Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

23 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

23 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 20 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Not a bad phone for the price
6/26/2011

Customer review by Helidude20

4.0 stars 6/26/2011 by Helidude20
by Helidude20

I purchased this phone for my wife which was on a prepaid T-mobile account. I didn't have bad service with T-mobile but, for $45 unlimited everything really is too good to pass up. The phone itself is just a basic slider phone and voice calls sound pretty good. I had no issues activating/signing up on the straight talk website. Once you sign up you can get auto-refill charged to a debit card once a month for continued service. But, if you like you can still pick up a refill card from Walmart. You have the option to purchase 1,3,6,12 month cards online and I believe 1, 3 and 6 month cards in store. I did get charged a $0.50 E-911 fee for both the phone and servcie card ($1 total) when I purchased it. Surfing the web on this thing is "possible" but, don't expect a whole "iphone" experience.

Was this review helpful? (238) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Helidude20
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for texters and non-techies
11/28/2011

Customer review by Talonted

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Talonted
by Talonted

It's a good phone for the average person. If you want something high tech and fancy then you're not gonna want this. Web browsing works well enough depending on what your using it for, like I said, not high tech. It's really good for texting with the full keyboard, but limited space in the inbox. Talking is fine and you can text while doing it, as well as conference calls. Camera works good, especially for a cell phone camera but no flash, video's aren't as great for some reason. Sometimes has problems with randomly shutting off but not enough to be a bother, only once in a while, maybe 4-5 times total. It's great if you want something simple for talking and texting but if you want something with super fast web browsing and apps, your outta luck.

Was this review helpful? (68) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Talonted
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice, simple phone
1/8/2012

Customer review by HanaBana

4.0 stars 1/8/2012 by HanaBana
by HanaBana

I first bought a $200.00 phone from staighttalk, hoping it would be good enough for the money--it wasn't. So I returned it and got this one. It's a very simple phone, call clarity is fine, although I really wish the speakerphone was louder! It's great for texting, which is nice since that's what I use it for most. Mobile web isn't very easy to use, though it is fast. Overall I love my phone, and am pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HanaBana
Washington state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/6/2012

Customer review by abbiesmommy2007

1.0 stars 2/6/2012 by abbiesmommy2007
by abbiesmommy2007

The straight Talk Samsung phone is horrible!!! i have only had it for a couple couple months and the soun goes off when it feels like it and the phone turns off all the time by its self like when i try to get on the internet or send txt messages or ever make calls!! i was having a family emergency and needed to contact my family and couldn't because it kept turning off when i called!! i DO NOT RECOMMEND this phone AT ALL!!!! not to mention when to txt it will write the letter 3 or 4 times so u have to go back and erase them.

Was this review helpful? (34) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abbiesmommy2007
new york
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This phone is driving me crazy!
4/2/2012

Customer review by MzKelly

2.0 stars 4/2/2012 by MzKelly
by MzKelly

As soon as I can afford another phone, this one is in the garbage. I wouldnt even give it away! Everytime you try to type anything it types the letters/numbers 3-4 times. HHEEELLLLLOOOO! The screen is small and I have to wear reading glasses to read anything on the internet. It takes me 10 min to sign in on facebook! Im typing away and look up and there are 2 t's, 3 e's... GRRRRR! I hate it! The only thing this phone is good for is making calls. I pay for unlimited EVERYTHING... all I can do is call.. :(

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MzKelly
Jasper, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Phone! Great for work and communication
6/13/2012

Customer review by cybercrisis

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by cybercrisis
by cybercrisis

I have for the last 2 months been using Androids & Touchscreens. They are awful. The Androids & iPhones are more for games and browsing the internet. When you need to use a phone this is the best I've seen. Great for sending/recv pics, texting, and of course making calls. If you've had to use an android to talk with companies through a switchboard, or check your vm's multiple times a day like I do then you want one thing: (Hard Keys). If you're shopping for a phone for talk & text/mms pic messaging, this is the one to get..

