Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 350 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

350 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

350 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
160
4 stars
88
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 stars
69
1-20 of 320 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 320 total reviews
1-20 of 320 reviews
DVD recorder fills the bill
2/10/2014

Customer review by seaviewkat

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by seaviewkat
by seaviewkat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I owned a Magnavox DVD/VCR recorder before buying this new one made by Toshiba. I am very happy with the new one so far. It is very easy to copy VHS tapes onto DVD's. It takes just one push of the dubbing butting and it goes. Mind you these are tapes that either I or someone else recorded movies on VHS tapes. To my knowledge you cannot copy a copy protected commercially made VHS tape. At least I haven't found a way to do that yet. I wish I could. I have a bunch of old Walt Disney movies on VHS and as most people know the picture is not as good with tape and the quality of the picture gets degraded with age. It would be a lot cheaper for me to copy these movies for my private library rather than to go buy DVD's or purchase each on instant streaming. All blank DVD's seem to work just fine in this one too where as the Magnavox didn't always work with DVD's that were not Magnavox brand. Also had to be certain type for each brand. Don't seem to be having that problem at all with my new Toshiba.

Was this review helpful? (242) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seaviewkat
Longview WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not user-friendly
11/16/2013

Customer review by Tianoa

1.0 stars 11/16/2013 by Tianoa
by Tianoa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was disappointed that I had to return this DVR. It was exactly what I wanted because of the features, however it was not compatible with my flat screen TV no matter what I tried. I used the colored cables that came with the DVR but I could not access all the menu options so I connected an HDM1 cable which did not work either. The manual was very complicated to follow especially because when I followed the instructions, what was written should happen just didn't happen and I spent four days trying to figure everything out. Nothing worked so I packed it up and sent it back. Perhaps it did not work because I receive the signal through cable rather than a dish and I have high definition digital TV. Usually I am very good at hooking up any technology that I've had in the past but this one was a total mystery to me. At one point I managed to play a disk and a tape but at no time was I successful in recording anything from on air TV programs.

Was this review helpful? (129) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tianoa
Shamokin Dam, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great machine, eassy to use
12/23/2011

Customer review by podggie

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by podggie
by podggie

easy to use, one button for copy of VCR tapes to DVD, saved hundreds of dollars copying the family videos to DVD myself. DVD's play on TV and on Computer, Picture Quality with Up-Convert is impressive considering coming from a VCR tape 20yrs old. have not tried Cable/Tv to DVD Recording but expect the Quality to be exceptional. Use an HDMI cable for you Connection. Smart Device stops the VCR if you Fill Up the DVD and then all you need to do is load another DVD and continue again. Menus and titles can be added, Automatic "chapter" is real nice allows you to use the "skip" button to jump ahead on the DVD in 10min increments. You can even control the increment time size. Plays all of my Comerical VCR Tapes with an impressive picture on a High Def Plasma TV. Reasonable Price for a Product to Help Preserve Those Family Movies that cant be replaced.

Was this review helpful? (237) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
podggie
buffalo, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
No telephone technical support
11/19/2012

Customer review by Tobusytofight

1.0 stars 11/19/2012 by Tobusytofight
by Tobusytofight

After I purchased the Toshiba DVR620KU, I found the manual confusing. I consider myself tech savvy. So I found some YouTube videos that helped. But I still had questions. Accompanying the DVD recorder was a reference paper with a big red STOP that listed various phone numbers to call for technical support. Unfortunately, each phone number ultimately directed me to a website, and not a person. (Why not be transparent and list only the website if the phone numbers go nowhere?) I went to the website, did not find answers to my questions, and called another number, where I did reach a human being. The Toshiba representative said that he was not "trained" in this hardware. Also, he noted that unless it was a laptop, Toshiba does not offer telephone technical support for any of its products. This would have been helpful to have known prior to the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (160) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tobusytofight
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/21/2012

Customer review by TheStudio

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by TheStudio
by TheStudio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I now have all of my VHS home movies from the 1990's transferred all to DVD now, thanks to this unit. It is what I have been looking for now for several years, but the price has been out of my budget. I bought this unit at a price I could afford, thanks to Walmart. I saw this unit in the past at Best Buy, but it was $80 more. So I decided I would wait, and I am glad I did. This unit works great!! The only grip I have (and not just this product) is these units today are really complex on what they can do. I wish the manufacturers would make an instructional DVD on how to use the products of today. Watching how-tos is a much better way for customers to get a more hands on experience beside just reading it from a book. Overall I am very happy with this unit, and would reccommend it to anyone. It has an affordable price tag too.

