Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 215 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

215 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

215 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
126
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
62
1-20 of 215 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 215 total reviews
1-20 of 215 reviews
Twice the price for low quality paper in the tape but glue does give edgelock
2/7/2012

Customer review by Camino

1.0 stars 2/7/2012 by Camino
by Camino

I have used Scotch products from the early 70's as they were the best for painting a car. I was aware of the short tape life with the standard yellow tape and never left it on for more than a couple of days. I started using the blue tape while painting my house. It solved the tape life problem but didn't have the grip of the yellow. Now, 3M has the "Edge-Lock Blue" and at twice the price but didn't use a high quality paper for the tape. Why? The edge-lock works very well but the product quality is poor because the paper is so weak. It tears as it is being pulled off the roll or worse yet, when removing it after painting. Because the tape tears so easily, it take hours to remove and all the benefit is lost just because of a very low quality paper. Please note I have used about a dozen rolls of edge-lock tape and some rolls (the one I'm using now) cannot even be removed from the roll in one continuous length (this forced a review). My disappointment is with a brand I used to trust as the best.

Comment from - 2/13/2012

Thank you for taking the time to give a Rating & Review to our ScotchBlue(TM) Painter's Tape for Advanced Surfaces 2093. We would not expect any of our tapes to sliver or tear off the roll or off the surface it has been applied to. If this occurs we would ask you contact us directly at www.scotchblue.com or at 800-537-9514 M-F 7:00 am to 6:00 pm CST so we can further assist. We would also like to recommend looking into our Automotive Tapes we have available. Over the last several years many tapes have been added to the line-up to allow longer application time and the ability to paint fine lines or even pinstripes. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our product! You can also expect an email from us shortly to follow up.

Camino
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pulled off flat satin paint
5/16/2016

Customer review by paint_redo_pains

1.0 stars 5/16/2016 by paint_redo_pains
by paint_redo_pains

We bought the 2093EL from your standard box store...we applied to our walls with the hope of creating clean lines between other walls and the ceiling. All the walls (including ceiling) were previously professionally painted about two weeks ago. We tackled what we thought was an "easy room". We prepped the walls, taped, primed, then began painting. The tape was on the wall ~30hours and on the ceiling maybe 6 hours. In the photos are the result of taking the tape off (with using a scoring knife). The walls had the prior paint taken off near the edges, the ceiling pretty much any surface the tape touched. The ceiling had no texture and just a regular flat, white interior latex paint. Pretty disappointed since we just had the ceilings and other walls professional painted...

Comment from Social Engagement - 5/18/2016

Thanks for sharing your review on our ScotchBlue™ Painter's Tape Multi-Surface. We're so sorry for the trouble you've had! We'd like the opportunity to connect with you directly so we can assist with a resolution. If you call 800-494-3552 and mention case number 6521149, whomever you speak with will have access to all of the information and photos you've shared so far. Thank you!

paint_redo_pains
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wouldn't stay
6/25/2016

Customer review by Closet choas

1.0 stars 6/25/2016 by Closet choas
by Closet choas

The tape would roll off everytime. No matter what I did it wouldn't stay. Horrible

Comment from Social Engagement - 6/28/2016

Thanks for your review of our ScotchBlue™ Painter's Tape Multi-Surface with Advanced Edge-Lock™. We're sorry you've run into this issue. We'd like to connect directly to learn more and offer potential resolutions. Please call our team at 800-494-3552. Thank you!

