Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1839 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1839 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1839 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1082
4 stars
526
3 stars
96
2 stars
36
1 stars
99
1-20 of 1589 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1589 total reviews
1-20 of 1589 reviews
Great Household Paper Shredder
8/17/2013

Customer review by ApplianceShop

5.0 stars 8/17/2013 by ApplianceShop
by ApplianceShop

Have only had this paper shredder for about a week but so far I have shredded about 3 shopping bags full of old papers and statements that I wanted to dispose of safely. My old shredder died and it took a while to find a decent shredder at a good price. I would only put a few pages of thin paper at a time or one thick. Do not try to overload the shredder, it is not meant for that. If you just load a few pages at a time it will do a great job. If you do it that way it will run so smooth that the basket will fill up quickly. You may want to make sure you turn off or unplug the shredder before you empty and make sure you have something to put the shredded paper in and maybe do it over some newspaper, drop cloth or trashbag because if the basket is too full when you pull the shredder off the basket you will have paper all over. Have not had any paper jams or any problems with shredder and have done about 3 shopping bags full of shredded paper so far. It is a great shredder for household use for the price. So far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (323) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ApplianceShop
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for Light Use
7/1/2011

Customer review by EzyA

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by EzyA
by EzyA

I got this because I was tired of remembering to take my documents into the office to shred. It arrived within a week and was surprisingly smaller than I expected. I don't mind though, it fits perfectly in a corner near my desk and the power cord is long enough to reach my central power strip. Don't let its size fool you-this shredder is a regular work horse. It shreds very efficiently and though I haven't used the credit card feature, I'm sure that would work well. Don't feed it more than 6 sheets at a time though-when they say 6 sheets, they mean it. The only con I can think of is that it's very loud and since I'm a night owl, this can be a problem for my neighbours. All in all a good shredder that perfectly meets my needs

Was this review helpful? (578) (77)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EzyA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Top 1000 contributor
Great shredder
9/26/2013

Customer review by Grannyleigh11

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by Grannyleigh11
by Grannyleigh11

I was going to purchase another pricey shredder when mine died. I read the reviews on this one and couldn't believe the good reviews for such a reasonably priced shredder. When this was delivered, I was blown away. It was smaller than I expected, but believe me it works fantastically. I love the way the opening is, much easier to push papers into machine. This shredder works faster and cleaner than my expensive one that I have upstairs. I have an office in the garage and this shredder now sits on a short TV stand and is right there to shred all the junk mail and envelopes. I also love that you can snap down the cover over the opening. I really love this machine and am so glad I decided to save a lot of money. Even though the basket is not large, it is very easy to empty.....especially if you use a grocery bag to line it. I would definitely recommend this product to everyone, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (181) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grannyleigh11
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good basic shredder
7/5/2011

Customer review by LOCKERLAD

4.0 stars 7/5/2011 by LOCKERLAD
by LOCKERLAD

Good basic shredder, especially for the price

Was this review helpful? (167) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LOCKERLAD
CHATTANOOGA, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good little machine
1/9/2014

Customer review by llwilliams41

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by llwilliams41
by llwilliams41

I was a little doubtful when I bought it but have been very pleased. I work from home and shred a lot of confidential information. This works well and doesn't require a lot of space. By the way, you do NOT have to buy the oil for a shredder; directions included say a couple of drops of vegetable oil or even an oil spray will work fine.

Was this review helpful? (82) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
llwilliams41
Friendswood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/3/2011

Customer review by caregiver123

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by caregiver123
by caregiver123

This shredder does the job just fine.

Was this review helpful? (124) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
caregiver123
Minneapolis , MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Excellent Product!
7/3/2011

Customer review by cooljool

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by cooljool
by cooljool

This is a great paper shredder and a five-star value. It is easy to use and works very, very well. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (216) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cooljool
Buford, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Terrific shredder at any price.
1/23/2014

Customer review by jb2014

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by jb2014
by jb2014

This shredder blew me away. I am a first-time shredder owner, and I now appreciate the convenience of easily disposing of no longer needed checking account, credit account, and tax records. No more accumulating huge mounds of the stuff; just periodically dispose of them as required without worry of identity theft or invasion of privacy. This shredder does the job efficiently and safely. Accepts full size paper sheets (up to six sheets at a time) and credit cards (one at a time). It also handles stapled sheets (small staples). A viewing window lets you know when the shredder bucket is full. I put this shredder through the paces with a huge backlog of old records and it handled them all with aplomb. It never overheated (it has a thermal overload shutoff), although I was careful not to overdo it. Normally, I feed an average of three sheets at a time, which this shredder easily handles. At a price of $25, it is a totally unbelievable value for the home office.