Was this review helpful? (79) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheStudio
Jackson County, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for DVD's, Video tapes, & CD's - plays ALL!
5/7/2014

Customer review by GrammaSuzy

5.0 stars 5/7/2014 by GrammaSuzy
by GrammaSuzy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I haven't tried to record anything yet, but am loving this recorder combo. I'm a retired elementary teacher. I have a plentiful collection of commercial videos of so many of the Disney fairy tales, and other stories, plus many Baby Einstein DVD's for my grand children. I thought I'd have to buy DVD's of the Videos I'd accumulated, but they play fine. According to the Combo's information/instructions, I can also record them on DVD. I haven't tried that yet, however. The surprise was being able to play our many CD's on it through our hook up (via HDMI cable) to our Smart TV. They sound GREAT! I don't have a Walmart Rewards card, but the store rep. in electronics took care of ordering for me, using my credit card as payment. That was the only part that took a little time to complete. I ordered it through our local Walmart store, and picked it up there when it arrived. Delivery was only 24 hours. That was a happy surprise.

Was this review helpful? (29) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrammaSuzy
Oneida, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Was not as difficult to hook up.
8/27/2014

Customer review by Over50andstillTeching

4.0 stars 8/27/2014 by Over50andstillTeching
by Over50andstillTeching
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this unit to playback dvd's and VHS tapes. The hook up was real simple, i just needed an HDMI cable plugged in from my (smart) tv to my Toshiba unit, that's it.(Note If you don't have a smart tv then you will have to go to the section in the instruction booklet that accommodate your TV's wiring needs.) As for recording etc, the hook up may be different (i have friends who could help me if needed w that if need be.) But what made the instruction booklet rather complex, rather than complicated, is that it accounts for every way a person would hook up the Toshiba unit depending upon your TV's features and age ( for ex: by using and HDMI for a smart tv, or, By using component cables for non smart tv's etc.) Its very thorough, but you really need to sit down and focus, and know what your tv's capacity is , then start from there and ignore all the rest. As for imperfections i noticed the dvd open/close button on the remote is slow and sometimes did not work. in all fairness, i used the batteries enclosed, so all it may need are new batteries. I am really happy with it though. Hope this helps those of you who are on the fence.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Over50andstillTeching
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product & Easy Recording Transfers!
4/28/2016

Customer review by LaubbyDoo

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by LaubbyDoo
by LaubbyDoo

I admit when I tried recording from a VHS to a DVD it seemed confusing and the instructions made it even worse. Here is the easiest way to record: 1- Using the SETUP button, select "VHS to DVD" under recording subtitle. 2- Leave everything as factory settings, i.e. the recording speed for the DVD on XP (best picture) if there is not enough disc space, it will automatically move down to SP. 3- Press "DUBBING" button. 4- Add a title if desired and then press "SETUP" button and under the subtitle "Recording", select "FINALIZE". 5- Your DVD is now finished and will most likely look MUCH better than how it looked on the VHS tape.

Was this review helpful? (42) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaubbyDoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No Customer Service assistance available.
4/14/2016

Customer review by DesertDweller

2.0 stars 4/14/2016 by DesertDweller
by DesertDweller

I purchased this item and tried unsuccessfully to use the dubbing feature several times, using every type of DVD available, and still no luck. My frustration grew when I attempted to call the numbers, for assistance with DVD Recorders, on the flyer enclosed in the retail box. I got a message indicating that these numbers "were no longer being answered by a Customer Service Representative" and directed to call the main CS number. When I called this number, the rrecording indicated that if you needed assistance with a TV to press 1, but if you needed any assistance with any other product, "you can visit our website for asssitance". This did not do me any good, as I had a question not found on the website site FAQs. I returned the item and decided to purchase another brand.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DesertDweller
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pretty Good!
5/19/2016

Customer review by Cookiecrumb

4.0 stars 5/19/2016 by Cookiecrumb
by Cookiecrumb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First of all it arrived two days before expected which was a great surprise! The playback image on both DVD and VHS are impressive.....really good. It's a little complicated to figure out but once you do then it becomes easy. There are more steps to go through in setting up the recording compared to my older prior machine but the single most negative about it is that it doesn't have a built in tuner to allow you to record more than one channel on the same tape. Whatever show you're going to record you have to make sure your TV is on that channel otherwise you won't get the recording you wanted. FYI, none of the few VCR's on the market have a built in tuner. VCR'S are pretty much on their way out the door forever. The plus to this machine is that you can transfer your old VHS movies over to a DVD disc and hope that DVD players will be around for the next 30 years. :)

