Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

82 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

82 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
26
1-20 of 75 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
I Wish I Would've Found This Sooner!!!
6/21/2013

Customer review by PremanentNickname

4.0 stars 6/21/2013 by PremanentNickname
by PremanentNickname

I love this thing! Seriously, it rocks. I bought a very nice used professional digital camera. The USB cord port was broken and I couldn't connect to the computer to download the TONS of pictures I had already taken. Not realizing they even made a product like this, I attempted to fix it myself, resulting in even more brokeness. I thought the pictures were doomed to be stuck on this broken piece of equipment. After hearing about card readers, this was the one that was picked because it was available in the store. Couldn't be better, especially for the price! Works for SD AND Micro SD cards, so I also use it for my cell phone! Just wish I would've known about it sooner! Only thing is the covers on each end are pretty flimsy, the reason for only 4 stars. One of them broke when I tried pulling it off. However the cover is still useable and I found that if you pull it off from the sides and not the middle of the cover, it works just fine. Ultimately, I love this product!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PremanentNickname
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does what it's suppose to do
7/30/2011

Customer review by Canopyfan2

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by Canopyfan2
by Canopyfan2
Top 10 contributor

I love this device. Like many people I carry a flash drive to transport files and downloads. So I have a digital camera and a cell phone that both use micro sd cards and this card adapter let's me use them in place of the flash drive. Bye-bye flash drives. With Windows 7 the install was quick. To use, slip the micro sd card in and put the end-cap on to secure it, then plug the USB connector into your computer/ notebook/ tablet's usb port, very simple, straightforward. The cap on USB connector protects it when it's not in use. The device is flat, not round, not bulky, easily stores in your pocket. One negative is, end-caps are detachable and you have to keep up with them when they come loose. Another negative is, the unit is so wide that it interferes with the second horizontal USB port on my notebook, can't plug in anything else. If you're going to need other USB devices you should probably get a USB hub. $8 seems like a huge price for this tiny device but it performs and it's a good brand, that's what you're paying for.

Was this review helpful? (15) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Canopyfan2
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 10 contributor
did not work on my windows 7
9/15/2013

Customer review by 3catsup

2.0 stars 9/15/2013 by 3catsup
by 3catsup
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

seemed to work on an older computer at work w/ XP. I could not locate any driver for it for my windows 7. Do not know why.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3catsup
sylmar,ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best money I ever spent!
11/27/2011

Customer review by Gracie312

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by Gracie312
by Gracie312

This reader worked really fast and recovered all my pictures from my camera & cell phone in just a few seconds! Worked when my USB cables wouldn't. Thought my pics would be lost forever! Very happy. Couldn't beat the price either. It reads SD cards and Micro cards as well. Very simple to use. Nothing to set up. I'm thinking of getting a bunch of these to give out for Christmas gifts!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gracie312
Milford DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Targus 2.0 SD Card Reader
12/23/2012

Customer review by Popatap

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by Popatap
by Popatap

I bought a SimpleTech 512 mb USB flash drive years ago when 512 mb was the highest capasity FlasDrive at the time and I still use it every day as i do this Targus SD card reader. I didn't do any research on this Targus SD card reader when I saw it at WalMart and I needed something that I could switch my SD cards around from my TOSHIBA Netbook, Desktop, Dell Laptop and Digital Camera and took a chance on it. It has a cap on both ends that snap off and on easy to change cards and to plug it into a USB port or cable. It has been a perfect little reader for what I payed for it. I know some don't like USB card readers that have cover caps because they can get lost if you don't have a place to put then when not in use. I will buy another and will recomend it if you need a low cost SD card reader.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Popatap
Winter Haven, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Life saver!
6/27/2011

Customer review by Revy679

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by Revy679
by Revy679

It was available AT the store, GREAT price and worked perfectly for transfering my files from the micro sd from my cell phone onto my computer then over to a blank micro sd card. Very happy with this product! I was worried when I read the first review on this product, but I think that person might have gotten a broken one because I gave it a try and I am so glad that I did it worked great!

