Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-12 of 12 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Fun game, does not deserve it's low rating!
10/3/2011

Customer review by thisismynicknamejustpost

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by thisismynicknamejustpost
by thisismynicknamejustpost

This game is exactly what I anticipated. Lots of zombies, some harder to kill than others, fun location, good graphics, unique weapons..plot is exactly what you would expect. You are on an island and zombies are taking over. You and a group of survivors try to survive and find your way off the island. If you expect anything else from a game called Dead Island, you aren't very bright. The game saves flawlessly when you complete a mission. If you turn the game off before completing your current mission, it will not save that data and you will have to replay that mission. This is true with most games. Overall, this game is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thisismynicknamejustpost
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Finally a game worth buying on release date
10/29/2011

Customer review by Reziek

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by Reziek
by Reziek

This game is all about creating weapons and bashing zombies heads in. The storyline is ok, the cut scenes with the main characters are poor at best and often make you wish they were zombies so you could bash them. The game has a fair amount of guns but you don’t really get your hands on any until halfway through the game and ammo is very limited. The game levels up like Fallout: New Vegas just not as quick. You are able to pick a skill with each level up, some are rewarding and some are useless. Each playable character has their own set of skills. The game is a lot of fun and has a lot of reply value, just skip on by the cut scenes. The sewer and prison areas are the least fun areas of the game. Well worth $50.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reziek
Oswego, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Zombielands
10/4/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/4/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My review in short is that Dead Island is essentially a melee-focused Borderlands with a touch of Condemned: Criminal Origins. The quests, the big open areas, the variety in weapons, and the skill trees are all there for anyone already familiar with the four heroes of Pandora. While this game lacks the tongue-in-cheek element (which is honestly a bit disappointing), the gameplay is solid. Splatting a zombie's head is oh-so-satisfying (particularly the screaming infected), and jump-kicking a zombie never gets old. Much like condemned, the melee combat has a very visceral feel to it; when you hit a zombie with a sledgehammer or a boat paddle, it has a lot of impact. You can also slice of parts with sharper weapons, or throw whatever you're holding with ease. You can upgrade weapons with various bits and bobs you'll find around the island. Saints Row taught us that a baseball bat = fun, but a baseball bat with nails or bolts or fire is even more so. Since you can repair most weapons (anything beyond basic paddles and pipes), Dead Island allows you to tailor your arsenal to your own preferences. There is a fair bit of repetition (much as in Borderlands), and only a handful of enemy types. There is also a lengthy sewer section that is ... well, what most gamers would expect from a sewer level. Still, I found myself enthralled with the vibrant colors of the resort, a fair relief from the deluge of brown and grey that seems to infect most FPS games in this day and age. It's not all swinging in the sun, however. The story is the usual b-movie tripe; the four heroes aren't very compelling, and certianly aren't relatable, and the attempts at Drama are laughable at best. Dead Island also has some of the worst accents I've seen in modern games ... but anyone familiar with zombie games (and survival horror as a whole) is probably used to a fair amount of cheese, and won't be bothered by it. The enemies increase in level as you do, which I must admit I didn't care for, but did always keep even the lowliest walker a threat. In addition, the gunplay is a bit lacking; you can't hold many bullets, making the decision to carry a gun a tactical one. On the other hand, bullets are considerably more effective against human enemies, who usually carry plenty of extra ammo to replenish your stores. (I should note that I've yet to find a shotgun). Still, I find myself selling off handguns in favor of better melee weapons. All in all, Dead Island is a good game. Not great, not bad, but good. Shooter fanatics will feel it wanting, but a balanced gamer will enjoy this, particularly with friends ... again, much like Borderlands. If you're looking for a game that lets you bust some zombie heads, Dead Island will give you your fix. Now if you'll excuse me, I need to go sharpen my machete.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The Game is being Fix
10/6/2011

Customer review by MrDisturbMind

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by MrDisturbMind
by MrDisturbMind

Yes this game have some problem, and yes it is some times game breaking, but I still enjoy it. The story is not good, but its not bad either. This game fun and the developers is trying hard to fix all the glitches so that it can be the game that everybody expected.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrDisturbMind
Panama,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
There goes my social life.
3/22/2012

