Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 370 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

370 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

370 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
180
4 stars
81
3 stars
23
2 stars
19
1 stars
67
1-20 of 319 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 319 total reviews
1-20 of 319 reviews
A good Combo DVD/VCR, so far
1/3/2012

Customer review by Anapolly

4.0 stars 1/3/2012 by Anapolly
by Anapolly

I know technology is moving on, away from VHS, but there are many of us with a large collection of VHS movies, we like to watch. I have had trouble with several combos, all different brands, & always with the DVD player part of the unit. I don't understand it with all the electronic advances why they don't last longer, but apparently there are a lot of bad units out there. I know, because I have several now with the VCR working perfectly and the DVD kerplunk! Sure they all worked in the beginning, but in short time, the problems started. The last combo player I had was a Sony, which would take 20 minutes to read only to tell you the disc could not be played, when there was nothing wrong with the disc. I am not ready to give up on combo players yet, that is why I will try this one, another different brand, and hope for the best. Wal-Mart shipped it out promptly, and it was a quick & easy set up. It played both tapes and discs, as it should, straight out of the box. Now, only time will tell if it can perform long past the rest.

Was this review helpful? (97) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anapolly
IOWA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best VCR for the price
8/1/2014

Customer review by Meglovestoshop

5.0 stars 8/1/2014 by Meglovestoshop
by Meglovestoshop

I did a lot of research to find an affordable VCR to view old movies and family videos that are on tape. This unit is a fantastic bargain for $88. It is a Toshiba, a name brand. The sound is "HI FI" very loud and sharp. It has a clock on the display. It comes with a remote and the batteries. My son hooked it up in 5 minutes. It comes with the red, white and yellow cables that are needed to connect the VCR to the TV. Next plug the VCR into the wall outlet, and you're ready to go. For another $12, I purchased the Walmart extended warranty covering the VCR for another 2 years. Since I started buying all of my electronics at Walmart about 10 years ago, I only had to use this warrantly once and the process was quick, courteous and easy. Within 7 days the unit was replaced. The price for this particular VCR was higher everywhere else. And neither vendor offered the service and security from purchasing at Walmart. I'm buying a second one for the living room.

Was this review helpful? (60) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meglovestoshop
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Lasted about 9 months! Now garbage.
2/28/2016

Customer review by BlueJasmine

1.0 stars 2/28/2016 by BlueJasmine
by BlueJasmine

I like vcr/dvd combo's, I am used to taping programs, been doing this for decades. Try and find a combo today, its very difficult. They are becoming obsolete. I searched and searched and finally decided on this Toshiba model. It worked fine for a couple of months, then a strange noise started to happen every time it was used. around the ninth month of ownership it stopped working entirely. Just like that. The vcr didn't work at all, would not tape, nor play tapes. The number on the service manual for this is out of order. Toshiba does not want to know anything. Maybe I got a bad one, but now it's garbage and I am annoyed and angry it broke in such a short time. Money wasted, a piece of garbage. And, there is nothing anyone can do about it, no reparation. Never again, will I ever purchase anything made by Toshiba.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueJasmine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn't work for playing VHS tapes
12/22/2011

Customer review by Motrek

1.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Motrek
by Motrek

I got this DVD/VCR combo player so we could play our old VHS movies and kid's programs. After making all the proper connections we found that the DVD worked great both with sound quality and picture quality. But when playing the VCR there was a constant hum or buzz which seemed to be coupled to the picture brightness. The buzz became intolerable when the volume was turned up loud enough to hear the soundtrack. The manual suggested to adjust the tracking which did reduce the buzzing somewhat. But the buzzing could not be eliminated which I find totally unacceptable. I returned the unit for a refund. I will not buy another one of that brand because the Quality Control of a product should not be the final customer, which unfortunately seems to be the case so frequently these days.