Closet choas
1 products, many surfaces
2/23/2012

Customer review by StaceyAnnUSA

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by StaceyAnnUSA
by StaceyAnnUSA

We bought our 1st house and it's a fixer-upper. From paint in everyroom to new flooring, fixing and removing walls, you name it, we've done it or are planning to do it. We used Scotch Blue Painters Tape w/ Edge Lock in everyroom with great success! Clean lines, easy to apply & remove. The 1 and only time the paint "leaked" was when it wasn't pressed to the wall completely, opperator error. We've used Scotch Blue Painters Tape w/ Edge Lock to protect window & door trim, floors, and ceilings. I love that it comes in different size widths. Wouldn't use anything else! Helpfull Hint: Use Scotch Blue w/ Edge Lock to create your clean & sharp paint line, then use Regular Scotch Blue Tape to fatten your tape coverage. If you can be a messy painter like me, you want a thick tape edge to protect your surface. Simply apply the Regular Scotch Blue Tape, overlapping the Edge Lock; now you have a thicker protection area & you saved money doing it. (Scotch Regular Painters Tape is less expensive than the Edge Lock Tape)

StaceyAnnUSA
Livonia, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
6/11/2016

Customer review by Rlynn

1.0 stars 6/11/2016 by Rlynn
by Rlynn

My boyfriend bought this tape to do his bedroom and when we pealed it off it started ripping the paint off. He now has to spend more money on paint and redo his whole room because of this tape!! I would not recommend this product to anyone!!

Comment from ScotchBlue Brand - 6/14/2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your picture and leave your review. We would not expect paint pull from wood or walls as long as the paint it was placed on was 30 days old or older. When damages do occur we would ask customers contact our team for assistance at 1.800.537.9514 M-F 8am-5pm CT. Please know we will be sending you a direct e-mail offering further assistance.

Rlynn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Ripped paint off of the wall
6/4/2016

Customer review by SJS7

1.0 stars 6/4/2016 by SJS7
by SJS7

I was painting trim with a small brush, and so I wanted a narrower tape to use. I found this and decided to try it. When I removed it, it took a large strip of paint off of the wall with it, to the point where I now have to sand and repaint that entire section of the wall. When I retape the area, I'm going back to frog tape, which has yet to fail me since I started painting my house last year.

Comment from Social Engagement - 6/6/2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our ScotchBlue™ Painter's Tape Multi-Surface with Advanced Edge-Lock™. We're so sorry for the frustrating experience you've had. Due to the details you describe, our team can be most helpful with possible refunds or damage reimbursements if you call us directly at 800-494-3552. Thank you!

SJS7
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not for highly textured walls
6/28/2012

Customer review by Penni

3.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Penni
by Penni

I just recently decided to paint a frame, mat, and background for my family pictures. My house is very open, and because of this is painted a universal pale beige. When we had our family pictures taken and framed, I lived in a different house, so they were all framed in white. They were great against a medium jade wall, and popped beautifully. White frames against the current house walls looked awful, hence my decision to paint a frame for them. I marked off the areas to be framed with your tape, pressed the tape into the textures as hard as I could, then painted a brown frame, and a background color. The result is a rather uniform fuzzy edge all around the pictures. It's kind of like an eye test, if you squint. After I finished it and pulled the tape off, at first I was disappointed - then the result began to grow on me. Now I like it, but if I had known beforehand, I think I would have spackled the texture out of the frame, then used the tape. I could send you a picture if you want - it is kind of interesting.

Penni
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not good. Use the old tape.
5/7/2016

Customer review by Fred

1.0 stars 5/7/2016 by Fred
by Fred

I bought 2 new rolls of scotch blue 2093EL. I taped the room in the morning, taping over paint that had dried for about 36 hours. I came back 4 hours later to paint. Most of the tape had pulled away from the wall. I re-seated most of it, but had to hold off on painting until the next day. Regrettably it pulled away again. I pulled all of it off and retaped with Scotch blue original 2090 which I have used for years without any problems. I will stick with the original scotch blue from now on. .

Comment from Social Engagement - 5/10/2016

Hi Fred, Thanks for taking the time to review our ScotchBlue™ Painter's Tape 2093EL. We're so sorry to hear about the adhesion issues that you had. We'd like the chance to make this right by sending you two replacement rolls of ourScotchBlue™ Painter's Tape 2090. We've sent you a direct email with more info. Thank you!