Customer review by skbjbb

5.0 stars 3/22/2012 by skbjbb
by skbjbb

I have always been obsessed with pretty much all things zombie, but had no idea how much this game was going to take over my life. It looks amazing and is very addictive. The attention to detail blew my mind. I have forced some friends to get it so that they can play with me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skbjbb
Everett, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
just an RPG with zombies
10/10/2011

Customer review by Will1155

3.0 stars 10/10/2011 by Will1155
by Will1155

its not a bad game. has some multiplayer problems at times (lagging, freezing, losing items when giving) but theyre not too common. if you like zombies, customizing weapons, and an rpg style level system its for you. i dont get the big hype over it, but its a decent game

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Will1155
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good show but not good tell
12/4/2011

Customer review by TecknoRed

2.0 stars 12/4/2011 by TecknoRed
by TecknoRed

Now I didnt buy this game due to price of $60.00. so i went to a red box an rent it. First played the game I like the work they did an the idea zombie all around. I beleave this whoud beat other zombie game.. till you get deeper into the game. it a very very hard game. now I was more hoping it was like borderland feel of the game like it go normal then hard but no it put you on hard more an you will die alot in this game. Yes I knew i whoud die in the game at least 10 to 15 time per area but when you get into Act II you will die alot an im not joking. when i manage to beat act II an I return it. for people who love Very Hard game go for it but for the price they ask for. Wait till it lower it will drop to $20.00 bucks or less. now for the music, acting, an the look of a game. It more of a Show than a Game an it more to sell for it look than for it gameplay

Was this review helpful? (1) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TecknoRed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
I traded it in for Resistance 3
9/29/2011

Customer review by pariah352

4.0 stars 9/29/2011 by pariah352
by pariah352

It looked alright just not too into zombie games.Heard lots about it so I pre-ordered it.Nothing too horriable other than tons of flesh rippers without ammo.I did however trade it in for resistance 3 .I don't really know much about dead island other than it appears to be as good as resident evil's saga.Forgive my lack of input on this paticular subject.Evidently too much is not enough.

Was this review helpful? (2) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pariah352
Marietta
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/11/2011

Customer review by Myth1026

1.0 stars 9/11/2011 by Myth1026
by Myth1026

At first glance I and many others have thought this game was going to be great! Another survival Zombie game that wasn't and repetitive as Dead Rising and its not. The Story line and game play is great but with fatal flaws that deep silver claims to have fixed and haven't. For instance its the weekend your up all night playing you finally get tired and turn the game off as there is no manual way to save progress. Only to wake up the next day to find that your progress didn't save and your back to where you started from. The save feature in this game is hit and miss at best if you feel like wasting your time on a game that may or may not save then by all means this is the game for you. Deep silver claims that the co-op experience is seamless it to is flawed as some users can not join your game because of patching issues. Some peoples games wont even update and with all the screams and complaints of customers around the world all deep silver can say is "There's no ETA on when the fixes for these issues will be out." However if you can stomach the fatal flaws of this game then buy it smash zombies with out abandon but if you are like me and many others. Save your money until the game is fixed.

Was this review helpful? (19) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Myth1026
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/16/2011

Customer review by BurdenOfsociety

1.0 stars 9/16/2011 by BurdenOfsociety
by BurdenOfsociety

got this game because of all the hype saying it was good, IMO the game was not good, really boring story, the side quests are wierd, example: one side quest you have to do is a girl that looks like shes 30 and wants her teddy bear back..... from her room... across the island. the game is good as far as the wepons, you dont get guns when you start off. but the game is crazy glitchy and slow moving. 1 star for me

Was this review helpful? (3) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BurdenOfsociety
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best game ever.
5/24/2012

Customer review by productanalyst

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by productanalyst
by productanalyst

If u watch zombie movies, this game is more intense than anything with zombies. Great graphics and setting, plenty to do and see. I can't stress this enough, the game is amazing and will have u on the edge of your seat every second. Buy this game.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
productanalyst
orange county, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
pretty good zombie game
2/19/2014

Customer review by TillyBeans68

4.0 stars 2/19/2014 by TillyBeans68
by TillyBeans68

have been playing this game since I got it lol pretty good game

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TillyBeans68
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.