Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2192 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

2192 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

2192 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1301
4 stars
624
3 stars
111
2 stars
42
1 stars
114
1-20 of 1939 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1939 total reviews
1-20 of 1939 reviews
Great Shredder for the PRICE !
6/18/2016

Customer review by Djladydrummer

5.0 stars 6/18/2016 by Djladydrummer
by Djladydrummer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is all I need for my home business. This shredder works fantastic ! It jammed one time, but there were easy instructions that cleared up the jam. I use it daily for business and personal purposes.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Djladydrummer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder
2/12/2016

Customer review by therealmeverified

4.0 stars 2/12/2016 by therealmeverified
by therealmeverified

This is a great item for the price. This item is labeled as "light use." I shredded three bin fulls my first go around. The shredder did not heat up excessively like other light use shredders I've had. It does the job, but I would hesitate to continually shred 6 papers at a time. It might jam when it pulls paper to one side if you have a lot of paper in at one time. Even single sheets can be pulled to one side and make the shredder work harder. It did have difficulty with credit cards as it jammed a few times. I was confused by the phrase "crosscut" being used. This shredder crosscuts by way of not shredding long vertical shreds; they are cut into shorter single shreds. This does not crosscut like many expensive shredders that will eliminate the ability to read letters on the paper or piece a document back together. Again, this item is for light use, so don't be surprised if it doesn't hold up to everyday heavy use. Good item for a good price.

Was this review helpful? (63) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
therealmeverified
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Compact low-cost cross-cut shredder for home use
10/25/2014

Customer review by SJerseyGuy

5.0 stars 10/25/2014 by SJerseyGuy
by SJerseyGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have to agree with the majority of reviews on this one. It is a great little cross-cut shredder with sufficient indicator lights and smart safety features. The design and build quality is very good. To have it priced at about $25 makes it an exceptional value in my mind. As far as noise output when shredding, I was pleasantly surprised as I found it to be a bit quieter and less annoying than previous home shredders I have used. You should browse through the instruction manual to understand how the safety features operate and the typical design limitations such as the 6-sheet max, avoid adhesives and plastics (credit cards in the designated slot are OK), etc. Also don't forget to lubricate once in awhile as the instruction manual recommends. I use just a teaspoon (if that) of cooking oil spread across one of my "to be shredded" documents (financial junk mail for instance) and feed it to my shredder once a month. No need to buy those expensive lubricating sheets. : )

Was this review helpful? (109) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SJerseyGuy
Pennsauken, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Household Paper Shredder
8/17/2013

Customer review by ApplianceShop

5.0 stars 8/17/2013 by ApplianceShop
by ApplianceShop
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have only had this paper shredder for about a week but so far I have shredded about 3 shopping bags full of old papers and statements that I wanted to dispose of safely. My old shredder died and it took a while to find a decent shredder at a good price. I would only put a few pages of thin paper at a time or one thick. Do not try to overload the shredder, it is not meant for that. If you just load a few pages at a time it will do a great job. If you do it that way it will run so smooth that the basket will fill up quickly. You may want to make sure you turn off or unplug the shredder before you empty and make sure you have something to put the shredded paper in and maybe do it over some newspaper, drop cloth or trashbag because if the basket is too full when you pull the shredder off the basket you will have paper all over. Have not had any paper jams or any problems with shredder and have done about 3 shopping bags full of shredded paper so far. It is a great shredder for household use for the price. So far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (542) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ApplianceShop
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrific shredder at any price.
1/23/2014

Customer review by jb2014

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by jb2014
by jb2014
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This shredder blew me away. I am a first-time shredder owner, and I now appreciate the convenience of easily disposing of no longer needed checking account, credit account, and tax records. No more accumulating huge mounds of the stuff; just periodically dispose of them as required without worry of identity theft or invasion of privacy. This shredder does the job efficiently and safely. Accepts full size paper sheets (up to six sheets at a time) and credit cards (one at a time). It also handles stapled sheets (small staples). A viewing window lets you know when the shredder bucket is full. I put this shredder through the paces with a huge backlog of old records and it handled them all with aplomb. It never overheated (it has a thermal overload shutoff), although I was careful not to overdo it. Normally, I feed an average of three sheets at a time, which this shredder easily handles. At a price of $25, it is a totally unbelievable value for the home office.

Was this review helpful? (245) (72)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jb2014
Frankfort, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm not a fan.
10/14/2014

Customer review by Lana7853

1.0 stars 10/14/2014 by Lana7853
by Lana7853
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you are concerned with protecting your privacy, this isn't the best shredder. I can't really say I was super disappointed, I mean afterall it cost less than $30. However I am disappointed that the shredder had such high ratings. This thing shreds so big, I could still read very important details and my name on the documents I shredded. It got stuck while I was shredding 4 sheets and I had to pour cooking oil in it, to get it going again because after attempts to reverse, it wouldn't work. This all happened on the first day of owning it, by the way. Not only that but this thing is super loud. If you are a considerate neighbor, you won't be able to shred anything after 10pm with this. I ordered a Dynex microcut shredder from Best Buy for about $65 (that's with tax) and it is awesome. It cuts in much smaller bits and it's much quieter. Granted this cheap one shreds credit cards better than my new shredder but I can live with that. I just want my document securely destroyed.

