Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 370 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

370 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

370 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
180
4 stars
81
3 stars
23
2 stars
19
1 stars
67
1-20 of 319 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 319 total reviews
1-20 of 319 reviews
SD-V296KU - Can't Get VCR to Record
9/5/2013

Customer review by Crusoe1

2.0 stars 9/5/2013 by Crusoe1
by Crusoe1

I switch to this device to make VCR show recordings for my Mother, who has no cable TV. My very old unit was shot after 20 years and 100's of tapes. This unit appears to record for me, but when I playback, there is no audio or picture. I have a new flat screen and I have followed directions. Don't want to call this a lousy purchase, if it is User error. Anyone have any suggestions for me? Seems like I have spent a lot of time trying all of my TV connection options, of course following the Toshiba manual. Like I said, this unit seems to work, but if I can't get the picture to show or sound...trash city and move on. thanks

Crusoe1
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
worst ever
6/5/2013

Customer review by Amanda

1.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Amanda
by Amanda

Wow I can't even put "6ad" in here because it's "inappropriate" Worked for less than a year and then the DVD player quit working. I don't care if you say that DVD players aren't the best or you should expect that. You should NOT expect a DVD player to quit working before a few years. I've gotten 9 years out of a DVD player used everyday. So that's a terrible excuse. Picture quality wasn't great either for the price.

Amanda
Would recommend to a friend? No
It works..
4/22/2013

Customer review by MichaelR1951

5.0 stars 4/22/2013 by MichaelR1951
by MichaelR1951

Elderly person needed something that played VHS tapes and the Toshiba unit did the job. I saw the one review where they dinged the unit because the DVD quit playing ... what did you expect - DVD players are cheap and it's a dying format. This unit did a good job. If you have a thousand VHS tapes and need something to play them on --- this works!

MichaelR1951
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Machine needs help!
1/25/2013

Customer review by Bill

2.0 stars 1/25/2013 by Bill
by Bill

VCR side works great to play back tapes. DVD side always gives trouble when trying to play DVDs. Picture stops and starts and distorts when playing a DVD. Acts like the disc needs cleaning but the disc is brand new right out of a sealed package! Tried a lens cleaning disk, but it didn't help. Trying to figure my options from here.

Bill
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
does not work with digital box
1/1/2013

Customer review by Likes my VCR

1.0 stars 1/1/2013 by Likes my VCR
by Likes my VCR

I could not find the spot to plug the cable in. What is listed as a coaxial port does not look like one. We have to use a digital box and cannot see how this will be compatible. Back to our old VCR machine which has the coaxial in and out ports. Alas, the DVDs I received for Christmas will remain unopened.

Likes my VCR
Abbotsford, BC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Toshiba dvd/vcr combo, television
8/30/2013

Customer review by Dee

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Dee
by Dee

I have or have had the above 2 items and they both worked perfectly, I still use by television and just recently my dvd/vcr combo went out and I am getting ready to order a new one. I also have a blue-ray player by Toshiba. So to me Toshiba is there when you need it and others just don't even get it. Dee

Dee
Louisville,ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
worst dvd/vcr combo
8/10/2014

Customer review by don juan

1.0 stars 8/10/2014 by don juan
by don juan

The first sd v296 I got lasted a day ate a tape, sent back., The next brand new unit i had less than a week the dvd side froze in reverse., remote would'nt solve the problem. I unpluged it ,opened up the dvd tray EMPTY, very weird, I've used & was an audio tech for years, never seen that before!!!!!

don juan
Norfolk, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor product
10/23/2013

Customer review by hsofcats

1.0 stars 10/23/2013 by hsofcats
by hsofcats

VCR constantly kicks out tapes for no reason. Blurred picture every time the tape is forwarded or rewound. Picture is blurry, machine shuts off and kicks out the tape I did go out and purchase new tapes to be sure that old tapes. Didn't improve at all. Very loud noises when ever tape stops.

hsofcats
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/7/2012

Customer review by Joy

1.0 stars 9/7/2012 by Joy
by Joy

I havea new SDV296KC Combo and could not get it to work with the new 40" LED Toshiba. Had to use a relative"s older model #SDV398KC. Not happy since the store would not take my newly purchased one back. The connections on my two machines are not compatible. HELP!!

Joy
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great VCR/DVD player
12/1/2011

Customer review by quikjr

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by quikjr
by quikjr

Bought this unit .. took it home .. installed the three cables to red-white-yellow on the new 46" TV I bought (Panasonic). Turned it on. Put both a VCR and a video Disc to see if it worked. Both videos played perfectly. What more could you want??

quikjr
Lubbock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
worst VCR ever
10/4/2012

Customer review by mick

1.0 stars 10/4/2012 by mick
by mick

I mioved and i can;t find any instructions as to how to tape a program. You never supplied a manual and i can't get one on line without downloading about 50 pages.On other products i can see the manual and print just the pages i need

mick
media, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dreadful DVD Disk Player
7/28/2012

Customer review by Clever

1.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Clever
by Clever

I have several dvd/vcr players and other dvd playing machines. Perfectly good disks that work in other machines stop playing or cannot be loaded to play in this machine SD-V296. Manual does not provide any help for this problem.

Clever
Framingham, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
11/16/2011

Customer review by Eddie

2.0 stars 11/16/2011 by Eddie
by Eddie

I had a Toshiba DVD VCR combo player that was damaged so I expected this Toshiba to be of similar quality but was terribly disappointed. The picture quality, the ease of use, the functions, everything was disappointing

Eddie
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
5/29/2012

Customer review by ABC

1.0 stars 5/29/2012 by ABC
by ABC

My SD-V296KU stopped playing DVDs about 2 years after I bought it. Manual was useless for trouble shooting. I had to junk it and go looking for a better product - NOT a Toshiba.

ABC
Philadelphia PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Simple
12/7/2011

Customer review by Recreation Therapist

3.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Recreation Therapist
by Recreation Therapist

We have been using this product for a couple of years now and it is still in good working order. I would recommend this machine if you have a need to use both DVD and VHS.

Recreation Therapist
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stopped working in less than a month
7/16/2013

Customer review by Emma

1.0 stars 7/16/2013 by Emma
by Emma

This thing simply would not stay on. It swallowed a VHS tape and then turned off and wouldn't turn back on, ever, no matter what I did. It worked for less than a month.

Emma
Rockland County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
piece of junk
4/24/2013

Customer review by beeker

1.0 stars 4/24/2013 by beeker
by beeker

only played dvds and vhs in color for the first few days. now only black and white with flutter and distortion on screen. owners manual doesn't explain fix.

beeker
terrebonne or
Would recommend to a friend? No
unit works - remote does not
7/20/2014

Customer review by alison

3.0 stars 7/20/2014 by alison
by alison

the unit worked but the remote is horrible. have to stand on the buttons to make anything work. usually give up and go to the main unit to push play.

alison
covington, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Never Buy Again
3/7/2014

Customer review by Unhappy

1.0 stars 3/7/2014 by Unhappy
by Unhappy

Bought about 2 months ago - eats VHS tapes - clock quit and can't reset - connected to new tv won't play VHS tapes. Set to VCR but plays DVD

Unhappy
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Toshiba DVD Video Player/Video Cassette Recorder
12/1/2011

Customer review by Presawar

2.0 stars 12/1/2011 by Presawar
by Presawar

The salesman told me I could convert VHS tapes to DVD discs. This machine won't do that. I bought the machine out of town. I guess I'm stuck.

Presawar
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 319 total reviews
1-20 of 319 reviews