Was this review helpful? (63) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Motrek
W. Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Avoid this troubled Toshiba SD-V296
2/22/2012

Customer review by NoJoywithToshibaSDV296

1.0 stars 2/22/2012 by NoJoywithToshibaSDV296
by NoJoywithToshibaSDV296

Unit failed within 6 weeks --- it is poorly designed with a thin plastic case, coupled with inconsistent and overly complex operation for time recording. The remote control lacks standard button layout consistent with other remotes found on other units from Comcast, Charter Cable, and DirecTV, making it very difficult to use. It made a clunk sound when pressing the stop button when rewinding. When the VHS tape was halfway in use, pressing the fast forward button made it squeal and the picture tracking failed. Another problem, because the VCR lacks a tuner, the setup is to connect via RCA composite cables. The output only works when the unit is turned on. With the unit is off, you have to manually change the TV input selector to receive a picture from the other video source. What a hassle! However, Walmart's return process was excellent and painless.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoJoywithToshibaSDV296
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not a great buy
1/15/2012

Customer review by Garfdallas

1.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Garfdallas
by Garfdallas

I bought 1 of these on Jan 5. It worked really great, for a few days and then it started to eat up tapes. After it ate 2 in 15 minutes, I decided it needed to go. But I'm a glutton for punishment, so I ordered another one and got in on the 13th. Hooked it up, set it up to record and it worked beautifully!!! Got up the next morning to watch the tape and the machine wouldn't do anything but kick the tape out. That tape and every other one I put in. Tried unplugging it to let it 'reset' but to no avail. Took it back on the 14th. Even tried to contact Toshiba, but when I put in the serial #, they couldn't even find it. Not Good! I give up on Toshiba!! Now I'm trying the Magnavox DVD Rec/VCR. So far... so good.

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Garfdallas
Wylie, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worked great for VCR and DVD.
7/14/2012

Customer review by Hiker139

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Hiker139
by Hiker139

I was looking for a hard to find combo because I had VCR tapes I still wanted to watch. I was happy with the performance of this model and have already watched an old Sherlock Holmes tape! It comes with two cables. I found these instructions on the internet and it made it easy to set up. Plug one end of the yellow cable into the yellow video-out jack on the DVD player. Plug the other end into the yellow video-in on the TV. On the DVD player, plug the red/white cables into the red white audio out jacks NEAREST to the yellow cable you used for video. Then plug the other end into the audio in red/white jacks on the TV. I have Time Warner cable and it runs on Video I and my cable runs on Component, which is something you choose from a menu when you hit video source or TV/DVD on the remote. I bought the three year warranty for $17 since it was reasonable and I can never tell the life of electronics. It says to keep the receipt and they e-mail information about the warranty. I put it all in a file folder since they said it's required if you need to put in a claim. Try this if you are looking for a simple way to watch DVD's and VCR tapes.On the player's remote it has you choose DVD or VCR and that is all you have to do to choose between both.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hiker139
Woodland Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Toshiba DVD/VCR combo
4/1/2016

Customer review by Nettie

5.0 stars 4/1/2016 by Nettie
by Nettie

Very good vcr/dvd combo. Now I can still play my old tapes and cd also. Would buy again. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nettie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only plays, doesn't record.
1/3/2012

Customer review by nordkat

1.0 stars 1/3/2012 by nordkat
by nordkat

Had to return this product. To me a 'VCR' means Video Cassette Recorder...which means I should be able to use it to 'record' shows from TV. However, this VCR can only record if you have a cable box to connect it through. We get our cable TV without a cable box...so we had no way to record shows. I think Toshiba should rename this product a VCP (video cassette player)...or come up with some name other than VCR.

