you will use it.

Was this review helpful? (51) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msnthrp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Product will not work with my TV.
1/11/2012

Customer review by BobbieGee

1.0 stars 1/11/2012 by BobbieGee
by BobbieGee

After trying several times to get this recorder to work, I find that because I do not have an HD tv it will not work. While setting up the recorder, the DVD drawer will not open. You can hear it trying to do something but will not open. The instructions ask you to click on your source of video on the tv's menu but there is no such option on my tv. There should be a disclaimer in the product write-ups that cover this situation. The Toshiba 800 number was far too busy to answer my call because of the Christmas rush on their products. My information came from a product forum. I have returned the recorder to Walmart for a full refund.

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BobbieGee
Would recommend to a friend? No
DVD/VCR Combo, recorder.
11/6/2013

Customer review by MsKaraokeSinger

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by MsKaraokeSinger
by MsKaraokeSinger

I really llike my new combo set. It was very easy for me to set up cause i owned one very close to it before. Had the other one for 10 yrs and just stopped working. So had to get another. I record off TV, tape video to DVDs and easy to finalize your recored DVD.

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsKaraokeSinger
Phx, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not user-friendly
11/16/2013

Customer review by Tianoa

1.0 stars 11/16/2013 by Tianoa
by Tianoa

I was disappointed that I had to return this DVR. It was exactly what I wanted because of the features, however it was not compatible with my flat screen TV no matter what I tried. I used the colored cables that came with the DVR but I could not access all the menu options so I connected an HDM1 cable which did not work either. The manual was very complicated to follow especially because when I followed the instructions, what was written should happen just didn't happen and I spent four days trying to figure everything out. Nothing worked so I packed it up and sent it back. Perhaps it did not work because I receive the signal through cable rather than a dish and I have high definition digital TV. Usually I am very good at hooking up any technology that I've had in the past but this one was a total mystery to me. At one point I managed to play a disk and a tape but at no time was I successful in recording anything from on air TV programs.

Was this review helpful? (69) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tianoa
Shamokin Dam, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works and works well
10/8/2013

Customer review by custservsup

5.0 stars 10/8/2013 by custservsup
by custservsup

I bought one from ebay and returned it because it didn't work and bought one from Amazon that also didn't work. This one from Wal-Mart works extremely well, and I've been able to record my family VHS tapes onto DVD. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
custservsup
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/13/2012

Customer review by lariatgirl

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by lariatgirl
by lariatgirl

This is one of the best machines on the market. Easy to hook up and operate, transfers from my old vhs tapes to dvd or straight from my camcorder to dvd. EXCELLENT PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lariatgirl
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the Job
11/16/2013

Customer review by gator86

4.0 stars 11/16/2013 by gator86
by gator86

Bought this a couple of weeks ago and so far it works great. This was purchased to replace an older Toshiba VCR/DVD Recorder that had begun to no longer record DVDs. Our previous Toshiba had worked excellently for many years, so I decided to purchase another Toshiba. This new combo took a little bit of time to hook up. The back setup of the new one is different from my previous recorder, so I wasn't able to just unhook it & plug all the cords into the new one since the setup is a little different. After a few times of changing some cords around, I was finally able to get it going successfully. There have been no issues and I've already used it to record DVDs as well as play DVDs. I'm still learning where all the buttons are on the remote, but I'm happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gator86
Hendersonville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
12/13/2011

Customer review by drummerboy55

1.0 stars 12/13/2011 by drummerboy55
by drummerboy55

Purchased this DVD recorder per the reviews given. After setting up the unit, I tried to play VCR and kept getting " no signal ". I set up per the manual (which is stupid complicated) and still no signal. Decided to try the DVD, but the DVD tray would make a noise, but would not open, either by front panel or remote control. I am very disappointed in this unit. Brought it back for refund, but now am skeptical about using customer reviews to help in my new choice. Any suggestions?????

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drummerboy55
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works well for recording from VCR or DVR
3/2/2014

Customer review by thedubbingguy

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by thedubbingguy
by thedubbingguy

I have only had this a week or two and haven't used it much, but so far I'm very happy with my tests. Despite the complicated manual, using it is very easy. Just press "record ready" (to set the length/quality) and then press "record" to start. I've only used it on the 2-hour setting, but so far the video quality of the recorded DVD is near identical to the original, even when playing the DVD on a separate BluRay player. If you use the machine to dub from VHS to DVD, you cannot pause, but, if you use another VCR or your DVR connected to the various external inputs, you CAN "pause" while skipping commercials or even switching inputs. You can edit out (or "hide") chapters after an internal VCR-DVD dub if you are using a DVD/RW. I was also able to record successfully using +R/-R discs. Once you finalize a DVD/RW you could then use your computer to copy that to DVD/+R/-R. I found the video sharpness of the built in VCR isn't quite as good as my older VCR (which I use instead) but that is my only minor complaint so far. I suppose it would also have been nice if it had a HDMI input for the DVR output. Not sure about copy protected tapes. I had no trouble copying a store bought Lord of The Rings VHS tape.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thedubbingguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does as advertised
11/6/2011

Customer review by auntybevy

5.0 stars 11/6/2011 by auntybevy
by auntybevy

Also $40 bucks less than other stores.

Was this review helpful? (43) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auntybevy
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Was not as difficult to hook up.
8/27/2014

Customer review by Over50andstillTeching

4.0 stars 8/27/2014 by Over50andstillTeching
by Over50andstillTeching

I bought this unit to playback dvd's and VHS tapes. The hook up was real simple, i just needed an HDMI cable plugged in from my (smart) tv to my Toshiba unit, that's it.(Note If you don't have a smart tv then you will have to go to the section in the instruction booklet that accommodate your TV's wiring needs.) As for recording etc, the hook up may be different (i have friends who could help me if needed w that if need be.) But what made the instruction booklet rather complex, rather than complicated, is that it accounts for every way a person would hook up the Toshiba unit depending upon your TV's features and age ( for ex: by using and HDMI for a smart tv, or, By using component cables for non smart tv's etc.) Its very thorough, but you really need to sit down and focus, and know what your tv's capacity is , then start from there and ignore all the rest. As for imperfections i noticed the dvd open/close button on the remote is slow and sometimes did not work. in all fairness, i used the batteries enclosed, so all it may need are new batteries. I am really happy with it though. Hope this helps those of you who are on the fence.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Over50andstillTeching
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/13/2012

Customer review by Chuck31

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by Chuck31
by Chuck31

The unit was a little hard for me to get set up and learn how to usae it but I am 81. Once it was set up it has been working just great and is easy to copy as I have about 80 some VHS tapes to put on DVD. I received it within 5 days of shipping and have been using it since on a regular basis. Would I buy another? You better believe it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chuck31
Gillett AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 276 total reviews
1-20 of 276 reviews