Was this review helpful? (36) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lana7853
St Paul. MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great shredder
9/26/2013

Customer review by Grannyleigh11

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by Grannyleigh11
by Grannyleigh11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was going to purchase another pricey shredder when mine died. I read the reviews on this one and couldn't believe the good reviews for such a reasonably priced shredder. When this was delivered, I was blown away. It was smaller than I expected, but believe me it works fantastically. I love the way the opening is, much easier to push papers into machine. This shredder works faster and cleaner than my expensive one that I have upstairs. I have an office in the garage and this shredder now sits on a short TV stand and is right there to shred all the junk mail and envelopes. I also love that you can snap down the cover over the opening. I really love this machine and am so glad I decided to save a lot of money. Even though the basket is not large, it is very easy to empty.....especially if you use a grocery bag to line it. I would definitely recommend this product to everyone, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (286) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grannyleigh11
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inexpensive but functional
9/2/2013

Customer review by mikemi1951

3.0 stars 9/2/2013 by mikemi1951
by mikemi1951
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This shredder works OK. It has cautions about envelopes especially window envelopes which I didn't understand. When they say 6 sheets the unit struggles at that number. Better to use a maximum of 4 sheets. The opening through which to plce the paper is very small as is the unit itself. You have to be accurate to get paper into the slot. The noise is for me normal which is to say loud. If you live in an apartment or condo be careful about the time of day or evening. It will take on staples but I recycle my paperclips so I have not tried them. As I mentioned earlier the unit is very small thus the basket is small and you will find yourself frequently emptying it often. There is a small window to tell you when you are near capacity. The unit is very short but too tall to put on a table or desk to be used comfortably. On the floor you will find yourself bending over often. Maybe that could be a kind of situp!

Was this review helpful? (118) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikemi1951
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great shredder for the price!
9/5/2011

Customer review by NatureQueen

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by NatureQueen
by NatureQueen

I ordered this shredder online for my 84 year old mother who moved into my home and has twenty years of files to dispose of. It was in stock at my local super store for $24.97. By ordering online, I picked it up later the same day and saved more than $5.00! If you're looking for a small home shredder, this one can't be beat. Don't be fooled by the small size. Because it cross cuts, it can hold twice as much as a strip cut shredder. If you want to shred more than six pages at a time, you need to look at a larger version. I haven't used it so continuously that it needed to reset, like a couple of reviewers have, but I think it's a great safety feature. If you will be shredding on a continuous basis, a commercial model is really required. The easy lift handle is great for emptying the bin. The cover plate is not only great to protect fingers on little ones, but it also protects seniors who don't remember that there is a safety cover! Last but not least, the manufacturer is Aurora, a leading maker of paper shredders. You really can't beat the quality or the price!

Was this review helpful? (55) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NatureQueen
Clayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for the price!
1/21/2016

Customer review by TommerinFla

4.0 stars 1/21/2016 by TommerinFla
by TommerinFla

Shredder works just fine. I am only loading 3 sheets at a time as it sounds like this is about the right anmount without stressing the cutters. If you want to save some real money just buy a bottle of Canola oil to keep the blades moist instead of shredder oil. (it is just canola oil afterall) Shredder oil is $7-$8 for a 6oz bottle, and a 12 oz bottle of Canola is under $1.

Was this review helpful? (53) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TommerinFla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great household shredder!
10/7/2014

Customer review by Carolyn63

5.0 stars 10/7/2014 by Carolyn63
by Carolyn63
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Best quality for the dollar for a household shredder around! I wouldn't say this is quiet and I wouldn't call it loud either. It does does a perfect job on 6 or less sheets of regular paper and a great job shredding credit cards. I like that it has a clear viewer into the can so you can see if it is getting full and I love that it has a top handle to help lift off the heavy top to empty the basket and that once the top lifts off the basket the motor is disabled from turning on. I don't like that if I want to slip something into the can that i don't need to shred that I have to lift off the top to put it directly in the basket. I am happy there is a kind of cover over the the entry to the shredding blades so something falling onto the top of the can is not at all likely to be inadvertently shredded. For my household this is just what I wanted and after shopping around for it I am thrilled with the price for all these features.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carolyn63
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Piece of GARBAGE, the negative reviews are true!!
1/31/2013