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cookiecrumb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Difficult to operate
11/19/2011

Customer review by JerryLA

4.0 stars 11/19/2011 by JerryLA
by JerryLA

We use the Toshiba VCR for recording programs when we're unable to view them. This product does that, but is extremely difficult to control and the very thick manual is hard to read and the instructions there don't work. Example, finish a recording under timer control, now just try to rewind the tape!! Very tricky and requires very quick sequence of several button presses. Manual says press stop and rewind. the Toshiba insists on going to DVD mode and won't rewind the tape, and won't switch to VCR when the VCR button is pressed. Frustrating. Definitely much much harder to use than our previous Sony DVD/VCR. The Sony got an electronic failure after 7 years.

Was this review helpful? (143) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JerryLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
It does everything I hoped it would do.
9/7/2012

Customer review by octonion

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by octonion
by octonion

I bought it primarily to be able to transfer my VCR tapes to DVD. It does a beautiful job. Some companies offer this service for $7 or so each, and this will pay for itself in a few weeks. I have over a hundred tapes to convert.

Was this review helpful? (285) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
octonion
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Product will not work with my TV.
1/11/2012

Customer review by BobbieGee

1.0 stars 1/11/2012 by BobbieGee
by BobbieGee

After trying several times to get this recorder to work, I find that because I do not have an HD tv it will not work. While setting up the recorder, the DVD drawer will not open. You can hear it trying to do something but will not open. The instructions ask you to click on your source of video on the tv's menu but there is no such option on my tv. There should be a disclaimer in the product write-ups that cover this situation. The Toshiba 800 number was far too busy to answer my call because of the Christmas rush on their products. My information came from a product forum. I have returned the recorder to Walmart for a full refund.

Was this review helpful? (61) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobbieGee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Have aready taken it back for a refund
12/21/2012

Customer review by Johnnytee46

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Johnnytee46
by Johnnytee46
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To record a tv station you had to have the tv on the cannel you want recorded and had the tv on during recording. For dubbing it was the same thing, you had to have the tv on AV and couldn't watch tv when recording. I called support and they where no help.I couldn't believe this was true and kept reading and changing thinks. In a small section it said you had to have another VCR to hook up to to record differant channels. I had a Panasonic DVD rercorder before this. I checked with Panasonic to get it fixed and it would be $170. I'm going to check local repair shops to see about getting it fixed. It's over 6 years old but doze everything the Toshiba can't. I could dubb and watch regular tv. I could program any tv channel 1-99. That was the one thing I didn't like you could only rerord up to channel 99.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnnytee46
Las Vegas,NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the Job
11/16/2013

Customer review by gator86

4.0 stars 11/16/2013 by gator86
by gator86
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this a couple of weeks ago and so far it works great. This was purchased to replace an older Toshiba VCR/DVD Recorder that had begun to no longer record DVDs. Our previous Toshiba had worked excellently for many years, so I decided to purchase another Toshiba. This new combo took a little bit of time to hook up. The back setup of the new one is different from my previous recorder, so I wasn't able to just unhook it & plug all the cords into the new one since the setup is a little different. After a few times of changing some cords around, I was finally able to get it going successfully. There have been no issues and I've already used it to record DVDs as well as play DVDs. I'm still learning where all the buttons are on the remote, but I'm happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gator86
Hendersonville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This Toshiba (DVR620) was terrible.
10/31/2012

Customer review by Disappointed02

1.0 stars 10/31/2012 by Disappointed02
by Disappointed02
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This unit did not function and I had to send it back. When I called Toshiba to try to determine what was wrong, I got handed off at least five times from one rude (and clueless) support person to another. I will say that I had three excellent Toshiba DVRs that all work perfectly, but this combined unit (DVR/VCR) was a major disappointment. I really want to rate this a 0, not even a 1.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed02
La Mirada, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I FOUND IT DIFFICULT TO TRY AND MAKE "WORK" FOR ME
8/22/2012