Fred
Malibu, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
not the old quality...
3/30/2016

Customer review by Desert Rat

3.0 stars 3/30/2016 by Desert Rat
by Desert Rat

What happened? I started with an "old" roll of 2090 Scotch-Blue that I had for a project last year.Well, I couldn't pull more than 8 - 12 inches before it tore itself in that infuriating "V". This hadn't happened with your tape before - the cheap brands, yes it happens all the time. Thought it was just old, so I opened a brand new Scotch-Blue 2093 roll. The same thing happened. Not only that, but I couldn't get the pieces to stick together as I masked off the door frame. I've been doing my own DIY painting for over 40 years and the new stuff just isn't the same quality as the old khaki colored masking tape available at the corner hardware store. Just saying...

Comment from Social Engagement - 4/25/2016

Thanks for taking the time to share your review on our ScotchBlue™ Painter's Tape Multi-Surface. We apologize for the frustration you've experienced with our tape. The formula for this adhesive hasn't changed and we wouldn't expect the kind of slivering you're seeing on these rolls. We'd like the opportunity to make this right with either a refund or a replacement. If you're interested, please email socialmedia@mmm.com with a full name and mailing address along with your resolution preference. Please include case number 6492457 in the subject line. Thank you!

Desert Rat
Ridgecrest, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
ScotchBlue actually works!
7/27/2012

Customer review by Keit

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by Keit
by Keit

I am in the process of painting my entire house, nothing fancy just updating. I bought the green tape because I didn't think there was really any difference between paint tapes. About 9pm one evening I finished measuring and taping a line around the bathroom wall. I gave orders that no showers were to be taken until I finished painting, I didn't want extra moisture in the room. I planned to start painting in the morning. At 7am the tape was hanging or had fallen off the wall completely! So much time wasted! I bought ScotchBlue and retaped the whole room. I forgot to give orders for no showers so the room had a good dose of extra moisture that night. The next morning the tape was still perfect! I didn't get around to painting until the next day and the tape was still in place! I ended up needing 2 coats but the ScotchBlue not only stayed in place the entire time, it came off perfectly when I was finished. Great tape!

Keit
London, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EDGE LOCK? I DON'T THINK SO - GARBAGE
2/10/2016

Customer review by Remodeler

1.0 stars 2/10/2016 by Remodeler
by Remodeler

bought this tape specifically for the "edge lock" so we could get nice crisp lines but ended up with lots of bleed through and the tape peeling up before i even finished. Surface is a textured painted wall in the living room, surface was prepped (dusted and wiped before taping) and tape was laid flat not pulled tight. Then I went over the edge again, making sure to push the tape firmly to seal the edge against the texture. By the time I got to the other end of the wall - (30 mins) the tape was peeling up from the edge, I reapplied pressure to the edge of the tape but still got bleed through. I ended up correcting the problem by simply cutting in the edge by hand - this tape is garbage. Definitely not worth their premium price - the cheap masking tape works best, lesson learned.

Comment from Anonymous - 2/12/2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our ScotchBlue™ Painter's Tape Multi-Surface with Advanced Edge-Lock™. We apologize for the frustration here. We've passed along your comments to our development team, but our tech team would like to hear more from you in order to provide possible reasoning or resolutions for your experience. If you're interested in discussing this further, please call us directly at 800-494-3552 and mention case number 6404161. We've also sent this information via email. Thanks!

Remodeler
Boise, ID, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Disappointed
4/21/2016

Customer review by Trebor

1.0 stars 4/21/2016 by Trebor
by Trebor

Use this tape on Primed drywall around my windows, doors and floor moulding and it pulled the paper off the dry wall in numerous spots. Now I have to go back and spackle all the spots

Comment from Social Engagement - 4/25/2016

Thanks for your review on our ScotchBlue™ Painter's Tape Multi-Surface. We appreciate your feedback, but apologize for the frustration. Our team would like the chance to connect with you directly to learn more about your experience and how we can help. Please call 800-494-3552 and mention case number 6492507 in your call. Thank you!