Was this review helpful? (165) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jb2014
Frankfort, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inexpensive but functional
9/2/2013

Customer review by mikemi1951

3.0 stars 9/2/2013 by mikemi1951
by mikemi1951

This shredder works OK. It has cautions about envelopes especially window envelopes which I didn't understand. When they say 6 sheets the unit struggles at that number. Better to use a maximum of 4 sheets. The opening through which to plce the paper is very small as is the unit itself. You have to be accurate to get paper into the slot. The noise is for me normal which is to say loud. If you live in an apartment or condo be careful about the time of day or evening. It will take on staples but I recycle my paperclips so I have not tried them. As I mentioned earlier the unit is very small thus the basket is small and you will find yourself frequently emptying it often. There is a small window to tell you when you are near capacity. The unit is very short but too tall to put on a table or desk to be used comfortably. On the floor you will find yourself bending over often. Maybe that could be a kind of situp!

Was this review helpful? (101) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikemi1951
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/29/2011

Customer review by MidoriDS

1.0 stars 8/29/2011 by MidoriDS
by MidoriDS

This is the cheapest paper shredder I can find anywhere that's a good value. The reason I'm giving this one star is because it's impossible to clean or dislodge a jam. The set up with the "safe shred" guard on the top is just clunky and frustrating. Instead of a typical shredder where there's an open slot to feed paper into, there is a plastic guard on this one that you need to click open once to activate the shredder. You feed paper in at an angle instead of upright. If you click the guard back too far the shredder shuts itself off. I made the mistake of shredding a small envelope that was 6 layers thick (yes, I counted) and a chunk of it got stuck. Reverse got it out of the blades, but now it is stuck above the blades and below the opening. Since you can only get into the opening so far because of the "safe shred" guard, you simply can't dislodge the blockage! Also the shredder opening is so thin you can't put anything down in there to dislodge the paper either. The blades still turn, but the paper is blocking the blades so you can't feed anything into it. This shredder is great if you only feed it one piece of paper at a time, which admittedly, is what it's designed for. Do not chance it and try to shred anything thicker then 6 sheets of printer paper. I didn't think my envelope was too thick but I guess it was. My more expensive shredder would clog from time to time, but it was always easy to dislodge a jam. So beware, if you ever feed it too many papers, or 6 papers that are slightly thick, it WILL clog and you WILL NOT be able to clean it out, rendering it completely unusable. Too touchy for my tastes. I'm returning this one to spend an extra 30 bucks and get a more powerful shredder without the child proof frustration. If you are looking to shred junk mail look elsewhere, unless you want to open each envelope and feed it papers one at a time. If you are looking for a single document shredder, then look no further.

Was this review helpful? (95) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MidoriDS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Home Office Schredder
1/7/2014

Customer review by MsNativeAmerican

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by MsNativeAmerican
by MsNativeAmerican

I purchased this shredder to replace my old Aurora brand shredder which provided excellent service for over nine years. It would have probably lasted longer if I had not tried to shred all three years of old tax documents in one afternoon... We have owned this new Aurora shredder for less than a month and basically use it almost daily to shred documents and bill statements. I have noticed with this new shredder that it does not shred the paper as fine as my older model, in addition, it does not have the nice 'swing lift handle' on top to easily remove the shredding mechanism off the bin in order to dump the contents. This is definitely an item for low to moderate usage. Overall, I am pleased with its service; just be sure to follow the manufacturer's guidelines of shredding no more than six sheets at a time or one credit card!

Was this review helpful? (83) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsNativeAmerican
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just got it and love it!
8/6/2011

Customer review by xx2CatLadyxx

5.0 stars 8/6/2011 by xx2CatLadyxx
by xx2CatLadyxx

I use this for just myself to prevent identity-theft... for bills and other papers showing identity info... and I also use it for the occasional credit card. You want to be careful not to put in large paperclips. It will shred the smaller ones. The literature said not to shred adhesive paper or those envelopes with the windows... So I will need to take some papers out of their envelopes... +It's quieter than the Staples MailMate Shredder I had til the motor just died... +I'm loving the auto off feature which I missed on the MailMate. +I didn't think I'd like the basket feature because of the size drawback. It's bigger than the compact MailMate. But it truly is easier and less messy to empty out than the MailMate ever was. So I'll give up compact design for ease and neatness. I just had to get a bit more creative in finding a good spot for it. +I like that it has a flip cover for the opening so noone will accidently shred their digits... +price +Enclosed lit says I can just drizzle some vegetable oil on a piece of paper and shred about once a month to keep motor running smooth. I appreciated this suggestion to save a bit by not having to buy anything special, like the oiled sheets or oils that I've seen advertised... -I would love it if it could shred more than 6 sheets -The only drawback, and it's a tiny one, is that the reverse switch to clear paper jams is the same switch to turn on and off... On setting is to the left, Off is center and Reverse is to the right. I've accidently pushed too far when turning off and ended up in reverse... I need to review the enclosed instructions but I think I read something about not using reverse unless you need to clear a paper jam... Not sure... so it may not be any more of a big deal than being more "gentle" when turning it off... I plan on only leaving it on when I'm shredding a lot in a day...