Customer review by captainsalty

1.0 stars 8/22/2012 by captainsalty
by captainsalty

I WAS SIMPLY UNHAPPY WITH THE PRODUCT TO THE POINT OF TAKING THE TIME TO READ OTHER PEOPLE'S "REVIEWS" TO LEARN OF THEIR SIMILAR FRUSTRATIONS/"ISSUES" AND WAS GLAD TO KNOW "IT'S NOT JUST ME!" I FOLLOWED INSTRUCTIONS AS BEST I COULD AND IT WAS NOT SUCCESFUL FOR ME. I THOUGHT I COULD SIMPLY PUT MY OLD VHS/VCR FORMAT ITEMS IN THE TRAY, PUT IN A BLANK AND RECORDABLE "DVD" AND MAKE THE CONVERSION. NOT NEARLY SO SIMPLE.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
captainsalty
gulf shores, al
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Works well for recording from VCR or DVR
3/2/2014

Customer review by thedubbingguy

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by thedubbingguy
by thedubbingguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have only had this a week or two and haven't used it much, but so far I'm very happy with my tests. Despite the complicated manual, using it is very easy. Just press "record ready" (to set the length/quality) and then press "record" to start. I've only used it on the 2-hour setting, but so far the video quality of the recorded DVD is near identical to the original, even when playing the DVD on a separate BluRay player. If you use the machine to dub from VHS to DVD, you cannot pause, but, if you use another VCR or your DVR connected to the various external inputs, you CAN "pause" while skipping commercials or even switching inputs. You can edit out (or "hide") chapters after an internal VCR-DVD dub if you are using a DVD/RW. I was also able to record successfully using +R/-R discs. Once you finalize a DVD/RW you could then use your computer to copy that to DVD/+R/-R. I found the video sharpness of the built in VCR isn't quite as good as my older VCR (which I use instead) but that is my only minor complaint so far. I suppose it would also have been nice if it had a HDMI input for the DVR output. Not sure about copy protected tapes. I had no trouble copying a store bought Lord of The Rings VHS tape.

Was this review helpful? (35) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thedubbingguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great DVD Recorder For the money!
4/12/2016

Customer review by TVBob

5.0 stars 4/12/2016 by TVBob
by TVBob

We use the unit to record DVDs of live studio programs we produce for broadcast on KRHP TV-14 in The Dalles, OR. Previously, we have used the Toshiba model DR 430 KU, but these models are no longer available in the U.S. These combo VSH - DVD actually, in my humble opinion, record a slightly higher quality DVD on the highest quality speed (which is all we use). These unit are so good, I bought five more just in case they also become unavailable in the United States. Please note, we do not use the VHS portion of the combo unit (and so have not tested the VHS), and we also have not tested the timer recording features, though I am confident that they work well.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TVBob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love Toshiba DVD Recorders
3/8/2016

Customer review by MarkT

5.0 stars 3/8/2016 by MarkT
by MarkT

I like to archive TV shows from my cable DVR and Toshiba DVD Recorders have always been great workhorses for doing just that. I wanted a stand alone DVD Recorder but since they are hard to find anymore, the VCR combo was a nice added feature. As some have said, if you are dubbing from tape to DVDyou can't pause/edit out commercials. (Not a problem if going to cable box to DVD Recorder). (And you CAN NOT dub an old store bought professionaly taped movie to a DVD - there is usually a hidden marco-code on the tape that prevents that, so unless its a tape that you made, do not expect to dub your VHS store bought Star Wars collecton to DVD.) For some, operating the system might be complicated, but I have had no problems. 8 hour mode is great for recording news shows. I usually use the LP 4 hour mode for movies and favoriote shows. It also has 2 and 6 hours modes. There is no tuner, but that is fine by me. I just hope Toshiba kees making these great machines for a long time. This is the second Toshiba DVD Recorder that Ihave owned, I bought this one just to keep the first one from being over used. In the 4 years that I have had the first model, it has been great and never gave me any problems. As a tip, I recommend using 'DVD -' discs instead of 'DVD +' as the 'plus' discs tend to have given me playback problems over the years. This is not a fault of the recorders, but a playback issue with some standard DVD players. So if you like archiving some of your favorite shows for your personal home view collection, I highly recommend Toshiba DVD Recorders, a solid recorder with HDMI up-conversion. (Recorder does not record in HD, which as of now, would probably be way to expensive.) Thanks again for a great, reliable product.

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarkT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 320 total reviews
1-20 of 320 reviews