Customer review by JayTV

1.0 stars 1/31/2013 by JayTV
by JayTV

I purchased this shredder from Walmart online back in September 2012 and it just took a dump on me 2 days ago. All of the reviews that said that this jammed on them are TRUE!! I only used this thing once a week and it worked fine for 4 months. An envelope, the size of 4 sheets of paper, jammed in it and the reverse button would NOT work. I had been very careful to only feed this shredder between 2- 4 sheets per shredding and I NEVER put in plastic, credit cards, or thicker paper like oak tag or file folders. Once the paper jams, it is extremely difficult to clear because the "easy lift" handle only opens so far but still my fingers could not fit in to clear the jam. After I unplugged it and cleared the jam the best I could, I turned it back on and now it no longer works. (btw - It took me a good 20 minutes to clear it.) As most of the negative reviewers have said, "Go spend the extra $20 to $30 on a much better shredder". Avoid this one at all costs!!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayTV
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
so far so good
7/2/2016

Customer review by psycodelek

5.0 stars 7/2/2016 by psycodelek
by psycodelek
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It works very well for double thickness and after that it strains but very good for the money. i shredded a load of stuff-beat it hard and it got a little hot but I had a weeks worth of junk mail and it is fine if you feed it a page at a time and push down the shredded paper once in a while because it refeeds through the shredder when it gets higher in the basket. For $25? Its a good rig

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
psycodelek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
crosscut shredder
7/5/2016

Customer review by marcia

5.0 stars 7/5/2016 by marcia
by marcia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I thought the handle was to use to lift the shredder from the basket but found out it was to lift up to open the slot to shred the sheet of paper. It works really well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marcia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Home Office Schredder
1/7/2014

Customer review by MsNativeAmerican

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by MsNativeAmerican
by MsNativeAmerican
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this shredder to replace my old Aurora brand shredder which provided excellent service for over nine years. It would have probably lasted longer if I had not tried to shred all three years of old tax documents in one afternoon... We have owned this new Aurora shredder for less than a month and basically use it almost daily to shred documents and bill statements. I have noticed with this new shredder that it does not shred the paper as fine as my older model, in addition, it does not have the nice 'swing lift handle' on top to easily remove the shredding mechanism off the bin in order to dump the contents. This is definitely an item for low to moderate usage. Overall, I am pleased with its service; just be sure to follow the manufacturer's guidelines of shredding no more than six sheets at a time or one credit card!

Was this review helpful? (97) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsNativeAmerican
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Highly Recommend This Shredder.
9/9/2014

Customer review by OneHappyGir1

5.0 stars 9/9/2014 by OneHappyGir1
by OneHappyGir1

I cleaned out my files and had 2 grocery bags Full of papers that needed to be shredded. I saw the wonderful reviews for this machine and thought I would try it. I was able to shred one whole grocery bag in less than an hour. I rested the machine for a few minutes a few times over the hour but mostly it was constantly running. It Does shred 6 sheets at a time. It Never once stopped to cool itself down and it Never once clogged. I had to empty the bin 3 times over the course of the hour. It is easy to remove the top to empty the bin and it is also 85 dollars less expensive than the one I was going to buy that had wheels and the bin opened from the front. Now that I am using this machine I realize that I would not want it to have wheels and that the bin weighs about a pound when you empty it so opening from the front does not matter to me either. This was a Wonderful purchase! I will be able to shred my daily junk mail using it. It also has a top "closing" button that is Great since I have 2 cats. I think all home shredders should have that safety feature. I Love this Shredder! I Highly Recommend It!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneHappyGir1
Seacoast, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Maximum Value for minimum investment!
2/17/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After my 5 year old light duty home shredder stopped working, I found this online. The price was so low I was a little hesitant, but after reading through the description and user reviews, I took a chance and got it. No disappointments here! It does exactly as it is supposed to. I cleaned out my file drawers of old paid bills, etc. and it performed flawlessly. It never jammed or overheated, It will handle up to 6 sheets at once. It shreds the papers into small unreadable strips, not confetti. The ONLY downside was the low capacity of the waste basket...I had to stop and empty it more frequently, but that provided a break for me and the shredder! I would definitely recommend this shredder to any one looking for an inexpensive light duty home shredder!

Was this review helpful? (45) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Sunny Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Power house
7/3/2016

Customer review by DeVasworld

4.0 stars 7/3/2016 by DeVasworld
by DeVasworld
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It works as described. I like it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeVasworld
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for Light Use
7/1/2011

Customer review by EzyA

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by EzyA
by EzyA
Top 1000 contributor

I got this because I was tired of remembering to take my documents into the office to shred. It arrived within a week and was surprisingly smaller than I expected. I don't mind though, it fits perfectly in a corner near my desk and the power cord is long enough to reach my central power strip. Don't let its size fool you-this shredder is a regular work horse. It shreds very efficiently and though I haven't used the credit card feature, I'm sure that would work well. Don't feed it more than 6 sheets at a time though-when they say 6 sheets, they mean it. The only con I can think of is that it's very loud and since I'm a night owl, this can be a problem for my neighbours. All in all a good shredder that perfectly meets my needs

Was this review helpful? (676) (87)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EzyA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Top 1000 contributor
Fantastic!
6/30/2016

Customer review by grandmaritz

5.0 stars 6/30/2016 by grandmaritz
by grandmaritz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great little shredder, and Walmart offered it at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandmaritz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 1939 total reviews
1-20 of 1939 reviews