Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 95 reviews
5 stars
73
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 79 reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
Expectations were surpassed
5/25/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
1) Surprisingly, it smells good to me 2) Works as expected to remove chlorine & any other build-up in your hair. 3) Arrived in good timing and in good shape; however, they do tape down the cap to make sure it doesn't leak in transport (if you order it online), which does sticky-up that area of the bottle. Alcohol did not remove the residue, but do try vegetable oil (I used grapeseed oil) as I did, and it worked. My experience: I recently moved and was concerned that our water is highly chlorinated here, as I could hardly comb through my thinning, medium-long, permed hair, even after using 2 kinds of hair conditioner after shampooing it. Also, it was looking all split. It felt like I had "gunk" in it and I actually couldn't comb it out completely. I couldn't figure out what was going on unless it was from chlorine in the water. So... I purchased this shampoo, and it works! I even got a compliment on my "beautiful hair" since using it. I'd recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Make a swimmer's hair easy to manage
8/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product does make my daughter's hair easy to manage. My daughter has black and fine hair. She swims 4+ days a week. The chlorine makes my daughter's hair all tangled. No matter how much conditioner I put it on her when I wash her hair after swimming, it still hurts my daughter a lot when I comb her wet hair. It also takes me a long time to untangled her hair. Also because of the chlorine, her hair changed to brown and gold color. I went online to search for shampoo to help my daughter and I found Ultraswim Moisturizing Chlorine Removal Shampoo which has high rating and low price. I ordered it on Walmart.com to gave it a try. I love it after the first use. My daughter's hair is so smooth. It is so easy for me to comb her hair. I notice her hair color doesn't go any lighter (still brown and gold). A small minus for this product is my daughter's hair get tangled a little bit and dry the next day of use this product. I apply the stay on conditioner on my daughter's hair. The problem is fixed. Over all, I love this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great
9/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Removes all the chlorine from hair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE IT!
7/16/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I take it to the local water parks and everywhere we swim.. leaves hair with a soft, gentle texture and removes all chlorine from the kids hair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT clarifying shampoo!!!!
8/22/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So I had literally JUST cut 2 inches off my hair 6 weeks ago when my hair began showing signs of damage and dryness, despite the fact that I don't use styling tools and ONLY use moisturizing products because my goal is long, silky, straight hair. A co-worker mentioned that our city water has a high level of chlorine in it, so I may want to consider getting a filter for my shower head. That's costly and you have to constantly keep up with changing out those filters! I thought I'd start cheap first and do a chlorine cleanse just to see if it made a difference. The price wasn't bad for this....$3.50ish at Walmart but it's a small bottle...but it's not made for every day use, either. It took me 3 times of 'washing' in a row to get a good suds going (which is shampoo, rinse, shampoo, rinse, shampoo and finally getting suds) which I think tells how much build-up I had in my hair (not just of chlorine...I think this shampoo is great for clarifying your hair, as well.) I also wanted a "better" conditioner so I looked down the aisle at conditioner ingredients...and was shocked to see that even the more expensive conditioners have some sort of alcohol as the second ingredient, which is very drying to hair. I chose the Maui Moisture line which is all natural (I'm not necessarily "into" all natural, but I didn't want any alcohol) so I did some research on switching from sulfate cleansers to all-natural. One statement that stuck out was about scratching your head and getting all that "dead skin" under your nails, which I totally did! Then "they" said that it's not dead skin cells---it's sulfates left over from the shampoo/conditioners. It must have been because I don't have that build-up now and I don't use any styling products (except I was using EVOO on my hair ends which I have since replaced with that Maui spray.) The google search also said that transitioning from sulfates to all-natural products takes an adjustment period because the all-naturals can't strip the sulfates out of your hair all at once--but I think this Ultra-Swim did! I've had no adjustment period and my scalp is clean as a whistle! I recommend this shampoo not just for cleansing chlorine, but as a clarifying shampoo every so often. You may have to suds up more than once if you have a lot of build-up, but it's SO worth it!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ULTRASWIM WORKED WITH MY 1ST USE!