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cybercrisis
Coeur d'Alene, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone!
3/3/2012

Customer review by Macc123

4.0 stars 3/3/2012 by Macc123
by Macc123

I bought this phone after 2 previous Straight Talk phones and I loved it! Unfortunatly I had to return this phone because the keyboard was loose from the front of the phone, and it kept shutting off. Other than that it was the BEST Straight Talk phone I've ever had! (I've had quite a few phones from Straight Talk.) The typing on this is great, the web is very fast, the applications are fast, and you get very good service everywhere! I love this phone an I'm thinking of buying it again! I would recommend this phone to everyone! Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Macc123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/15/2012

Customer review by starikwe

1.0 stars 5/15/2012 by starikwe
by starikwe

The WalMart OnLine Information states this phone will work in my zip code - we purchased - when trying to activate, the Straight Talk Rep said that this phone will not work in your zip code. We had to return it. The WalMart OnLine Information is incorrect. Wasted time and Wasted trip to drive to the nearest (70 miles away) Walmart to return this.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
starikwe
Red Lake Indian Reservation, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Terrible customer and internet service
6/9/2012

Customer review by me0911

1.0 stars 6/9/2012 by me0911
by me0911

their customer service is just awful. nobody can speak a word of english and they constantly put the customer on hold. i called 5 times for a simple problem with my sim card and received 5 different answers from each "represenative". i then asked to talk to a supervisor and the girl reluctanly said she was the supervisor and still couldn't get any help. i was on the phone for over 1 hour for nothing. i would never recommend straight talk to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
me0911
baltimore md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If you like picture messaging DO NOT BUY THIS!
3/29/2012

Customer review by Glhp

1.0 stars 3/29/2012 by Glhp
by Glhp

I purchased two of these a couple of months ago and recently activated the first one so we could try this out and test. The screen is very small, hard to read the text if you are trying to email and enter your address. The qwerty however is fantastic on this phone. Now regular letter text messaging works great, however if you like to send picture messages forget it. I tried for several hours to send/recieve picture messages and it just will not work. Also when bluetoothing it will allow you to send only very very small amounts of data. I tried out the internet on this and during the month I have had it hooked up was only able to reach the net once. It times out or errors out. I have a 15 second ringtone that I bluetooth to each new phone and while the phone actually accepts it, it goes out somewhere in space where you can not get at it or it is just not there. I am a very techy person and have been operating and selling cell phones for years so it is not a problem with the user, it is a phone thing. Something else I ran into was trying to pose a question to Smart Talk, they WILL NOT ANSWER. I was hoping to get away from the contract with ATT but not with this phone. For every pic and voice message I TRIED to send the deductions were made but the messages were not sent. If all you are after is a basic talk phone or basic text this will work, if you like ringtones, pics, internet or being able to read the fonts, forget it. Pros: Qwerty keyboard and basic calls Cons: Picture text, Bluetooth, Internet DO NOT WORK on this phone. Small letters when trying to enter email address, need a magnifying glass.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glhp
Tri Cities
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone for the price
6/3/2012

Customer review by SunnyNC123

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by SunnyNC123
by SunnyNC123

Love, love, love this phone! Purchased it just to have something simple for calls and texts, but I'm so thoroughly satisfied with it that I use the other features as well. For starters, the camera on this phone takes GREAT pictures. I used it to take pictures for my certification portfolio, and they came out excellent. You can't zoom while you're taking the picture, but you can zoom in once it's taken and saved, which worked just fine for me. Because of the picture quality of this phone, my portfolio had clear, sharp, colorful pictures. The voice recorder works great, too. Haven't figured out just yet how to record calls (not sure if it's a feature on this phone or not) while they're in process, but other than that, all I can say is positive things about this phone. So glad I made this purchase. Absolutely well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunnyNC123
Sunny NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/9/2012

Customer review by onearmbandit12

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by onearmbandit12
by onearmbandit12

this phone has done a good job for me,takes good pictures ,yes the web is a little slow,but shoot i have a computer for that,battery last time is great,i talked for more than a hour on just one power line,it only takes a minute and your full charged and ready to go, my boyfriends house has poor service,but this phone sure fights to help me stay in contact with my caller,lol,its a simple phone,but it does a good job

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onearmbandit12
Niles,Mich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not really good for the price tag...
3/15/2012