Was this review helpful? (79) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nordkat
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
2/17/2012

Customer review by reallysheil

1.0 stars 2/17/2012 by reallysheil
by reallysheil

I've had great results with a Toshiba VCR/DVD combo I had purchased a few years back for a TV in one of my rooms, so I decided to purchase a new Toshiba VCR/DVD combo to replace a non working DVD player, and what acts like a soon-to-not-be working VCR player in another room (seeing that VCR's are becoming a thing of the past I thought I could kill two birds with one stone for both rooms). My old Toshiba combo was so easy to connect even when I connected it with my stereo receiver (which is also older) for stereo/surround sound. But not so with this new one. It's a non-tuner model. It has no antenna input/output connection like the older one. Maybe these non-tuner model's were made for newer TV's; mine are older. My goal was to replace the older one in room one with the newer one but I could only get the stereo to play through the DVD player and not the VCR. Could not get the radio receiver to even play seperately. So after literally hours of connecting and reconnecting I had had it. I reconnected the older combo back in the first room, easily I might add, and returned the new unit to the store. I then purchased a single DVD player for the TV in the other room that has the older VCR.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reallysheil
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great price for a two n one
11/1/2011

Customer review by BadJeans

5.0 stars 11/1/2011 by BadJeans
by BadJeans

I have several Disney movies that are VHS. My Grandchildren still love to watch them. VHS will be gone soon , so I purchased this so we could still watch our old movies and be able to watch the new ones which are DVD. Great price, neat and compact. Uses smaller space. Easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (163) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BadJeans
White Pine, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great VHS/DVD player!
10/1/2011

Customer review by Muchsuccess2u

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by Muchsuccess2u
by Muchsuccess2u

I have not had any problems with this VHS/DVD player since my purchase. I would recommend this to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (128) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Muchsuccess2u
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Combo
10/18/2013

Customer review by supertuner

5.0 stars 10/18/2013 by supertuner
by supertuner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Being old school I still have VHS and enjoy recording and playing them. This combo allows me to enjoy the past and move into the future. The unit is easy to set up and use and is a great product with value for the price. I highly recommend this for those who need a good VCR/DVD player/VHS recorder.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
supertuner
Poplar Bluff MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does not include necessary parts
11/27/2013

Customer review by jakemomo

3.0 stars 11/27/2013 by jakemomo
by jakemomo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product was not hook up ready. Must go out and purchase more wires. App did not give suggestions for additional equipment needed.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jakemomo
Middletown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good product for a Plugger
8/11/2014

Customer review by rdpart

5.0 stars 8/11/2014 by rdpart
by rdpart
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like many Pluggers, I have many VHS tapes (which I am converting to DVDs - slowly) and need a player that can multi-task for VHS and DVD. Very easy to set up and use. Thanks for continuing to have products that can be used easily.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rdpart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Even Grandma could use this
11/23/2011

Customer review by papafever

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by papafever
by papafever

I needed a unit that had both DVD and VCR capabilities as well as remote control. I had a very limited space to put it. This unit was easy to hook up and fit easily into the space I had available.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
papafever
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent in all respects
7/28/2014

Customer review by Wayne1214

5.0 stars 7/28/2014 by Wayne1214
by Wayne1214
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had it set up within 5 minutes of receiving it. The clarity of the VCR tapes is outstanding on it. It is also extremely easy to switch from VCR to DVD in order to play them.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wayne1214
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good DVD/VCR player
10/11/2011

Customer review by Chumito

4.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Chumito
by Chumito

I had a little trouble getting started but when I figured out what each of the buttons on the remote did I found it easy to use. Both the VCR and DVD players produce a nice picture.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chumito
El Paso, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product set up easy, just what I was loo
11/1/2011

Customer review by NumberoneDaddy

5.0 stars 11/1/2011 by NumberoneDaddy
by NumberoneDaddy

Excellent Product, set up was easy. Researched other stores, however, Walmart had the best price. Thinking about purchasing another one as a gift.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NumberoneDaddy
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/29/2012

Customer review by buyer37841

1.0 stars 3/29/2012 by buyer37841
by buyer37841

I am giving this such a poor review becuase you have to have an external tuner, dish box, or cable box in order to record anything. They are apparently making all of the new models this way now. So if you don't have the boxes and don't want to have to purchase an external tuner (which are relatively high), do not buy this product. I returned mine. Why would they make something that you have to buy additional parts in order for it to work properly???

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buyer37841
Oneida, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 319 total reviews
1-20 of 319 reviews