8/2/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm a lifeguard and swim instructor for the summer and I have to get in the pool twice a day and then sit in the sun for hours. My hair was dry and the chlorine smell was IMPOSSIBLE to get out! I used Ultraswim shampoo and then the conditioner for the first time today and my hair is soft, it smells good, and it feels revived... after using it only once! I highly recommend this stuff- it's cheap, you can buy it at Walmart.com for even cheaper, and IT WORKS!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for removing green tint from hair
9/4/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a wonderful product. Anyone with highlights or blonde hair should own this product. It removes the greenish tint left in hair. Wether swimming or using tap water to shampoo eventually light hair will have a greenish tint from the chlorine in the water. This product will keep your highlights bright and green free. You will not find Utra Swim Shampoo or Conditioner at a better price anywhere.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Smells Weird
6/16/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This shampoo has a pretty floral scent at first. Once lathered up, it smells like the chemicals used to perm hair. It's a very strong odor and is not pleasant. The shampoo itself is thin but lathers well. It rinses out the chlorine well but I'm not crazy about the scent once lathered up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great for swimmers
1/6/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i am a swim coach. i love this stuff, because i have beautiful golden hair and i hate the green tint it gets and this stuff removes it! i recomend to all my students.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product work very well. I am in the pool ever day teaching classes and I generally smell of chlorine all day. I instatntly removes the chlorine from my head and well as all over. It can even be used to remove the residue from your swimsuit. Best ever.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
only chlorine removal shampoo that really works
8/17/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My husband swims several times a week for exercise. Before we found Ultra Swim, we tried several other so-called chlorine removal shampoos, but his hair remained discolored and difficult to manage. Now his hair is a beautiful white and combs easily. Because Ultra Swim shampoo is a seasonal product and he swims all year, I was thrilled to find that walmart.com had it, and for a very good price. I've stocked up so we'll have enough to last another year. The only fault I find with it is that it is generally not available year-round.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works wonders
7/11/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My girls are in the pool everyday. Their hair used to be like straw. But not since using this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good
6/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Good for swimmer
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ultra Swim
6/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My daughter swims 5 days a week and the chlorine was making her fine blonde hair very dry and unmanageable. She uses Ultra Swim on the days she swims, and her hair is back to soft and smooth, as well as no chlorine smell!!! Some reviewers have not liked the scent, but I love it! I highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/18/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I swim every day to keep in shape but due to the varying levels of chlorine and other chemicals in the pool my hair really suffers. I found a difference in my hair only after a few applications.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Value
1/3/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This shampoo works well, I haven't found anything that does a better job of removing the chlorine smell from my hair. Definitely have to use a conditioner too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product & price
8/5/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Excellent shampoo to get the chlorine out of my daughter's blonde hair. We've tried a number of products, but for the effectiveness and the price, we can't find anything better. The only drawback - the brick & mortar stores only carry it for a limited time, but purchasing it off of the website, combined with in-store pick-up, makes it all good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Original & best
3/20/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I discovered UltraSwim in 1988 when I joined my high school's swim team and my blond hair turned to unmanageable, greenish straw! It reversed the damage in just a few weeks (even as I continued to swim) and has been a trusted friend ever since. The products WORK, and there is no better value in hair care. Today I use UltraSwim shampoo and conditioner on my own hair and my two daughters', every time we swim. We currently swim only once a week, but I don't want to risk serious hair damage. Tip: If you swim daily and/or have fragile hair, wet your hair with tap water and put a cap on before you enter the pool. Remove the cap after you get out of the pool, and wash your hair with UltraSwim right away.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for chlorine smell. Bad for curly hair.
6/3/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
Ok, so I swim at the local YMCA regularly and I'm convinced they use pure Clorox because that pool has so much chlorine in there I can barely breathe. (I'm Joking, I know they don't use actual Clorox chlorine). Even after showering and shampooing twice, I would still smell like the pool all day. As far as smell goes, this stuff is great. It really gets rid of the chlorine smell from my hair and body (didn't do anything to help the suit). BUT it feels like a really harsh stripping shampoo. Maybe because I've got really curly hair and I need extra moisturizing? But I'm not getting the "softness" that others have mentioned. Also, I find this stuff really liquid. I know, it's a liquid, duh. But when I shampoo and condition, I pour the product into my hand before placing it on my hair so I can control the amount of product. As soon as I squirt it into my cupped hand, it runs right trough my fingers. It's like I'm just using water. I've never had a shampoo or conditioner (or body wash for that matter) that runs like this. I feel like it is a waste and I end up using more. Along the lines of using more - it doesn't foam up like normal shampoo, so I find I have to use extra product to get it to cover my whole head. Or maybe it is just because the product is so diluted that it isn't as effective? Ditto with the conditioner. This combined with the diluted nature means I'm going through a whole bottle a week (compared to one per month for my regular shampoo) for my just past shoulder length hair. I use it basically because it is the only thing out there that works for the chlorine smell that doesn't cost twenty bucks a bottle. So they win by default. Pros: * Gets rid of chlorine smell * It's the only "reasonably" priced chlorine removal shampoo out there Cons: * Doesn't help texture of curly hair - makes it frizzier * Very dilute - half of it runs down the drain * Need to use more (than regular shampoo) to get results * Because of last two concerns, you end up going through the bottles faster - so not cost effective (hence the "reasonably" priced comment above being in quotes)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great!
3/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My daughter had just started competitive swim again and I knew from past experience that I had to get this shampoo again! We love it! Tried to use regular shampoo when my kids were in swimming lessons in previous years and their hair turned into a straw like texture and we couldn't get a brush through it. It was an awful experience for them and myself. We are also going to try the conditioner, since her hair is longer this year. But I have been using this shampoo for years and love that it is $ 2.00 less a bottle at Walmart, than where I have been purchasing it from. Thanks Walmart, now if you could only get it at the Walmart store that is closer to me...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643949, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-