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Revy679
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Works, but not on Win98
7/5/2011

Customer review by Spike111111

4.0 stars 7/5/2011 by Spike111111
by Spike111111

Works effortlessly on several different WinXP systems and should work on newer Windows. Both ends have a dust cover. But the packaging suggests it will work on Win98 Second Edition, on which any USB device requires a driver. The Targus web site (targusdigital.com) mentions this product by model number and directs you to a third-party web site that has a driver, but the driver failed to install on two different Win98 systems (in one case taking out of service a USB card reader installed previously). On examining the ZIP file, the Setup file inside is dated 2004--before the SDHC spec came out. Can't believe the driver is for this product! To address a previous review, USB cables don't just "fall out"--if it is the USB socket you're plugging it into. And I've had this unit for 3 months and can't imagine it cracking when you insert the chip. Devices that allow different memory chips in the same slot, I've found to be fragile, but this one has different slots for the regular and the micro. I haven't experimented with filling both slots at the same time, but I wouldn't expect that to work, as Windows gives it ONE drive letter when you plug in the cable, not waiting until you insert the memory card.

Was this review helpful? (12) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spike111111
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Reads only certain SD cards
7/11/2013

Customer review by Tagoris

2.0 stars 7/11/2013 by Tagoris
by Tagoris

I am a professional photographer and I needed a new card reader. I bought this at my local wal-mart as it was the only one available. It worked great at first but over time it started to only read certain sized cards (or brands?). I have a lot of cards ranging from 2GB to 32GB SDHC. It reads the 4GB and 8GB cards just fine but now refuses to read my 32GB SDHC at all. I knew it wasn't my card since my camera can see the pictures just fine. So today (just 15-20 mins ago) I bought another card reader by Kodak and it reads my 32 GB SDHC card just fine. I do NOT recommend this product, most assuredly choose another card reader.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tagoris
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
does not work as advertised
5/5/2013

Customer review by bummed4again

1.0 stars 5/5/2013 by bummed4again
by bummed4again

The package says it will work with Windows 7 but it does not. When it tries to load the drivers, a message comes up telling me I need to load windows 98 service pack 1 for it to work. That is a stupid response. Tracing the manufacturer's web site as Targus.com will take you someplace that looks like it should be the correct place but you need to go to Targusdigital.com. They do not acknowledge the unit sold at Walmart by the any of the product codes, but if you look long enough you will find a place where the product code will give you a driver that covers all of Windows, but that doesn't work either.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bummed4again
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does not work.
2/6/2013

Customer review by Simpleart

1.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Simpleart
by Simpleart

I bought this in-store, and was excited to use it, as my computer does not read SDHC. My computer tries to look up the device driver, and cannot find it online. I tried going to the company website (Targus Digital, seperate from the Targus main company) and there is no product with the same product code. No drivers available. Stinks to buy a product you computer cannot recognize! I am running Windows 7.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Simpleart
Lake Station, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Works like it is supposed to do.
5/15/2014

Customer review by welshwoodsman

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by welshwoodsman
by welshwoodsman

I don't know why people have so many problems. I am operating on Windows 7 with a HP Pavillion and the card reader works great. Just plug it in and there it is. I do get an error message but when I click on the play icon it reads the card. Easy and simple. As far as the covers breaking, just squeeze slightly on the slim sides and they pull off. Great product for such a small price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
welshwoodsman
Danville, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Broke when I took it out of the package
12/3/2012

Customer review by Pamela52001

1.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Pamela52001
by Pamela52001

I knew this memory card reader was too good to be true. The cheap plastic lid splintered into pieces when I took it out of the package. I took it promptly back for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pamela52001
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Targus Card Reader
11/5/2013

Customer review by spacegirl22

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by spacegirl22
by spacegirl22