Trebor
New Jersey
Gender:Male
Best tape ever used
2/24/2012

Customer review by srpapercrafter

5.0 stars 2/24/2012 by srpapercrafter
by srpapercrafter

I love to paint but not having to prep. I decided I was going to paint our bedroom and it's a good size. I was diligent in prepping with the scotch blue edge lock tape and it was alot quicker than I've ever experienced. Once I started painting I was so happy at how nice the edges came out when I took the tape off. Had to use alot of it as we have two windows and 3 doorways in our room. Plus we have popcorn ceilings with cheap molding at ceiling. We have a manufactured home and alot of the choices for finishes were not mine, they came with the house. With the edge lock I didn't have to go back to fix my mess ups which there are usually a good amount. It was a bit more expensive than other prep tapes but well worth the money. I will only use Scotch blue edge lock tape from now on. This tape will work well when I paint furniture also which is one of my next projects. Thanks for such a great product.

srpapercrafter
Loma, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Very Disappointed
3/7/2016

Customer review by pkinaz

1.0 stars 3/7/2016 by pkinaz
by pkinaz

I used this tape to mask off the ceiling when I painted the walls. I taped one night and went to paint the next day, a lot of the tape had come unstuck. After starting over again I was disappointed when the "edge lock" failed, I had to go around the room and touch up the ceiling in too many places. Also I used it to mask of a window frame and it would not even stay stuck to it. I have used blue painters tape for years and I was excited to try this tape and even paid more than the competitor to try it. I don't like it and I am not likely to use it again.

Comment from Social Engagement - 3/9/2016

Thanks for your review. We're sorry you've run into this issue. We'd like to connect directly to learn more and offer potential resolutions. Please call our team at 800-494-3552. Thank you!

pkinaz
Gilbert, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Caused Damage
2/7/2016

Customer review by CJHA

1.0 stars 2/7/2016 by CJHA
by CJHA

For some reason this tape either ripped the paint off my trim, or when I was trying to remove the tape, the tape would rip where there was paint on it. Then, I had to pick at the remaining tape and break my nails to get it off. At one point I had to use a razor blade to get the remaining tape off. We just had our windows and trim professionally painted, so now it all needs fixed. Never again. I went online to see if maybe this type of tape wasn't supposed to be used on trim, but it clearly states that it works great on trim and doesn't cause damage.

Comment from Anonymous - 2/9/2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our ScotchBlue™ Painter's Tape Multi-Surface with Advanced Edge-Lock. We apologize for the frustration here. We've passed along your comments to our development team. Because this isn't expected performance, our tech team would like the opportunity to connect directly to offer possible reasoning and resolutions, including refunds or damage reimbursements, for your experience. If you're interested in discussing this further, please call us directly at 800-494-3552 and mention case number 6400012. We've also sent this information to you directly via email. Thanks!

CJHA
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Tape application is frustrating.
1/30/2014

Customer review by November99

2.0 stars 1/30/2014 by November99
by November99

This is the first time I have used this product and it has been a very frustrating experience. The two issues I encountered were: 1) Tape kept ripping in a jagged fashion nearly every time I tried to pull a length to apply to the room trim. It would rip off of the roll before I could cleanly tear it off. That necessitated stopping application to use my fingernails to lift the jagged edges left on the roll to once again start with a clean straight edge for the next application. 2) Tape curls very quickly when I pulled a length (I was working in lengths of 8 - 12 inches) and probably 25 percent of the time I was unable to unwind the curl to use that end of the tape. I had to rip that part off and pitch it. The tape does stick well and I'm sure the results will be worthy of a satisfactory rating but the application experience has definitely been sub-par.