Was this review helpful? (48) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xx2CatLadyxx
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Maximum Value for minimum investment!
2/17/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After my 5 year old light duty home shredder stopped working, I found this online. The price was so low I was a little hesitant, but after reading through the description and user reviews, I took a chance and got it. No disappointments here! It does exactly as it is supposed to. I cleaned out my file drawers of old paid bills, etc. and it performed flawlessly. It never jammed or overheated, It will handle up to 6 sheets at once. It shreds the papers into small unreadable strips, not confetti. The ONLY downside was the low capacity of the waste basket...I had to stop and empty it more frequently, but that provided a break for me and the shredder! I would definitely recommend this shredder to any one looking for an inexpensive light duty home shredder!

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Sunny Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
unbelevable !!!!
8/2/2011

Customer review by Twocenthound

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by Twocenthound
by Twocenthound

I AM STILL TOTALLY AMAZED, AT WHAT AN EXCELLENT SHREDDED THIS IS - BASED ON HOW EXPENSIVE !!!! I HAVE PAID THREE TIMES THIS AMOUNT- FOR SHREDDERS THAT AREN'T HALF THE QUALITY OF THIS. DON'T HESITATE A MOMENT LONGER ! I ALMOST DIDN'T CONSIDER THIS MODEL- AS IT IS SO INEXPENSIVE, I THOUGHT "HOW GOOD COULD IT BE FOR SUCH A LOW PRICE!" WOW , WAS I WRONG ! DON'T LET THE LOW PRICE FOOL YOU !!!!! THIS IS AN EXCELLENT SHREDDER!!

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Twocenthound
North East
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Appears to be more heavy-duty than expected...
7/30/2011

Customer review by Hotan

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by Hotan
by Hotan

I was looking for a small, personal, occasional use machine and this turned out to be all of those things. It seems very strong so far and it doesn't strain to chop up four or five sheets at a time (I had to test it). I was not too concerned about the safety features that prevent you (or children or pets) from getting sucked into the top but it's only a minor inconvenience for the sake of safety. It is not shaped to fit another container and there is an interlock switch to prevent it from turning on if it's not sitting properly in it's own basket. The small basket is not a problem for me but if you want to turn it into an industrial shredder it's probably not worth the effort. It's doing great for what it is... a small inexpensive personal shredder.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hotan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great shredder for the price!
9/5/2011

Customer review by NatureQueen

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by NatureQueen
by NatureQueen

I ordered this shredder online for my 84 year old mother who moved into my home and has twenty years of files to dispose of. It was in stock at my local super store for $24.97. By ordering online, I picked it up later the same day and saved more than $5.00! If you're looking for a small home shredder, this one can't be beat. Don't be fooled by the small size. Because it cross cuts, it can hold twice as much as a strip cut shredder. If you want to shred more than six pages at a time, you need to look at a larger version. I haven't used it so continuously that it needed to reset, like a couple of reviewers have, but I think it's a great safety feature. If you will be shredding on a continuous basis, a commercial model is really required. The easy lift handle is great for emptying the bin. The cover plate is not only great to protect fingers on little ones, but it also protects seniors who don't remember that there is a safety cover! Last but not least, the manufacturer is Aurora, a leading maker of paper shredders. You really can't beat the quality or the price!

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NatureQueen
Clayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value
10/29/2013

Customer review by ChrissyfromDecatur

4.0 stars 10/29/2013 by ChrissyfromDecatur
by ChrissyfromDecatur

I recently purchased the shredder and I used it and was amazed at how well it functioned. The only down side was the safety mechanism that when the shredder had been used for thirty min. it would automatically shut off, until it cools off. During the shut off time I would arrange my papers for future shredding. I also did not like the fact that you could not shred envelopes with windows. I do love my shredder for the price and the outstanding job that it does.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChrissyfromDecatur
Decatur,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Value Shredder
3/9/2014

Customer review by KappaLady

4.0 stars 3/9/2014 by KappaLady
by KappaLady

This shredder does everything it is supposed to do. It is small-- something to be used in a small office or at home. It is noisy no matter how many sheets you are shredding, so be prepared. (You might not want to shred at your home when everyone is asleep or while you are on the phone!) I love the small viewing window, which is used to see how full the basket is to know when to empty it. I typically shred one or two days a week, shredding no more than fifty sheets during a session and no more than three sheets at a time. You do not have to purchase oil for this, as you can use regular vegetable oil once a month or so, depending on how often you shred. This is a must-have to destroy documents containing personal information!

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KappaLady
Ruston, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Amazing bargain
8/28/2014

Customer review by MikeLovesPizza

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by MikeLovesPizza
by MikeLovesPizza

I just shredded 10 years of old bills. It took me all day. I was dismayed because the shredder stopped working after using it for 15 minutes. I then realized that it is designed to stop working when the motor gets too hot. This prevents the motor from burning out. I like this feature. I shred for 15 minutes, then let it cool for 30 minutes, then repeat. I am very impressed with the durability of this shredder.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeLovesPizza
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works good for everyday light shredding for home.
7/9/2011

Customer review by Boomerdude999

4.0 stars 7/9/2011 by Boomerdude999
by Boomerdude999

SHreds paper and credit cards to about 3/16" by about 1" long. Turns off automatically when over loaded or full. I like it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boomerdude999
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1589 total reviews
1-20 of 1589 reviews