Customer review by coolcatlikethat

2.0 stars 3/15/2012 by coolcatlikethat
by coolcatlikethat

Okay, this phone isn't horrible, but it isn't good.. I would say it's at best a less than average phone. I've heard of more than one person having a problem with this phone. The camera is pretty good, the buttons feel kind of awkward though. My main problem is with the keyboard (AMAZING set up). Although, many of the keys either do not work unless you press them 10~15 times, and other times, they'll act like they've been pressed 2 or 3 times, I would not recommend this phone to anyone, unless I hated them.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coolcatlikethat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone for someone not good with touch screen
3/8/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/8/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this phone for my mother, she is 50 and not good at the touch screen thing. It took her a while to adjust to the new phone but it is a very nice phone I was very satisfied with the quality of the phone and esp. the camera. The unlimited $45.00 monthly pre-paid card, makes my momma happy and my wallet happy too!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
madisonville, kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I'm just learning this stuff and...
7/5/2012

Customer review by raptor8

4.0 stars 7/5/2012 by raptor8
by raptor8

this confuses the heck out of me, as they all do... I just need to get used to it... has all kinds of cool features, feels solidly built, battery lasts several days! camera is good, video OK in daylight. I have short, mechanic's thumbs so the qwerty keyboard is tough to use. AND don't even try to use the web on this- it is difficult and disappointing. UPSIDE: you can buy the $30.month plan if you don't use much internet. I can't hear the teeny speaker so must use the hands-free speaker all the time= annoying since I have to manually turn it on every time. OH- the instruction manual STINKS- best find a teenager who has a similar model to teach you! Next time I will step up to an android model of some type with a larger keyboard and louder speaker- this was all I could afford at the time. I see more teenagers with the android phones so they must be the 'thing to have'. more tutors that way too hehehe

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
raptor8
Bend OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
try another phone
3/27/2012

Customer review by shawneefuzzy

2.0 stars 3/27/2012 by shawneefuzzy
by shawneefuzzy

I wanted this phone because it had a higher grade camera and video but was still able to maintain the $30 plan. My mom told me she had a difficult time hearing me on this phone. I had a hard time hearing callers. I found it to be awkward and the qwerty was difficult to navigate. The service was much more limited than the Verizon coverage of the other straight talk phones. I switched to the Straight Talk Samsung R355C: which I would rate a five star- the sound it great and it is on Verizon so the service it much better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shawneefuzzy
Crofton, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Phone has issues
7/4/2012

Customer review by hvacman64

2.0 stars 7/4/2012 by hvacman64
by hvacman64

Like everything else you can get something good or lemons. I think I got a lemon. The phone shuts down and restarts by itself, usually in the middle of texting someone. When using the keyboard there is a delay in the text appearing on the screen. Also for some reason it wants to update the time about 3x's a day. I like slider phones, but this one is going back tomorrow for something different

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hvacman64
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Phone did not work
5/12/2012

Customer review by Tony1985

1.0 stars 5/12/2012 by Tony1985
by Tony1985

I ordered this phone directly from Straighttalk.com. It would not work at home, at work or at my parents house. All places my previous phone worked. I spent well over 2 hours with their customer service to find that they would ship me a new phone if i sent back this phone and paid shipping for both. Or i could send the phone back (at my expense ofcourse) and then wait 30days for a refund . If you want a brick this is for you! if you want a useable phone try something else these phones are trash!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tony1985
GTown VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this phone!
6/20/2012

Customer review by sonicboom2

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by sonicboom2
by sonicboom2

this phone get out great where we live....

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sonicboom2
amanda ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not a qreat phone
9/23/2011

Customer review by harajuku

1.0 stars 9/23/2011 by harajuku
by harajuku

i purchased this fone n july. was lovinq it, but den it started to fail. there are alot of thinqs that i dnt like about this fone and its super whack. wen someone leave me a voicemail, i cnt listen to it. sometimes i can. i dnt know if its the fone or straight talk. everytiime i put n my password dey would say that its wrong. but sometimes it go thru. this phone freezes up and shuts off wen i go to the internet. i deleted all my songs, and pictures thinking its alot of memory but come to the conclusion that its the fone. the camera is whack it has no flash, and the pictures come out blurry.! (at times) whenever u want to listen to the music u have to stay on that main screen u cant exit the menu like any other fone.! u cant put a signature on this phone, which is super lame.! i would prefer to not purchase this fone becuz its boring and its complicated.!! freezes up, shuts off, and the keys make loud irritating noises.!

Was this review helpful? (11) (131)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
harajuku
mississppi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day