Comment from - 2/5/2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your Rating and Review of the ScotchBlue™ Painter's Tape Advanced Multi-Surface with Edge-Lock 2093EL. We are sorry to hear about the trouble you are having with the actual removal of the product from the roll and also having the product to stick to your surfaces without curling. Please know that this can occur when you are pulling the tape off the roll and stretching the actual tape material as you are trying to apply it to the surface. The tape may start to curl and lift as it is pulling back into place. We are happy to work with you to get a possible replacement roll for the one that you are having difficulty with. Please watch for a direct email reply from us. Thank you again.

November99
Pittsburgh PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Does not work!
2/20/2016

Customer review by Nothappy

1.0 stars 2/20/2016 by Nothappy
by Nothappy

I have been in the process of painting of my house for over a year, I have tried a variety of tapes and was always recommended to use the Scotch Blue, however, no matter how hard I try to get it "sealed" on the edges, I wind up with paint splotches and leaks preventing any shred of a straight line and hours of work ahead of me to correct it :(.

Comment from Anonymous - 2/22/2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our ScotchBlue™ Painter's Tape Multi-Surface with Advanced Edge-Lock™. We apologize for the frustration here. We've passed along your comments to our development team, but our tech team would like to hear more from you in order to provide possible reasoning or resolutions for your experience. We've emailed you directly to connect about this. Thanks!

Nothappy
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product has NO STICKING POWER
1/30/2015

Customer review by szq77

1.0 stars 1/30/2015 by szq77
by szq77

I am remodeling my kitchen and painting the trim on my porch. The blue painters tape used in my kitchen stuck so that after then paint dried and I pulled off the tape, off came the paint in sheets. So now I am repainting the trim on my porch. Home Depot offers a new Scotch Blue painters tape with Edge Lock Protection. I am up early to prep, mask off the entire porch and as I am proceeding to the next wall, down comes the tape. I am using masking tape to hold up the painters tape. This tape has no sticking power and costs about $2.00 more. Weather conditions are perfect. Not too cold and not too hot or damp. I am sorely disappointed in this product. after Ran to Home Depot to buy painter's tape. I experienced this non-stick with two roles of this tape. I can honestly say DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT!!! Suze Amell, Orlando, Florida

szq77
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Don't leave it on too long
9/25/2012

Customer review by RustyOldCoot

3.0 stars 9/25/2012 by RustyOldCoot
by RustyOldCoot

I was using this tape on some 6 panel doors that I was staining and finishing. I am doing one side of the door at a time - stain, flip, stain, flip, finish coats, flip, finish coats. Because of some unrelated circumstances, I had to abandon that project for a couple months. The doors were in a room kept at 78 degrees. I had stained both sides and was in the process of doing finish coats on the first side. The bottom side edges were taped so that any runs would be confined to the edge of the door. When I returned to the work, the tape was bonded to the stained wood and left a lot of residue. It was very hard to peel off. I have inspected the packaging on another roll of the same tape, and you really have to read the fine print to find the "14 day" disclaimer. Sure would have been nice to have that featured more prominently on the packaging. In fact, it should be called "14 day tape" or "60 day tape". This has been an expensive and frustrating lesson to learn for me. Now I'm combing the web site trying to find tips on how to get the glue off of my stained doors without damaging the doors and I can find nothing. Guess I'll have to call customer service.

RustyOldCoot
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not worth the price
1/23/2016

Customer review by tmat32

1.0 stars 1/23/2016 by tmat32
by tmat32

We spent hours taping the walls and base boards prepping for caulk and paint on the baseboards. The tape was peeling off every surface before we were done taping. Had to resort to plain old masking tape to get the job done.

Comment from Anonymous - 1/25/2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our ScotchBlue™ Painter's Tape Multi-Surface with Advanced Edge-Lock™. We apologize for the frustration here. We've passed along your comments to our development team, but our tech team would like to hear more from you in order to provide possible reasoning or resolutions for your experience. We've sent you an email with information about how to get in contact with us. Thank you!

tmat32
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 215 total reviews
1-20 of 215 reviews