The USB port I used on my camera to hook to my computer to download my pictures malfunctioned. So I bought this so I could take my sd card out of my camera and put in this card reader. All I have to do is hook it to my computer and put my sd card from my camera in the reader and download my pictures. It was a great solution to the problem! I love it. It saved me from buying another camera.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spacegirl22
Yorkville TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Wish this worked!
3/19/2012

Customer review by CMH1794

1.0 stars 3/19/2012 by CMH1794
by CMH1794

I wanted something like this to transfer data more easily, but when I plugged it in, nothing happened. I use a Mac, but the instructions told me I did NOT need a driver to use this product and should "skip the step" that included downloading a driver. As per the directions, it told me that a removable disk icon would show up on my desktop, but it never did, so I cannot drag and drop anything at all. I went to their website just to make sure, and they have no Macintosh drivers at all listed there. This product is completely useless to me and will be returned.

Was this review helpful? (8) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CMH1794
Would recommend to a friend? No
check your memory speed
5/11/2012

Customer review by Yosevi

1.0 stars 5/11/2012 by Yosevi
by Yosevi

I bought this item today but don't worked with my PNY professional 8GB sdhc memory that i use with my camera it say "Please insert disk", this only works with normal SD, i use my laptop with windows xp and usb 2.0 port

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yosevi
Laredo Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
perfect
9/9/2015

Customer review by Stacey

5.0 stars 9/9/2015 by Stacey
by Stacey

It amazed me how much i used a CD rom in a computer and laptop. Now I have a surface pro and all it has is a usb port not even an SD port so this was perfect and it works so well. Of course my son wants to play with it all the time but that is ok because it has covers for both ends.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stacey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for what I needed
2/21/2016

Customer review by Switzy

5.0 stars 2/21/2016 by Switzy
by Switzy

This was just what I was looking for

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Switzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great price but doesnt last long (breaks easy)
5/10/2013

Customer review by MigIzzel

3.0 stars 5/10/2013 by MigIzzel
by MigIzzel

Usually I like products from Targus because they're products are really cheap and work but this SD Card Reader does not last long at all. The structure is poorly made. The plastic breaks very easily. A child could crush it just by pressing down on the middle of it. Also some SD cards it won't read and some SD cards you have to format for it to be able to read it and lastly the problems I had with it is you can only have either an SD card or micro SDHC card in it for it to work. You can't have both otherwise Nothing with happen when you plug it in..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MigIzzel
Saint Johnsbury, VT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not the one I bought
9/4/2013

Customer review by wjrt

1.0 stars 9/4/2013 by wjrt
by wjrt

I bought this product at the store, Walmart, and it (how should I put it) rattled in the USB slot. The plug was too small for the slot. When I plugged it into the back of my iMac it worked for a bit, that is it appeared. I unplugged it and plugged it in again, it didn't even appear. I tried it on my PC laptop and it didn't work. I don't know why the sales associate said that it was they best seller. I guess none of the other models even sold one. I would give this a big goose egg, but at least it appeared once.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wjrt
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Piece of junk...
8/4/2012

Customer review by Zeaner

1.0 stars 8/4/2012 by Zeaner
by Zeaner

When I saw this I figured the price was just right for something as simplistic as a single card reader. The only reason I wanted it was so I could more easily transfer pictures taken with my DSLR to my PC. Previously I would have to have my camera attached to the PC the whole time and swap SD cards in and out of the camera just to get my day's worth of photos onto the PC. This card reader fails at even the simplest of tasks. Out of 5 PNY 32gig SDHC cards it doesn't recognize any of them. Out of 3 random 8gig SDHC cards, it only reads one. Ironically made by PNY. I basically cut my losses and just keep the one 8gig card in it that does work and just use it as USB flash drive. I wouldn't recommend this thing to anyone. I've attempted reading from it under Windoze XP, 7, and Linux, with the same results every time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zeaner
Burlington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews